Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Great Limerick Run 2025

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭deisedude

Where is the bag drop for the half? The email says the time but not where the bag drop is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭Sussex18

It says the Marquee on Barrington St which is about 2 streets further up from the start area.. Further up O'Connell St and left turn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,097 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

Great day out.

Almost perfect conditions for the half.…ran very conservatively and managed to beat my time from last year somehow 🤔

Great to see Limerick looking so well…enjoy the celebrations folks 🍻

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭geotrig

Same enjoyed the run and agree the weather was great for half and eventful in total ,even if I was somewhat apprehensive on heat late on and my inconsistent training , have to say support was fantastic all along the route which was great help thoroughly enjoyable and will be back amazed at the crowds running it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭mun1

ran a PB for 6 mile and managed to high five every mid from the materinity to the finish line .

Made sure I enjoyed it this year as last year was too hot .

Great day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Glenomra

I am not a runner. More a slow walker to the bar but watched the event. What a great success. Well done to all the runners who seemed to enjoy a wonderful engagement and rapport with the enthusiastic supporters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

my first full.(41yo- 5’11-110kg) Finished in 4hrs 48.

Could have been quicker but I was with my Younger bro who had to walk a few times- we split at 28km and my pace improved.

Hardest part was when around the old dunnes- people were on the street and it when 30km+ in, it was difficult to get bearings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,676 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

paced the 4.30 group, was very warm towards the end and the crowd running was bigger than anything I remember before

TbL

Well done on your first full.

I had no complaints/quibbles about the half but there seemed to be a shortage of marshalls between O'Connell St and Henry St to keep the road clear for the slower runners doing the full.

Weaving around prams, dogs, oblivious people on their phones etc is no fun on tired legs.…poor form considering the relatively high entrance fee.

Something that could be easily resolved for next year hopefully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

and last.

Box ticked, will focus on shorter runs and improve my dimensions

but it was a nice run,

My bro couldn’t figure out all the massive cheering for him- he didn’t realise the army boys were just behind him. Twas some laugh,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

Another relatively tough day at the office for me, was fairly spent by 20 miles so was a struggle bus home. Slight improvement on my time but my wait for a well executed marathon goes on!

I was just ahead of the 4:30 pacers til around the guards barracks after 20 miles.

Admin wise, couldn't have been simpler. We got down just before 8am, parked near the bus station which was only a couple minutes walk from the start line.

I thought the route was ok, a couple of minor complaints.

It gets fairly narrow in places, there was spot around the 20 mile Mark just before we merged with the 10ks that has barriers either side that seemed needlessly narrow.

Running out to dooradoyle on the road where there is a lidl a couple of times the runners in the opposite direction would be at least 3 or 4 deep on wrong side of the cones forcing us to avoid them

It was tough logistically when struggling to meet the 10k, I would have just met the start of them so they were the fast bunch. When I got to bridge across the Shannon I started to cramp up and trying to get myself into a safe place to walk wasn't ideal as it was narrow enough

Would have loved a lucozade at the finish line, if I was doing it again I would take one from the 40k water stop (assuming they had them). They had ran out of the protein bars, but we're in the process of restocking them, but they didn't have them when I was going through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭deisedude

They should probably do goodie bags to stop people taking the p1ss which i know is a pain for organisers but I saw several greedy fcukers afterwards with multiple protein bars and lucozades. It's totally unfair on people finishing a marathon not to get anything at the finish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

I didn't realize there was meant to be lucozade available at the finish line! I didn't see any evidence of it being given out other than I saw a good few people with blue lucozade after the finish line.

To be honest I probably could have done with them as I actually ended up not being in great shape after the race. I ended up sitting on steps and I was bit light headed and my arms were kind of pins and needles. guards came over to me saying I looked very pale and called for a paramedic to come. It was around this time my wife met me too and she had some electrolyte drink with her so I took that and another runner gave me a protein bar.

After a few minutes I felt normal enough again, but by the time the paramedic came he said I was too cold to get a reading from my finger and sent me to medical tent. They checked my BP and blood sugar and they said it was pretty normal considering, this was about 25 mins after the gaurd first saw me, I was feeling much better at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 defonotorn

First full over with! Ended up with a 4:46 which isn't too bad for 5'11 and 105KG I feel, had a few hiccups throughout my training block and started a month late due to that virus everyone had in Jan!

Just to echo some of the things others have said, I absolutely hated being swallowed up by the 6 Milers and getting across the Shannon bridge the first time is so narrow - walkers don't help here either tbf. The lucozade they chose had some tang off it too! And people walking out with boxes of protein bars are ***holes.

As a slower runner, it was actually really nice that every volunteer (I made it a mission to thank as many of them as I could for volunteering) would give you a clap and cheer you on as there wasn't too many people around me at any one time (until 6 milers). UL is a really nice campus also! I was a tad bit nervous I wouldn't get the right medal at the end given what I've seen before but it seems they had plenty by the time I finished anyway.

All in all, nice run, happy to finish and I'm wondering what to focus on for my next milestone. Think the trails might be calling me!

I was probably one of those running on the wrong side of the cone, it was just tight and difficult to get a clear line at times, so ended up on the path quite a bit and running 13.2 mile on GPS for the Half.

A good time in the Half, by my standards, had to walk for about 10-15 seconds by the Gaelic grounds, the strain of the hill was just a bit much, but just other than that just managed to keep going.

A few regrets that I'd didn’t stick with the full, maybe next year, but who knows, a year is a year away...

Anyway the atmosphere was great, the weather was good and the pizza after

was good too. A great day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

I went to Limerick with an A goal of 3 hours and a B goal of 3:15.

