Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Richard Satchwell Found Guilty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,599 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

It would appear that the Gardai didn't make much progress until a new superintendent was appointed (Ann-Marie Twomey) as the senior investigating officer in 2021. She reviewed the evidence and immediately found several lines of inquiry. She also got another search warrant and this time used a cadaver dog which was crucial.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,901 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

Gardai can't just go around demolishing houses based on a hunch. The YouTube red flag, doesn't suggest she was buried within the home, it suggests he googled how to get rid of remains etc, but he was always a suspect, so I don't know how you think that could make any difference to the investigation.

Gardai obviously had a lot of red flags over the years, it appears they acted on them when they could.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,001 ✭✭✭✭volchitsa

This is weird. Police don't wait until there's proof that a body is buried before being able to search for a body. There was a case in France some years back, where the father announced that they were all moving to America, and then they all disappeared.

The French police didn't wait years before digging up the concrete that had recently been put down in the back garden: they dug it up within a short time, and found the wife and, I think all four or maybe five children, several of them adults, buried. The father has never been found though.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dupont_de_Ligonn%C3%A8s_murders_and_disappearance

There was an "Unsolved Mysteries" episode on Netflix a few years back about this.

I can't see how anyone can think that AGS didn't fall down very badly on this. I think it's no coincidence that the breakthroughs only started coming when a new investigation officer was appointed. Maybe the fact that the new person was a woman explains a difference in her attitude to missing women too.

”I enjoy cigars, whisky and facing down totalitarians, so am I really Winston Churchill?” (JK Rowling)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,819 ✭✭✭✭walshb

far too simplistic. They didn’t act when there were clear red flags. Nobody is saying houses should have been demolished in a few days. And this wasn’t about any hunch either. As mentioned, new team looked at it and only then did things happen and happen as they should have years earlier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭cap.in.hand.

So he was her puppy dog...he never mentions what she did for him in all their years together...he made her tea, breakfast,lunch dinner,house upkeep every day of their life...he really gave the public impression she was useless and entitled and loved her for exactly being that way......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,806 ✭✭✭✭blade1

cctv across the road was broken.

Luck seemed to be on his side for a while anyway.

You do understand that french law and Irish law are different yes?

Gardai cannot get a search warrant to search for a body, if they are investigating a missing person

The 'new person' you refer to wasn't the one examining the case, a male Garda was.

yes, but quite soon the gardai should have deduced that this wasn’t a missing person, that it was a dead person missing. It took far too long to get moving

Nor can they in France either, I'm sure. But it was clear within weeks, if not days, that Tina Satchwell's disappearance was suspicious. Nobody had seen her leaving the house when her husband said she had, no movement on her account etc.

Put it like this: if Irish law doesn't allow for this sort of disappearance to be treated as suspicious and a proper search of a house to be made, including for a body, then there's something seriously wrong with the law and it needs ot be changed.

Given you think that the laws on hate speech need to be changed, I'm surprised you're so relaxed that actual murders can be ignored "because the law doesn't allow" (according to you anyway - personally I'm unconvinced that the law didn't allow them to search for her properly if the will to do so had been there.)

”I enjoy cigars, whisky and facing down totalitarians, so am I really Winston Churchill?” (JK Rowling)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭Hippodrome Song Owl

Obviously Gardai can't dig up houses for a missing person after a short time. But once they reach a point of believing she hadn't just left of her own accord and were searching the woods in Castlemartyr due to report of suspicious activity, it's nonsense to think they couldn't have done an invasive search of the house to investigate the suspicious recent building work - particularly in light of the suspicious Internet search on his laptop.

Nothing had changed to make the new Garda's decision to search due to the renovations any more valid than taking such a decision after one year. What evidence is there that the invasive search warrant wouldn't have been granted had they requested it in 2018?

How soon? Remember her husband reported her missing, he said she had left. He didn't make a formal statement for two months. There was nothing suspicious about her dissapearance at the time.

It was a few months later that Gardai suspected something had happened to her. There were no previous incidents, domestic violence or otherwise, there were no reports from her family that rose suspicions (as far as I know)

But that alone was suspcious, that he only reported it after two months. Nobody thinks the guards should have been in the next day, that's not what the issue is.

But as Hippodrome Song Owl says, what changed six years later to make the search suddenly reasonable that wouldn't have been equally reasonable after six months or a year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,581 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

The “evidence” before the first search was that mysteriously, Tina was nowhere to be found on local CCTV- given the whole of Ireland knew Satchwell killed her from nearly day 1, it’s mind boggling that they didn’t use a cadaver dog on the first search - mind boggling .

They were absolutely asleep at the wheel. End a story. I’m a bit puzzled some think AGS did their job. Eventually they did!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,734 ✭✭✭seenitall

So, why did he kill her? Anything said about that in the trial? I mean, what was the reason in his mind for his murderous anger……?

He said he didn’t murder her. He said she attacked him and in defending himself she somehow died. So, according to him, his defending himself from her attack is why she died.

But he couldn’t even describe how his defending himself resulted in his wife’s death. An absolute spoofer.

And the delay in finding her body really hurt the chances of possibly finding out the cause of her death.

He reported it after 4 days, he made a formal statement after 2 months. Nothing particularly suspicious about that. Her family obviously didn't report her missing or any suspicions.

whether he reported it 4 days or 4 months, the initial gardai had red flags clearly in front of them. 4 years later the same red flags led other gardai to do a proper job..

So, all completely irrelevant to why AGS didn't look for her properly after 6 months or a year then?

What changed after 6 years that they were able to bring in a cadaver dog, in your view? Do you think it was too busy until then?

Did they? What red flags did they have when he reported it?

they were aware the renovations on the house early enough, as well as the YouTube video, as well as her bank accounts not touched, as well as other details that would lead any half intelligent police force to realize that this is a dead missing person. 2017 they were aware! It’s inexcusable to most educated folks that the gardai were not near thorough enough; and this is pretty evident when other gardai looked at the flags in 2021 and got it sorted!

Those were not red flags when he reported it, which is what you claimed.

They were not aware of any suspicious circumstances until at least 2 months after she was reported missing. They searched the house 3 months after she was reported missing. At that stage there was nothing that suggested she was in the house

Who decides what's a red flag? The Gardai? Who decided those indications were not red flags??

As for what suggested she was in the house or not, that's their job when they're looking for a missing person who has shown no signs of life after months. They aren't supposed to just take the husband's word for it that she went off by herself when literally nobody else, and no cameras etc, could verify that.

There was no evidence that she'd ever LEFT the house, is what they shoudl have borne in mind.

Who decided those indications were not red flags??

What indications?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 43,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

She disappeared without any evidence of her taking her keys, money, bank cards, passport, her beloved pets, etc.

There is no evidence that she was outside the house on the day she was alleged to have left. No cameras picked her up, nobody saw her...

She made no attempt to make contact with her family, with whom she was close to.

When then laptop was taken, a simple search reveals that he looked up info on using quicklime.

Then it appears that there was some recent construction work inside the house.

Then you have the gut feeling of the investigating gardai who presumably all believed that she had come to harm.

Which were not known for a few months after she was reported missing. I was responding to a poster or 2 who seemed to think Gardai should have been immediately suspicious when she was reported missing.

After a few months, yes, it was obviously suspicious and Gardai were of the belief that something bad had happened, they did search the house in June or July of that year.

I said they were aware of red flags “early enough,” which is true. 2017 the red flags were there, the same red flags that the 2021 team acted on and got the case proper moving.

I never mentioned “reported.” No idea why you seem to think there were no issues with the initial 4 years that passed before the new team got cracking.

In 2017 they didn’t proper search the house with what red flags they had. Had they done a proper job/search they would have found her body in 2017

Regardless, from once he formally reported her missing and the house was checked, alarm bells should have been on overdrive in the garda station but it wasn't until Supt. Twomey took over that someone seems to have heard it ringing!

Listen, we all had strong suspicions that he was guilty. Surely gardai had similar suspicions but they had actual grounds for having those suspicions: so why did they sit on the case? This needs to be answered!

Post edited by Seth Brundle on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,763 ✭✭✭pah

So when the guards revisited this in 2021 why didn't all these red flags result in a search within a few weeks or months? Search was Oct 2023.

Lots of experts after the fact as usual. It's easy now to say ah sure it was obvious all along. Go back and look at the other discussion threads on this over the years and find me a comment suggesting this outcome. These things take time, you need all your ducks in a row to do it once and do it right.

If that's directed towards me, I didn't claim that they should have been in straight away. However, they had enough to escalate the case up to a murder investigation which gives increased powers. There is no explanation why they sat on the case for a number of years - not even Supt. Twomey could explain why the case appeared to have stalled when she was on the stand.