Munster Team Talk Thread - Beirne After Reading

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Ref ought to have yellowed Hendrickse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 873 ✭✭✭bingobango12

Nah, don’t agree. Do what you have to do to win.

Fair play to Crowley. Had the balls to slot his kick and give it back to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,303 ✭✭✭StevenToast

Heroic again from Munster....

Time and time again they always front up.....

They made the old Heineken Cup so magic with their backs to the wall underdog winning and losing performances....

That performance tonight was reminiscent of those old days...

Tadhg Beirne was immense again...hes an incredible player.

But well done Munster....can be very proud of that.

"SUBSCRIBE TO BOARDS YOU TIGHT CÙNT".....Plato 400 B.C

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭Cateym

To quote a great ref "this is not soccer". There is no room for this in rugby. We pride ourselves on not sinking to the level of soccer players. Shame on Hendrikse and Karma's a bit*h.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Ben Bailey

Munster were magnificent

Carried out on their shields

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭John arse

Scummy bastards tbf!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 797 ✭✭✭rodders999

always felt that easy penalty miss that would have made it 10 nil was going to turn out to be incredibly costly and so it proved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

Gutted for the lads. Horrible way to lose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭Madeoface

I agree. Same fans that applaud Casey 'drawing' a penalty for hanging on like a limpet a couple of weeks ago? If you dish it out you have to be able to eat it.

Shi#housery and not nice to see, but cmon, as if Munster or Leinster don't. Fair play to Crowley, very composed.

Would have liked Munster to knock them out in the end. Sharks handling was poor but they were the better team on the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 autogrow

haley was utter gash bar one tackle brain dead

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 9,201 ✭✭✭fitz

SA rugby culture is f*cking toxic. Absolutely disgusted that they won after that show of ignorance. Hendrikse and the member of their coaching team having a go at Crowley should both receive lengthy bans. Not that I think it will happen, but this bullsh*t is endemic with SA rugby from Rassie down. It's so ugly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭Paddy_Mag

Who was it Peter OMahony called "a stupid c*nt" a few years back? Was it Rory kockett? If your gonna dish it out, take it.

Munster players, front rowers especially will at some stage have taken a knee just before a scrum in the past, like all teams will have. Is that bad sportsmanship too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,768 ✭✭✭decies

heartbreaking loss for the players . Am proud of their effort down there ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,296 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

Couldn’t disagree more. One forward pass aside, thought he was excellent when he came on and an upgrade on Abraham’s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭For Petes Sake

Agreed. It was great to watch. All that nonsense and Crowley was able to slot it and give it right back. Loved it.

Also, you’ve lads here who said it was a disgrace Mack Hansen got a ban for questioning the integrity of the referee, and then in the next sentence calling for a ban for winking.

Shithousery and ‘dark arts’ have always featured in the game. Let’s not pretend it’s only a recent thing.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,280 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I think there's a huge difference between a bit of shithousery during play and what happened there. It's a penalty kick. Would that be allowed to happen during a penalty kick during play? Not a f*cking chance.

If you had a penalty during a game and had the coaching staff a few meters from the kicker screaming at him to put him off, what do you think would happen? Or someone simulating injury to get in the way of a penalty? I've often heard refs telling players and medics to move and not take any bullshit from them..Adamson handled it very badly, imo, but there should absolutely be a mechanism for penalizing a team for that kind of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭Eoinbmw

And their fanbase top it off horrible group of people!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 873 ✭✭✭bingobango12

Not too sure what that Nigel Owens quote has to do with this incident as that was when a player was shouting at him I’m pretty sure.

Hendrikse wasn’t cheating, wasn’t diving, wasn’t trying to get a penalty. He was playing mind games, what sports people the standard on that pitch do constantly. Pretty much every single game you will see the winning team trying to slow everything down with reset scrums, props staying down for delays etc.

As I said, to his credit, Crowley slotted the kick so it made absolutely no difference to Munster losing that anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭For Petes Sake

The penalty would be retaken?

Crowley slotted it anyway. As I said that moment made for great viewing. Nothing better than when a shithouses efforts fail.

Cheating (and let’s be honest, that’s what it is) has always been accepted as ‘dark arts’, why is that ok but shithousery isn’t?

I think people are being a little bit too precious here. As I say, we have lads calling for bans for winking. Calm down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭Jump_In_Jack

Fair play to the young player that subbed on at the end and kicked two of the penalty kicks off his left leg on the left side.
    Pity the other fella acting the maggot drew attention away from that.

Munster stood up and fought to the end, super effort to a man.

Not nice going out in the quarters but that’s sport.

Looking forward to a fresh start next season, lots of questions about who will step up and lead in each position.

New coach, plenty of youth mixed with some seasoned pros, I think we will have as good or better results next season.

Hopefully, we will have a home quarter next season.

Enjoy the summer, will have to wait a few months to give it another lash!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,030 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

The worst thing for World rugby has been that Rassie-ball rugby winning past 2 world cups , lost a lot of casual rugby interested fans.

Hard luck Munster , wished you on.

Hardly for winking. For simulating injury to interfere with a penalty kick, for unsportsmanlike conduct. And for a coach to be up in Crowley's face giving him abuse? That's not shithousery. Again, when was the last time you saw a player be allowed act the absolute dick to a player about to take a penalty? They're not allowed be within 10 meters, ffs. And it's a terrible look for the coaching staff to be trying to distract the kicker for the sideline. When was the last time you saw that happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,856 ✭✭✭snotboogie

Not sure why people are annoyed, Munster didn’t miss a single kick after the “cramp” Crowley gave it right back to them. We came out on top of that little exchange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,295 ✭✭✭50HX

Exactly

I'm all for a guy stirring a bit during a game but what went on this evening during the penalties was

A : not in the spirit of rugby

B: typical SA sh1t as pointed earlier, from Rassie down.

They are pawns on a system not men with any bit if character

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭irelandrover

It's poor form from hendrikse.

But it is pathetic refereeing from Adamson. It's just so weak.

What about the coaching team putting Scannell off? Why not have that retaken and step on the bullshit immediately. Adamson was too worried about being polite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,925 ✭✭✭KaneToad

Top drawer $hit-housery from Sharks. But ultimately it made f-all difference. Unless Scannell's poor miss could be attributed to jeers - which I don't think it did.

Would it not have been wiser to put Scannell on the easier 'in front of the posts' kicks? Sharks had no probs with having "wrong" footed kickers on the wing.

Munster were fortunate to make it to kicks. Sharks were superior in most aspects of the game. Munster just had an amazing defence to get them to E.T. The future is bright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭Eoinbmw

I watched him numerous times over the season with a blank expression on his face thinking what the **** am i doing lol!

I'm really hopeful for Munster under McMillan next season. Can't wait to see what he brings to the club. If he can get them playing at all like Chiefs, I'll be delighted.