Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline With Joe Duffy - Mod Note in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,741 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

The show is a mess, has been for years. And it's actually worse under Katie's stewardship, if that's possible.

It needs binned if its going to continue talking about nonsense topics 90% of the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,423 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

The odd thing is there seems to be a completely different team behind the show each day when the names are read out at the end, you would think there would be likely some gold coming every few days. Relying on tracking down who is trending on Twitter to make the show just isn't working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,138 ✭✭✭mountain

Bingo card for his last day,

Studio guests
    Mrs Joe,

One of the 3 twins

Brendan Carroll

Funny Friday crew

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,060 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

Deleted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,974 ✭✭✭TinyMuffin

Wolfe tones to play him out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,131 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

I'm more worried about where JD will pop up next when he RETIRES from RTE. No doubt like a lot of them he will still be working at something to do with RTE due to his "connections". Sorry now Joe, I hope you have a great retirement, but I also hope you have the grace and dignity to feck off out of our lives and go write a book about Ballyer or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,824 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Did he say he was retiring from RTE or from Liveline? 😯

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭Dublin Calling

Is today's show worth listening back to?

Did KT ever explain what a Shifting Wall is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭Peter Dragon

Untitled Image

“Where the hell did you get that thing?”

“I won him in a raffle”…….said the horse.

You've won a prime front seat for Funny Friday!

Thank you. Unfortunately I can’t attend but I’d like you to have my ticket ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,328 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

He's not even fit for the knackers yard anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,918 ✭✭✭CH3OH

Only 10 shows left for Joe.

I thought a headstone would be appropriate for Monday.

1000026660.jpg

Given his current attendance rate you’re making a pretty big assumption he’ll do 10 more shows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,199 ✭✭✭furiousox

His last show will be be a "star studded" funny friday 🙄

RTE plot star-studded line-up for Joe Duffy's emotional last Liveline with TV icon & 90s faves before new host steps in | The Irish Sun https://share.google/6FjAEU8p3Ya7o2E7W

CPL 593H

No mention of Mr Fox in the star studded lineup.

Suprise appearance of Bono to present Joe with a Harley Tri Glide Ultra. Will it be full size or a model to display along side the Fire Engine collection?

Screenshot_2025-06-16-09-57-13-959_com.alibaba.aliexpresshd-edit.jpg

On a serious note, it appears the powers that be have times the digging up of the Tuam Mothers and Babies graveyard until Joe retirement.

I hadn’t realised until today that Pat Kenny was a sarcasm grand master:

“The comedy slot has been missing for over a year on Liveline, with former colleague Pat Kenny recently telling The Irish Sun that RTE bosses may decide to axe it because a new host might not be able to juggle serious topics and comedy as well as Joe.”

Andrea Gilligan.. 😕

“Look, Joe has been presenting Liveline for 30 odd years at this stage. He has done an incredible job at it. It’s no mean feet to present a show like that and to bring it to the level of success that he has over the past 30 plus years.”

Addressing the rumours, she said: “It’s a lovely honour to hear my name in the mix among so many fantastic, amazing broadcasters. But my focus is very much on my own show. Yes, it is also a call-in programme similar to Liveline. Lunchtime Live is 12 to 2 every day. It’s very similar. People phone in, they get to air their thoughts, their grievances about the stories of the day, the things that matter to them.”

She continued: “Yes, there are similarities in the programme, but my focus is very much on trying to make Lunchtime Live the very best that I can possibly try to make it. We’ve been really, really lucky over the past five years.”

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,520 ✭✭✭leath_dub

So predictable.

One last raid of the coffers to look after this "extremely talented" 🙄 mates before waddling off into the sunset

Well if it was pre the scandal it would probably have been live from Carnegie Hall in New York or the Dolby Theatre in Los Angeles…..so at least we’re spared that I suppose.

As O’Connor lives in Florida I assume RTÉ will of course be picking up the first class flight from Orlando - Dublin return and a week or two of expenses in the Shelbourne for this momentous occasion not to mention a large fee….all thanks to the taxpayer.

90s faves? Not sure any of these were ever faves with anyone bar Joe but I suppose if would have to have been 1890s for Syl Fox to be included….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,407 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

Andrea Gilligan is quite likeable and the Lunchtime Live show is basically Liveline lite. But TBH she probably on par with Katie Hannon in terms of presenter ship, cadence and approach.

I've a feeling RTE will play it a bit safe on this one and roster in Katie Hannon. There are some of the names I'm almost laughing at (Tommy Tiernan, Zamperelli etc etc.) He might be a bit out there and I think Daithi O Se has a "Joe Duffy" man of the people vibe that might be worth of replacement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,139 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

Guess whose back, back again

Joe,

Back on Air and has the misery cranked up to 11. Murders and stolen babies are today's topics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,058 ✭✭✭avfc1874

Joe back and straight to advertising an rte podcast. Which of course he said is brilliant

Bit of misery with tuam, which he will drag out and fein false modesty when he is thanked about talking about it ( probably use I'm just a grain of sand in the desert that is the Sahara 🙄 )

Then some lad still begging for Guinness books of records that he's too mean to buy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,029 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

Stately, plump Buck Duffu came from the stairhead, bearing a bowl of lather on which a mirror and a razor lay crossed. A yellow dressinggownungirdled, was sustained gently behind him by the mild morning air

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,328 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

How did the RTE staff get Joe to turn up today? Did they lure him in with the promise of coddle, and then locked all the exit doors?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,139 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

The attacker wil be a white Irish woman seen as this story is getting air time