Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General British politics discussion thread

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,837 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I'm wouldn't quite agree. British people have long been using local elections, by-elections and the EU elections of old to show two fingers to the governing party.

It might be different this time because we have four parties polling at about a fifth of the vote each which really shows how antiquated and how unfit for purpose FPTP is.

Realistically, the next election is over 4 years off now. Farage has show time and time again how anything he runs inevitably becomes too toxic for the British public. 4 years is a lot of time for him to debase his party. It's also a lot of time for the Conservatives to bin Badenoch and replace her with someone vaguely functional and sensible.

Much hinges on Starmer's performance over the next four years. He only won off the back of an anti-Tory vote and a ruthlessly efficient campaign my Morgan McSweeney.

There's also the fact that Donald Trump is incredibly toxic to the far right outside of the USA and Farage has repeatedly abandoned his constituency to support Trump.

Finally, there's the fact that Reform UK won several councils and what they're going to with them. So far, they've banned all flags except for the Union flag and that of England meaning that local authorities can't show the local flag but I think this has been somewhat reversed since. Mainly, it shows that Reform are nothing more than David Cameron's "fruitcakes, loonies and racists".

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭Hoop66

I don't, no. I think they have won some council seats of the back of, as said above, a protest vote against Labour. A protest vote stirred up the RW press in the UK & Reform's "friends" online.

Happy to predict that a good proportion of those councillors will leave office before their next election. Blatant racism and corruption will see to that. Another good proportion will not be re-elected - I just can't see them performing for their constituents. Have you seen some of the chancers that have found their way onto councils?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,768 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Sure hasn't one already been suspended because of his support for Jimmy Savile and questioned whether the allegations made by victims against Savile were true? And the guy in charge of vetting councillors has expressed an admiration for Hitler.

A fine bunch of lads all round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,843 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Ide like to think power will sort them out but the electorate is just so dumb and insecure these days and will just conspiracy theory their way into blaming anyone except their Nazi voting Brexit voting selves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,188 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

It was a 2024 update, but it looks like its a mix of 24 and 25 data. Poor data, basically.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,965 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

A full update evidently wasn't required - only a delta update.
    It is not poor data - it is poor interpretation of that data!

It's a combined data set from 2 different dates, with no markers to segregate the date of any individual update; it's poor data.

There were only 1641 seats contested in May.

Reform won 677 of them; almost 6 times more seats than Labour won.

Its a landslide for Reform and if it is repeated at next year's local elections, the writing will be on the wall for the next General Election.

Let's see how their elected members perform over the next 12 months. Still a lot to play for, but the May 2025 result is certainly seismic for UK politics.

The important point is that Reform won 42% of the seats that were up for grabs.

They obliterated everyone else.

If it wasn't for the postponement of many of the local elections in England, the seat count Reform would have today would be huge.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,837 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Not necessarily. You're assuming that all councils and constituencies are equal. They're not. It's likely they'd have won more but not that much more. If so, Reform UK would be the governing party right now.

Your average Joe will have much more interaction with local government than the national one and yet few would be able to name their local Councillors even one of them. This was an opportunity to say "Go f*ck yourself!" to Sir Keir Starmer and not much more than that.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

8 or 9 LA's I think. Almost 6 million people couldnt vote as a result of the postponement.

I am not assuming all councils are the same at all, but such is the magnitude of the victory, it is highly unlikely that Reform would not have topped the seat count, had all councils in England voted.

We will see when the GE comes around.

I agree that local elections are an opportunity to kick the govt; but that has always been the case and a small party hasn't smashed the big boy's vote in this manner before.

Its easy to downplay the significance here, but Reform are existing in a perfect storm, with both Labour and the Torys floundering politically.

A long way to go to the GE and Reform have to actually govern now, albeit at local level.

Let's see how they get on.

Time will tell but we do have some limited precedent. Farage was originally UKIP before leaving and establishing The Brexit Party which is now of course Reform UK. Over the next few years, there'll be regular stories in the media about the various toxic individuals Reform UK will have had to recruit to sit on local councils. It's going to be the sole metric to assess them by in 2029 and they won't perform well.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 11,833 Mod ✭✭✭✭devnull

To be honest I'm starting to get poll fatigue with pretty much every single day the Reform UK supporting outlets boasting about another poll that shows x, y and z will happen if an election was held today. It's pointless because a poll is not happening today. Yes, I expect there to be discussion about it every now and then and after local elections, but it is literally a new poll a day in the Express, Mail and GB News talking about 'if an election was held today' every single since Labour won.

I do not remember any other period in history or when the Tories were in power where every day we were hearing about opinion polls and how it means that x, y and z is going to happen when we've only fairly recently had an election. Here in Ireland you'll get a poll update every few weeks and that is how it used to be in the UK but now you get almost daily polls asking the most hypothetical question about what way they would vote today when they can't actually do so for another few years.

