Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,319 ✭✭✭Marrooned

Sorry never bet did Timmy Kelly not get a two match ban?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭neverbet

Honestly didn't hear ,if he did that's fairly harsh on the young lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭Sir Chaz

Yeh he got 3 matches and they managed to get it back to 2 I heard, only available for the Final if they get there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭Box to box

Well done to the u20. We fell at this hurdle the last 2 years and you could see the layoff had a affect and that match should bring them on. It was all about winning and the same the next day and try sprint over the line. On the match itself it was a scrappy affair both defences on top in the first half but when it opened up there was ever going to be one winner. The few subs kk brought on also made a difference. I thought laois played alot of ball up to Ivan bolgers corner and he gave away 4 frees and got a yellow card. I'd leave brennan on the frees the next day.marty definitely could be a bolter later in the year for the seniors. He is a very good striker for a big man.it didn't go aswell for macdermot against laois but he definitely is a prospect. Young Purcell from Dublin will be missing next week he picked up a serious hamstring injury but Dublin looked good against a really fancied galway side. We will have it all to do but hopefully we can get the win.

Eoin cody is a few weeks into a 5 or 6 week hamstring recovery. Adrian Mullen looked rusty the last day and it will take a few games for him to get up to speed. It's a pity Harry shine picked up a knock because he started well the other day. Stephen donnelly has being very good and gets his few points. There hasn't being much between these 2 teams in the round robin stage. Remember we were fierce lucky when pat gilroy was over Dublin and last year above in parnell Park our few subs got us over the line. 2 years ago at home there wasn't much between the teams. I'd expect this one to be close enough aswell. Dublin do have a difficulty in beating kk infact it hasn't being done since 2013.

Well done to Brian dowling who's doing a great job in kildare. 2 wins from 3 and should of bet kerry the first day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭fallowbuck

Why on earth is the minor match on the day before Senior . Where is the sense in that. You could bulk up the crowd and atmosphere with both counties in both games and just have it on the same day . For god sake just a small bit of common sense would go along way. Very disappointing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭jamesbond2022

Does anyone know if any of the u19s that had a good year with there own group been added to the 20s training panel ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 kilkenny123456

IMG_2396.jpeg

Senior team for Sunday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭Sir Chaz

Only short Eoin Cody, Shane Murphy, and Harry Shine. Tommy Walsh is unlucky, not sure Deegan is a senior inter county corner back.
    Cody a big loss. Won't be easy I reckon but we need to win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,058 ✭✭✭conor05

Is there a reason Owen Wall gets so little game time for Kikenny?

His pace alone would surely be a huge asset to the team.

Dublin un20s are missing their two best hurlers D.Purcell and C.Newton for the final, I could not see Kilkenny beating Dublin if these two lads were fit.

The senior match will be a good battle but ultimately I think Kilkenny will get over the line. Huw Lawlor won’t give the space to Hego that the Wexford full back line afforded him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,335 ✭✭✭blackcard

I thought Owen Wall should have been brought on as a sub against Clare last year but I didn't think he was great at the latter end of the year with OLG. I thought he could have been brought on againsy Offaly. With matches being played nearly every week now, there is little opportunities for subs to make an impression. I do think if he gets ball in hand he creates havoc in defences. I would be bringing him on before Billy Drennan, Gearoid Dunne or Luke Connellan. Before Fionan Mackessy also if you are chasing a game. At the moment, my first forward sub would be Luke Hogan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭therealdonster

To be fair they already beat them by 7 points and were without Marty Murphy for most of the game who was returning from injury and came on late as a sub. It was a tough game though and they will need to perform to win, that's for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭hogans heroes

Did Purcell not play in the round Robin game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 459 ✭✭Krazy gang

I know Purcell is an excellent hurler but I've never heard of Newton. Lucey, Kenny and o rian are on the senior panel and good players.

Kilkenny should win but dublin can't be too bad having beaten offaly and galway.

Purcell did play in the Park, not his best game but he is a very good player. This is a really good Dublin team, pushed Offaly all the way last year as well. Kelly will likewise be a huge loss to us. It's a level playing and the winners will deserve it with no excuses before or after. Same with our other two teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭me89

He was injured for most of the league but he's one of the fastest players in the county so surely he would make an impact over some of the other forwards they bring on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Village87

Always in with the positive word for one of ours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭Box to box

A big week for kk hurling. It looks like the minor and u20 are still trying to find their best team. Potentially this is one of the best minor teams we had for a long time but obviously these are only 16 and 17 year old chaps.

