If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Minimum alcohol pricing is nigh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,217 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

My point being that there can be alternatives but the consumer doesn't appear to want it.

If there is a pub selling pints for €6 it should be getting zero business id a local pub is selling pints for €3.

But it would seem, while we might like to complain, on the whole the Irish consumer will pay whatever price is levied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,437 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Thats a very dubious claim given the restrictions on pub licences for starters. Its not a free market. A lot of the demand in Dublin city centre comes from tourism and events.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,661 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

Its not just the city centre that is busy.

Ireland has record household wealth and record bank deposits.

There is a lot of money sloshing around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭BP_RS3813

I disagree that its just the price. Younger people simply don't view the pub as the weekly social outing like the older generation did(emphasis on older - not that much older but still a distinction).

I know young lads (20s) who are proper into sport and make a trip to the pub maybe 5 times a year, only for special occasions really. I'd say at most they drink 20 units a year (10 pints worth). Even if you removed excise duty and made it 2 quid a pint they wouldn't come.

Yes some who put off the pub due to price would come back however attracting new customers is the issue. Pubs are dying, you could prolong it via cheaper beer (bring back lost old customers) but it will happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,024 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

Swords already has a Wetherspoons and the place is practically empty most of the time but go to K67, The Betsy, The Arch Bar, The Cock Tavern and they're packed in comparison.

No I understand that "pub culture" is fading away with the younger generations (I'd consider myself to be of that generation at early 30's) due to mainly health concerns.

However, it's also being greatly hit by the older generations as well due to price. Take my in-laws for example they used to go religiously every Sat and Sun for food and drinks and be there for pretty much the day. This has now been reduced to only on Sunday's and it's not even every week since COVID as they firstly got used to drinking at home and secondly their trip to the pub costs them around €200 every time they go.

It depends where you are talking about.

The number of pubs/bars in Dublin is actually growing, the number of rural pubs is in free fall.

This is true, but the majority of people out in the packed bars in Dublin are still under 35.

The percentage of under 35s drinking is no doubt lower, but the sheer population and tourism growth in Dublin means that the bars are still mostly populated with under 35s.

Oh 100% and this has generally always been the case due to the amount of discretionary expenditure that younger generations have over those with mortgages and children.

Both can be true, less % of younger generation drinking but an increase in the total number of the same generation in pubs.

Your point about urban and rural is also very valid, Dublin pubs most evenings are busy and jam packed at the weekends in the city centre but the number of rural pubs closing is constantly increasing.

MUP has certainly not helped rural pubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭BP_RS3813

Where is a key factor too obviously, as other posters have pointed out, a lower % of young people are drinking but when many of Irelands young is located within the greater dublin area and dublin itself you can grow/do good business.

A pub in clare lets say, will have very few customers never mind younger ones.

Fully agree with all of your points.

Another blocker is the limitation of pub licenses.

The govt should remove the cap on licenses, so that businesses do not have to purchase a license, for tens of thousands of euro, from a pub that is completley unviable in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,851 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

If drink is costing X amount in lost workplace productivity, how much is the internet costing…?

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,851 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Time for Internet Action Ireland

The internet is causing a massive increase in obesity, heart disease, anxiety and mental health issues

People are coming in to work on a Monday morning, not in a fit state after a heavy weekend on the internet. Then they try and access it on the sly when they should be working.

Young people are becoming hooked at a younger and younger age on internet apps marketed at them.

There should be a door around the Tesco Mobile stand in the supermarket

No more advertising mobile plans, etc at sports events

You will have to pay at least €50 a month for your internet. Over 18's only, ID required. Cost to ramp up over time. Cut the opening hours of phone shops.

Maybe then after a few years we'll bring weekly data allowances in, in line with some bullshit metric the HSE has made up.

I know this all sounds a bit extreme at first, but won't somebody think about the children?

This could catch on 😛

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,134 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

In fairness, that would have been for two bottles. Still ridiculous though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,595 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

No it was one 500ml bottle. I checked because I was taken back by the price.

