Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

What have you watched recently? 3D!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,178 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I've been doing some reading about AI, and saw recommendations for Colossus: The Forbin Project (1970), which I watched today. The USA entrusts its national defense to an impenetrable supercomputer named Colossus, taking it out of human hands in a kind-of Mutually-Assured Destruction (MAD) scenario that is supposed to deter Russia from attacking the USA. Problem is, Colossus immediately discovers its Russian counterpart computer, Guardian, and the two computers start discussing what to do about these pesky humans ..!

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭brokenbad

Terminator 2: Judgment Day - watched it last Sat night on the big screen at VUE cinema in Liffey Valley. Re-released as part of VUE's Action Season. One of my all time favourite movies - a dream come true seeing it on the big screen. I was only 16 when this movie was released back in 1991 and still remember all the hype and fanfare about it……brought my teenage son and daughter to see it also and they were blown away with the special effects - what an absolute classic 😎

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭Kaybaykwah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,178 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I did, actually. A real period piece with the dated computer technology and slightly clunky dialogue.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭Kaybaykwah

@bnt/

I‘ll have to check it out now. Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,936 ✭✭✭ILikeBoats

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,597 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Aris

Caught up in my cinema viewing the last few days. No major disappointments, just various degrees of satisfaction.

I'm Still Here

I found this very good, another solid film by Walter Salles. Fernanda Torres as Eunice Pavia was fantastic in a rather understated manner, she carries the film beautifully. The film focuses on the events during the military dictatorship in Brazil, and offers a very grim view of what was going on during that time. There are 2 small segments towards the end: one makes a brief reference to Pavia's activism (and also gives her closure with the confirmation of her husband's death), the other doesn't offer much - I assumed it was just to give a brief cameo to Fernanda Montenegro, who is Fernanda Torres' mother and starred at another Salles film, Central Station.

The Alto Knights

This is written by Nicholas Pileggi of Goodfellas and Casino fame, but Goodfellas or Casino it ain't. Nothing wrong with the story, who is another mafia story that Pileggi tells so well. But there are a few questionable decisions made - key one being having DeNiro playing 2 roles. Levinson's return to film directing (after 10 years) is very restrained and I felt held the film back. I wonder what Scorsese would have done with this story.

Last Breath

Remake of the documentary of the same name about a diving accident in the North Sea, where a diver survived without oxygen for a significant time. A bit of a minor event because of the subject matter, but worth for the middle 30 minutes, the incident itself is filmed with great intensity and the underwater scenes are claustrophobic enough. Good chemistry between the 3 protagonists (Woody Harelson, Simu Liu, Finn Cole).

Priscilla

I saw this in Mubi. If I'm honest I didn't find the story particularly interesting, although it makes a good portrayal of the relationship and the dynamics between Priscilla and Elvis. But Sofia Coppola directs the story with her usual discretion - this is really home turf for her, and treats her protagonist with respect but also a clear attitude. Cailee Spaeny is really good in the tile role and Jacob Elordi works well as Elvis.

Upcoming gigs and events: The Pillowman, Rhiannon Giddens, New Purple Celebration, Foil Arms and Hog, Nova Twins, Tanita Tikaram, David Byrne

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,215 ✭✭✭FullBack Jam

I've only seen Last Breath of the list you gave. I thought it was well done. And from what I read since, it is completely true. Not exaggerated. It's a simple movie, but was quite intense. I enjoy those rescue type movies. Anyone that enjoyed Last Breath would love the movie about the scuba divers that rescued the soccer team in Thailand. Thirteen Lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭El Duda

David Lynch season at my local cinema:

Eraserhead – 5/5

This is exactly how I imagine my attempt at Parenthood would go.

The revolutionary sound design is still as potent as it was back in 1977.

The Elephant Man – 5/5

I had seen this before and already considered it to be a masterpiece, but that previous viewing was on a **** old TV with crap speakers. Seeing this in the cinema was one of my all-time favourite theatre experiences and one of the films that benefitted most from the big screen treatment.

