Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kneecap - New Footage *Read OP for Mod Warning*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,297 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I've been feckin' Googling all morning, on Wike, Instagram and every other thing I could think of and I couldn't find any instance of a flag starving any children or blowing their legs off. Maybe you could try as I haven't had any luck?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,138 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

If you don’t see that for what it is - a relatively cheap political stunt. You are very gullible indeed. To put it in it’s true context- Kneecap received 1.6m in UK public funding alone for their film.

In total they received almost 3m in funding from both sides of the border.

From the article below -

https://extra.ie/2025/04/30/entertainment/movies-tv/kneecap-the-movie

“ In fact, Kneecap the Movie benefited from grants of some €3 million, including £810,000 (€951,078) from the UK National Lottery; £805,000 (€945,211) from the British Film Institute and almost €1 million in grants from the Irish Government.”

To my knowledge Kneecap did not return any of this substantial funding, for their film. Which thus far is struggling in the box office, despite the level of funding received.

The small amount they made a show of donating from their UK Arts Grant is merely performative. As it plays to gallery. 14,250 Sterling well spent. To gain attention. As some like you will fall for it, and see it/spin it as “action”.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,480 ✭✭✭✭Seathrun66

Yep. Point out the legal inaccuracies. Pretty please.

Nope. Draping in on his shoulders after it being thrown on stage. Technically very different and one of a myriad of reasons why a jury (what he'll opt for) is highly unlikely too convict.

Movie turned a profit. Also won in Sundance, Galway Film Fleadh and at the BAFTAs & IFTAS and is now doing huge business online.

Ya gotta do yer research dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,558 ✭✭✭Flaneur OBrien

The digs against kneecap are largely pathetic at this stage.

They have a huge support and burying your heads in the sand, saying, "No they don't" or "The film was a flop" or "This is just a publicity stunt to make them more successful" is really pathetic.

Well done Kneecap. Great to see people stick to their guns*.

*Metaphorical, before I'm accused of supporting violent means or whatever.

Your “research” is very selective to put it mildly. For a supporter of band who claim they were taken out of “context”, with their recent utterances. You don’t seem to willing to use true context yourself.

IMG_2244.jpeg

Completely ignoring the money spent to make the film itself. You will note in my previous post I said “struggling at the box office”. Where would they be with their government funding over 3m Euro equivalent in total?

At least we now know you are closing parroting the Kneecsp narrative. Instead of focusing on the facts at issue. Namely Kneecap band members statement in support of terrorist organisations live on stage. Which they never denied saying.

It will be interesting if they use the Gerry Adams defence- where he oft states he was not a member of the IRA but will not “disassociate” himself from it.

Do Kneecap disassociate themselves from Hezbollah/Hamas I am not so sure?

Post edited by gormdubhgorm at

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,121 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Dear god how in the fùck did they spend 4.5m?

I know the film industry can be a bit murky at times but its not like its was CGI heavy and Fassbender aside it wasn't full of talented actors/crew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,739 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

That would definitely be on low end of spectrum for budget. Plus Fassbender on the cast who probably took a healthy sum. Eg Intermission made about 20 years back and had a 5 million dollar budget. May also include marketing in that budget which would add up quickly. Anora more recently was about 6 million dollars to make and wouldn't be cgi laden or anything and would be considered low budget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,032 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Do you have a list of other movies / TV shows funded by UK public funds and how they did at the box office? Did the movie / TV makers return any of the money?

I was making the point @seatbrun66 was painting a false picture of kneecap as altruistic and people of “action” when given its true “context”. Which ironically is a phrase kneecap have used repeatedly themselves, more recently.

“Taken out of context” as they like saying. But it is notable they have yet to elaborate on HOW it was taken out of context. Why did kneecap not release the FULL video footage if this was true? Surely it would vindicate them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,121 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Sure but with Anora you can see filming in Las Vegas and Brooklyn plus the mansion rented for I think two weeks would have ate up budget not to mention better filming equipment being used. The cost of filming between America and Belfast is radically different. You can easily understand where the money went for Anora but not Kneecap.

So what you are showing here is that it broke even on the box office, and then rentals and online income will come in on top of that.

How is breaking even at the box office, "struggling" in any way? The majority of films don't come near breaking even at the box office.

Do you think if you pay your taxes, which kneecap presumably do, you shouldn't apply for government funding that is open to every one else, because you don't like the government? What exactly is your point/problem about the funding they received?

My problem was not with the funding they reviewed. But how certain posters on here would be only too quick to omit that fact. Instead focusing on how Kneecsp gave away 14,500 sterling the value of their arts grant. As if it was some grand gesture. Showing “action”.