The u20s made a few changes aswell and dublin could also target the same side of the full back line again. Need to be very careful picking up a yellow card now you are skating on thin ice. Management have a decision to make with the free taking but Michael brennan would be my preferred choice.Macdermot was excellent when these 2 teams last met and himself and marty will be on Dublin list. We need the other fowards to chip in with a few scores when the game is in the melting pot. This was martys first start of this competition and he was excellent and I think they can even get more out of him. Dublin hurling is on a high at the moment and they have huge momentum after two big wins. Yes galway drove near 20 wides but Dublin know what they are doing and have lots of pace in their team. Another positive for kk u20 is they have left eoghan lyng with the 20s the last few weeks and there's no distractions like previous years and no doubt himself and marty wil be on the senior panel once the u20 is finished.

No surprises with the senior team. Obviously numbers on the jerseys doesn't matter anymore. Although the 3 up top is coming back alot of the time teams only have 2 in the ff line which will give deegan the opportunity to push up. Donal Burke is a huge loss for them Sunday but they have done well without him. Interestingly only 3 na fianna lads named to start. Kk will look at the wexford match and see how they got in for a few goals. I think eoghan o donnell will be missed against the better teams. To be fair kk hurled well against galway but haven't really being tested in the last 2 games and it's hard to turn it on like a tap but kk are very experienced In the leinster round robin. They know it's all about the 2 points and moving on. Nothing flashy. I'd expect kk to go after goals when they can but there usually isn't much between the teams at this stage of the year. Kk will want to to get the win and qualify for a leinster final and go experimental the following week. A win for Dublin would be a big statement but they have rely struggled getting over kk teams. They are cementing their place as the second best team in leinster and backing it up at minor,u19 and u20. A great weekend of hurling to look foward to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭droppingball

Things looking up a bit for us, minors and 20s looking good with a few hurlers that could break into senior. Really like the look of Marty, liked that he still made space and worked the wrists to pop a few scores even though not the fastest. Offers something different than other sub ans starting options.

We have been tight enough on back subs. Richie Reid must be our 6 which will be a concern with runners and physicality but he will offer plenty on the ball. I'd say Zach Bay has been brought into 26 as he might be an option to track some of Dublin runners if they are causing bother. Feel like if we stop there running game with half forward line and midfield turning them over we could be comfortable. If they break through and create overlaps and score goals anything could happen. We have a mobile midfield so hopefully they will be switched on to defensive duties also. Hope Kilkenny get a test and pull through and have job done within 4 games.

Embarrassing scheduling from the Gaa, we only have 5 bloody matches and to have any overlap is a joke. It's like they are trying to hold things back. If they is any more than 6000 at it I will be shocked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭tbiggertycome

The reason I think Wall hasn't made the breakthrough is he's inability to win ball and get it into hand. His first touch often lets him down and I'm not sure he uses his pace enough to get out in front and secure possession because of his touch, he slows to secure possession. He's not the biggest man so when his man is touch tight Owen rarely gets that ball in hand.

Now when he has the ball in hand he's super fast as you point out and he's a good eye for goal and the posts. If he could get the ball in hand more he would be a terror for defences but I would suspect that's why he's struggling to get a start. In saying that he won't learn on the bench either and I agree he should have been introduced as a sub against Clare last year, a lucky break falls his way and he will cause damage.

Minors half asleep in the 2nd half here

All this playing out from the back is killing the minors.turn overs leading to scores against is way more than were scoring from working the ball our.could loose this if we're not careful. Pulling what hair I have left out.

Finished very strong in fairness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Topcat32

It is frustrating but is it not better that they play that way and make some mistakes at underage level than play a more direct game and then look lost at senior level when a back line gets on top of us and starts winning ball after ball launched up into the air when the team gets under pressure, we cant have it everyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,335 ✭✭✭blackcard

Kilkenny clearly the better team but looked in trouble midway through the second half as Dublin ran through our defence. But for a vital interception, they could have conceded another goal to go behind. Hopefully, they will learn from the experience as they look a skilful team and chased and harried well. Thought they should have brought on a sub forward earlier and were inclined to overdo the passing in the backs. Also gave away unnecessary frees. On the other hand, got some lovely scores and ran with the ball well to create goals. Should have a decent chance in Leinster Final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,319 ✭✭✭Marrooned

the minor team got a bit of a fright in the second half when most of their passing movements were intercepted.but they pulled through to win by eight points.

When your 6 or 7.pts up at. Any level you don't gift unecasarry scores to the opposition. Learning to win is just as important as playing style.last years minor final should have thought us that

Post edited by hogans heroes on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 459 ✭✭Krazy gang

Anyone offended at the coverage the munster championship gets compared to the leinster should be made look at galway and antrim today. A desperately one-sided mis match, with no tension or atmosphere where everyone knew the outcome b4 the match started, including the 2 teams.

Strange thing is, galway were no great shakes either. First 20 minutes they were awful.

Wexford v Offaly was deplorable aswel.

Some of the wides both team hit would be intermediate club standard level.

Wexford really are in big trouble when Chin retires.

You’d hope Dublin v Kilkenny might be a better affair tomorrow.