Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Israel Launches strike against Irans Nuclear Programme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,079 ✭✭✭dmcdona

That would be Katz.

Katz also said this about Gaza:

"Humanitarian aid to Gaza? No electrical switch will be turned on, no water pump will be opened and no fuel truck will enter until the Israeli abductees are returned home."

I would have thought most people would prefer someone who openly advocates Genocide also didn't continue to exist.

Regime change change required all round or it'll be Groundhog Day forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,627 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

Where is this Russian air defense in Iran? Israel seem to be bombing with impunity and afaik only a single drone has been shot down by Iran (with actual photographic evidence)

Israel have released plenty of video footage of bombs being dropped on military targets I haven't seen or heard of Israel exclusively using stand off munitions outside of Iranian airspace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,662 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

This x1000

This is a REASON as to why Israel has an issue with Iran, and it goes back much further than the last week or two.

Many simply do not want to hear it or are completely ignorant of the history here.

If you have a bunch of religious fanatics proclaiming that they want to wipe you and everyone you know off the face of the earth for a 40 years, they fund a terrorist organisation to target you and try to kill you, and then they want to build a nuclear bomb… you honestly think you would be OK with that?

If a bunch of religious fanatics were trying to destroy Ireland and were on the way to building a nuclear device to just do that, you dont think you would be a tad bit worried?

Lads, like come on. What world do you live in?

There is serious unrest and disquiet about the actions of Israel in Gaza among the general Israeli population.

But the actions in Israel is broadly supported by over 85% of the people, both left and right, because they value their country and they see Iran with a bomb as an existential threat to them.

Do you think Israel should divest itself of its own nuclear weapons?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭Tazz T

You talking about Israel. Iran should not get the nuke, but Israel should have its illegal nukes removed.

Honestly lads wtf?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,964 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

They 100% should as they seem to be fairly able to defend themselves conventionally if it ever comes to it. Particularly with US backing.

Doubt they ever will though.

Can you explain why Iran has enrichment levels at approx 60% and what they are going to use it for?

Seems you were alluding to starting a rally to protest Iran causing damage to an Israeli hospital, no?

You clearly don't understand how starvation works.

Ah ok

So when they say "Death to the West" or "Kill all the jews".. They don't really mean it, am I right?

Laughable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,481 ✭✭✭MFPM

The guy is psychotic, himself and all their defenders like Von Der Leyen, Starmer and Macron, Kallas etc if there's any justice should one day stand in the dock in The Hague with Netanyahu but they won't unfortunately...

Post edited by MFPM on

Em, you are getting hysterical.

Tel Aviv is not 'trashed' and if hundreds of US military are killed due to Iranian missiles, how do you think Iran or Tehran will look like?

I know for some, this missile attack this morning at this hospital has given you a morale boost that Israel is getting a bloody nose, but suffice to say, they are in this for the long haul and its Tehran and its military, security and political echelons on the end of an almighty kicking.

TLDR: There will be only one winner in this conflict, the only question remains on the state of the win, and it wont be Iran.

No, as Iran is getting pounded and is being humiliated by the IDF.

There is a lot of wishful thinking here, and I mean ALOT.

But let's take your point about Iran having a lot of S/A missiles.

Why then are IAF war planes flying over Tehran at will?
    Why have Iranian missile responses decreased steadily day after day?

It seems from actual sources (not Twitter self-proclaimed 'journalists') that the western part of Iran, along with Tehran, Israel has almost complete air superiority.

Is this a 'lie' or a strategy by Iran?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭combat14

confusion about attack on irans only functioning nuclear plant:

Russians say it was hit, Israel claim they posted in error and its not hit .....

Russian experts working at Iranian nuclear site Israel says it has hit

Moscow has urged Israel to halt air strikes on the Bushehr nuclear plant where it said Russian experts were working.

Bushehr is Iran's only operating nuclear power plant.

Situated on the Gulf coast, it uses Russian fuel that Russia then takes back when it is spent to reduce proliferation risk.

The scale of the attack on Bushehr was not immediately clear.

---

Israel retracts statement that it hit Bushehr nuclear plant

An IDF official said "it was a mistake" to have claimed it hit Iran's only working nuclear site, located on the Gulf Coast.

Israel hit the Natanz, Isfahan and Khondab, formerly called Arak, nuclear sites, they said.

I would like a world with no nuclear weapons, but I also live in the real world, and dont see it happening.

