Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Immigration and Ireland - MEGATHREAD *Mod Note Added 14/08/25*

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,998 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Quite the rant. How many Ukrainians have “not done a tap”? An estimate would do me.

Nice pivot into an attack on the Roma community as well. I feel like no matter what, you just want to be angry at immigrants.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

Haha genuinely?

I don’t believe you, grand anyway

Mod: Warned for uncivil posting and baiting

Post edited by Necro on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,109 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Not to mention the blow to Irish culture on this island. Indian culture could take over and considering this island is ruled by democracy what would stop the new Irish voting to form a union with India.

People don't let go of their roots and when they leave home they tend to feel even more patriotic about their homeland. The world is too big, Ireland is too small, we've let in too many. Time to protect Irish culture before it's too late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭InAtFullBack

Hotels in particular peeve me off no end.

Many were built during the Celtic Tiger and given tax breaks to be built. When times got tough during the post-2008 crash they got their VAT rate cut. During Covid-19 they got vast sums of money to keep going. Now many of them are queuing up again to take yet more taxpayers money to run as IPA Centres.

Is there a certain characteristic that in order to be a hotelier one must have an thick neck and a constant hand out for taxpayers money?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,146 ✭✭✭kabakuyu

Is there any conditions to buying a property in Ireland if you are on work visa?can someone just arrive and buy property within weeks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,424 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

If the govt didnt offer the hoteliers the money in the first place, the hoteliers would not be in position to accept the offer.

If the govt took this approach and cut all contracts with hotels, where do you propose they house the IPAs instead?

The govt have to house them somewhere is my point.

Hotels aren't the best solutuon for anyone, we all know that and I have a lot of sympathy for tourism towns that might only have 1 or 2 hotels that then get removed from the tourist market, but the govt still has to house the IPAs somewhere.

There was talk of old office blocks being converted to accommodation, but I am not sure if this ever took off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭Bitcoin

O' Gorman was was the only one who actually followed through and secured some of the funding that would be required to develop the infrastructure. He was also the only politician I've ever heard in government that genuinely talked about treating asylum seekers with decency. If he had gotten a decent run I have no doubt we would have purpose built accommodation for the thousands who need it. Yes, it would have cost more upfront but in the long-term, purpose built and government owned accommodation would have been a superior investment over time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,109 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

You're joking surely? The asylum industry in any given western nation operates off supply and demand. If you improve the supply of resources to the refugees you'll increase the demand.

It would have cost more upfront and then numbers arriving would ensure the cost in the long run would balloon. No area wants these big refugee centres anymore. That much is clear. Where are you going to build all these things?

RTE is just a government asset and propaganda tool at this point. Before the election they used immigration to attack the far right and deflect from the immigration disaster out government facilitated. Now that the government is swinging a little right so does RTE. They sing from the same sheet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭_Quilombero_

Roderic O'Gorman issued Ministerial Orders that resulted in the creation of shanty towns around the country. The orders ended up being declared illegal by the courts. He had no idea how to create accommodation centres or manage the system. There was zero organization or oversight during their development of these sites. He would have continued along this path had he been able to - we'd have huge shanty towns in Thornton Hall, Athlone and other places.

The companies he contracted to run his shanty towns were the likes of Igo Cafe. The shanty towns are/were used by gangsters to defraud the State.

O'Gorman is one of the most reckless, incompetent, dangerous politicians we have ever seen here.

you’re being obtuse as ****. Try being straightforward

Mod note: poster warned

Post edited by Irish Aris on

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

honestly, I think this level of debate is ridiculous. It’s all nods and winks, “oh you know what I mean” nonsense.

Why don’t you stand behind what you believe images of the sly inferences.

It may be because of my neuro type, I believe I logical debate, but this kind of debate drives me nuts.

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,136 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

There is definitely something afoot.

RTE reporting on IGO cafe, RTE doing a piece on the queue for housing overnight whilst actually showing/interviewing the non-nationals queuing up about the situation (unprecedented) and also showing Aontú's Ard Fheis on TV earlier - all in one week!

My gut tells me they're allowed (and being actively encouraged) to do these reports now by their ultimate boss - the Govt of Ireland

Why now? - I'm guessing there's some very heavy stuff for Ireland coming down the tracks that the peasants don't know about yet, but Govt do. Complete incompetents as they are, they still know way more than we do

When RTE are let off the leash to report about the issues that we've been discussing here, you just know there's something happening. Think about when RTE only discovered the Ukrainians were being paid way more here than any other country in Europe in Oct 23 (we were talking about it for 12 months or more before that) just before their benefits were reduced

RTE news.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,820 ✭✭✭nachouser

It's about 39% by age 32 going by the 2022 census. The Irish Times is paywalled, so not sure what reference they're using. Personal anecdotes aside, I seriously doubt (m)any on this thread bought a gaff at 25.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,820 ✭✭✭nachouser

On what planet does the possibility of 1.5m people arriving here tomorrow get thanked even once? Think about that for a second. Sure, why stop at 1.5m. Why not 15m? Or 150m?

If the govt didnt offer the hoteliers the money in the first place, the hoteliers would not be in position to accept the offer.

