Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Immigration and Ireland - MEGATHREAD *Mod Note Added 14/08/25*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,992 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,998 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Tech is in a slump. Trump will either drive us into a recession or we’ll need 1000s of graduates in 2027. This is a prediction based on the thousands of skilled immigrants we needed up to now.

It’s easy to move the window to a time scale small enough to prove any point. It’s much harder than acknowledging the complexity of the world around us.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,753 ✭✭✭riddles

Within the guard rails of current immigration policies we are probably using between 100-200k housing units to house migrants who have never paid tax in this country. Probably more than half that number is made up of EU nationals. This is not part of the 1.2 bn IPAS. Our government shows an unbending commitment to this “international obligations!” Catch all statement. The current tax payer ratio will trend from current 5-1 to 2-1 in less than 20 years a fact well known in the department of finance. None of this will be presented for discussion in RTE.

Lest we forget the sort of numbers the government said we could adequately support when there was at least a nod that making commitments to accept people into the country needed careful planning and modicum of control.

https://gov.ie/en/department-of-children-disability-and-equality/publications/irish-refugee-protection-programme/

as an extra I wonder if this is has triggered the NGO IPAS lottery win for the in the know friends and family of FF/FG

Caps-EU: Building Capacity for Private Sponsorship in the European Union (CAPS-EU) Project

The aim of the CAPS EU Project is working to build European, national and local government, and nongovernmental stakeholders’ capacity to design, implement, sustain, and scale up community sponsorship programmes for refugees. Led by Ireland, with support from our Belgian partners Fedasil and the Migration Policy Institute Europe (MPIE) the CAPS-EU Project is co-financed by the European Commission under the Asylum, Migration and Integration Fund.

It aims to capitalise on existing political and social momentum to provide communities with a means to assist with the integration of refugees in Ireland, Belgium and participating countries

Further details on the project can be found at: https://www.migrationpolicy.org/caps-eu-project

https://www.unhcr.org/ie/non-governmental-organizations-ireland Dora’s.ie gets a million a year tax payer funding and raises about 40k€ in donations and is listed as a charity

Not to mention the housing approved bodies of which there are up to 500. We can assume that most of the 6bn a year funding going through NGO is buying goods and services largely without open tendering as we saw in the Peter McVerry trust story.

A simple start would be to match tax payers contributions to NGO’s with their self funding activities total given that they are designated charities.

Again none of this will appear on RTE for at least some transparency.

Post edited by riddles on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭Marcos

The fact that McEntee opted out doesn't mean we can't opt in. That should be investigated fully and then done asap IMO.

When most of us say "social justice" we mean equality under the law opposition to prejudice, discrimination and equal opportunities for all. When Social Justice Activists say "social justice" they mean an emphasis on group identity over the rights of the individual, a rejection of social liberalism, and the assumption that unequal outcomes are always evidence of structural inequalities.

Andrew Doyle, The New Puritans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭enricoh

In the space of a few hours time scale you claimed we needed foreign tech workers to do fill jobs here n now you are saying there is no jobs need filling - which is it?

Very complex indeed, maybe we should stockpile them til 2027, with 150k pps numbers issued a year we'll be on the front foot if tech picks up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,542 ✭✭✭Viscount Aggro

I went through Dublin airport 2 days ago … arrivals area… there was an official waiting halfway, wearing black semi-military uniform. Is this some new screening tactic? Racial profiling?

Mod - warned for posting anecdote

Post edited by Leg End Reject on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,824 ✭✭✭Markus Antonius

Could you give us a ranked list on what you think is the worst thing to be? I.e. racist, antisemitic, anti-migrant, anti uncontrolled immigration, homophobic etc.

Would be good to know how to stay within your moral standards. Maybe boards.ie could pin it on the main page

Mod - warned for trolling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,109 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

The only comparison to our own past was when Irish people couldn't buy property. How have we ended up back here? The EU is how.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

I'm not sure why we need to get theatrical about it. I'm also an Irish speaker myself and have volunteered many times at the Irish colleges. I regard Gaoth Dobhair as my second home and have long standing friendships there and a deep respect for the Gaeltacht community. So please, spare me all the "just wows" and the talk of throwing people under the bus.

I was responding to a point being made about refugees being housed in Connemara — specifically a concern about this "diluting" the language. I find this a very weak point, not least because the biggest threat to the survival of the Irish language has been a combination of the lack of will of Irish people themselves to speak it, and the failure of the education system to promote it as a living language. The presence of refugees, even if one was to formulate some argument that it somehow damages the Irish language, is dwarfed as a threat to it beside the absolute major threat — that Irish people generally can't, won't or don't want to speak the language.