For all the shite-talk about responsible drinking etc etc, it's crystal clear that publicans don't want non-drinkers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,134 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

FFS!! Picked up cheap in the supermarket as well as pubs normally get smaller bottles from the suppliers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,595 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

Call this a conspiracy theory if you will, but from a drinking point of view, I can easily put away 3-4 pints in a sitting(my record is 11), and if someone lands one more pint down in front of me, I will drink that too. With soft drinks or even Guinness zero, 2 maybe 3 in an evening is my limit and then Im inclined to switch to water. So yeah, publicans don't want non-drinkers. Plus if I'm on soft drinks for the night, I won't be wanting a double jemmie come last orders, if anything I'll just want water.

Ye non drinkers in a pub aren't going to be drawing in too much money.

I stopped into a pub a few weeks ago on the way back from being down the country to watch a football match and had 3 pints of Heineken 0.0, no interest in having another. Can't remember the last time I had 3 alcoholic pints and didn't want to have more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,451 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Every attempt to launch an "alcohol free pub" has flopped because people simply don't drink as much.

The most recent attempt at an alcohol free pub in Dublin now claims to be "low alcohol" but has beers in the 5% range, normal wines and some normal cocktails on the menu so it, well, isn't. It's just a pub with a bigger range of 0% stuff than usual now.

Ye "Board" in Harolds Cross only opened Jan 2024 saying "We wanted to have a space that wasn’t revolving around the need for a pint. We wanted to do the board games thing as well, so we put it all together."

They now have Guinness, Heineken, Carlsberg and Estrella all on tap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭Juran

This might not be the correct thread, but its kinda falls under the tooic. I have a BBQ party planned for next month, friends, family and a few neighbors. I ordered 6 boxes of wine from Portugal, each box is 5L. I expect as its EU to EU purchase, and its less than the personal allowance (revenue allowance), I expect that I will not pay any duty on my delivery. I'll see how this first order goes, and might move to online from Europe for wine shopping.

You won't, my Dad regularly buys boxes from Portugal, I'm guessing from the same site, he had 50 bottles delivered last order and no customs.

Works out at just over €2.50 a bottle delivered to the door.

That's luck alone.

If stopped you will be asked for duty. If you do it frequently they may even seize the product.

Until maybe four years ago it was seizure only, no chance to pay duty

Personal allowance is for when you are physically with the product.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,705 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Thanks Rocket & L1011.

We take the ferry to France most years, and bring back a good bit of wine, over the years, customs at the Irish ports stopped us a few times and ask what we had in the back amd we said wine for ourselves, and they waved us on.

But I'm not sure how it works brining it in via a courier service, hence I was asking. Technically its below the personal allowance, so I cant see how they can hold it. Its not like a pallet of wine. We have EU free trade between EU countries, except of course Ireland who screw you for alcohol and cars!

I'll see how this goes, I'll report back in a week or so when its due to arrive. Cheers

The personal allowance for bringing stuff in by courier or post is zero, it's irrelevant here. It specifically and only applies when bringing it in yourself.

If the box isn't hugely branded and the site doesn't trade much with Ireland you will probably get it through without being hit for duty. If it's well known, its much less likely - as it is if the box is hugely branded.

There's years of threads about people using European / UK wine and spirits sites, beer clubs etc over on the Beers Wines and Spirits sub-forum here.

It's a big issue in Ireland because our excise duties are so high. There's very little incentive to try to order alcohol cross-border for people living in most other EU countries. (In Finland they just go on booze cruises).

It's also possible on the continent to just drive across a border and get what you want, which is pefectly legal for personal use.

But there is no EU single market in exciseable goods, i.e. oil fuels, perfume(!), alcohol, tobacco.

You can import a car tax-free no problem. Provided you don't use it on a public road.

The Portugese wine site I purchased the wine from had a good number of reviews from Ireland and the UK, in the past 12 months. All were positive, no one mentioned excise duty, this is the reason I went ahead.

Between the wine and shipping €21, it come to just over €100. Not the end of the world if it gets held. I will let you know on this forum. I'm taking the car to France in late August (after the BBQ party) so will fill up then for the year ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,676 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

New York does not allow the sale of wine or spirits in supermarkets. When I visited NYC a long time ago, my hosts took me over the border to NJ to buy bottles of Southern Comfort in a shop. Apparently a lot cheaper than the price in the NY State liquor stores (off licences). It involved smuggling the stuff back over the border to NY. But I see on Google that NJ is very restrictive about giving out licences to supermarkets as well.