Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does the Le Pen Conviction Finally Prove Democracy is Dead in the West?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,335 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Both of them right wingers.

Damn those evil lefties conspiring to ensure centre-right politicians get treated leniently… BTW both were convicted and sentenced to actual prison time, not just suspended

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

When you get back 😎 can you explain what crime David Norris was guilty of, exactly?

You think our national broadcaster should have given free publicity to terrorists who wanted to destroy our state while murdering the gardai and soldiers sworn to protect the Irish people and the rule of law

OK. 🙄

Relevance to this thread - nil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,709 ✭✭✭volchitsa

Well I'm actually more concerned about the abuse John Hume got for going against the groupthink. If someone is elected, it's objectively anti democratic to make it illegal for the media to broadcast them. No matter how much you dislike them, if they've been elected, their views should not be systematically banned as a matter of course. Wasn't a gardening program interrupted once because a caller was a member of Sinn Fein? 😆

Not to mention that the law was used to prevent the media from reporting organised garda abuse by the Heavy Squad. So yes it was a bad law - and I am no IRA supporter. I've even been accused of being a loyalist on this forum for pointing out that posters who think the IRA gained civil rights for nationalists don't have a clue.

But the relevance here is that the OP is pure hysteria: even if Le Pen were ill-treated by the legal system, which I'm not sure she has been, so have other elected representatives in the past, and democracy has survived.

Oh and by the way, parts of the British government have been involved in plenty of killings of innocent nationalists, and quite possibly were complicit in the Dublin and Monaghan bombs - so shouldn't they be banned too?

”I enjoy cigars, whisky and facing down totalitarians, so am I really Winston Churchill?” (JK Rowling)

He got abuse from the Irish Independent, but even back then people who took it seriously were onto a losing bet

The Sindo in particular

An electoral win does not legitimise terrorists

As for people throwing abuse around online, it's worthless noise. I've been called all sorts on this site, not just a West Brit but an actual Brit(🤣) for the crime of not sufficiently kowtowing to the "native Irish church" with its HQ in a foreign country and imported from the middle east

You have to laugh really.

But I grew up in the 1970s and 80s and no, I'm never going to let SF/IRA off the hook or cover up their crimes.

Oh and by the way, parts of the British government have been involved in plenty of killings of innocent nationalists, and quite possibly were complicit in the Dublin and Monaghan bombs - so shouldn't they be banned too?

We all know seriously dodgy stuff went on - the UK was fighting an insurgency on its territory and it was similar (actually, worse) in the 1920s on the island as a whole. The Dublin and Monaghan stuff has often been posited but never proven. Plenty of others were killed by the Britsh state by the FRU, SAS etc but they were (usually) "actors".

Extreme measures occur in extreme times. That's not a moral judgement just a statement of reality. When a well organised anti-democratic movement is trying very hard to undermine a state, the state will respond. That's just the way it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,709 ✭✭✭volchitsa

We're too far off topic to discuss that here. My point was that it takes more than a single court judgment to kill democracy, and that there have been plenty of ill-judged anti democratic incidents in the past, which democracy has survived.

To remain off-topic though (despite what I just said!), I'm a lot more concerned about the future of democracy in the US - but that's more about what seems to be a level of insider trading going on which nobody in power seems interested in even pointing out, never mind trying to prevent. I think high level financial corruption is a real threat to democracy. Because it justifies - and even forces - corruption at all levels. Those at a lower level think they have no chance if they aren't also corrupt, and so they become so. I've seen that in a number of countries.

”I enjoy cigars, whisky and facing down totalitarians, so am I really Winston Churchill?” (JK Rowling)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,494 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

the law was used to prevent the media from reporting organised garda abuse by the Heavy Squad

Can you expand on this?

There's little doubt that Musk et al. are using inside info on Trump's daily brainfarts to make coin. Threaten sanctions, short stocks, pause sanctions, go long.

Then there's all the completely illegal access DOGE got to federal records.

Making America Grate Again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,813 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Lol oh ya Navalny sure did break the law in Mordor, can you not try a bit harder?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,980 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Mod: Section 31, the IRA, Navalny, Etc are irrelevant to Le Pen's criminal conviction - stay on topic folks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭TokTik

So did her rival. How come she’s not barred from elections??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,521 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

Who are you speaking of here, and what was she convicted of?

The centrist Democratic Movement (MoDem) was found guilty of the exact same thing, had people convicted and no one was barred from politics. Strange that.