The worldbuilding of Lynch’s Victorian London is some of the best you’ll ever see. The smog of heavy industry runs thick throughout, to the point where you half expect to leave the cinema with black gunk under your fingernails or to be mining your nasal cavity for thick soot bogeys on the way home. The location's work was a case of perfect timing. They were lucky enough to shoot at genuine Victorian-era London locations that remained preserved until very shortly after filming. Almost like it was meant to be.

People often say that this is Lynch’s most normal/accessible film, and whilst they’re quite right, they often say it as if it doesn’t feature any of Lynch’s trademarks. This is not the case at all. It is littered with many of the recurring elements that make Lynch’s work stand out, such as the camera lurking into a sinister-looking abyss. It being bookended by surrealist sequences (that the studio wanted to cut from the final edit), it carries over the industrial churning and oppressive sound design that featured so heavily in Eraserhead, and his lo-fi style of image manipulation is also on display. Lynch’s obsession with electricity obviously couldn’t appear as this is set in the late 1800s, but the intrigue in electricity is substituted with Victorian-era gas lamps. It’s also dripping with empathy, which is one of the main recurring themes throughout Lynch’s work. The most Lynchian thing though, is the scene where Merrick gets invited over for dinner. Here we see Merrick break down upon being greeted by Hopkins Wife, and then she, in turn, breaks down as he speaks of how he must have been a disappointment to his mother. It is one of the most fucked-up and heartbreakingly beautiful scenes in cinema.

Mel Brooks deserves a lot of plaudits in his role as producer. To watch Eraserhead and to have the foresight that Lynch would be the right person to adapt this material is staggering. There’s a great quote from Lynch when he talks of being lined up to direct and then being told by Brooks that he is going to watch Eraserhead first to see if he’s the right guy;

“Well, it’s been nice knowing you guys”.

To his amazement, this didn’t put Brooks off. He called Lynch “a Madman” and proceeded with him at the helm. Brooks was selfless enough to keep his name out of all promotion as he didn’t want the audience to go in expecting a comedy.

Lynch described working with Mel Brooks as “sort of close to heaven”. Mel was able to put together a cast that was “beyond the beyond”, according to Lynch, who was awestruck by the elite level of British talent that was assembled for him to work with. “You couldn’t dream up a better cast.”

And he’s right. Hopkins is perfect as an enthusiastic doctor who becomes wrought with conflict. Freddie Jones and Michael Elphick put in two superb and contrasting villain performances, but it’s John Hurt who steals the show with a tour de force performance. A lot gets said about his physicality and how he manages to elicit such raw emotion from beneath all that make-up, but it’s his vocal work that stood out to me on this watch. I guess spending 8 hours in make-up a day gives you a lot of headspace and room to practice.

All in all, it’s a flawless masterpiece and you should jump at the chance to see this on the big screen.

Wild at Heart – 4/5

The last time I’ll ever see a pure, uncompromised Lynch film on the big screen for the first time. It didn’t disappoint. I was surprised at how Twin Peaksy it was in places. It almost felt like a bit of a bridge between Twin Peaks and Mulholland Drive. 

The demented lead role couldn’t have been pulled off by anyone other than Cage. I like the fact that the snakeskin suit he wore was his own. The stand outs for me though were Laura Dern and Willem Dafoe. This is the best I’ve ever seen from Dern. Her performance annoyed my Wife as she kept “playing with her too much” and it was “unnatural” (yeah, I know) but as I said to her, Lynch doesn’t want natural, he wants demented fever-dream, and those weird mannerisms are how we remember people in memories and dreams. Even though nothing technically happens, the ‘rape’ scene between Dafoe and Dern is more affecting than some of the more graphic rape scenes out there. It was a toss up between this scene and Isabella Rossellini's eyebrows for the most disturbing thing in the film.

There's me watching the opening credits thinking "oh cool, it will be interesting to see Lynch working with Crispin Glover" They seems like a match made in heaven. Then we get served up... that lol

"You have cockroaches in your butt"

Like most Lynch films, I can only see myself liking this more and more on future rewatches, but it’s not quite top tier for me just yet.  

