All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2025 (Munster And Leinster Championships,Liam McCarthy Cup)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭Shocs24

Clare 66/1 for All Ireland now. Still nearly better value that a team that haven't won a title 20 years at 6/5🤫

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭endainoz

Apparently they are a dirty team that constantly break rules, Kelly takes too many steps, all o donnell is good for is barging through and no other team is ever dirty at all, except for Clare, oh and they don't deserve an ounce of success that they've ever gotten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,775 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

And it's at the point now where people are saying the angels of Kilkenny would have never played dirty back in the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

John mcgrath some forward. Anticipation, experience and finishing. Was a bit disappointed with tipp overall though. Struggled to get over a clare side without 6 all ireland starters. Waterford will fancy their chances against them next week. Winner take all.

Fair dues to clare, couldn't have gave any more with a patched up team. Nothing to be ashamed of, their supporters should be proud of them. Probably bit of a end of an era.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

If anything Tipp were the dirty team today, borderline cynical fouling any time a clare forward broke the line, a fairly blatant frontal charge on Tony Kelly that ended up as a Tipp free aswell and there was a few more instances. If our lads had been a bit more cynical they might not have let in 4 goals in 20 minutes without laying a hand on a Tipp man. The lack of a centre back and leaving one defender exposed on several occasions in the full back line ultimately lost the game for us though. John Mcgrath is a class hurler buts he's no gazelle and he shouldn't be getting around lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Repo101

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,495 ✭✭✭Charlie69

You’re up against it when the mods are joining in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,840 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

If Offaly beat Wexford next weekend, and Antrim miraculously draw away to Galway, would a win for Antrim in the final round coupled with a Wexford loss relegate Wexford? (not certain the head-to-head ruling is still in play)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

in my opinion he's one of the best in his generation , probably too quiet and modest in the media to raise a profile for himself , on the tipp page i asked the lads early last year where he was , they had said he will be lucky to see out any more than 20 minutes a game for tipp

this year he has the goal of the season contender against limerick , the point of the season contender today against us , and 2-3 in the process , a good footballer too

every team breaks the rules that's always been the case , its usually the team thats best at not getting caught benefits the most

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,843 ✭✭✭4Ad

The only Honest, rational person here tonight.

Well said, and that's from a Clare fan...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭KanyeSouthEast

Mod Edit

Warning issued.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

Cheers. I'm not a clare man but you have to admire the way they keep fighting back against the odds. Especially with so many experienced players missing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭ClimateObserver

Looking like it. That final game being in Tullamore one would give the nod to Offaly who have been a bit more fluent in hitting the net this Leinster campaign so far. However, there could be a bit of a shock if Offaly could nail a win in Wexford Park next Saturday. A big ask though without Ravenhill.

that's the way i am looking at it , if i had a criticism of lohan we keep allowing teams the extra man for the puck out

we go man to man in the back 5 and use kelly or ryan taylor as the extra man, teams are all over this and tonight jake morris brought darragh lohan to the sideline , Conor leen cant move and adam hogan is brought to the other sideline and big gaps start opening up

fair enough we don't like playing a sweeper system like fitz did , but if you either push up on the puckouts or drop a midfielder back it kills a teams set piece , its like the nfl a copycat league , if you play man coverage all the time without pressing upfront teams will quickly find a way around you,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,430 ✭✭✭Seadin

Because for a county that hasn't won a whole lot, some of your fans are unbearable. Reality check needed. Also I'm not a fan of Lohan and some of his game tactics, right on the edge stuff. Good to see them exiting the championship in May.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,430 ✭✭✭Seadin

Kilkenny back then were unbeatable, they didn't need to play dirty. They were an unbelievable team and were a level or two above every other team .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭Vinnie222

Ah come on now , for a county that dines out on past glories, Cork fans have some cheek handing out “reality checks.” Maybe worry less about Clare’s tactics and more about ending a 20-year wait for Liam. All that speed and style, but when it gets gritty, Cork still seem to go missing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭another36

not sure why you feel Clare fans needed to be given a reality check. But fair enough if that's your feeling

Re playing on the edge it is needed at times to push past another team.