Also I would surmise that the Labour government did not further contest the arts grant case, because it would give Kneecap more oxygen of publicity. Which is what Kneecap really crave in my opinion. Whether it is good/bad.

Nope, my research is just accurate. To further your anti-Kneecap agenda you're using the self-edited, unreliable Wikipedia as a source (not accepted for those reasons in academia or other empirical research) and not the industry standard Box Office Mojo (run by IMDb Pro the site for industry professionals) which takes the figures from all territories and is very detailed and specific. Turned a profit in the cinema and the figure of $4,707,968 doesn't include the bonanza of online sales which are soaring. Good luck trying to turn a movie success into a failure dude. Ain't working. See also their ticket sales, streams and album sales. 😁

Screenshot 2025-05-24 at 13.03.06.png

I just read that soup of words disguised as an article. No links anywhere to back up, and also plain doesn't make sense.

Look at it, and tell me it doesn't have a bias against the group:

The heavily state-funded film (why is this important? Most Irish films made in Ireland are) Kneecap the Movie – which largely launched the controversial rap band of the same name (No, it didn't, they were already selling out the Point) – has recorded a whopping loss of €3.6 million, despite €3m government funding from state bodies and other agencies north and south of the border, Extra.ie can exclusively reveal.

Kneecap the Movie premiered in 2024, and while the film won a plethora of awards, the producers failed to turn the plaudits into profits.

The movie was brought to the screen by acclaimed producer Trevor Birney, who is listed as a co-director of the UK-registered company, Kneecap the Movie.

The company was set up in 2023 (This is how films are made. Companies are set up to make movies, in case they don't make money, so the producers aren't personally held financially responsible if they can't pay back debts), but despite being the director’s choice film at the Sundance Film Festival, the financial picture for the flick looks pretty bleak.

The most recent accounts for Kneecap the Movie show the firm is running at a substantial loss amounting to £3,134,704 (€3,683.051). (Where is this person getting their info from?)

The accounts further show that the company has creditors totalling €3,318,399 (Is she saying this is ON TOP of the creditors that were paid back a minimum of €3,683.051? Her point just doesnt make sense), and the firm has a cash amount of just £2,092 in the bank.

The significant losses incurred by the company are surprising giving the largesse afforded the film in terms of millions in government grants and funding from various other sources. 

In fact, Kneecap the Movie benefited from grants of some €3 million, including £810,000 (€951,078) from the UK National Lottery; £805,000 (€945,211) from the British Film Institute and almost €1 million in grants from the Irish Government. (She already said this above, must be getting paid by word count)

The rappers from Belfast are at the centre of an international storm of controversy over their alleged chants of ‘Up Hamas’ and ‘Up Hezbollah’, both designated terrorist organisations and chants of ‘Kill your local MP’ and the ‘Only good Tory is a dead Tory’ at UK concerts. They also accused the US and Israel of complicity in genocide at Coachella, leading calls for their US visas to be revoked ahead of their October US tour.

UK Prime Minister Keir Starmer now said there will be no more funding from the UK. Conservative leader Kemi Badenoch called for the band to be prosecuted after one of them called for the deaths of Tory MPs as UK police counter terrorism police assess the footage.

Yeah, this article is utter bull.

The person who put these words together has no idea how movie finance in general and in particular in this country works.

But they did donate the money to the unionist youth centre.

They didn't have to. But they did.

They also don't have to have Loyalist rappers support them in Belfast, but they do.

They talk the talk, but they also walk the walk.

I think the internet and the crud that's happening in America has poisoned people's minds, and now people think that people can only do good if it benefits them in someway.

It's really sad that you and others can't see this group for what they are, idealistic young lads, genuinely putting their money where their mouth is.

I've been in Belfast the last week, and I have heard nothing but support and admiration for the lads.

What factors make filming in Belfast cheaper than US cities? Equipment, crew, actors, publicity, distribution and advertising costs don't really differ. Anora and Kneecap had similar costs including going to Sundance and advertising in the same markets. Fassbender would have taken a much lower fee.

What has altruism got to do with the Kneecap movie? A splendid non sequitur I must say.

It wasn’t true altruism though. It was playing to the gallery to people like yourself. I must admit I thought it was a very clever move. They can claim to be “cross community” while giving two fingers to the British government.

However, unlike that performative gesture - which worked well. They did work the PR well in their recent “apology” on x. Read in full it was laced with insincerity, and they even tried to frame themselves as “victims”.

