Near Misses Volume 2 (So close you can feel it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭Paddigol

What an absolute ball bag. A classic case of how to not be as a human. Zero sense of perspective. Zero sense of self awareness. Zero consideration for the approx couple of hundred people who would have been disturbed by his antics. And all for what? So he could make a point? Leaving aside that he is wrong - what’s the speed on the quays? What did he actually lose by having to drive behind a cyclist for a short distance? 9 times out of 10 it’s the cars that hold me up when cycling on the quays.

God I hope karma gets him.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 55,425 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

Do I remember correctly that the taxi regulator will only take complaints from taxi customers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭Steoller

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 55,425 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

"NTA cannot consider complaints of a criminal nature, or a road traffic offence or any offence which is primarily dealt with under other legislation."

https://www.nationaltransport.ie/taxi/compliance-enforcement/customer-complaints/

sounds like they could palm this one off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,406 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

They did before a couple of years ago when I had an incident with another Taxi driver (a great bunch of lads) on the city quays. Close pass in the bus lane just after O'Connell Bridge heading west, was so close I thumped the side of the car to alert him of my presence. He took offense to that and started blowing the horn in intervals but since traffic was so backed up neither of us was going anywhere, he got out of the taxi roaring and grabed my elbow, a little runt of a man.

Anyway that one I had to progress with Gardai, logged initially via Traffic Watch and then a bit of an ordeal giving a statement in Store St who didn't want to take it claiming it was under Pearse St jurisdiction. Eventually statement was taken and forwarded to Pearse St where again a very nice Garda got in touch via phone to clarify the situation. He rang me back a month later or so advising he called the taxi driver into the station to give his statement and he was then also trying to get a statement from the taxi's customer before progressing the matter further. Never heard a further word about it since. No video evidence back then however to further strengthen the case.

Not going through the rigmarole of Garda statements for the serial beeper so will go on Andrew's advise with the Taxi regulator and hope they instill some discipline and curtesy on him.

i suspect if they start claiming 'it's a road traffic offence' your line should be 'i am making a complaint about the abusive nature of his behaviour, which is not covered by road traffic legislation'.

They will almost certainly try to palm it off, which is why it's important to use the language I quoted above, taken from their complaints form; you're complaining about 'The conduct, behaviourof an SPSV driver' specifically 'acting in a manner that is perceived to be a nuisance or to cause offence to any person' and not about any traffic offence that may have occured.

It doesn't really matter whether it's covered by road traffic legislation or not. It's not an either/or scenario. There's nothing in law requiring the complainant to go to one or other body or both. It's none of NTA's business whether you report any road traffic matters to Gardai or not. Just be clear that you're not reporting traffic offences to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,484 ✭✭✭standardg60

LOL at the 'not our jurisdiction' excuse, it's a meme at this stage for the guards!

Re the video I'd have stopped dead in front of the pr1ck once he'd laid on the horn to ask what his problem was. Notice he became far more explanatory than aggressive once you both had to stop. He bears a striking resemblance to a taxi driver I had a run in with, not on the road, a few years ago in the course of my job.

@ssholes are @ssholes in any walk of life, but there should be a study done as to why an unproportionate amount of them choose to be taxi drivers.

Knowledge is learning something, wisdom is learning from it, intelligence thought of it first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭JMcL

….giving a statement in Store St who didn't want to take it claiming it was under Pearse St jurisdiction

Ugh, what a load of nonsense. I had similar years ago when some dick in a van repeatedly pulled in on me going round Christchurch. After having words and been threatened with violence I tried to report it in Pearse St. The guard on the desk was visibly relieved as he joyfully informed me I'd have to take it up at Kevin St. as it wasn't his problem. It's an awful shame they don't have some way of taking a complaint in one location and it then somehow magically being accessible at another….. Still all is good on the country's roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 fmcco

Slightly off-topic but what should I do about a Traffic Watch report that hasn't been followed up? I nearly got flattened by a bus driver so reported it, and got a call from a local guard about a month later. After we had gone through the customary "Do you really want to make a statement? It could take a long time. You might have to do it during working hours. The super probably won't progress it for action anyway. If he does, you'll have to go to court. Do you really want to go to court?" deflection process she said I would get a call back in a week or two. That was 4 months ago. I thought about submitting a new report about the same incident, but maybe there's better way? The bus driver knew exactly what he was doing so I don't want to just let it go.

If you got a name for the Garda, I'd definitely call them back. Calling the station without a particular name to look for is generally not fruitful in my experience. I'd go ahead and submit again in that situation. They do say on the website that you can submit up to six months after the incident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 963 ✭✭✭Utter Consternation

Every god damn morning on my cycle into work there's always a dipsh1t that overtakes me as i'm travelling over speed-bumps causing them to slow down and cancel the maneuver. Added bonus points for doing this as we're going around a corner and with traffic approaching in the opposite direction.

Every fcuking morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,336 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

I don't think I could have held the same restraint, fair play to you.

However, part of me thinks that by acting in a restrained fashion the taxi driver has learned nothing from this encounter and comes away somewhat vindicated from his interaction with the "loony cyclist".

Which is exactly why it's important that the driver gets a visit from the Taxi Regulator's inspector for a little chat.