Blue Velvet – 5/5

I feel that the opening 20-30 minutes to be slightly laborious on a rewatch, which is something I don’t get with any of his other films, but from the moment we enter Dorothy’s apartment it’s just as absorbing as ever. The sinister nature of Hopper’s terrifying performance (which I have down as the GOAT villain performance in cinema) combined with Lynch’s mad imagery burrows its way under your skin like no other. 

The In Dreams sequence at Ben’s brothel is one of my favourite sequences in all of cinema, so I had to restrain my rage when someone in the audience decided that was the optimum moment to go for a piss. 

“What a raw deal Einstein must have had, **** morons everywhere.”

Mulholland Drive – 5/5

Lynch film #5 on the big screen and the end of this little run. It’s been a privilege to see these in the cinema and they are experiences I shall not forget in a hurry.

This was my 4th rewatch and I now have a good handle on what it all means. It’s actually quite straightforward for the most part. 

The scene in club Silencio with cinema surround sound was majestic. 

A true one of a kind. A radical creative genius that we will never see the likes of again. He will always be #1 in my books. 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,439 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

The Sense of an Ending

Jim Broadbent is an elderly man who is contacted by a former lover. He starts to reminisce about his past but realises he has remembered things quite differently from what they really were.

This is an interesting story, though I don't know how original it is. It explores the narrative of our lives that we build in our heads, despite us being the most unreliable narrators of all. We only want to remember things that paint us in a positive light and diminish the negative consequences of our own actions. We also try to overplay the impact of others on our lives and us on theirs. It becomes something of an obsession for him, though he maintains its all innocent.

It also shows how not resolving these issues can impact subsequent relationships, in this case with the main character's ex-wife where she notes that he never mentioned any of the issues before.

It avoids cliches. He doesn't have any children he didn't know about. He doesn't win back his ex-wife or get back together with his long-lost lover, though he does grow and understand himself better.

The story and acting are solid. I wouldn't say there was anything groundbreaking about the filming or anything technical about; its just a good story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,976 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

Burn After Reading

Brad Pitt is 1 of 1 in this movie, no performance like it anywhere. I love the line Clooney can toe between suave and bumbling idiot, John Malkovich is the best swearer in Hollywood. Linda is the heart of the movie, I genuinely felt bad for her at points thanks to how Frances McDormand portrayed that desperation.

This is by far the funniest Coen Brothers movie; Brad Pitt's expressions, the reveal of Clooney's secret project, the cutaways to JK Simmons & Co. trying to figure out why any of this is happening or what it could mean, just brilliant. Trying to blackmail someone with a copy of their memoirs that you mistake for "secret CIA shít" is a plot that feels straight out of Always Sunny.

5/5

Natural Born Killers

Bizarre, made me feel sick, made me feel gross, but I really enjoyed it. Can 100% understand those who hate this movie but it just had me enthralled, definitely one I'll be watching again soon.

4/5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,000 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Heaven Help Us or alternative title Catholic Boys 1985, discovered this full film up on YouTube, having seen it also back in the late 80s. A coming of age comedy about school boys at a secondary school in New York run by religious brothers in the late 60s. I enjoyed this again, a light hearted look at the strictness that occurred in the school and the shenanigans the boys get up to with fine performances from Andrew McCarthy, Donald Sutherland, Kevin Dillion (Matt's brother) and John Heard amongst others. 5/5

Post edited by bodhrandude on

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,439 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

A Real Pain

A bittersweet movie. It does bring up some aspects about that kind of tourism and life, in general, that are worth mentioning, i.e. living the moments and experiences as opposed to reeling off facts.

An impressive performance from Kieran Culkin. There's little new about the comedic aspect of his character, he's like a less needy version of Roman in Succession, but in his darker moments, he taps into something I didn't know he had. Eisenberg played his role well.

It's an enjoyable film and also one packed with feeling. Definitely recommended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 701 ✭✭✭Dogsdodogsstuff

Agreed.

I liked the moments culkin would shift from playful to serious. Could relate to that myself and how many people are drawn to the more shallow , “fun” parts of a person while ignoring their deep rooted pain.

