Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clampdown on TV 'Dodgy Boxes'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭cmac2009

Absolutely farcical and blatantly obvious what they're doing, they're like a PR company for Sky at this stage. Little glimpse of the power some hold over our "independent" news media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,234 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

its somewhat understandable why respected sources such as would behave so, theyre one of the same as broadcasters, both requiring each other for survival, the story could be true, but it equally could be untrue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,606 ✭✭✭jj880

Sounds very makey uppy olrite:

- scammers will steal your passwords and cash

- you're going to jail

- wont someone think of the children

- dodgy Steo will give you terrible service, tell you your wifi is bad and keep asking for more money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭SteM

This fella paid €300 for the hardware (a firestick!) and pays €150 per year to a 'friend' for his service.

https://www.irishtimes.com/crime-law/2025/06/21/confessions-of-a-dodgy-box-owner-it-did-give-me-pause-for-thought-but-the-savings-are-incredible/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,234 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

is this just more bullsh1t! id imagine some are getting stung as such, but!

Although the price is off that article would make you want to get IPTV asap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,099 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Conor Pope is in on the act now. Things are getting serious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,404 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

They'll have Charlie Weston next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,538 ✭✭✭batistuta9

wreckler was on the indo sport podcast a while back saying the stories on dodgy boxes are by far the most popular he writes about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,784 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

The 42FM podcast covered it today too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭jmcc

400,000 dodgyboxes? 400,000 people? That 400K figure looks a bit iffy. It is, of course, in Sky's interests to talk up the numbers and the media always likes free content and press releases. As long as Sky gets a few more subscriptions from people who are scared by all the stuff from the technology journalists, it is a win for Sky. The aim is not to really convince dodgybox users to give up their dodgyboxes but rather to convince people who might be considering using a dodgybox to subscribe to Sky.

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,404 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Or alternatively, make those who have no idea what a 'dodgy box' is, to go and investigate about getting one!

Although I suspect anyone who has no idea what they are by now:

- probably the sort who would never want one anyway

- are too rich to not need one

- are too afraid of all the stories of porn pop ups, malware, courts, jail time etc to ever risk it

Sky and FACT have been at this for a very long time. They use this kind of propaganda complete with technology journalists to give it some credibility because it works. Pay-TV is a very cynical business and this is really just another form of marketing.

Regards…jmcc

Post edited by jmcc on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭IrishOwl...

I was away at the weekend. My local pub has a golf society, and we get an away outing out of it every summer. Anyways we’re all sitting down to pints after the round Saturday and the topic of dodgy boxes comes up, as it was prominently in the news over the weekend.

Only 3 lads out of about 25 didn’t have at least one, and that’s because (by their own admission) too auld to know how to use it.

And out of the 20 odd that did have them, 3 were members of An Garda Síochána! I’m not exactly sure what legal route Sky are hoping to follow with their inquiry, but I’m not sure how much support on the ground it’ll receive from the people that are meant to implement it!

Here's the thing. I have a dodgy box, I have sorted my dad with one. I have pointed siblings and friends towards services in the past. I would have no problem whatsoever if the Gardaí go after the suppliers of the service here. And I don't think there would be any sort of negative publicity towards them if that happens (it already has to a small degree I believe).

If they try to go after end users though, they will have no support whatsoever from the wider public and it would be a bad move to make.

Try to shut down the services, try to stop the suppliers - cool. But don't target the public end users. That seems to be their policy and I suspect it'll stay that way, no matter how much complaining sky do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,451 ✭✭✭Ottoman_1000

Absolutely no way the guards will go after the end user, no matter how much Sky lay claims that this will be the end goal.

They’ll have difficulty as it is securing the resources to even try tackle the main suppliers year on year, because as soon as one gets grubbed, there’ll be another waiting in line.

Also the legal loophole of trying to pin down an end user on what they did, and did not stream, would tie everything up in knots for years. Its would be just a monumental waste of resources and taxpayers money, they would get lynched for it!

The only way it gets stopped is if Sky and the likes find a technical way to stop it from the source. I’m no tech wiz, but I’m not sure how they go about that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,386 ✭✭✭Esse85

It's pointless going after end users, they just consume, there's too many to go after.

