Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2025 (Munster And Leinster Championships,Liam McCarthy Cup)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Rebelbrowser

sweet divine Jesus. The (first) ref kept Limerick in it. Cork a good 6 or 7 points better in normal time. It went tits up for Limerick when their best player went off with cramp!

Edit:- for the record I accept Cork were v lucky to get time to equalise at the end of ET. The free against Casey was soft enough too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭New Scottman

Just as well they played him today. He scored 0-7.

If he was omitted, Cork would have lost the game by 7 points. No extra time. No penalties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭newhouse87

https://x.com/tomasoruanaidh/status/1931407040934470121?s=46

Backroom mentor overstepped mark with sneaky dig to stomach. Fellas like that need ban.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭Eoinbmw

Ref was on a work to rule day only when the managers went to take the heads off each other did he decide to start working!

And then he blew his hamstring!

All jokes aside he was pretty loose for both teams buy it was not a dirty game regardless!

We had ex players doing the same 3 weeks ago. Just shut the F up and let the current generation hurl away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Seadin

Is there any of those 7 in a row munster t-shirts around? 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭Happyilylost

I'm guessing this is an attempt at humour? If he didn't play Cork weren't going to play with 14....... he missed chances (from play and especially frees) he should not have missed. I think it's fair to say a replacement may not of missed what he missed (again mainly being harsh on the frees side of things)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,318 ✭✭✭C__MC

Limerick aren't the team they once where. They have had a very inconsistent season by all accounts. I don't know if there is 3 strong performances in them to win out. That running game of pace and power isn't what it is

Lol so fickle !

We lost on penalties in our 7th munster final in a row

Give Cork their flowers but Limerick will be in the all Ireland final!

absolutely, not dirty at all and no diving either thankfully

Good hard game of Hurling and Cork deserved winners!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭ClimateObserver

Unless KK lose tomorrow - that won't be a semi-final pairing.

And I don't see KK losing tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,424 ✭✭✭Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire

That's assuming who ever replaced him sat down and ate ham sandwiches for the entire game🤣

He missed a lot of easy frees.

'Where have you gone Joe DiMaggio? A nation turns It's lonely eyes to you.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭morphy87

If Kilkenny win tomorrow and limerick beat Dublin, Kilkenny and limerick will meet in the semi finals

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 35,189 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Correct.

Cork will porbably be playing Tip or Leinster losers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

I don't care if you mention Hayes. Everyone knows what he's done. I'm talking about your snide remarks about other players. Like I said a full blooded game of tough, hard hurling tonight with not a dirty stroke. Although I assume you'll go through it with a tooth comb to find something a limerick player did to outrage you. Great rivalry between cork and limerick players but respect too.

Delighted for pat Ryan and some of the older brigade like cahalane and Lehane who get so much unwarranted criticism. Cork did most of the hurling and showed great bottle. Limerick are stíll a great team and have a lot to offer in this championship.

I'll leave the bitterness to you. Good night.

Congrats to both teams on serving up an epic contest. Probably not the greatest game with plenty wides and mistakes but the endeavour, honesty and workrate was so admirable.

Thought cork were in trouble at half time with the strength of the wind but limerick didn't get going in the second half.

The impact of both benches was massive. Cork got 0-6 of the bench and limerick 1-6, all from play. Bizarre reading comments here that limerick bench didn't make an impact. What do people be watching?! Cork will go to croke park with some momentum and confidence plus the support back onside.

Wouldn't go writing off limerick yet though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭thamus doku

big win for Cork. I am surprised by how Limerick played. They were at home and heavy favourites after the last performance against cork.