His cousin knew the real pain (pun intended) of Benji. Did have similar feel to Roman character but more rawness and vulnerability shown in benji.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,220 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

Robocop remake- A bit of a pointless film and not a patch on the original. Didn't have the gritty violence, the excellent satirical adverts and the charismatic villains from the original. The Murphy actor was quite unlikeable and seemed to just gun unarmed people down when he was a cop. He did feck all crimefighting too, far too many scenes set in the lab. Gary Oldman is wasted in this but Michael Keaton does a good job as the ruthless CEO of Omnicorp. One more thing that annoyed me is that they have nerfed the ED-209 who was my favourite from the first film.

Upgrade.

Excellent little action film with some good plot twists along the way. Some very inventive camera work especially in the fight scenes. It doesn't hold back on the violence and goes in dark directions sometimes with moments of humour too. Top notch cast.

Only cost $3m to make and it looks and sounds great, proves that you don't need to spend crazy money to make a good action film.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,498 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

One to One: John & Yoko

This is the current movie on Mubi go, saw it at the ifi. I really enjoyed it, the concert footage is excellent and it also has a lot of TV footage from the 70's mixed with the music, interviews from the time and some recorded telephone conversations.

I'd say its a great one to see in the cinema, particularly if your cinema has a good sound setup.

The King of Kings.

Animated film about the life of Jesus as told by Charles Dickens to his young son.

I liked this and found the time flew by. It has a lovely animation style and soundtrack and is for the most part a feel-good film with a few laughs along the way provided by Dickens' cat who he can't stand. Some excellent voice acting from a star-studded cast most notably Mark Hamill as Herod and Ben Kingsley as the head of the Pharisees.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,616 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

I watched Tombstone for the first time last night.

Always meant to get around to it, the passing of Val Kilmer prompted me.

It's no Unforgiven, but its still a cracking western. And fun.
    Kilmer does indeed steal the show when onscreen.

Honourable mention to Michael Biehn, whose character still had the bends from The Abyss.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,197 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

Dead Mail - A welcome surprise from Shudder, I really liked this. A real slow-burn thriller, it hinges on a combination of strong central performances and visual/sound design strongly inspired by 80s home video releases but without e.g. feeling the need to use a 4:3 aspect ratio.

The J-Horror Virus - an interesting exploration of what makes J-Horror titles distinct and the circumstances in which the movement arose. Feels a bit odd that while the doc features a number of directors talking about making the films, all of the commentary is from English-speaking commentators from the UK or US. Possibly a reflection of J-Horror being more successful abroad than at home? In any case, worth a watch.

V/H/S Beyond - this was a real disappointment, and I'd been looking forward to it after the last few installments had been IMO a bit more interesting with a decent hit rate - I don't think any of the anthologies has been an All-Killer release for me, but 94 and 85 felt like they had a good hit rate. Beyond, unfortunately, has an adequate but unremarkable wraparound story with a weak pay-off, and only a single short (the last one, Stowaway) that actually does its thing well. It's a really good effort, a great mix of production effort, writing (from Mike Flanagan so no surprise there) and performance - but it can't by itself redeem the rest of the line-up. The rest of the shorts have well-executed special effects and production values, but are very weakly written, both in character and story terms, and to make it worse several of them feel like they are basically variations on shorts from previous films. Of these, the one with the best underlying premise - PETA encounters Dr Moreau - unfortunately chose a very arch tone that neutered any chance of creating tension in the story. I'm honestly a bit surprised at reports of this getting a really good reception because this is, for me, probably the weakest entry in the series since Viral nearly killed it off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Xofpod

Saw Sinners in the cinema. Had been looking forward to it for a while and wasn't disappointed. It's a great genre movie - From Dusk to Dawn crossed with Ring Shout crossed with Lovecraft Country - but also just a great movie, full stop. Strong cast, music integrated into the film brilliantly, and plot progression that took me, at least, by surprise. It also looked beautiful - one for teh big screen if possible.

The Penguin Lessons.

I enjoyed it a lot. It's a comedy-drama based on a true story that really tugs at the heartstrings at times. If you don't tear up at least once during this film you are an android.

