Zero Situational Awareness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭appledrop

In general the supermarket shop drives me mad. I'm out buying my shopping for a family of four for a week, I know exactly what I want and head around shops getting everything quickly.

Now I'm not rude and most parts of the shop are grand but for some reason the milk, yogurts, ice cream etc part usually drives me mad. It's usually a couple in 50s having a full blown discussion on what they want while blocking the whole aisle while funny enough can manage to grab everything I need for a family of 4 from each aisle in 10 secs🙄. Who wants to waste their time in a supermarket!

Now sometimes I have to abandon the trolley for a sec but it's only to squeeze in to get what I want because other people blocking my way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,944 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

I’ve several contributions to the Trivial Things thread over the years giving out about people with no awareness of their surroundings. The worst for me are people dithering at self service areas, big ignorant galoots in supermarkets and noisy/smelly people on public transport.

I’ve noticed a lot of drivers in recent years showing similar self centred behaviours. Parking up on footpaths blocking the way, swinging around corners towards you at speed when you’re trying to cross the road and stopping in the middle of traffic light pedestrian crossings blocking the way of people trying to cross the road.

”If I offended you, you needed it!!” - Corey Taylor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,479 ✭✭✭Esse85

The amount of idiots in the queue at self service and either not paying attention to a free till that becomes available or afraid to push up and move forward is infuriating.

Pay attention d1ckheads and stop holding up everyone behind you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,145 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

OP people have become lazy selfish hoors since the Tiger and the 90's diet of Friends and other American crap they hoovered up . Plus a combination of debt and work have made people completely self oriented

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭ballyharpat

So if you don't think it's a good idea to walk behind your dog on a narrow path, when someone is coming the opposite direction, what is your solution for walking with a dog on a narrow path?

The other person's fear of dogs is their trigger, I am not triggering them, my dog is not doing anything to trigger them, my dog is just existing. I may get triggered by someone wearing a hijab, but that is my problem, not theirs.

I'm not concerned about people loving dogs or anything else that I love, just let me go about my business, you go about yours.

It's not the same as people going around being completely clueless and lacking in situational awareness, this is a being, they are just existing, if they are doing anything 'dangerous' or 'annoying', then I understand the dog should be under control, but just because a dog 'is', is not a reason to change for someone that isn't a dog lover.

People are way more unpredictable than dogs.

not as much time as motorists still though, and they are definitely not for driving on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,443 ✭✭✭Cordell

Slightly behind you, on a short lead. Tucked between your leg and the edge of the footpath:

image.png

That actually makes sense, I had a boxer for 11 years, he was fantastic, but I always left him in front of me in these situations, he would always be off leash/voice command, there was never an issue, but I will train my next puppy to stay behind in these situations. Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,383 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Yesterday on a huge almost empty beach at low tide, with acres and acres of space, a woman walked past me and my friend with her dog on the far side of us, connected by a long lead. She did the same thing to my son and his friend shortly after. Lovely woman, very apologetic, and the dog was absolutely gorgeous, but still a bit baffling given how much room there was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,040 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Again you are seeing what you want to see instead of actually reading posts

I never said it was a 'huge danger', but people - some people, at least - don't feel safe because of cyclists on the footpath, and that should never be the case. Because they should never be there in the first place.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,383 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Amazing.

Back on topic, do you find people have less situational awareness lately?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,317 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

It would be a better "survey" if people self reported their own transgressions. If they were even aware that they were causing a nuisance to others. Lots of holier than thou pointing of fingers at others going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,191 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

This will always be a woman. Will happily stand in the queue on her phone but will never have the sense to look for her purse and have her method of payment ready.

When the cashier tells her the total, it's like a complete shock that she has to pay for her items. That's when the rummaging in the handbag starts. No chance she was doing that while waiting in the queue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭appledrop

Oh my best one yet was in Tesco. This one in front of me had her Tesco club card saved somehow in her phone.

She spent about 10 mins trying your locate it. She tried everything but wasnt giving up. I even offered that she could use my card(This is very common in Tesco, people often forget cards and everyone shares them) instead she actually had the cheek to say to me 'Oh am I holding you up' yes you are because I have my trolley load of stuff unloaded and I've two kids to get home too but you keep looking for your card!