Funny enough I was talking to a Limerick chap at work last week who told me he believed Limerick are in trouble, he told me the Limerick performance against Clare was not great and he was of the view the legs on some of the key players are gone.

the game was exciting tonight but was a poor standard, I think Galway Kilkenny tipp and Dublin should not be written off yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭rubbledoubledo

No it was not a dirty game , hard hurling , think the ref played a great game , let the game run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,580 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Cork will probably bring 50k up to Croker by themselves. Depending on who they're playing it could be another semi final sell out this year. If Limerick are in the other semi they might break the record for both semis combined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭The Guru 123

Okay I can’t let this slide. I’ve no issue with the Limerick team, I’ve rooted to see them beaten the last few years but just purely because they’ve been so dominant and I don’t like to see any team winning all the time unless it’s Galway (not much chance of that!)

Limerick are a great team with a great style of play that have revolutionised hurling over the last 7 or 8 years.

But for me John Kiely is one of the most dislikable people in the GAA. I don’t know the man personally or anything but the reasons I find him so dislikable are firstly his conduct on the sideline, I know every manager is guilty of this to a point but the way he is constantly in the referees ear from start to finish is awful to watch. He’s constantly on to them and I hate seeing it from any manager but without question he’s not alone on this. Secondly I don’t like the trope of always trying to say the media has either written them off (who has ever written off Limerick since 2018?!) or else saying the media are trying to build them up for a fall. Which is it John? Either way it’s total nonsense.

But the main reason I dislike him is that he’s a total and utter hypocrite. He dropped Pat Ryan off his panel for an off the field violent incident. Pat Ryan was an average panel member that got limited playing time.

Kyle Hayes is an absolutely outstanding hurler and one of the best of his generation. Before I say anymore I want to say I’ve no issue with Hayes playing for Limerick. He’s not in jail so he’s available for selection.

But Hayes is a convicted criminal for a very serious assault charge. In addition he has carried out further crimes since. Surely John has to drop him to be consistent with the policy he took with Pat Ryan?

Not only did Kiely not drop him but he actually spoke as a character witness at Hayes trial. Could the reason he has taken a different stance be down to the fact Hayes is a far better hurler than Ryan?

Absolute hypocrite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Seadin

Some of RTEs commentators are sickning too. Marty" I love limerick Morrissey" and Brendan I'd ride you Limerick Cummins should be taken off the air. Both terrible commentators. What did Cian Lynch the wizard actually do yesterday? He was completely shut down by Cork and was actually anonymous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭almostover

Marty is stealing a living with RTE and knows as much about hurling as I do about cricket. He was creaming himself about Cian Lynch catching a high ball in the 1st half and from the next puck out a Cork player fielded it straight from the sky and there wasn't a peep out of him. Marty offers zero insight into the game or how it's being played, tactics, one on one battles etc.

Marty is painful to listen to. Always has to keep talking fir the sake of it.

But I have no idea why supporters think a pundit is out to get them. Or care. Giving an opinion one way or the other doesn't mean you hate the other team. As if that had any impact on who's going to win the match. All on PROC giving out about brendan Cummins hating cork. Schoolboy stuff. What difference does it make. Cummins won't make ye win or lose the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭XT1200

They were in The Munster Final yesterday . They came second.

OK kiely does get onto referees a bit but he's far from the worst. Davy obviously but imo the worst behaved manager is Liam Cahill which doesn't seem to get mentioned for some reason. The abuse he gives to refs and linesmen is disgraceful and totally over the top.

I think it was the match in puc, he was up in the linesmans face about a line ball when tipp were about 15 points behind!! I actually don't mind Cahill, he seems a genuine fella but I don't know why he gets a free pass on that.

I've no interest in getting into another back and forth about Kyle Hayes as it will only overshadow what was another great contest last night,only to say pat Ryan was brought back onto the panel again but was dropped as his form had fallen away. Nothing to do with anything off field related. Just to clear that up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭Jizique

I discovered that the RTE news channel had it on as gaeilge, a much better watch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

Well 4 of them were from frees. Horgan has been a great servant but time catches up with everyone. Think he might be a better option off the bench and just start with Hayes and Connolly inside.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭GoldFour4

We will have a Limerick - Tipp final I think. Provided Tipp can get over the losers of Leinster I have a feeling they will beat Cork.