It was easily googleable if you were in any way interested in finding out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,438 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

You need to give more than that, the leader, François Bayrou (https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fran%C3%A7ois_Bayrou) stepped down in 2017 because of the discrepencies and was ultimately cleared last year of wrongdoing.

François ain't "she" so it's clearly someone you've (TokTik) just googled and never heard of before.

Her his wikipedia article mentions no charges or convictions (political opponents love to get that stuff in there).

Members of HIS party were convicted of embezzlement, yet no bans were given.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,438 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Which members? Were they in as powerful a position to abuse donations as Le Pen was within the party?

I have googled it, using the detail you supplied. It's not coming up — I'm getting nothing about any female MoDem politician convicted of corruption in office. Just of (male) François Bayrou being acquitted of fraud charges.

So, don't be coy. You referred to a "she" who is allegedly Marine LePen's rival who got caught with her fingers in the till. Name her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,533 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

it proves democracy is alive, where criminals are punished for their crimes.

she committed a crime, got charged and found guilty and was punished accordingly.

what happens when one is a criminal, complete non-issue here.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,478 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

I'm curious as to what you think should happen to a politician caught in criminal activity. It seems you think they should get off scott free. Is that your contention? And how would such treatment be consistent with democratic principles?

As for Lisbon. We voted. About as democratic as you can get. You probably need to do a bit of research on that episode, maybe you were too young to vote at the time, so your knowledge is probably very shallow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭Jizique

Exact same with the judge in the US who everyone is losing their **** over, if she broke the law she should be arrested and charged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,478 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

Lol. You're not making a great case for your argument there. Not hat you had one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,551 ✭✭✭Deub

Because there is none. Bayrou and Melenchon are the two that had similar investigations but their case were not as clear as le Pen.

For her supporters, the main issue was not she was found guilty but the ineligibility. It is not a rare conviction in France for a politician so I don’t see any issue with this case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,533 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

we have already won, you lost.

trump is a failure and those outside the maga who voted for him this time see it.

orban is a joke, everyone is laughing at him.

le pen is a convicted criminal and by the time she can run again the far right will be finished.

the last roll of the dice will be 7 times failure farage and he will wreck the uk if (well, probably when TBH) he gets in.

this country is mostly grand, it has it's issues absolutely but they are easily solved and that won't be by people of your failed discredited politics.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

Mod: Drumorig has been temporarily sitebanned and I've banned them from Politics regardless.

Wonder what punishment von der Leyen will get now that she’s lost her case. Democracy eh?

Mod: insult removed!

Post edited by Seth Brundle on

Are you trying to draw some kind of parallel between the situation of (a) Le Pen having been convicted of embezzlement, and (b) the European Commisssion being required to explain why it has not produced text messages regarding the procurement of COVID-19 vaccines?

'Cause, you know, most people can see that these are two very different things. And most people will struggle to understand how you can think that Von der Leyen has lost a case in which she was not a party. And most people will readily understand why, all other considerations aside, court proceedings in which von der Leyen is not a party are not going to result in any penalty being imposed on von der Leyen.

But, then, maybe you have to be more than usually deficient in understanding to be a Le Pen supporter, or to imagine that imposing restrictions on people convicted of corruption in public office is some kind of assault on democracy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭rock22

I hesitate to disagree with you, Perigrinus, but as the President of the Commission, one that has been criticised as being more ceontrailsied as never before, von der Leyen is a central party to the case, even if not specifically mentioned in legal documents. The case concerns her refusal to be transparent about high level deals she was engaged in and the court agree with the challenge from the New York times. Who , it is reported , has written to the heads of government of the 27, asking for her to be sacked.

Mod: @TokTik refrain from the name calling - this is not After Hours

She's an important figure in the case, but she's not a party to it. The case doesn't deal with any complaint against von der Leyen herself — it's about the failure of the Commission to release correspondence — and people bringing the case haven't asked for any measures or steps to be taken against her and, even if they had, the court would have no power to do that in a case that she is not a party to and in which no allegations against her have been made or investigated. The Commission's loss of the case doesn't mean any finding against von der Leyen herself; it just means the Commission has to justify its failure or refusal to release the correspondence (or, presumably, release it).

I don't know about the NYT writing to the heads of government asking for VdL to be sacked. I don't think they can sack her; she was elected (by the European Council) for a five-year term. SFAIK the only power of removal lies with the Parliament. And, obviously, the court isn't going to comment on that one way or the other.