Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Presidential Election 2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,628 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

He isn’t the government. The government are free to have any external relations they see fit.
    The government don’t have any issue with him. They may not like what he has to say at times but so what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,104 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 54,780 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭Caquas

Yeah, he is now far less popular than Mary Robinson and Mary McAleese were in their time and, as I said, we don’t have polling going back but I doubt very much if any previous president had an approval rating as low as 64% like like Michael D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,104 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

He's a 2 term president. He's likely going to be more popular than say Cearbhall O'Dalaigh who was forced to resign? Or Dev, who barely got re-elected in a 2 candidate race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 54,780 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 10,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jim2007

Picking a random sentence out of the constitution and trying to shoehorn it into your argument out of context doesn't work. Especially when it is crystal clear it relates to the executive branch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭Hibernicis

A very poor example. Dev came within a fraction of a percentage (5,000 votes) of being defeated in 1966. He scraped in with a miserable 50.5%, an appallingly poor result for an incumbent.

You think Ireland can have multiple foreign policies? Here's one for the government, and one for the Aras and, sure, one for every County Council with a Palestinian flag.

Fortunately, our Constitution does not live in that fantasy where we have multiple foreign policies, which would mean we have none. Sadly, our President refuses to accept this.

You think the Government doesn't have an issue with him and his letter to the Mullahs or paean to Castro or Sabina's Ukraine policy?😫 Of course, they don't have the guts to take him on - they won't even take on "Kill your MP" "Up Hezbollah".

Post edited by Caquas on

Nonsense! "Out of context" is the Kneecap defence i.e. "Guilty as charged but whatabout…." Nothing in "the context" changes the meaning of this sentence which is not random but highly relevant in replying to a comment about "foreign aggression".

Yes, it is about the executive power of the State but that encompasses all our International Relations except for the role of the Oireachtas as defined by that same Article 29 (don't start me on the Judicial power which has intruded into foreign policy😫)

The role of the President in International Relations, as in almost every other matter, is to act on the advice of the Government. Michael D. prefers to ignore this limitation and rely on the pusillanimity of our politicians. His fans on the Left lap it up but wait til some right-wing reactionary turns the Aras into a haven for the world's aggressors.

MDH has never defined a 'policy', he has made comments and offered his opinions.
    Like you have been told by many here, you need to properly educate yourself.

Undoubtedly, then, there are significant restrictions on what the President can do. At the same time, and contrary to popular opinion, the Constitution places very few restrictions on what the President might say.

It is a common feature of the Irish political scene for Presidents to be criticised for allegedly stepping outside their constitutional domain almost every time they express an opinion that touches on some aspect of economic or social policy. However, the only formal restrictions are in Article 13.7; namely, where the President makes a formal address to either the Oireachtas or the Nation on a matter of national importance, the address must first be approved by the Government.

The leading text on Irish constitutional law observes that beyond the above, the law does not impose total silence on the President; and, moreover, that the President must be free to respond to criticisms of the manner in which he or she has exercised the powers and functions of the office. A similar point was previously made by the late Robert Elgie.

It's entirely up to you if you want to continue digging that hole.

*See also the views of other constitutional experts. You can deduce that while the government of the day might not like what a President has to say they have no powers to stop them saying it.

As I said, we don't have polling before 1990 but there was rarely criticism of the incumbent President.

Cearbhall Ó Dálaigh may be an exception and he is certainly a warning from history, but amazingly there is no opinion polling about him.

He got the job because Erskine Childers - an immensely popular President - died in office and the main parties, who controlled the nomination, had no stomach for a campaign in 1974 so they gave it to the Chief Justice Ó Dálaigh, an FF supporter. In 1976, he resigned after the Minister for Defence criticised him in colorful terms to a group of Army officers for referring an Emergency Powers Bill to the Supreme Court. A long story but the lesson is this - if the Government and the Aras are at loggerheads, we have a Constitutional crisis. Paddy Hillery was dragged back from Brussels to fill the gap and spent the next 14 years avoiding any controversy and dreaming of escape from the Aras.

When logic and argument fail you, Francie, you are never shy about expressing your ire and frustration. And then you embarrass yourself with nonsense like this.

You say the President has not made foreign policy, he just "made comments and offered his opinions" [on the most sensitive foreign policy issues]. So when e.g. the Ayatollah got that letter from Michael D. about the wonders of Persia and its peaceful people, did the Ayatollah understand that it was just blather from an old geezer in a big house or did he think Ireland would act accordingly in international affairs e.g. at the UN and in the EU?

And did Putin understand that the letter to the Irish Times on the Aras website was just an old dear spouting off?

And I suppose, applying your daft rule about phone calls to the Aras, Putin can call up Michael D and ask for a political favour, so long as the favour is not for his United Russia Party?

The opinions of constitutional experts are 'nonsense'?

OK, I guess you are gonna insist on holding on to that shovel.