The cashier apologies to me about 5 times when she went, I don't know how she kept her patience with her.

• Site Banned Posts: 156 ✭✭jamieon

Woman, yes woman, who are waiting for the bus and when it pulls up and they get in then its only at that time do they take out their bag, look for the purse to get coins/card to pay for their fecking fare. Unbelievably irritating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,924 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Mini supermarket today..🤪 two employees normally on the tills or stocking shelves..instead outside washing the windows. Manager seemingly too tight to pay a window cleaner every few weeks. Seeing it’s around €60-€80… to clean a shop front 5 windows and doors..that once a month won’t break the bank… yet 🤦🏻‍♂️

But the two gimps left a big roll of industrial paper towels in the top basket of the stack of customer baskets… anyone elderly or with mobility issues will have difficulty removing and rehousing it… eejits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

Doesn't make their fear reasonable or accurate. You won't even say how often it happens to gauge if it is reasonable. You are the one dismissing people because you knew what they would say so not listening and afraid to say how often it happens.

I said similar and got back lash for bringing up gender. It is obviously something other people notice too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,320 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

maybe some women are significantly stressed, causing such behaviors

Or simply not paying attention to what they are doing by being on their phone. Why would women be more stressed than men? They can apparently can multi task and can do anything a man can

or maybe they are overly stressed, and are maladaptively copying by scrolling, in order to gain dopamine, and maybe others are just engaging in misogynistic views, to try 'explain' such behaviors!

Stressed enough to spend 5 minutes in the queue on their phone scrolling aimlessly on Facebook but not taking the time to have their purse ready.

You see them all the time. Stand behind them at a payzone machine for a car park ticket. First they'll start looking for the ticket. Then the ticket goes in and it's another few minutes rooting through their bag for their purse. Then they're looking for the bank card among 45 other cards. Couldn't have had that ready before or stand to the side and do that. No...much easier to block everyone else behind them instead.

modern technology has been primarily designed for addictive behaviors, to encourage addiction, so we behave so, its also important to note, its been primarily been designed by men, yes some women have been involved in the process, but its primarily men.

dopamine is highly additive, most humans respond so, including men, when stressed, humans positively respond to dopamine activities including social media use, when addiction takes hold, humans simply couldnt give a fcuk about others, i.e. empathy drops significantly, until cravings are resolved

Doesn't change the fact that 99.9% of the time it will be a woman glued to her phone or simply not bothering to get her payment method ready while waiting. It would be lovely (but I would never ever do it) to say to a woman in front of me in the supermarket "excuse me but it might be an idea to start looking in your bag for a card or cash to pay for your items, rather than to start fishing through your bag in 5 minutes"

Or you are trying defend bad situational awareness and a common activity of a gender that is noticeable. What is misogynistic about noticing a difference? Do women carry more things then men in bags and then have purses way bigger than a wallet in said bags? Does this mean they have to look harder to find stuff?

Obviously not all women but you certainly have higher chances of such problems if your payment method is much harder to get to. I am not forcing them to carry a hand bag and massive purse and not be prepared to pay. If it is causing them stress they have the power to change it and it is not me causing their stress

again, if you re overly stressed and/or are preoccupied for whatever reasons, this preparation simply wont happen, attention spans are collapsing, more and more are spending their time in whats called their limbic brain, fight, flight etc, its deeply effecting executive functioning, which is whats required for such preparation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,973 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Don't forget the other gem: The good long friendly chat with the cashier as though they're life long pals that haven't seen each other in years discussing everything from the weather to where they're going on holidays next week.

Its lovely your having such a fun conversation but maybe have a quick glance behind you (theres a whole world back there full of people who aren't you) and spare a thought for the queue of people waiting to pay up and leave.

So are you saying women are more likely to have difficulty with modern life? It doesn't always involve a phone and is simply not paying attention and having no situational awareness. It happened before phones and is not new

both sexes are struggling, and probably equally, with modern society, both are behaving maladaptively in order to deal with its stresses, this includes addictive behaviors, in their entirely, i.e. alcohol, drugs, sex, gambling, overuse of modern tech, social media etc etc etc.

yes such behaviors have always existed, and in both sexes, but are arguably worsening, again, in both sexes.

seriously lads, how fragile are your egos!