Perhaps if the Government were not easily swayed by such a strong hotelier lobby? Looking in it seems that FF FG and the by standing supporting parties are rather happy with a quick fix solution whereby the Government doesn't ever, no matter what, ever get called far right racists - at all costs. Sharp-eyed hoteliers are well able to swing the angle and provide cover for incompetent government ministers. All at the taxpayers expense of course.

If the govt took this approach and cut all contracts with hotels, where do you propose they house the IPAs instead?

The govt have to house them somewhere is my point.

I'd house them on the next Ryanair flight back to wherever they came from. I genuinely couldn't give two hoots about housing them. Not our pig, not our farm - and as for any outdated 1950s document that lads signed that are well pushing up daises now, one of the first actions of a truly citizen focussed government would be to withdraw/shred that document. Not fit for purpose, and hasn't been since the turn of the new Millennium at least.

Hotels aren't the best solutuon for anyone, we all know that and I have a lot of sympathy for tourism towns that might only have 1 or 2 hotels that then get removed from the tourist market, but the govt still has to house the IPAs somewhere.

Hotels are designed, given planning permission for (with usually very generous tax breaks/incentives), to provide typically 1 to 14 nights for a tourist or a business customer. They should stick to that, what they were granted planning permission for in the first place. You can't on one hand say hotels are fine and dandy to provide several years accommodation to IPAs while through the other side of your mouth criticise and look to outlaw people from running AirBNBs. Feck right off with that hypocrisy.

There was talk of old office blocks being converted to accommodation, but I am not sure if this ever took off.

While we have ~15,000 of our own citizens officially classed as homeless (the real figure is alot, alot higher) any talks of providing accommodation to non-Nationals should be firmly down the ladder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,736 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Help keep Boards going , subscribe or donate if you can.

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Site Banned Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭Zico !

I have nothing against Indian people but they are getting all the properties for sale it's quite frustrating that the Irish governments immigration policy is making me leave the country as I can't compete with the prices they are willing to pay.

Thanks FFG and SinnFein I will leave so ok.

You didnt answer the question.

Where will the govt house them, if not in hotels.

I answered it very, very clearly. On the next flight back out of here.

When do you expect that policy to get off the ground?

Where will the IPAs stay while their claim is being processed and where will the successful applicants be housed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭tom23

I think it’s very simple.. we need stop amend laws that allow Irish people first dibs on housing stock similar to local needs. I think that’s only fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 840 ✭✭✭Hungry Burger

The Irish government looking after Irish people? How utterly quaint…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Phat Cat

Immigration officials in Ireland may not be able to perform robust identity checks and security screening on asylum seekers due to the country's lack of access to key EU security databases, a Government report has warned.

So the government have admitted what most of us knew all along. So the question is, if we don't have proper identity checks in place, why are we letting so many people in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭_Puma_

The government have bungled the migration pact.

They have blindly opted In without looking at it's implementation. Turns out the tools provided in it to do some sort of background checking on the "candidates" other member states are sending cannot be used in Ireland. The pact does not allow states to reject "candidates" outside of these mechanisms, so Ireland becomes the defacto dumping ground of every scammer and criminal on the continent other member states want rid of by way of the pact(not that we already aren't it already from the UK).

I'm guessing the department of justice and Jim o Callaghan are sounding the alarm after realising what Helen McEntee has done.

Jim got the story on the frontpage of RTE for this morning. The government are in full on panic mode.

RTE

Starting to think about why RTE have suddenly started reporting on this(or should I say being allowed to report on this) and its likely coming from one half of the coalition. Simpering Simon and his NGO handlers are almost certainly not on board with this. The recent loveyes with Sinn Féin and Talk of the "coalion of the left" starting to become more relevant. They are so wrapped up in their little bubble they don't realise they are on a hiding to nothing democratically speaking thankfully. Still there is a lot of damage they are going to attempt to do in putting in measures in this term to solidify their position come the next GE.

Also it looks like Mícheál has gone to ground. It sounds like there is a new pretender to the throne in Finna Fáil

Post edited by _Puma_ on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 92,182 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Anyone really can claim asylum here, a Yank with a deportation notice, who is now a murder suspect

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/man-arrested-over-farmer-mike-gaines-murder-is-subject-to-deportation-notice/a1981609414.html

What reason was he claiming asylum from America?

No matter what people tell you, words and ideas can change this World

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,586 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

What reason was he claiming asylum from America?

You tell us. The article is pay walled.

Anyone can claim asylum from anywhere.

Given Trumps nose dive into Authoritarianism I imagine it could become more frequent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,122 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

I'd just like to see a counter on the RTE news every day showing examples of how much each person like this is costing the taxpayer in total. Also, I'd like to know, if their claim was rejected, if they are still in the country. And I mean the total cost, not the cost from one departments point of view or some guesstimate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,008 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

We more than likely asked them to leave nicely and they promised they would leave, even pinky swear

Just makes an absolute mockery of the security of our country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,122 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

It's feels like the security in this country is happy path 1980s "no one is immigrating here" security and it'll all be grand.

It's not security for a country in 2025 when everyone has all the knowledge in the world to figure out which country is the easiest to scam the most or which country is the safest to hide in.

You are 100% correct. Anyone can claim asylum here. It doesn’t mean they’ll be granted asylum.

You posted the link, why are you asking for more details?

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky