Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Unsolved Irish Mysteries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,080 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Who are these people? Mick and Brian I mean, are they just some randomers who started a podcast?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭tibruit

After 10 days of supposition in the media we finally get a bit of reporting that gets to the nub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭csirl

Makes you wonder about the accuracy of all the "Garda sources say" media reports we've seen over the past couple of weeks.

The reality is that individual Gardai working on a case are not allowed discuss it with journalists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭tibruit

Why would you wonder about it? The unnamed source is every hacks best friend, especially when they have nothing new to report and empty paragraphs to fill for a deadline. Then the Google As You Go types turn up here to repeat it all as fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,817 ✭✭✭Xander10

This now has all the hallmarks of being another case where there is a large finger of suspicion pointing at someone but zero likelihood of any firm evidence ever being found at this stage, many years after the awful event.

Another case of poor gathering of information by Gardai at the early stages of the investigation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,173 ✭✭✭cap.in.hand.

You'd be expecting the other suspect now to comment that they know nothing about Annie's disappearance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 padraig1963

Yes, its good to finally hear in their own words what someone close to Annie at the time has to say about the current redirection in the case.

Certainly not the words of a repentant, guilt ridden, death-bed witness that hid vital information, as has been suggested on various platforms. It reads to me more like an angry Gardaí bashing rant that shows zero empathy for the prime goal of the 32 year investigation, that of finding Annie. 'Stop digging up the past' is how it reads to me.

Isn't there also more than a touch of arrogance and naivety when he claims " it was i that reported her missing. I was the first person who made the statement in respect of her disappearance in order that the guards might not spend time worrying or spend time investigating me"...Just because you're the first to report a disappearance doesn't mean you should be exempt from questioning! Often the initial person who reports a missing person has proven to be involved.

He also contradicts himself when he claims his brother had nothing to do with Annies disappearance but then claims .."I could go months without seeing him. His life and my life did not cross over".....So if he didn't see his brother that much back then in 1993 how would he know what he's up to or how could he be so sure his brother had nothing to do with Annie's disappearance. That could be just blind brotherly loyalty of course.

So it would be interesting to hear if it wasn't this brother who was the current suspects alibi that supposedly has been withdrawn who was it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭Hippodrome Song Owl

Very Interesting to read the brother's own opinion alright. To me it sounds like he is genuinely annoyed at being treated with suspicion and genuinely feels the Clondalkin dig is a waste of time - that reads as sincere. However his defence of his brother reads to me as much weaker, as if just going through the motions of saying what he feels he must. But at the same time taking the opportunity to distance himself from his brother and make known that it isn't him who has undermined the alibi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭lillycakes2

both these brothers are looking very fishy now

He sounds frustrated. At the time people in this social circle were subjected to "heavy gang" type treatment by the Gardai. I can understand them having no confidence in what the Gardai are doing.

Whats notable about this cold case review is how little focus (in the press anyway) there appears to be on the other avenues of investigation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭Hippodrome Song Owl

I hadn't heard that the friends felt badly treated by the gardai in this case - that's interesting. I always thought it was the opposite that the social circle was completely overlooked in favour of the stranger in the Dublin mountains theory. I know that has been said about how many in Raonaid Murray's circle felt about how the gardai interacted with them, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭doughef

hi guys - side question

radio espial. I can’t find it on apple podcast or pocket casts and the latest episode on Spotify is 2023.

Where are you listening to it ?

TIA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭New Scottman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,173 ✭✭✭cap.in.hand.

So each of their alibi are not connected to each other at all....both have independent alibi...at least that's the way it looks.…looks like the main suspect had maybe more interaction with Annie....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,543 ✭✭✭chooseusername

In fairness to the Mirror and Paul Healey in particular, they did well to go after this 'witness of interest' in France.

Wasn't he the reporter that outed Mike Kelley in Tralee as the suspect in Mike Gaine's murder also?

Mike Kelley certainly wasn't camera shy for his interview debut...the 2 brothers in this case seem to be very camera shy .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭LunaLoo

The interview reads strange, he's almost putting more emphasis on saying the gardai dont have evidence to charge either of them instead of saying i/we had nothing to do with it

He'll be eating his words if they find something of significance at his old home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭mazdamiatamx5

Re your first para, I never heard or read of anything along those lines in this case, are you sure you're not confusing with different case? Possibly Raonaid Murray as another poster said or Charle Self's murder from 1982? In any case, there wasn't really claims of 'heavy gang' treatment in those cases, it's just it was felt by some the garda inquiries were excessively intrusive and getting into non-relevant areas.

Where does it say he gave his brother a alibi...he himself said his own alibi is watertight/airtight...

Surmising from other articles. "Recent months" was when the overseas interview took place.

Untitled.jpg

So Annie knows his girlfriend..... so must have known they were in a relationship yet it seems she voluntary went for drinks in pubs with him and whatever they got up to afterwards....looks to me a form of blackmail on her part not so much her conscience if she were to tell his girlfriend....what would she achieve by doing that ...she'd be causing more trouble....I'd take that whispering with a pinch of salt....

Regardless of who provided it, I hope the retraction of an alibi in this case has the same effect as the alibi retraction in the Phyllis Murphy case. Was that person ever publicly identified? If not, they should have been.

Does anyone know if this scumbag Ross Outram - https://www.sundayworld.com/crime/courts/man-jailed-for-murder-of-paddy-lyons-90-says-theres-no-proof-he-caused-pensioners-death/40336339.html

Is related to Cliff Outram? Both from that area in Tipperary. Might be a grandson.

Cliff Outram was a friend of serial killers John Shaw and Geoffrey Evans. He met them in prison. He helped to facilitate their heinous activities by providing them with accommodation, money, transport and an address for correspondence. He & his family should have been run out of Tipperary.

EDIT: Grandson. Confirmed by Facebook. What a degenerate family.

No not confused with other cases. Comes from local knowledge - Gardai questioned people who may have known AMcC from her time in Clondalkin and/or who were connected to the friend group currently under scrutiny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭mazdamiatamx5

Questioned under caution or as witnesses? May have been due to Garda snobbery against Clondalkin people, even the posher part of Clondalkin. Which is wrong of course if it happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭juno10353

https://youtube.com/playlist?list=PLALDM2T1k3vxk2PsI-jAtZiNSiPn_6YTH&si=0LOzHJkUyI55ltCy

Interesting videos about Annie McCarrick , Michael Gaines and others. Worth a browse

• Site Banned Posts: 37 Kimiko 75

If Gardai did not question her friend group they would not have being doing their job. The fact that some of her friends seem to have made up alibis for each other, show they were right.