For goodness sake, the next election is probably around 1,500 days away. I thought the US was bad with how crazy they go over the midterms and how early the campaigning for the presidential election starts, but the UK has become even worse with what seems to be a permanent election campaign at the moment.

Reform won some seats in a family members area where one of the biggest arguments was that the EU was spending £50m to send special airplanes in the air to generate special types of clouds in the air because the UK was going too much sun and the clouds would then allow the EU to steal the UK's sun and deflect it mainland Europe in an act which they called 'weather warfare' The amount of people who liked that post was honestly mind blowing.

Some details:

Trump’s trade deal with the U.K., which exists only in rough outline, makes Prime Minister Keir Starmer’s life somewhat easier. Starmer’s diplomatic strategy has been to flatter Trump at every turn—which can’t have been easy for him—and to get King Charles to invite Trump to visit him at Dumfries House or Balmoral Castle, both situated near Trump golf courses in Scotland. This charm offensive has now been rewarded with a reduction in tariffs, from 27.5 to 10 percent, on Jaguars, Land Rovers, and other British automobiles exported to America, and the complete elimination of tariffs on the U.K.’s struggling steel industry. In addition, the U.K. will be permitted to export, tariff-free, up to 13,000 metric tons of beef. All British exports, however, will still be subjected to the same across-the-board 10 percent tariff Trump is imposing on all countries.

In return, the U.S. receives … not much. Some reductions on agricultural tariffs, including tariffs on American beef, although apparently the U.K. will continue not to import any beef from cattle that have been fed growth hormones (the Trump White House refers to this as “non-science-based standards that adversely affect U.S. exports”). There is no deal on pharmaceuticals, on which Trump has threatened to impose a 25 percent tariff. There, the U.S. has a trade deficit of $1.4 billion with the U.K., but the paramount consideration must be to keep it easy to get foreign-made drugs to American patients and American-made drugs to British ones, because human health is more important than political one-upmanship on trade.

https://newrepublic.com/article/195028/trump-uk-trade-accord-tariffs

Looks like a win for Starmer more than anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

A truly awful Speaker of the House. Ineffective and mooching like there's no tomorrow, Bercow was light years ahead of this Muppet.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

Seemed like he was considered compitent and intelligent just because he was old and spoke in a certain way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,861 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

"the Conservative MP and shadow foreign secretary, has sent him a Christmas pudding at least three years in a row"

Honestly, with everything going on in the UK and indeed the world thisnwould be in the bottom 0.001% of things I would care about.

It's ridiculous but in terms of the problems with the UK's politics, this is pretty minor. As much as I would like to see it gone, I'd like to see more attention spent on reforming the voting system among other things.

It's small scale in the grand scheme of things. But there should be no political gifting whatsoever. It's far too open to abuse.

Agreed but we'd be asking the beneficiaries to take their snouts out of the trough. It's not going to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,387 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Very risky strategy for Starmer to pitch himself as a hard right PM on immigration. The public already have Farage and Reform UK to vote for at the next election (and mostly dislike Starmer even now), so goodness knows where he's going with this.

You beat the far right by doing a good job not copying them.

Being anti immigration will just hurt the economy and make doing a good job harder.

Doing a good job would mean fixing Britain's problems or at least making serious progress. How would that work? What's the fix for the NHS? Housing?

I agree with the sentiment of your post but when you look at the reaction to removing a tax exemption for wealthy landowners and pretend farmers along with the introduction of a means test for the winter fuel allowance, it's hard to see how anything meaningful could be done. Can you imagine the furore that would erupt if he decided to bin the dumping ground for wealthy friends of the Tory party that is the House of Lords?

Starmer might be able to reap some kind of political dividend if he can reduce the amount of small boat crossings. Beyond that, as you say he'd be wrecking the economy and therefore doing a bad job. Farage and his creatures have a lot of time to display their toxicity and inadequacy. Don't interrupt your enemy while he's stabbing himself.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,647 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

To be fair, the white paper they have released references studies showing the level and type of immigration the UK is experiencing is already hurting the economy (how accurate the studies are I can not say). Immigration is good for the economy is a broadly correct statement, but it is not foolproof. It's also fairly possible to be pro-immigration and acknowledge that the last number of years have been completely abnormal in scale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,387 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

For sure, but some of Starmer's language is very odd for a PM e.g. "island of strangers"…..this is practically far right rhetoric.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,647 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Yes, his rhetoric leaves a lot to be desired and I wouldn't defend it. But I'm equally seeing a lot of people saying he should be extolling the virtues of immigration and I think these people are a) living in the most ridiculous cocoon imaginable and b) objectively wrong at this point. Both the type and scale of immigration in the UK has momentously shifted post Brexit. Not without irony given the impetus for it and the chief architect of it who is now bemoaning the very thing he caused.

Unless your definition of far right is going to extend to encompass a large majority of the nation, then their is nothing far right about his actions.