Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭Village87

Some great games to come in Munster. 2 box office games this Sunday. Limerick will want to win this at home and lay down a marker v Cork. They also do not want to play Clare in the last game to decide who goes through

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭Sir Chaz

Agree the scheduling of the matches is a disgrace. 100% it will take from the Kilkenny game Sunday, people will choose to stay home on the couch and the match will get zero neutrals. You'd seriously wonder what the logic behind it could possibly be. It's like they're deliberately pitting Kilkenny matches against big Munster games, very same last weekend. So few big hurling games, it's a travesty and a huge disservice to hurling people. The small crowd will be again ridiculed by the usual suspects as well.

I'd be a little worried about Sunday with Cody out and Mullen and TJ not 100%. Dubs are dangerous opponents and if we lose this we will likely head to Wexford Park having to get something to stay in the top 3. Things could get very uncomfortable very quickly.

Looking forward to the 20's game Wednesday where a win will put us in a Leinster Final which is also an All Ireland semi. Predictably the powers that be didn't have the common sense to double up the KK/Dublin minor and senior games at the weekend. Ridiculous stuff.

Fingers crossed we'll be looking forward to 3 Leinster Finals at 4pm on Sunday evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭Marrooned

and the minors are playing Dublin in the park on Saturday at three o clock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,326 ✭✭✭blackcard

I don't think that we have played well this year yet. For whatever reason, Galway never turned up, it took us 50 minutes to get on top of Antrim and Offaly were poor. Like Sir Chaz, I would be worried about Sunday which is why I will definitely be there. Missing Eoin Cody, Shane Phelan, Richie Reid? and Harry Shine with TJ and Mullen being undercooked is cause for concern. I think Luke Hogan should be first sub in the forwards ahead of Mackessy. Hopefully if we get over Sunday, we might have a stronger hand in the Leinster Final

ye you are probably right in a lot you said there but I do think we are showing signs of improvement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭me89

Can I ask why anytime Kilkenny win it's always the opposition are poor never kilkenny made them look poor. They have beaten all 3 teams by a minimum of 12 points and had a decent rotation of players, injuries the only concern but not sure what else they can do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭usualstripes

If you were at the 3 matches in question you would agree that the opposition has been poor. Antrim kept pace into the 2nd half in fairness but both the galway and Offaly matches were very poor and they offered very little in the way of a challenge. Nothing Kilkenny can do about this of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭neverbet

Leinster is thepoor relation with HQ when it comes to hurling. In the unlikely event Kerry ever win the McDo nagh it will be to hell or leinster for the most southernly county in the province 0f Munster. It will be the same until some county or other this side does a 'Louth " on it and croker is full. Its all about the money, always has been. We need someone like Jim Gavin at the helm of the GAA , a man of few words but gets the job done . I hope any lukewarm Kilkenny fans will realise Sundays game is in effect a leinster semi final and they forego the couch and give our boys the support they deserve. There is always the player button for the Munster games. I agree fully the game schedule is disgraceful but Kilkenny first and best of luck to all three teams representing us this week.

N

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭conor05

So what are the permutations if Kilkenny lose to Dublin? Presuming Wexford beat Offaly and Galway beat Antrim.

If will probably go down to the last day to see who wins between KK v Wex and Dub v Gal

More than likely score difference will come into play.

If we lose to Dubs, and Galway and Wexford win as expected, then a Galway win over the Dubs in the last game wouid mean we would have to get at least a point in Wexford Park or we'd be out on head to head with Wexford.

A win would leave 3 teams on 8 points and scoring difference then I'd presume.

Well said never bet any true cat should be in the park on Sunday regardless. Also they should make an effort to go to Portlaoise tomorrow night and the minors in the park Saturday afternoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭Village87

Cannot see Kilkenny losing at home to an average Dublin team, Dublin are spooked by Kilkenny and do not have the class to beat us. If Kilkenny beat Dublin then the Wexford match is a dead rubber ? Galway and Dublin match then will be more or less a Leinster semi final

If Kilkenny beat Dublin on Sunday Wexford are out of the championship regardless of whatever else happens and in this scenario as was said above the Dublin/Galway last round match becomes a Leinster semi final with the losers going into the preliminary quarter final.

The 'whatever else happens' part of this is not technically true. Galway can still finish on 4 points if they lose last 2 games. Wexford can get 6 if they beat Offaly and us.