Tipp brought a lot of it to Ennis yesterday particularly their backs who were definitely on the edge to stop Clare attack. I don't think I'd call it a tactic rather than it becomes a necessity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭endainoz

It's the typical "back in your box" sh1te you get from these "bigger" counties. Playing Clare was considered an easy win for years then all of a sudden they start to be successful, and all they have then is nostalgia of past glories that they are desperate to rekindle. Pure bully boy mentality, and of course just like bullies, they really don't like it when you hit back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭lim4ev

Now krazy you know excellent mature honest posts with no digs aren't allowed here. Exactly my thoughts but fair play to both teams just fantastic entertainment. An amazing competition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭threeball

I'm not, they're nearly always involved in exciting games which is what the championship needs. It also means we're only one game away from never seeing Shane O'Donnell play again which is nothing to celebrate. He's the best hurler in the country and we're going to lose him in his prime. There'll be a few less highlights in the championship reel next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭challengerbell

Thought Tipp would have enough to win this. We did. Just. Great to have it in our hands now. Expect well over 20k in Thurles next week.

Don't buy this poor me spiel of Clare being down half a team. They had O'Donnell on the bench, who they didn't have for the first 2 games. Fitzgerald and McCarthy were fit to play. Their poor form doesn't count as being down men, if it does then we were down O'Connor and Bowe and Hogan.

Clare were down 3 in reality, Cleary, Ryan and Conlon. But Conlon played a part too.

We were down a suspended McCarthy, and an injured Caesar.

One big issue we had was poor conversion rate 1st half with the wind which was substantial. Too many unforced wides. With the wind, we needed the gap to be 12 to 15 for it to be comfortable. That was possible had we converted enough 1st half.

All in our hands now. Waterford will fancy a go at us. We made 4 changes from the Limerick/Cork games. I'd expect a couple more for next week. It's not a 15 man game anymore. You have to be able to work with 20 potential starters minimum.

Getting game time into Conor Stakelum is big for us. Getting him to the pitch of things is important for Tipp. That was his first start of the year, Ormonds 2nd I think after the Galway league game.

Next weekends games are going to be huge.

Expect 45k in Limerick too. Big game for them. Lose and progression could come down to Clare v Limerick. Hard to imaging Limerick under pressure to advance though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭supernova5

you nailed it right there, very bitter, small minded and unpleasant personality trait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭another36

Tipp fully deserved their win they took their goal chances when they knew they could and then kept their cool weathered a comeback attempt and saw out the game. They should drive that on now and come out of Munster if they get over Waterford.

It's not a poor me or to take from Tipps win to look at the team that started and acknowledge that key positions in the Clare team had very inexperienced players in them. It's a reality not an excuse just facts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,775 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Limerick needed a final day win the last 2 years to progress. Waterford was handh enough but it went to the wire against Cork in 23.

The Limerick vs Cork game is already sold out too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,495 ✭✭✭Charlie69

As a moderator on this forum you should be disappointed with this post imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,453 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

What surprised me with Clare yesterday was the way they allowed Tipp to bully them. Clare seemed to give Tipp far too much respect. Very unlike Clare.

EVENFLOW

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 36,514 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Far from it !! As a Cork man who has seen Clare having the Indian sign over them for a fair few years - I am delighted Clare are - more or less - out! I would say most Cork fans are in fact - why wouldn't they be? I will also be delighted if and when some team knock Kerry out of the football to be honest - hope that doesn't disappoint you too. Munster hurling has produced yet another cracking game of hurling - do you actually have an issue with that statement?

These are simply my opinions - which I am perfectly happy to post and discuss.

A Corkman being delighted Clare got beaten is some kind of a shock to you - can't understand why that would be to be honest. Moderators can give their opinions - as they are perfectly entitled to do. They can discuss and back up that opinion too. I've never had a problem doing either.

If you would like to show some of the posts that have been Moderated is some biased way due to a Mods opinion - including mine of course - please report them. By all means do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭KanyeSouthEast

you could start by spelling one of the counties names correctly for a start and I’m not talking about Cark here.