Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Let my temper get the better of me while driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭BlakeS94

Just sounds like your typical road rage frontal lobe shutting down to be honest, sh1t happens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,764 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

The roads are full of angry drivers. There is a severe lack of patience out there. Everyone has to get somewhere in a hurry, and God love the person who makes them 10sec later than they should be.

Learn from this. Life's too short to worry about idiots on the road. Yes someone might cut you up, or slow you up, but so what?

Chill out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 cluelessoz

Thanks to all who posted helpful responses.

I want to make it clear that it the driver was a guy in his late 20s in the big bwm (no jealousy, but from my experience I've seen alot of entitlement from those with that type of high end car) that suddenly pulled out in front of the car in front of me, a small car, whom the driver was an older lady. I could have hit into her. She honked the horn at him 2 or 3 times and he FULLY stopped his car, as if to make a stance, with on coming traffic behind him - to throw his arm out of the window and shout xyz, then proceeded very slowly to drive on. Thats what made me angry. The entitlement and selfish attitude to pull out in front of someone, stop the vehicle and give out to the other driver as if they were in the wrong. I'm not sorry that pee'd me off. I regret I let it get to me and that I over took both cars at the traffic lights. I think some of you may also have missed the part where I said he sped up right behind me, (honking the horn also) and tried to overtake me - and followed me until I pulled over and made a swift exit. I think that's says something about him also and the likes of him shouldn't get away with that kind of behaviour.

I am going to work on my anger. This experience has thought me a lesson and i am conscious not to do it again. I acknowledged I too was in the wrong from the start, and I think I've made that clear.

• Administrators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,633 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

I done it because there was no one there, the light was flashing amber and he was not budging. He was deliberately delaying the car behind him.

Realistically, how delayed was the car behind him going to be? A few seconds? Maximum.

Cars speeding, overtaking dangerously, speeding over pedestrian crossings, only to get to the next roundabout or traffic lights 1 car ahead.

My teens are at the age where they will be soon learning to drive. Now that I'm conscious of them being on the road I point out impatient overtakers, dangerous speeders, and show them just how far ahead they are when we get to the next junction. We count it in seconds. It's not enough to risk your and others' safety.

You admit to having road rage, it might be time to start looking at just how far ahead pulling out in front of someone, or over taking someone at a pedestrian crossing actually gets you. Not very far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,413 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

It's good you're acknowledging your anger. But stop trying to rationalise or justify what you did. That should be step 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,756 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Good one OP, you managed to draw out several high horsers and lecturers with this one. Classic case of attack the OP.

If this incident actually happened, clearly the BMW driver was road raging. Deliberate blocking or brake testing is typical road rage behaviour. As is following a driver who beeped their horn at them.

I've had these sorts of incidents before, I remember where someone tried to overtake me while l was overtaking an obstruction, blew me out of it, I gave him the finger, he then followed me for several miles. I led him to the Garda station and pulled in and he screamed at me out his window as he kept going. There are some angry nutters out there and a fair percentage of the population is on cocaine and other drugs. My advice would be don't engage with people and only blow the horn at them for its correct purpose i.e. to make them aware of your presence. And definitely don't make any hand gestures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭New Scottman

What I would have done differently

• Indicated going into the shop.
    • Parked the car and got out.
    • If he did the same, then time to discuss the matter.
    • If all fails, then have a straightener.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭Raichų

ah here OP the worst thing you did was aggravate someone and be too soft to confront them!

Should’ve pulled over, got out of car and had a word if he wanted. If you’re going to cause a scene on the road at least be brave enough to face the music.

If you’re not capable of following up- don’t drive dangerously to act like a big man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,647 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

So let me get this straight — you kicked off with the horn, overtook two cars, gave the lad a cheeky wave to wind him up… and then absolutely crumbled the second he followed you? And now you’re panicking the guards are going to knock on your door?

That’s not road rage — that’s keyboard warrior energy spilling onto the road. You played the big man until someone didn’t roll over for you, then turned into a bag of nerves.

If you're going to dish it out, be ready to take a bit back. Otherwise, stay in your lane — literally and figuratively.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭Raichų

aye forgot that part too stressing the Garda gonna turn up fcuk me😂😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 cluelessoz

Ah, if only I was as perfect as some of ye.... sadly I'm not.

Can I request this thread to be closed please, my issue is solved.

You weren’t looking for advice — just a pat on the head. Didn’t get it, so you legged it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,783 ✭✭✭CMOTDibbler

They get fierce judgey on here. Nothing gets them going more than an opportunity to take the moral high ground and lecture from that height.

Don't let it bother you. You can always put the worst offenders on ignore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭extra-ordinary_

As has been said, the road rage worth reporting is the other driver following you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,249 ✭✭✭creedp

I'm wondering if some of this rage stuff is relates to drug taking. Recently on a roundabout and a lad in a Ranger Raptor towing a tiny trailer with a small mini digger on board pulled straight onto the roundabout in front of me requiring me to lean hard on brakes to avoid a collision.

I blew the horn and your man stopped on the roundabout jumped out and started screaming was I blind, did I not see he was towing a heavy trailer🤣 and couldnt stop. I told him to cop himself on as he almost caused an accident and he completely lost it. I mean there was actually spittle flying everywhere as he screamed to stfu or I'll burst your fcuking head blah, blah. I just laughed and closed the window and he drove off. The only explanation I could come up with for the complete lack of judgement at the roundabout and the unbelievable overreaction afterwards was that he was high as a kite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 meat eating green

Agreed

Get your riposte in first, for all you know he could be filling a report about a mad driver who overtook dangerously when he was being really prudent at flashing amber lights

😊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,976 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Burn the car and flee the country! Suggest you move to Italy. Learn the hand signals. 🤟 👎 👊 ☝️

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭baxterooneydoody

They love the opportunity to cast judgement on someone for acting like humans do on occasion. It would make you wonder as to what an incredibly sheltered life they lead. The real world must be iincredibly hard for them when it inevitably raises its savage head and they have to deal with everyday problems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,858 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Bad things happen when you get narky with BMW drivers who pull out in front of you.

Read onwards in this thread for more detailed explanation of what happened.

Ah here, spare us the faux depth.

Nobody’s judging the OP for being human — people are calling out that they acted tough, escalated a situation, then panicked and played the victim when it turned real. That’s not the “savage head of the real world” — that’s basic cause and effect.

Sheltered? No. Just not confused about the difference between being human and acting the hard man then folding like a paper napkin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Joebrosaysno

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Fair play for being so honest but tbh this is the last place i'd post this sort of confession … As others have alluded to, too many virtue signalling high horsers more than happy to use it as a platform for pontificating. (Usually these are the biggest muppets you could ever meet & far from perfect themselves … )

Few weeks ago someone started a thread about a car he'd recently bought from a dealer breaking down and he got a fair bit of snarky comments. Yeah sure it was a particular car engine with possibly not the best rep but there was no need for some of the catty replies.

He that is without sin cast the first stone etc etc …. 😉

Anyway .. we all see red sometimes. No biggie OP don't stress about it.