Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Immigration and Ireland - MEGATHREAD *Mod Note Added 14/08/25*

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 57,745 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

I don't disagree with your sentiment but I think we can all agree that 4 years to process IPA applications is a chronic failure of the system. It's par for the course with this country though and management of… well, everything tbh - but that's for another thread.

When you see reports of how Switzerland can process applications in 24 hours, it is somewhat understandable there's a lot of discourse and upset when it's revealed that this particular group of deportees took 4 years to get through the system from application to deportation.

It's not fair on the applicants and it's not fair on the state who have to accomodate them for that length of time.

It's that system that needs to change moreso than anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭Thorny Queen

Oh...he already did speak out about the chronic teacher shortage...he couldn't fill 7 posts in his school, despite them being advertised 4 times. Join the dots darling!

https://amp.rte.ie/amp/1331821/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,468 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

Pat Kenny is the one journalist in this country that doesn't tip toe around these things. He will say the thing he's not meant to say and will ask the questions that he's not suppose to ask. Seeing the media calling a spade a spade is now like seeing a unicorn.

There was massive coverage about travellers and their conditions on the PK show a few years ago. It came about he was asked to visit one of the halting sites and he did. Instead of doing expected "OMG!!! How did this happen. How we have wronged you" he asked about state of the place and about cleaning it. The then asked them rightly why council staff were being attacked when they came in etc etc.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,745 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

The Department has taken action to significantly improve immigration enforcement measures and increase removals. 2,403 deportation orders were signed in 2024 an increase of 180% compared to 2023. In 2024, 1,116 people departed the State under various mechanisms (that is, enforced deportation, voluntary return).

This year 1,940 deportation orders have been signed and 888 have departed the State under various mechanisms (that is, enforced deportation, voluntary return) up to and including the 5th June 2025.

Voluntary return is an option open to people who have no legal status in Ireland including those who are refused International Protection. Where this option is taken up, a deportation order is not issued in respect of that person. In 2024, the number of voluntary returns increased to 934 compared to 213 in 2023. This is the preferred method of removing people from the State.
    In 2025, three charter flight operations have removed 106 people who were subject to deportation orders from the State.

Pretty good summary of the facts there from the Dept of Justice press release on yesterday's deportation flight.

https://www.gov.ie/en/department-of-justice-home-affairs-and-migration/press-releases/deportation-enforcement-continues-to-increase-june-2025/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

Yes, but we have to build our system for it because it's never really been an overly notable issue for us prior to 2022 and being an island also offers some difficulties from a logistical and expense point of view, and our leverage over countries of origin is limited in our own right. Switzerland is in the heart of Europe and has a long history of being slap bang in the middle while wars raged around it, hundreds of thousands of people sought refuge there during WW2 alone. They have experience of it and their rapid processing times (for certain countries that is, such as Algeria with whom they have a bilateral agreement which helps to enable fast processing with a co-operative authority on the other side) are not an overnight thing.

I also don't know to what extent Switzerland's notorious position as a (let's say) less-questions-asked domicile for the wealth of high net worth individuals globally and their financial secrets would give them a little bit of leverage / goodwill from foreign governments in terms of co-operation.

4 years is a long time yes, but there are movements in the right direction and I just feel that people need to just take a wee breath and learn to accept that it is going to take time to develop an efficient system. We are also a small country with very little ability to influence the world around us — we are always going to be susceptible to whatever goes on next in this world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,824 ✭✭✭rgossip30

Consider that over 18651 came as asylum seekers in 2024 and 13099 decisions 3888 were positive . This leaves 14763 refused a large number are they still allowed to remain in IPAS cenetrs and do they voluntarily return .

https://asylumineurope.org/reports/country/republic-ireland/overview-main-changes-previous-report-update/#:~:text=Author&text=This%20report%20was%20previously%20updated%20in%20May%202024.&text=Key%20Asylum%20Statistics:%20In%202024,%5D%20(see%20Regular%20procedure).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,894 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2025/0606/1517018-ireland-immigration/

the boys' mother had an immigration appointment scheduled for next month.

Something doesn't add up. If she had an immigration appointment scheduled then why deport her? Sounds like a f**k up by immigration officials

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,039 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

There's very little I could point to in Ireland that's efficiently run.

Add in the incessant bleeding heart lobby that we have developed in this country and it all points to very little positive action regarding clearing out the chancers.

Mod Snip: Anecdotes are not permitted in this thread - warning issued

Not a particularly nice sight but that's clearly the type of scene you need to get comfortable with to have cities free of beggars and degenerates.

Not something the champagne socialists that have infected our media would allow here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭kabakuyu

Appears the Principal was not party to the all the facts,he was relying on his information coming from the deported family who quite naturally were economical with information,bottom line is that deportation orders were served and had to be enforced.Ther was no F U by immigration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

Well, I am unspeakably happy that armed Swiss police surrounded a "Middle Eastern looking man with a leg deformity" who sounds like he posed a pretty material threat to society which absolutely justified said actions by the police. If only the bleeding hearts would let us have the same response to beggars with deformities in Ireland I guess we would all be happier.

Having said that, in my 11 years living in Dublin I've never actually come under any harm or threat of harm by any beggar, Middle Eastern looking or otherwise. I'm sure others have I guess, but I'm not sure we are at the red alert stage of armed Guards having to surround some guy sitting on a footpath asking people for change. In fact, it's the gangs of youths — mainly white and apparently Irish — running amok about the place who have caused me the most bother (though nothing I've particularly lost sleep over, for my own part).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,039 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

Their cops are armed so it's nothing to do with the scenario I witnessed. But yes in order to have clean safe streets you need organisation and enforcement.

Something we are severely lacking in Ireland. From AS processing to general policing.

But as your post shows, if you're of a certain persuasion then there's no critical thinking.

Mod Edit: Warned for being a dick and attacking the poster

Post edited by Necro on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭enricoh

Gotta love Rte, a further follow up bleeding heart story on it today. Can they string it out for the weekend - stay tuned.

Any convicted criminals on board the flight lads?

A f@#k up by immigration officials? On the basis of claims by the woman getting deported, yeah I'll take that with a dollop of salt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,736 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

That is the problem . Of course those families are settled now with kids in school. Processing was too slow in the past few years .

However I agree with the minister that if we make allowances for children in school we are hamstringing any chance of being able to deport families .

Some good changes happening that people need to recognize ..

Faster processing has been brought in ✓

More countries on the safe list also ✓

Deportations starting for those who are refused their applications ✓

Jim o'Callaghan has made a big difference in DoJ . I haven't seen anything that is unfair or contravenes human rights like UK Conservative's Rwanda policy did .

Fair dues .

There are people still not happy that this issue is finally being brought under control .

Help keep Boards going , subscribe or donate if you can.

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,456 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

But we aren't really new to this, it started around 1999 but it's just the numbers have increased a lot over the last 3 years.

Governments just decided to ignore immigration when the numbers were around 7 k but its only now they are trying to do something.

Deportations are taking too long for various reasons but allowing numerous appeals which we are paying for isn't helping to speed up the process.

And the left leaning parties like SF Labour and the SDs will go at the government all day long about housing but have nothing to say about this subject.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭kabakuyu

We now have that SD cretin Gannon calling for any children in Ireland for longer than 1 year to be allowed to stay,I presume he also would like their parents to stay as well.

We finally have a justice minister enforcing our immigration laws and now we have the SDs, SF,PBP and labour trying to undermine him for a headline, this country is fecked.

https://www.thejournal.ie/deportations-nigeria-6725236-Jun2025/

Ive said it before, if the SDs or Labour ever get a say on immigration this country is finished.

How the hell are both these parties so successful in Dublin when the city is getting hammered worse than anywhere else with the numbers arriving every week.

Nobody would ever be deported if every kid who is here for a year was allowed to stay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭tom23

That is why i hope the Soc Dems never get the numbers to be in government. Deluded of the wall stuff from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 922 ✭✭✭Juran

Or sounds like she was telling porkies. Remember, every refusal is confirmation with evidence that the applicant lied that they were a refugee and needed asylum. So lying comes natural to many fake AS's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭Rasputin11

There wasn't as much fuss when the Georgians were deported.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭hamburgham

Can someone tell me why these ‘international obligations’ don’t extend to the US and Australia? Pat Kenny was interviewing the Minister for Immigration yesterday and he said that if you pitch up at immigration in the USA or Australia with no documents, you’re not let into the country. Here they just have to say they’re claiming asylum and our ‘international obligations’, according to the Minister say we have to let them in. Are the USA and Australia not subject to the same ‘international obligations’ ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 922 ✭✭✭Juran

Like every country in the world, US and Oz have the right to refuse a person entry under their own immigration laws and they do enforce them.

Ireland and UK have immigration laws but for some reason dont enforce them. Perhpas a lack of balls is the reason?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,529 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

You may be able to check here whether the USA or AUS signed the Treaty:

https://www.unhcr.org/about-unhcr/overview/1951-refugee-convention

Refugees are in extremely vulnerable circumstances, lacking the protection of their own countries and facing immense challenges to their safety and well-being. The 1951 Refugee Convention, supplemented by its 1967 Protocol, help protect them.

EDIT: I checked, and AUS signed the Treaty in 1954.

Has faster processing being brought in?

I heard median wait times of 68 weeks?

Faster, to me, is within a week.

Switz process some claims in 24 hrs.

Given the scale of AS here, should we not purchase an aircraft, instead of chartering one?

Would that not be cheaper?

There are tens of thousands of AS, even with 100 per flight, there should be hundreds of flights.

Are any existing Air Corps aircraft suitable?

A document from 1951 is not fit for purpose in 2025.

Across the water the Conservatives and Reform are saying the Brits should opt out and they are dead right.

But over here we have a government who thinks its our job to solve all the world's problems, spend our money on so called overseas aid and let in anyone who rocks up at Dublin Airport.

Other countries think we are a pushover nation of woke libs and its hard to argue otherwise when we see what's happening here.

Post edited by Galwayguy35 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭BandyMandy

Why spend thousands of euro on a deportation flight that carries only a few dozen people to Nigeria? There are thousands of scammers from Nigeria in Ireland who should have been deported long ago, and they'd get a few 100 into a chartered flight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,454 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I'd assume security reasons. Several hundred deportees on a plane that don't want to be there/going home could be problematic if they decided to make an issue of it in-flight.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,745 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

There were 2,403 deportation orders signed in the whole of 2024. So far in 2025, there have been 1,980 deportation orders signed. Jim O’Callaghan didn’t take office until January 23 either. There were no deportation flights in 2024

It’s quite clear what direction we’re going in here. The new Minister has a much better handle on this than his predecessors and from what we’ve seen so far it’s clear the Irish people can be confident in the ability of the new Minister to enforce the law of the land in this area

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭_Quilombero_

The same day they were deported, at least the same number

Agree. The government was happy enough to claim that the Irish Constitution was outdated when they wanted to remove references to women and family i.e. changes that would have increased numbers of asylum seekers applying under the pretence of family reunification. Yet they'll quote 1951 law now because it suits the agenda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,736 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Yes . Thats the overall apparently.. within 4 months for some who they want to move through and move on .

"Accelerated processing was introduced in November 2022 and it now applies to those from designated safe countries of origin, applicants who have received protection elsewhere in Europe and citizens of countries from which there are the largest number of applicants.

Under the accelerated process, applicants currently receive a first-instance decision within approximately four months " .

As regards the Swiss see @ArthurDayne 's post re how they have been operating now for years. It's going to take time and some consistency in government to attain the same level of efficiency here .

Help keep Boards going , subscribe or donate if you can.

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/