Childers, a TD here (the former constituency of Monaghan before it became Cavan-Monaghan) and someone my father worked for many times, is an interesting President to have a look at to see how the Presidential relationship with the government of the day has evolved. He (a FF President) was largely silenced/disabled/neutered by the sitting government (FG led) of the day and he was very unhappy about it. I think it was Garrett Fitzgerald who intervened to stop him walking.

That party political control has ended and we have a succession of strong Presidents, from Robinson on, to thank for it.

I don't get any sense that the Irish electorate want to go back to the days of Childers tbh.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 43,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Mod: I'm ending this bickering now. The thread is about the 2025 Presedential Election, not one from a few decades ago or whether MDH has received more likes than anyone else. Stay on topic!

A very strange way to phrase the questions in the latest poll, 'if you had to vote for a FG candidate'?

What does it tell us really about who might win a campaign.

Some 34pc of respondents said they are most likely to vote for Mairead McGuinness to be President if they had to vote for a Fine Gael candidate.

Ms McGuinness also tops the list of right-leaning candidates and is followed by Senator Michael McDowell, who has gone up since the last poll by three points to 19pc.

Meanwhile, Independent TD Catherine Connolly is the respondents’ favoured left-leaning Presidential candidate, with 14pc of support, down two points from the previous poll.

She is followed by Frances Black, who is down one point and is at 10pc.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 53,426 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

Would certainly be a worthy candidate.

It's looking like Gaza is going to feature very strongly in this election for good or bad.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 53,426 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

Yeah, based on the current names being tossed about, I reckon he'd be most likely to get my vote. But it may not be the sort of role he likes. Obviously his job is going to involve a lot of politics with a small p and probably some big P too but that may be the bit he likes least.

Seems every public figure is being asked. so for what it's worth, Tommy Tiernan has ruled himself out on the B. O'Connor show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 27,797 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

Will you be running yourself, Francie?

That may depend on how he views his dismissal from the WHO.

Does he see it as the unfortunate but necessary response to budget cuts or does he think the DG took the opportunity to push him out, for whatever reason? The Irish media is full of dross about his dismissal but they know nothing. Although the IT may have said more than they realize:

Dr Tedros’s dropping of Dr Ryan from his senior executive team has raised eyebrows, given Dr Ryan was playing a leading role in the prioritisation exercise that has been ongoing in recent months and which is fundamental to the creation of a new structure which will see the number of divisions reduced from 10 to four, and a reduction in the number of departments from 76 to 34.

I guarantee that the man who appointed Robert Mugabe as a Goodwill Ambassador (it's true!) and who covered up the likely Chinese lab leak, did not want an Irishman slashing his empire.

If Mike Ryan thinks he was cut out, what a wonderful riposte if he was elected President of Ireland! First item on the agency - an official visit to Geneva so the DG can lick his boots. But if he accepts the decision as bona fide and his relations with the DG are still solid, he will want to stay in a global health role. Calling Bill Gates!

No surprise that parties would want him but only Labour is quoted in the IT piece. Did they drop some text naming other parties and forget to change their headline? Mairead McGuinness and other party hopefuls would be stung if their own parties were blabbing to the media about Mike Ryan.

He would own two of the biggest issues - health and Gaza (no matter that the President has no role in health and Michael D embarrassed us with his Iranian shenanigans and "no anti-semitism here"). He would say only good things about our COVID lockdowns and the odds are there will be another global pandemic in the next 14 years.

He will need the parties' organizational support but he won't want to be identified as a party candidate. Ivana is laying claim to him but he won't bite - Labour is a shadow of its 2011 self. Could FF/FG SF Lab/SDs rally round him as an anti-McGregor candidate? Simon Harris would have to climb down from his bullish statements about an FG candidate but FG still have nightmares about 2011 and will grasp any decent opportunity to avoid another humiliation. Stephen Collins says SF is on a hiding-to-nothing in this election but, of course!, he doesn't mention that that's true of all the main parties. Even FF couldn't muster more than 20% for a party candidate.

https://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/2025/03/21/stephen-collins-conor-mcgregors-presidential-hopes-are-a-warning-to-the-government-parties-to-unite-behind-a-strong-candidate/

Unless Mike Ryan rules this out publicly (and so far he's saying nothing), we will hear nothing official for weeks and it would take months to line up all the main parties. We will know this is a real prospect if he is added to PaddyPower's list of runners and riders. If his odds shorten suddenly, we will know this is a done deal and insiders are placing their bets early

Post edited by Caquas on

If Mike Ryan thinks he was cut out, what a wonderful riposte if he was elected President of Ireland!

that's quite the 'revenge on your boss' storyline. 'how do i get even for being fired? i know, i'll become the president of ireland'.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,922 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

Thats a shame, I think Heather would have been great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,427 ✭✭✭✭L1011

McDowell apparently out now too, thank feck