Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No quitten we're whelan onto chitchat 12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,011 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Parents got "fibre to the home" yesterday. Gone from using the 50+ year old copper phone line to fibre. They can't get over how things are so much faster now or how they don't have to restrict themselves with videos on simultaneously via the tv or phone. Like if the father has GAA+ on, youtube or anything for the mother is a no go. The excitement must be how it was when the electricity first arrived. There'll be nothing done here today now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭50HX

did my own one here, flask & fold up chair, leave the phone at home & off up through the field.

It's about a 15min walk but a fantastic view from there.

It never really got fully dark here last night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,837 ✭✭✭✭Water John

I think reference TAMS price is being reviewed ATM. Others may be more well versed in the matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,837 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Knew I'd seen it:

https://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/outcome-of-tams-reference-cost-review-due-later-this-year/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,910 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Hmmm - the brutal colonial wars, land theft, slavery etc. against native peoples in Africa, Americas etc. were often justified as "Converting Pagans to Christianity"……

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

No I'm away travelling at the minute however I did see a friend of mine post on his snapchat he was doing it then later in the day he had a snap chat up of the area he was found in on time a few years back.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭older by the day

I'm not excusing the church for the long list of failings. What I was trying to say was that there was a lot of good things done too. But we are bombarded by lefty media, who hates anything catholic or irish.

Humans are well able to kill and commit violence, without the church being involved. Remember the church ran brilliant hospitals long go too. They gave the best education in the country. They were tough times, its hard to compare them to 2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

@older by the day yes the majority get blamed for the sins of a few. As I do say about the Tuam Babies. Who made the poor girls pregnant and who put them in there…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭green daries

Large state collusion in 99% of cases but it was the church was the main driver and instigators usually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,474 ✭✭✭endainoz

Apparently lefty media hates Ireland? Thats news to me anyway. De valera and the church ran the country as they saw fit, he also gave them far too much power and everything that came out it will always have to be acknowledged.

We can't grow and look to the future without knowing what happened before. Most of the leaders from 1916/war of independence were devout catholics (with that exception of Connolly) anyway so it may have turned out similar regardless.

We have grown past the need for religion for everyone, Irish people can be free thinkers without worrying about getting the sh1te beaten out of them or excommunication for having different ideas. People are free to follow whatever religion they want and thats fine too. Unless it's Allah they believe in of course, doesn't seem to be allowed.

@green daries the church didn't rape & take advantage of the young girls that ended up in places like Tuam. It's very easy to look back and blame all on an institution and not look at the failings that was in some of our own families.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,474 ✭✭✭endainoz

Well yes but that was all largely based on fear of the church.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭GC4

Had more to do with pride and fear of what the neighbours might think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,345 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Well they were raping boys and girls over the communion table during confirmation classes down these parts.

We know all this. And there's no need for revisionism.

My own grandfather had a fancy Ford Hackney car. The parents of girls pregnant hired him to bring their girls to Roscrea. And this was before contraception. Others went over to England to visit relations. The clergy had total rule those times. Those were times of incest, no contraception, rape from higher ups, no voice given to women or children.

I doubt there's anyone would want to go back to those times.

I'm afraid the three of ye are correct in what ye say families neighbours and mothers of sons blaming the girls completely. fathers ashamed of pregnant daughters and all the stuff we look back on now as ridiculous but the state was the church and the church the state. It was very very different times and extremely difficult to go against the system. I said state collusion but maybe I should have said national collusion ( bar a few decent brave people )

A couple round here who had no family (my father reckons it's why they were so brave ) Looked after a few girls who fell pregnant. The priest tried to ostracise them from there parish but people knew that they were decent and 🏃‍♀️ in what they were doing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭Rosahane

Back in the 19th century under British rule unmarried pregnancies doesn't appear to have been such a big deal. Just look back at the baptismal registers and you'll be surprised at the amount of illegitimate births - the priests were good enough to note it 😐️

When Dev and John Charles got the reins of power things changed - two despicable individuals.

No one want to go back to the dark days of the 1900's. Dev & John Charles held Ireland back and to an extent we are are still affected as they didn't want Ireland to be anything like "unholy England"... but as we have seen there was evil in Rugby clubs, swimming clubs, boy scouts among others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,345 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

The sister in law of Alan Hawe was on the radio yesterday. Alan was well into the church, vice principal of the local national school, etc. He had this outward shell of an appearance.

He murdered his wife and family. The sister of his wife said he had notes written which he was planning it for a year beforehand. He felt he owned his wife and children and was afraid they would leave him. He had a second phone which he used for pornography and things to hide from his wife. The notes were found after the murders. When he did the deeds and killed himself. The guards and authorities and priest were putting pressure on to get the funeral over quickly. So without thinking his wife's family went along to have a joint funeral and burial. It was all for appearances because of how he projected himself in the community that they went along without thinking.

His plan didn't work anyway because his name is blackguarded for all time and he was exhumed after from the family. Just a tragedy his family suffered for himself wanting the perfect appearances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,687 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Even the new pope is up for louth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,305 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

Try the Sunday Independent, I wouldn't be surprised if its the most popular paper in the country. They have a lot of Conservative and right wing columnists, even a regular from the Iona Institute. A lot of the tabloids are quite right wing too.

The Irish Times would be the mostly centrist to left but wouldn't have a large rural following.

Our local paper here is very right leaning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,289 ✭✭✭enricoh

Mickey mouse crash on the m1 eating into my pints schedule. Could be a lot more fellas like this guy, RIP, the bitterness got the better of him!

!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,642 ✭✭✭✭Base price

We were in dublin for a game at 9am, the traffic when we were coming back going towards Dublin was crazy. Took 5 minutes to get my turn off n2

Up louth. Never in doubt...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,910 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Congrats to Whelan and other Louth folks on here - 68 years of hurt put to bed and revenge for 2010 all wrapped up!!😎

@whelan2 congrats, hope Louth will forget about 2010 now…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,418 ✭✭✭tanko

Delighted for Louth, revenge for the daylight robbery/cheating in 2010. Great to see it.

Gutted not to have been there, rest of my siblings went. Great day.

See there was a garda killed today by a motorcycle at a speed check. I met motorbikes today heading south bound absolutely flying, must have been some rally on somewhere. Rest in peace, everyone deserves to come home safely from work