Steve Coogan is on great form as a world-weary and cynical teacher who drifts from job to job and ends up in a posh private school in Argentina during a military junta in the 70s.

While on a weekend break he ends up reluctantly adopting a young penguin who has taken a shine to him, his attempts to get rid of it at first are very funny.

I won't give too much away but the penguin slowly starts to turn the teacher's life around and also the lives of those around him.

Excellent cast. I thought Jonathan Pryce was top notch, also the old argentinian grandmother and the uptight science teacher. The penguin itself almost steals the show it is so cute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,916 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 701 ✭✭✭Dogsdodogsstuff

Star Wars - Revenge of the Sith (20 year anniversary- Cinema experience)

I can’t remember the last time I saw this in the cinema, might have been as far back as release but I’ve always had a soft spot for this prequel and have admittedly watched it many times on tv/dvd. I’d been keeping an eye on bookings (as I prefer less busy theatre) but it’s been full or at least half full since Friday in the second biggest screen in my local Omniplex.

A voice in my head said “dew it” and I bit the bullet and went last night with my two younger lads. In the screen there were many people with all different age groups and some bunch of loud older teenish lads (during trailers) who I worried would be talking through the movie. As soon as the music starts and the scroll introduces the movie, after a brief cheer for the famous Star Wars theme there was respect snd silence.

I found myself smiling many many times during the movie. Some of the special effects have aged poorly and are exposed on the big screen but you sort of expect it. For me this is emperor Palpetines movie, totally over doing it full on pantomime villain and I absolutely love it. And the final act where Palpatine says “ive been waiting for this a very long time my little green friend” is just delightful with really well Edited final battles between good and evil. The score beautifully complimenting the fights to the end.

This movie is one for the big screen. Sometimes you have to see beyond the movie and let the heart rule, this experience left me smiling most of the night, my children loved it and I saw all age groups of patrons leaving the auditorium with similar smiles and enthusiasm. Few movies can say that after 20 years, especially one so heavily criticised for its special effects and green screen use. For all its flaws, it really is hard to not let it sweep you up from the very start when Anakin says “here’s where the fun begins”.

I give it 9/10 for nostalgia and one of the most enjoyable experiences I’ve had in cinema for sometime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭monkeyactive

The seed of the sacred Fig.

NDrama set in Iran where a family are plunged into conflict when the Father gets a promotion as a prosecuter for the Iranian regime while his young teenage daughters begin to be drawn to youth protest movements rebelling against it.

Enjoyed it , splices actual footage of protests , riots and government violent crackdown in with the Movie which gave it a levity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭buried

Repo Man (1984)

Alex Cox's directorial debut from 1984 and it's a genuine total classic, surpasses the many films/tv shows that ultimately were influenced from this greatness, productions that tried to imitate it but ultimately lack its originality and authentic utilisation of fun and total craic. If you haven't seen this, there's no point me trying to give some run down on what the films story is, just go buy/rent this thing and sit back and enjoy.

Ten/Ten

Bullet The Blue Shirts

I only saw it a few months ago myself. Great fun, scuzzy punky feel to it and totally bonkers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,936 ✭✭✭Homelander

In the Lost Lands. Threw it on because I was really feeling the sort of brainless, dystopian energy it was giving off, perfect takeaway fare.

There's crappy…..and then there's crappy. In the Lost Lands is indescribably crappy - everything about it is unbelievably sub-standard, but I should probably have expected that from Paul WS Anderson who hasn't made a half-decent film in about 20 years.

Anyway, one to avoid, even if you have a high-tolerance for utter crap. Whatever about Mila Jovovich who's starred in a rich slew of her husbands complete rubbish since the mid 2000s, I'm surprised Dave Bautista got involved in this.

My generous rating would be 3/10, some of the visuals are mildly interesting, everything else from the acting, to the script, to the action direction, absolutely sucks. It's the worst high-profile movie I've seen in a very long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 Romario11

one could argue he only made 1 good film which was his first one “Shopping”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,000 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

And a fine cameo from Iggy Pop sending himself up.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)