Israel has them, and they wont give them up. That is life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,106 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

One gets the impression that this war is going quite badly for the terrorist state. No real evidence that Iran's nuclear programme has been diminished and Tel Aviv has been relentlessly hit with missiles for six days running.

Netayanhu seeems to have been banking on US involvement 'or' regime change, neither of which appear to be happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

When did Katz say that? Pretty auful thing to say no doubt but given the vast majority of Gaza's population are still alive, it doesn't look like he actually followed through

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,969 ✭✭✭Feisar

I've no dog in this fight however look how that worked out for Ukraine.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,767 ✭✭✭circadian

That's an incredible metric to measure things like ethnic cleansing or genocide on.

Are you saying Iran is winning this conflict?

Like how Russia was going to take over Ukraine in a week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,481 ✭✭✭MFPM

The upwards of 50K dead, the thousands maimed, vast numbers of them children with missing limbs, orphaned, the forced starvation of those still 'alive'...fair play to him for not following through!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,415 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

It's the regions only democratic country, I understand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,106 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

But Iran doesn't need to 'win' anything…..it had this war imposed on it. The Zionist propaganda machine can spin this whatever way they like, but it already seems like their attack on Tehran is running out of steam, particularly in the context of US not getting involved and the hoped for regime change not happening (so far).

His statement was reported in The Times of Israel, 12 October 2023.

And you're right - a lot of Palestinians are still alive - so that makes his statement moot. At least for now. There's still time.

But that's like saying the Germans didn't kill all the Jews and the others they identified as miscreants, so they didn't actually follow through with their final solution, right?

How many dead Palestinians would make you think he had actually followed through with his genocidal wish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,627 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

You don't actually think it's to do with OPSEC?

It's like playing battleship and letting your opponent look over your side of the board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭Homelander

Israel has air superiority 2000km away, has trashed Iran's air defense, killed a big portion of their leadership, is degrading their missile capabilities, Western Iran and Tehran is basically open season and Iran cannot do anything about it.

The best Iran can do is land relatively indiscriminate missiles in urban areas with minimal damage in the overall scheme of things, no different to Russian BMs fired at Ukraine over 3 full years with negligible strategic or military value.

I think Israel is pretty much fine with the state of the war right now. If anything they probably expected far more casualties.

Israel does not need US intervention. It wants it to destroy the regime and it's nuclear aspirations 100%, but it doesn't need it to continue dominating Iran as it's currently doing.

It amazes me that a building being damaged or partially destroyed with minimal casualties by a missile strike is treated like some watershed tide-turning moment but the literal destruction of Iran's entire air defense network, loss of air superiority, precision killing of leadership, is glossed over.

The simple truth is that Israel is beating the brakes off Iran. It's not an opinion, but a fact and it's a fact that doesn't care whether you support Iran, Israel, neither, it's just a fact.

Iran landing the odd missile does absolutely nothing whatsoever to change that.

Standard course of action with Israel - ban the International press so no-one can witness us committing War Crimes and now, it seems, to quote other posts, they don't want the world seeing them them "getting their a***s wipped" (sic)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭greenpilot

It's a lie, from Israel.

I spent some time in Iran, and am in contact with a couple of people there.

In the first couple of hours of the Israeli attack, the Iranian air-defences struggled, due to the hacking of the systems by Israel. However, this was soon resolved and from that point onwards, there have been zero Israeli aircraft over Iran. I'm not on X, and I prefer to source my information from reasonably credible sources ( as far as one can in situations of war).

From what I've been told, from Tehran, the Iranians consider the conflict with Israel as a sideshow. In their eyes, most of the efforts over the last two decades have been put into protecting their assets from US attack, particularly along the Persian Gulf.

You must remember, this is not another Iraq or Afghanistan. Both Israel and the US will be facing quite a capable enemy.

While many in Israel expected a rise up against the regime, due to the attacks, the opposite has occurred. Iranians are now rallying around the flag.

Looking at the amount of KC-135's that were moved from the States late on Sunday night, together with the Carrier Groups repositioning in reach of Iran, I think the US knows full well that a fight with Iran is going to be unlike anything they have been involved with to date.

The economic disaster that this will cause, if the US attacks, will be disastrous for the World for obvious reasons.

The "Trust me, Bro, we'll win" attitude of many in the WH isn't going to cut it this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,868 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Ah to "anywhere near the same extent". I knew you would have some way to defend it. There should be no assistance whatsoever