If someone is serious about this they'll tackle the root cause, main suppliers. Far easier go after them and find €400k in a person's bank account with no way to justify it than tackle Ronan for watching the latest boxing paper per view event who's barely got a pot to piss in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭SteM

People talk about going after the suppliers. Harvey Norman and Amazon sell streaming devices. The user decides what to do with it whether that's watch YouTube or Netflix or something else. Gardai might pick up Tom down the pub for selling preconfigured setups, but nothing the Gardai do will stop someone from buying a streaming device and getting a subscription from a supplier on somewhere online and be up and running within an hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭BP_RS3813

The cause of piracy is simple - lack of convience and price.

If there was one legitimate service which provided the same level of convience that the dodgy box provides at a affordable price then very few would lean towards the dodgy box.

Sky, netflix etc all complain about piracy when they caused it. Movies/shows split across how many streaming platforms now? Sky charge through the roof simply because of the premier league costs.

As its been pointed out also, the devices used to stream illegally are not illegal themselves so you cannot prohibit the sale of them.

Even if Sky did charge reasonable prices, then that doesn't solve the problem of not having a million other programs/shows/movies that people will want.

The suppliers of the services, not the physical devices. But I'm guessing most aren't based in the EU.

A post above gave one reason for not having a dodgy box is being too rich to need one. Your group sounds like they are not short of money.

I think Sky could use this information to place stories in the papers about Gardai breaking the law. You are not the first to reveal that their social circle includes Gardai who openly admit having dodgy boxes. This has the potential to be another Penalty Points type scandal.

A few years ago, A Dutch data centre was taken offline and all sites were shutdown because a dodgybox network was operating via the data centre. It was overkill and many of the innocent sites were back online quickly. The technological idiocy of broadcasters applying to the courts to ban IP addresses on iSPs is amazing due to the way that these services can be relocated and the IP addresses changed. It would be possible for a data centre operator to identify possible dodgybox operations based on data transfer patterns and there are multiple IP addresses involved (the services, the feeds, the users etc). The problem with tracking IP addresses is that the quality of IP address ownership data varies. (I think tht Adrian Weckler wrote an article in the Sindo/Indo about ISPs and dodgyboxes but I didn't read it.) With ISPs, the user's IP address may only be allocated on a temporary basis. Multiple countries/jurisdictions also complicate matters.

Regards…jmcc

Post edited by jmcc on

It would be counter-productive for Sky and FACT. Try thinking it through.

Dodgyboxe use is, in some senses, a faceless crime. The Penalty Points issue affected people who were known. With dodgyboxes, people may not be too upset if Sky is suffering as it is a kind of large, faceless corporation.

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 monkeyblues

hi I work for sky can you please include me in any WhatsApp groups or messenger groups, or Facebook groups, I swear I’ll get you a cheaper discount on dodgy boxes, just to be sure please send me a bank receipt of money actually paid along with a video of your dodgy boxes setup, without the video we are completely screwed that you are actually using a dodgy boxes service. I swear we are trying to get you a cheaper deal as we will make money on advertising. Please make sure to disclose all your details to sky but there is nothing we can actually do

One of their friends in the papers could do an article headlined "Garda Chiefs ignoring widespread lawbreaking in the Force". And use a generalised reference to Boards users who are aware of this activity, including those who go on golf weekends. They are using these sorts of underhand tactics in the press already (the bounders), with stuff about dodgy boxes being malware carriers. They are chipping away at the issue, and all is fair in war.

Unless they are being run by complete morons, and they are not, they would not want to piss off the people with whom they have to work.

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭FazyLucker

A friend of mine was saying Vodafone in the UK thought they had done something to lock down their service to dodgy box traffic.

Apparently, within about 5 minutes the dodgy box providers had bypassed it and all was back to normal.

Now, where is that mole to whack…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,451 ✭✭✭Ottoman_1000

Jasus I didn't realise a night away for a round of golf was a sign of obscene wealth 🤣🤣!

You could get a night away and round of golf for less than 1 month of what Sky is charging you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭IrishOwl...

I don't know why you would think I'm made of money. My round of golf and night away (shared room) costs me a total of €100. If that's the sign of lads rolling in cash these days then I'll hold my hands up...

Even if Id won the 250 million a week ago I wouldn't give Sky a penny. Not as long as clowns like Carragher are on the payroll.