A Kilkenny and Galway win definitely puts them out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭jamesbond2022

It’s bad enough having Munster hurling snobs without Leinster hurling fans turning into Munster hurling snobs aswell

Staying at home to watch bloody tipp stumble over a desperately out of form Clare team the mind boggles

One of the best hurlers ever to hold a hurl probaly playing his 2nd last home game in a kk shirt and some lads couldn’t head up the road to watch madness

It’s 100% the gaa s fault that people are missing so many games when there all put on at the same time

Plenty of great games in Leinster over the years particularly between Galway and kk and Wexford and kk where the atmosphere has been Electric

The Munster championship is a bit like the 6 nations people rave about it but not all the games are Brillant some are pure shite

I can remember years where tipp dominated Munster and the likes of Clare Limerick or cork were hammered and couldn’t hurl there way out of paper bag
    Yes the Munster championship has been good the last 2-3 years but there have been a lot of 1 sided shite fests to

Technically you are correct but that would assume that Galway are beaten this weekend by Antrim in Pearse stadium. Cant see that happening but who knows!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,573 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Any thoughts on who will mark Dublin's man-mountain John Hetherton? Blanchfield or Deegan?

Agreed, how anyone can care about a Munster game when your own county is playing is mind boggling, hopefully a good crowd turns up Sunday.

They should of made it a double header with the minors instead of charging people twice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭kksaints

Think it's the Leinster council that have issues with the Minor match as part of a double header rather than the county board.

I heard them say this on radio the other day as well, that U17 games can no longer be curtain raiser for senior games, but the Galway/Wexford Minor game last year was held right before the Wexford/Galway Senior game.

A good few Dublin supporters would go to both games at the weekend, it just seems non-sensical to hold them on separate days. A huge disservice to supporters. Same with the 3 big Senior hurling games of the weekend being held on the same day, and one hour after the other. The scheduling and organisation by the GAA is an absolute joke.

You can say it's ridiculous that a Kilkenny fan would stay and watch the 2 Munster games at home rather than go to the Park, but unfortunately a hell of a lot of people are going to do exactly that. We know how fickle our supporters are, being outnumbered 2-1 in a home Minor final last year tells you all you need to know. The 2 big games on TV, both really attractive ties, will take between 5k-8k people off the gate I'd say.

Especially since we have 3 games at home this year and our away days last year were salt hill and Parnell park not the easiest places to get to

The bashing of Leinster hurling and the over hyping of Munster hurling is very tiresome

Should we excommunicate the Munster following posters I got temporary bans for a lot less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,104 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

It might be tiresome but the reality is there's been exactly one decent competitive match in Leinster this year, between two teams that, and rightly or wrongly (I think rightly), are perceived as not up to the current standard in Munster. The perception that kilkenny are the only leinster team who could hold their own in Munster isn't coming from nowhere and until you see signs that that's changing (for example, a second leinster team in the semi finals), you can expect more hype around Munster. Not much point complaining about it.

The good thing is that it means that when they are debating all Ireland contenders, kilkenny are hardly mentioned at all these days. I think we are developing well this year and it would be great to fly in under the radar. Think we have a real shot at surprising everyone.

None of which is too take Dublin this week for granted. I think we are a much stronger side than they are but we were a much stronger side than teams in the past in still for caught on the day, look at last year!

I wouldn't bother to single out hetherton for special attention, he had a great match against wexford but he is a known quantity and we have the right man to mark him without moving the backs around and unsettling them, or trying to find someone big to put on him. What we definitely need is someone who can make life difficult for crummy, who creates a huge amount of their attacks and is basically the fulcrum of the whole team at this point. Would definitely like to see our full back line play more like they did against Galway, protect the goal, avoid getting turned, and let them know that running at us is not going to work. If we can't stop Dublin going for goals we can forget Cork or limerick.

I've been happy with the performances further up the field from what I've seen of them (highlights only), think we now have some actual options for changing things up in the forwards that we didn't have before. Depending how a game is going you can call on Billy Ryan Hogan or mckessy. Tj is as good as he's been though obviously bigger tests lie ahead.

Not taking Dublin for granted but realistically we will all be on here giving out about the performance if it isn't a pretty convincing win. I think it will be, 6 or 7 points in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭Krazy gang

I think the point people are making is that with so few big hurling matches is that the gaa should be spacing them out to give people a chance to watch all of them.

Dublin footballers are playing Saturday so that's why their hurlers have to play Sunday

Scrapy first 15 min, Marty very dangerous looking

What was with the short free a few minutes ago?

it was an indirect free, ref never gave a free just stopped it because of the injury

Makes sense although that the ball has to travel a certain distance rule is dumb in that case. Very scrappy match, not a great watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

27 mins, there's a hop ball on our own 21 yard line. The ball breaks out and Rory Glynn gets it before popping it off to Marty Murphy who carries it for 15 yards before driving it into the Laois half where Aaron McEvoy is in at full forward who fouls the full back. Michael Brennan on the far wing was the only other Kilkenny player in the Laois half. An isolated incident but how are the first two named the two in possession on our own 21 yard line.