Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

It's beginning to look a lot like Christmas Off Topic Chat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,435 ✭✭✭antimatterx

The Sun is literally gone home. I spent an hour during lunch sitting outside and it now looks dull. Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,435 ✭✭✭antimatterx

On a seperate note, how is it May? Crazy fast year.i feel once we get passed St Patricks Day every gets fling, we hit all the bank holidays etc very fast and boom it's September.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭BK5

Speaking of signs, there was a Cork lady on tik tok earlier and she said because the oak tree in her garden had leaves before the ash trees it was sign of a good Summer. Some old wisdom I've never heard of anyway.

Off work today, unfortunately it's to go to another funeral. One of my best friend's has lost his Mother. No one tells you when you hit 50 that you will be going to a funeral every 5 or 6 weeks.

On a brighter note, hope everyone here has a wonderful May Long Weekend.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,778 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

I've decided that because I have seen wild garlic flourishing in a spot it flourished in 3 years ago when we had an amazing summer (but not the intervening ones) that we are going to have a great summer. Based on nothing at all other than it sounds like a possibility 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,192 ✭✭✭✭DvB

The power of positive mental attitude!! IF we're all convinced it'll be a cracker maybe it will through sheer force of will!!

"I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year" - Charles Dickens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭CheerLouth

Apparently, there is little to no rain forecast for the next two weeks!

Tickets in the bag for the Leinster Final - we'll be in the clouds but close enough to the front to see the action! Any of you Dubs have tips on parking close to Croke Park, let me know!

I'd never drive anywhere near croker on a matchday TBH. We always get the train to Drumcondra & walk up to the ground. Ballybough/Drumcondra and the surrounding areas are always a pain for cars on a big matchday.

Maybe park out somehwere near the Maynooth line & get the train in?

"I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year" - Charles Dickens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,078 ✭✭✭Cork Lass

Yes, 7.30 am swims for the last few days. Temperature is about 11° and the sun is there to warm your face, couldn’t ask for more, glorious.

Probably a lunatic but we’ll take it. The last really good summer was 1995, I was on mat leave after my first child and it was amazing. After 30 years we more than deserve another stunner.

Will see what Mr. CL thinks - we got lucky last year & got a spot near Mountjoy Square. We've a 5 year old with us this year so need to think of little legs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,403 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

I'd love to be into something like that, but I know the reality would get me within seconds...plus I can't swim 😂 😂 fair play to you.

I’m not a great swimmer myself, more of a dipper really. We just swim slowly while we chat, the conversation is a great distraction especially when it’s really cold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭tscul32

So I'm off to Cardiff in a few weeks just for fun ☹️ We'll try to enjoy the match anyway. The poor wee elf is gutted. Allez Les Blues!!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 26,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

Happy May everyone. Time is blitzing by but this sunshine in the evenings is making the days feel longer.

I even got back running lately!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭Jude13

I am reading that we may have a summer in Ireland this year, I am looking forward to three weeks at home.

Had mare yesterday, woke up feeling ill, went to the gym and after 5 mins was vomiting violently into the toilet. I thought it was out of my system and went to the office, not a great move. Lets just say I was using the sink and toilet at the same time. Couldn't happen at a worse time, client was chasing hard for a call ahead of a court hearing next week. I spent most of the day in bed. This morning I am shattered though the other symptoms have abated.

Brother in law of mine had Gastric a few weeks ago and had an awful time of it, 4 days of it.

Hope you are getting back to the land of the living.

Oh God, you poor think, Jude…there is literally nothing worse!

Lads, the weather is so fab! We could get used to this!

4 days! (in a Tomy Bowe voice) I thought I was over it, a 24 hour thing, sadly not. But at least the puking is gone.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 26,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

He was in a hoop, poor fella.

Hope you are feeling better very soon.

Thanks a million, had white rice for dinner last night and was grand so got to work this morning thinking I was over it. Had some scrambled egg and its back to the pharmacy for Imodium. Not very Christmasy talk so the last I will say about it.

I've the biggest professional week of my year next week and then its count down to holidays.

Hope you feel better soon Jude. Have been in that boat before & its most unpleasant, especially with work stress loaded on top.

We're away on holidays, 3 weeks on Sunday. I can not wait for it now, with all the stuff we had going on i hadn't really noticed it creep up, but with a small gap appearing in the work/life department I've finally started to allow myself to look forward to it.

Never been to Portugal before either so always good to go somewhere new!

Drink Coke Jude, it’s the best think for killing bugs. Hope you feel better soon.

Portugal is beautiful, we’ve gone there every year for the last 12 or so years (excluding 2020 of course) and we love it. Never heard anyone say the didn’t like it.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,778 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

I went there for the first time in July 2023 for a few days with friends and liked it so much I went back in November 2023 for a week. Still managed to get some nice weather, the beaches are beautiful. I'm eyeing up another trip there before the end of the year if possible 😄

You'll have a great time @DvB

I will give it a go, thank you.

@DvB we have never been either, we were looking a weekend in Porto over the summer. Keep notes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭tscul32

I spent the whole day (8am - 6pm) in Beaumont with a relative yesterday and am exhausted today. 3 more weeks of school and then off to Italy for 12 days and cannot wait. And the Pope has been elected so we'll actually get in to the Sistine Chapel too😁, was slightly worried there for a minute...

Portugal is fab, @DvB, haven't been in a few years now but it's a beautiful country!

7 weeks today until we're off on our hols - actually can't believe it's next month, considering we booked it last August & it seemed ages away, it has actually flown in. I'm away to London next weekend as well with my eldest, just the two of us & I can't wait!