Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unsolved Irish Mysteries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Field east

The finding , hopefully , brings some modicum of closure to what is an extremely sad occasion for Mike’s family. May he rest in peace

.I think that we are all hypoticising on what ACTUALLY happened.
    It makes perfect sence for the Garda to know much more than they are letting on - if only to give the suspected perpretator a sence of comfort that he/she is not a suspect. It’s of interest that an arrest was made within hours of body parts being found. This shows that the Garda must have gleaned an awful lot of info in order to have moved so fast - from CCTV, from interviews, and especially with people known to him, his mobile phone , documents,etc.

there is a possibility that the body/bodyparts could have been put into the tank AFTER it was initially searched. Would be interesting to know how it was initially searched - especially if they were looking For a fully intact body in a tank that was not emptied. One would need to COMPLETELY EMPTY the tank and then get into it and CHECK what’s on the concrete bottom for its FULL LENGTH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,608 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

Yes. But there is no warrant available for a missing person. Anyway, you posted a link stating he allowed a search in his home, son doesn't matter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Tonynewholland

There are ways to empty tanks completely and it’s often carried out for different reasons.
    if the tank was agitated I can’t see how they can tell if the body was dismembered before hand or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭Andrea B.

I don't get why they would have been searching only for a "full" body.

They had it classified as a homicide so should have re searched the tanks. Maybe they did?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Field east

If it was a murder or a homicide the body / body parts found in the slurry tank mst have been put in on the day Mike disappeared. Because if the body/ body parts were put in a day or two later or after the tank was initially emptied the individual who did the dastardly act was taking a HUGH RISK in getting ‘RID’ ofthe body in such a way a few days after the murder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,302 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Forensics, will be able to tell how long some of the dismemberment has taken place by bacteria etc. Decomposition of dismembered tissue will tell them as well. I imagine as well that clothing was removed before dismemberment. Highly unlikely if the body was intact before agitation that it would not have blocked the agitator

Slava Ukrainii

Forensics couldn’t tell if the injuries to the body in the moonlight case happened 2 years earlier or when they dropped the concrete slab on him during the recovery. I wouldn’t think a modern agitator designed for chopping baled silage in the slurry would block easily

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,988 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

What's this about chopping baled silage in the slurry?

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭cute geoge

Going by your user name surely you should know even a modern agitator will block even with a lath off a pallet ,whats you on about chopping baled silage .
    Imo the body parts went in after the 1st search , some fragment was bound to show up in the 1st search not easy to push small particiles trough slats and crust of slurry

I’m not going to mention a brand name under the circumstances but some agitators are designed to chop anything like bale silage in the slurry they don’t block easily

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

I belatedly realise that I don't know what an agitator looks like or how it functions. Is it not just an attachment to a tractor that lightly stirs the material in the tank? Does an agitator also filter the contents?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,302 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭cute geoge

and you still keep digging ffs

A neighbour with a onlooking family member gently agitated the tank ,they probably had their suspicsion and finally wanted to rule out the tank completely

Does that satisify you ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭coolshannagh28

The slurry in a tank settles over the winter ..water or liquid on the bottom and solids which can form a crust on top..the agitator is a large tractor driven implement which is actually a pump which initially sucks the liquid through itself and emits it with enough force to break down the solids and gradually mixes the resulting blend to a semi liquid which can be sucked into a vacuum tanker and spread on the field .

Do you know a neighbour and family member gently agitated the tank or is this your own little story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭50HX

Jaysus lads a man's remains were spread across a field over the weekend.

The ins & outs of the workings of an agitator are really not relevant at the moment when we know little other FACTUAL info on the case.

I found it v disturbing & poignant watching the news last night with yellow bags being filled & placed in a coffin.

Let's Unsolve it when more info comes to light.

R.I.P Mike Gaine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,825 ✭✭✭JJayoo

The American was always referred to as being in his 60s, the man currently in custody is described as being in his 50s.

Are we assuming the American is the person currently in custody

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,111 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

A decision on whether to release or charge the man arrested yesterday for questioning should come tonight at around 10:15PM tonight, give or take. If he's being charged then the Gardaí could be in contact with the Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions, and a special sitting of the District Court could be held tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭cave_dweller

The questioning period might be extended too for another 24 hours. Seems everyone believes it's the fella that was staying on his land. Whoever it is, seems like the guards were focused on this person from day 1 and knew what the motive was. I can't understand how they found no forensics if Mike was dismembered. It doesn't seem like a random murder, it seems to have been planned or else the individual was incredibly smart + lucky.

Feel desperately sorry for his wife, family and friends. A very sad ending. RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭cap.in.hand.

How would people know his age in reality... he's American

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭Packrat

People who have met him (I haven't) describe him as having long hair and a massive beard. Not much of his face showing. A very big strong fit man. Its difficult to estimate age in guys like that.

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,825 ✭✭✭JJayoo

His age has been reported in the press multiple times, the cops would have got his info when interviewing people originally

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭Danny healy ray

I'm thinking we could see a twist and turn in this yet lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭cap.in.hand.

Pascal sheehy said the same line on rte news...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭Mo Ghile Mear

Yea he said it in a way that sounds like he has a bit of insider info.. it gets curiouser and curiouser 🤔.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭cave_dweller

The man has been released without charge...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭Seadin

You could fall into any slatted tank. The modern ones have more safety measures than older ones but you could still fall into it if the saftey grids are up.

Released without charge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Summer2020

I’m sure he’ll be watched closely

Nothing stopping him leaving the country if he wants to