Which again plays well with Republican strongholds as everyone knows Republicans love a victim/martyr complex. A moral victory in defeat etc.

To me I just view kneecap as chancers. And half back trackers. With no real sincerity or principles. And no real integrity. A novelty act, whose hype outweighs their actual artistic output.

Here's a decent article about the funding, and kneecap themselves.

https://www.screendaily.com/features/kneecap-filmmakers-on-navigating-northern-irelands-politics-and-bringing-bigger-budget-films-to-belfast/5195475.article#:~:text=Northern%20Ireland%20Screen%20was%20the,some%20of%20the%20funding%20executives.

From the producer himself,

“At every premiere I’ve been at, they’ve been very clear about their message – free Gaza,” says Birney. “No one has, as far as I know, anywhere tried to prevent them saying that. They are who they are. When they got to Sundance, no one could be in any way disillusioned of their politics. Anyone who looked at their Instagram or their social medias understands their politics. If they are getting involved in a Kneecap film, they’re getting involved with three main characters who voice their support for Palestine. All of us has the same politics.”

“Part of the charm of the band, and the reason people really connect with them, is the fact that they really don’t care about the consequences. In a world where people are careerist, it’s refreshing to have talent who just go – ’it doesn’t matter’.

The internet really has poisoned so many minds to think there must be some sort of personal advantage to take a position on something. That people in the limelight can't just be good, decent human beings who can stand up against a murderous regime hellbent on genocide.

It is still crazy to me that people would think Kneecap are the bad guys compared to f*cking Israel, starving children and murdering thousands. But these blokes in Belfast waved a flag, so f*ck them from a height.

Mad.

And you're wrong on all accounts.

Their community is where they live. They hate England and they hate the British Government. But unionists and young unionists especially (Those born after the GFA) are their mates and their community. That's why they support them.

I don't use X, the only apology I'm aware of was to the families of the dead MP's. Again, that was a genuine apology. It's on you (and the families) whether to accept it or not. The band only have the power to apologise.

Was there another one?

Yep, I agree, as you say "they can claim to be cross-community while giving two fingers to the British government.". As you've obviously realised an enormous number of the Loyalist community would also like to give two fingers to the UK government after their post-Brexit treatment.

Giving money to the Shankill youth project has gone down very well and you'd be naive to underestimate their appeal to working-class kids across the divide in Northern Ireland. The three Kneecap lads are more in tune with the Protestant youth than the elders in their society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,527 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Another ridiculous comment - Hezbollah, the murdering bastards and child rapists which that very flag represents, have done plenty wrong and you know it- and your continued distraction attempts don’t change that.
    Considering you’re using the same tactics Kneecap have done- in other words absolutely no justification for doing and saying what they did- I actually hope he does get a conviction- a simple apology or admittance that it was iljudged would have done - but no, we get this rubbish in reply- I’m done with this sh01te- if he gets a conviction he deserves it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,032 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

They threw in the towel because the UK govt acted unlawfully when they withheld the funding. They knew it would cost the UK taxpayer even more money trying to argue in court why they acted lawfully.

Do you ever take a step back and read your posts?

Israel have blocked aid & food for weeks.

Israel have bombed hospitals.

Israel have shot journalists.

Every day more children end the day as orphans with no brothers and sisters.

Just last week Israel shot at Irish diplomats.

Do you not see what Israel are doing is incredibly counter-productive UNLESS the objective is to wipe out the Palestinian people as a whole. Do you think that Israel will magically announce that Hezbollah & Hamas are no more, and the couple of thousand Palestinians left can have a town to themselves? Do you think those children who's families were eradicated by Israel won't grow up with anger and hate in their heart?

But yeah, f*ck that Irish guy for waving a flag, if he goes to prison for taking a stand against the above, he deserves it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,527 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Millions of people in Africa are close to dying of starvation every year - there’s approaching 20k people in Ireland homeless or in temporary accommodation - all of that is true as indeed are all the things you have said around the atrocities - doesn’t change the fact the lad done wrong - if I were your neighbour and flew a UVF flag in my front garden you’d be the very person to snitch to the guards so less of this high and mighty rubbish - the law is the law- tell me, what other crimes would you let kneecap away with just because they’re shouting free Palestine?

They definitely hate the British government, and in that respect they've got plenty fellow travellers from all sides of the divide. However I don't think they hate England nor the people, particularly as they'll have plenty in common with the working-class kids of that and other countries.

What they really hate are those institutions which created, and then profited from, colonialism and the subjection of others. These lads ain't ever going to get tired of pointing that out.