Fair point, I don't have the camera all that long but I've found it has inadvertently calmed by interactions considerably perhaps in an adverse hope that such drivers will incriminate themselves further. The incessant beeping didn't intimidate me and was interested to see how long he'd progress it for but it would be enough to put a less seasoned cyclist off commuting and cycling in general.
    Will see what if anything happens with the taxi regulator, it was Tues evening when I emailed so will give them a week before chasing to remind them I haven't disappeared much as they'd love that.

Good man.

Just wondering what the most effective deterrent to this kind of driver behaviour might be, on the part of the cyclist?

Ignoring it doesn't seem to work - may actually fuel bravado. Reporting doesn't seem to (really) work, or at least scant evidence of it working.

The only deterrent is the fear of repercussions both in the form of fines and penalty points but there's zero chance of that hence why driving standards are constantly deteriorating.

Needs to be red light and bus lane cameras everywhere issuing automatic fines and only when contested should they involve Garda resources. Similarly the reporting system is farcically archaic, the online portal needs to accept video footage and once viewed and verified it collaborates the accompanying statement then a fine issued. Again only in the case of it being contested should it involve the Gardai requiring a separate statement and explanation to the witness of what will be required in court if it gets to that stage.

If every driver had the fear of infractions yielding to fines and points the roads would be a lot safer and more pleasant. It's not just the roads either, people are often incredibly inconsiderate and selfish so to quote the great Australian TV series Mr. Inbetween:
    "The world is full of assholes, Ray, you do realise that. Yeah, and you know why? Cause people let them get away with it"

I hear what you're saying, but in your case a red light camera or a bus lane camera wouldn't trigger for this incident. This is person-to-person, and perhaps needs to be progressed person-to-person?

True, in cases like above either party should be able to submit video footage online with an accompanying statement without the whole rigmarole of trying to find the garda station that covers the jurisdiction and then a willing garda to take a statement and actually follow up on the complaint. That should only be required if the easily identifiable driver doesn't contest the charge. If it's a pedestrian, cyclists or other road user not easily identifiable then Garda resources would be required to investigate and identify depending on the severity of the case.

A number of years ago a brown van left hooked me on the quays making contact, only that I managed to swerve with the van and also turn the corner that I stayed upright and alive. Thumped the side of the van but they continued on breaking a red light further on in the process of fleeing the scene. Compliant logged with Traffic Watch who forwarded it on to Brideswell Garda station from who I got a phone call a number of weeks later. Told on the phone any CCTV in the area would already have been wiped plus the van was registered down the country so there was nothing they could do. So apparently not only do you have to find the Garda jurisdiction where the infringement occurred but all parties involved have to also reside in or close by making for an easy investigation.

With technology everywhere and camera footage now easily available it really needs to be incorporated into appropriate policing in a more automated fashion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭JMcL

So apparently not only do you have to find the Garda jurisdiction where the infringement occurred but all parties involved have to also reside in or close by making for an easy investigation.

This is a LOCAL street for LOCAL crimes

I've gotten the 'oh it's registered down the country' excuse too. You'd want to have seen the look I got when I replied with 'If only we had some kind of network of enforcement officers with a local station in each area'! 'Ah sure you can't be having every guard in the country going round chasing this stuff'.

I've also had another guard telling me how he sent registered letters to registered owners of the vehicle telling them that he'd be issuing them with the FCPN. And then he issued them with the FCPN.

So it definitely is possible, though there really doesn't seem to be any process for transferring cases for action around the Garda network.

So next time I'm driving to my holiday villa out west, all bets are off once I get outside of the DMR garda district. Phone will be out, a beer on the dash, foot to the floor - they're clearly not interested in enforcing anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,044 ✭✭✭tnegun

I wasn't going to bother with this one from a Boles Hire artic near Lucan this morning, I'm guessing he was upset I didn't use the cycle lane so he chose to tailgate, sound the horn, not complete the pass safely and then finished up with a poor attempt at a brake check. My time is an hour out, but there was a kid(19) killed off his bike just a couple of kms from there an hour earlier this morning too so I'm considering following up as putting up with this sh1te just leads to poorer behaviour and aggression towards cyclists. I've sent the footage to the company to get their views on it too.

** They responded the poor driver was doing all that for my benefit who knew!!
    Thank you for passing on this video.

We have looked at the video and spoken to the truck driver, and as evidence shows he was only advising you he was overtaking when there was clearly a cycle lane available, which you did not move in to use.  Under safe driving/cycling practices, we would advise with areas of heavy traffic you use cycle lanes when available for your safety and the safety of all other road users.

Post edited by tnegun on

Are you actually sh1tting me? They've taken the route of victim blaming here?

WOW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,916 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Sadly I witness the lucan one.

You could consider quoting the legal uses of the horn from ROTR in your response back to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

He seems to have overtaken illegally too, you should be fined for that, that must be your fault too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,044 ✭✭✭tnegun

I'm not going to engage with them further, I just replied to say had they acknowledged the poor driving, spoken to the driver etc. I'd have considered it closed but as they chose to doubledown I'll let traffic watch take it from here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Orban6

Would have been avoided if you had used the cycle track provided.

https://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/1997/si/182/made/en/print#article14