From my own experience, foreign people living here are some of the most interested and enthusiastic people as regards the language. Their children often also will be used to speaking different languages and have a knack for picking languages up consequently. And I'm also not just plucking that from the anecdotal air — https://www.thejournal.ie/language-key-for-migrants-in-rural-ireland-6532779-Nov2024/

In fact, over the course of the last ten years — where migration should apparently be diluting the language — I personally believe I've seen more enthusiasm for the language. I don't think migrants have necessarily been the reason for that, but their presence here doesn't seem to correlate with a decline in interest in the language.

Mod - warned for posting anecdote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,824 ✭✭✭rgossip30

How is it an anti semitic conspiracy theory .? The debate is about large scale immigration into the country !! .

Post edited by rgossip30 on

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,998 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

No, I explained that when the multinational hiring is full speed, we cannot supply the people.

We simply cannot produce enough graduates to meet the demand. There’s nothing wrong with our system. Look at the amount it skilled immigrants who’ve arrived in Ireland over the last 25 years.

You’ve no idea who those PPS numbers were issue to and either do I. Asylum seekers, kids of immigrants, students, EU immigrants etc.

You want to simply the world when it isn’t simple.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭prunudo

There comes a time when we have to ask. What kind of Ireland do we want? Why are we still trying to accommodate new mnc when we don't have the employees, the homes or the services to facilitate contuined growth.

I've said before I want to live in an Ireland that is a society not an economy, but all to often we are told we must put up with this ever increasing immigration because of the economy. But to what end is this economy they strive for, who benefits from this, is it all just to make corporations and a select few richer. Because it sure doesn't appear to be benefiting those living here who are trying to make ends meet, from Irish families struggling to get on the housing ladder or language school students cramped in modern day tentament style rentals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,103 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Many Irish speakers have fought hard for the Irish language revival. Can you name some of the more adept in Irish foreigners who are doing the same?

I don’t think the intention was to throw Irish speakers under the bus, it was simply to point out that in contrast to the suggestion that placing asylum seekers in the Gaeltacht would dilute the language, the opposite is actually what happens where immigrants are concerned, with many demonstrating an enthusiasm for the language which isn’t present among native Irish people.

I don’t know that many Irish speakers actually have fought hard for the Irish language revival; if there were many of them, there would be objective evidence of their efforts which either of us could easily point to. What does appear to be happening though, is in the face of increasing immigration, there is an equally poor attempt to revive an Irish identity based upon whatever standards suit its proponents agenda.

One of those standards does not appear to be an ability to converse in the national language, as demonstrated here:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,824 ✭✭✭rgossip30

No matter what way you try to spin this as someone who does not live in the Gaeltacht and has no clue . The locals objected to it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭Lotus Flower

One random person who can’t speak Irish in a video does not equal to a ‘standard’. And of course fair play to the chap who spoke Irish. We would be delighted if everyone took such an interest

I haven’t tried to spin anything any way? Much less do I have any interest in “Gaeilgoirs living in your area” 🤨

Philip Dwyer isn’t just a random person though, he’s a figurehead leader in the whole anti-immigration, Irish identity revival effort, which is why his inability to converse in the language of an identity which he claims is that important to him, speaks volumes of itself. He expects immigrants should adhere to his standards, yet he can’t even live by his own standards himself -

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/anti-immigrant-activist-philip-dwyer-appeals-conviction-for-trespass-at-clare-ipas-centre-1762161.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,939 ✭✭✭donaghs

No, but we could look at implementing restriction on foreign buyers like they already have in places like Canada, New Zealand, Switzerland, Denmark, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭Lotus Flower

Ah right I didn’t twig it was him. I am sure most people in real life outside of Twitter couldn’t care less about Philip Dwyer

Yeah certainly those in the Gaeltacht wouldn't give a shite about him and he has nothing to do with their objections. I don't think putting an IPAS centre there does anything to help the language and the concerns around safety would arise as seen in many other communities suffering with these centres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,409 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

The same Philip Dwyer who couldn't speak to a protester at an anti-immigrant event in Irish.

In a video recorded by Dwyer, Adelaide – a Clondalkin native and fluent Irish speaker – is singled out by Dwyer when he approaches the group of counter-protesters and asks Adelaide “Do you want to do an interview young man?”

Adelaide responded: “An bhfuil Gaeilge agat?” (Do you speak Irish?)

When Adelaide asked Dwyer, “Cén fáth atá tú anseo?” (Why are you here?), Dwyer responded: “Ní thuigim” (I don’t understand).

Adelaide, 25, continued to speak in Irish to Dwyer, with Dwyer eventually asking him if he was “sent by an NGO

https://www.thejournal.ie/darragh-adelaide-irish-language-far-right-6185339-Oct2023/

Most self proclaimed free speech absolutists are giant big whiny snowflakes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭prunudo

So the new gotcha moment is, we can only question the effects of mass immigration if we're fluent in Irish. Many people struggled with Irish in school and the attitude of the language purists often contributed to this.

The point wasn't whether anyone in the Gaeltacht gives a shíte about Philip Dwyer, it was that Philip Dwyer is representative of those people who aim to promote an Irish identity, while lacking in proficiency in one of the most basic features of an identy - a language of it's own. Using the hotel in question as an IPAS centre is entirely at the discretion of the hotel owners, not the small number of people who claim to represent the community (it's been seen in many other communities too that they are not remotely representative of the community). Claims of the language being diluted just don't stand up to much as the language can only be diluted when people stop using it, not when more people are encouraged to use it -

In certain regions, particularly the Gaeltacht, the Irish language can become a factor of integration. Migrants saw Irish as an important part of the local culture and heritage, and are interested in the language, especially when their children are learning it in school. But few have the time or opportunity to learn it.

Rural migration can offer positive experiences for newcomers, especially when communities actively foster cultural engagement.

Challenges - such as access to services, limited infrastructure - especially public transport, and a lack of translation and interpreting services remain significant barriers.

Family, more specifically children, is one of the determinants of adaptation to rural areas, as parents often reported being happy in the location when their children were happy.

Nearly all participants mentioned they never had negative reactions from locals when speaking their native language within a rural community. Many felt safe and more included in rural areas

Limited employment opportunities in rural settings were cited as a barrier towards living in the location for the long term but learning English was seen as a gateway to a job and, subsequently, to inclusion in Ireland.

The claim that Government are trying to dilute the Irish language just doesn't stand up to scrutiny, in spite of some people's claims -

Noel Thomas said that the people of Carna and Cill Chiaráin did not want to be “pushed aside” as was happening elsewhere throughout the country. He said that in An Cheathrú Rua, where asylum seekers has been placed despite huge local opposition, new arrivals has been offered english classes – and that there was no recognition that by the government of their obligation to protect the Irish language.

Locals concerns for the future of Gaeltacht areas aren't being pushed aside, the Government is promoting them, and a private hotel owner has no obligation to the local community whatsoever. The locals campaigns for greater resources and infrastructure to support and develop Gaeltacht areas can only happen when there is a sufficient population there to justify the greater investment. Otherwise it's just pissing public funds down the drain to invest public funds in areas experiencing population decline, which is the reason why Government are attempting to place Ukranians and asylum seekers in under-populated areas outside of an already over-populated Dublin city.

Dwyers effort was just funny - it only happened because he figured yer man by the look of him must be just off the boat, an easy mark to make his point, except that it didn't quite go as he planned because Adelaide has lived his whole life in Ireland and attended a local Gaelscoil as a child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,236 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

30% of babies born in 2024 were to non Irish mothers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,456 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

That video doing the rounds is shocking.

Hopefully the Gardai catch that guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,409 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

No but I think trying to use the Irish language and it's continued survival as a gotcha for being anti-immigrant when it has never before been important to the individual means it comes across as more than a bit disengenous.

And it seems to be a very obvious attempt to weaponize an element of Irish cultural identity rather than any attempt to actually support it.

Most self proclaimed free speech absolutists are giant big whiny snowflakes!

There are lots of people who don't speak or know Irish but the language is still important to them and if they had the choice they'd support government policy increasing it's use.

I say this as a native Irish speaker myself. Is it someone's fault if the primary school they went to wasn't an Irish speaking school? It's the government's fault.

I don't think the hundreds of thousands of foreigner's coming into Ireland Will do anything to boost the language proportionally. There are probably more native Indian and soon Arabic speakers in Ireland then Irish. It'll fall down the pecking order.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 21,774 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Mod: Can you all please move on from the discussion of the Irish language?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,736 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Have you a link for that very exorbitant claim ?

Help keep Boards going , subscribe or donate if you can.

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,736 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Housing problems the world over ..would you be saying the same if you had to travel for work with a family and could not buy even if you could afford to ?

This +1 @creeper1

"A foreigner who is purely an investor without any other connection is another."