Decided to go with the 3 hr pacers, that got off to a terrible start when one of the pacers got tripped up after about 20 yards. He got a right bad fall but was back up very quickly.

He gave great encouragement to the group during the race.

We went through half way in 1:29 and everything was going great guns. Feeling super and was looking forward to the challenge that lay ahead.

The one gripe I have with the race is when the half joins up with the full. It got really congested and hard to keep track of the pacing group.

Started to feel a bit of a twinge on the climb up towards Dooradoyle but got back around after seeing my family which gave a great boost.

I had to have a bit of a stretch just at Punches Cross, quickly got back on the move and felt really positive coming down O Connell Avenue, the support here was amazing.

The North Circular Road killed me, a real road to nowhere it seemed and at this stage my legs were screaming at me.

Managed to give myself a bit of a pep talk and got my head back in the game. Checking out my splits and they got back on track to finish well and come in at 3:13.

Overall, I’m delighted. Came home with a massive PB and I know I can improve again.

Fair play to the organisers, more water than you could shake a stick at. Massive support coming back in over the bridge.

Small gripes: Course got a bit narrow at stages and as mentioned already the half joining in with fresh runners buzzing past you just as the real grind is starting got a bit distracting.

Would I run Limerick again?
    Definitely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭TheRef

Yesterday was a blast. On my 6th attempt, the first time I managed to run an entire marathon without having to walk/shuffle for the last few k.

I ran the half here a couple of years ago and loved it, so signed up for the full. Went out with the intention of enjoying it and not putting any pressure on, planning to average 5:35/km for the first half, 5:20 for the next 10k and then seeing if I could increase it further. In the end, I averaged 5:31 for the first half (feeling really strong and holding back) and pushed it, averaging 5:17 over the second to finish in 3:47 for a 9 min PB and 4 1/2 min negative split.

Like others, I came up behind the HM field which was very busy, particulaly of course where there were pacers, but any time I was held up, I just took it as an opportunity to recover a little and get set again. There were plenty of times I had to sprint around people, up on paths, over kerbs and around the cones, but going in with the goal of enjoying it, it didn't bother me. In fact, it probably gave me a lot of confidence to be passing people, feeling good, and seeing everyone enjoying themselves.

I did suffer a little from abdominable pains throughout and I think it could be due to maybe drinking too much water the hours/day before, or maybe the breakfast from the hotel, but nothing like previous races. So, I skipped quite a lot of the water stations (and there were loads and loads), and only took 4 1/2 gels throughout, but this was the first time I took Precious Fuel Hydration Capsules every 10k (skipped last) in a race, and reckon they really helped me.

The other change this time was in training my easy runs were run much slower than I have done in the past and my taper was longer.

I really love the course, and find the hills quite challenging, particularly over the last 8k. The Gaelic Grounds area is a grind, particularly the hills in the residential areas and then back up towards the city. I'll definitely love to do it again next year. Oh, and first time seeing UL, and that was a super interesting part of the course.

On the taxi back to the hotel in the late afternoon, I saw a group of young lads pushing around a trolley full of lucozade trying to sell them to passers by.

Post edited by TheRef on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Rockymurf

Well done all!

I did the full and can't really complain about the race itself. Good support and organising.

My only real gripe is the baggage drop off (after me praising it on the previous page🤣). Arrived on 40mins before start and queued for nearly 20 to hand in bag.

Also when I was finished, there was a massive queue dropping off for the 6 miler and I just wanted to get my stuff and get out. So got caught both ways. I do find it odd they need a bag drop for 6 miles.

But besides that can't fault the race itself, twas a great day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭Fraggle07

Did the full yesterday in 4h 48 so most likely finished close to a few of ye above.

@ThebitterLemon I ran with 4:30 pacers for a few km out by Castletroy and UL. There was great banter going. Well done!

Completely agree with what has been said above. On the positive, it was a very well organised event. Had no issues with getting there, toilets, getting to start line etc. The support was amazing from the crowds in the city and the volunteers and stewarts out on the course.

My first "annoyance" was heading out against the half marathoners. As said above, because of congestion, they were over on our side of the road and because I was on my own, they just didn't seem to see me. 3 or 4 also spat across the road in front of me, which was not the nicest!

Next was running back through city, at I think 30k. I was on my own with not alot of runners around me and struggled a little, to know what way to go. There were lots of people/supporters out on the road.

My last "annoyance", and my biggest, was heading out of city with the 6 mile runners after Sarsfield bridge. I almost got knocked over/tripped a few times here with fast fresh runners zipping past leaving no space. I found it so tough with the crowds coming through from behind.

I was really impressed with the water stations. Given the heat and being at the back of the pack, there was plenty of water. The support coming in at the finish was unreal. I, too was worried about getting a medal after what happened in some previous races. But had no issues. Was handed medal, banana, bar and large bottle of water.

All in all, there was a really great buzz about the place. A really well run event, but not a course I would be in a hurry to do again.

Post edited by Fraggle07 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,676 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Thanks.

I’ve done it loads of times and think it’s a great event however the congestion this year was unreal, needs to be addressed. I was running at times with my arms out to stop the 6 mile runners barging through tired marathoners. Was ridiculous

Great water availability and in bottles.

Well done on getting through it

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭ULMarc

6 mile runner here. I thought I had positioned myself far enough up the front of the first wave. But I was way wrong. I in no way anticipated the crowd that was there. The first km was thronged. And, as mentioned above, the course remained busy as we hit the Ennis road and met up with the longer runners.

Fabulous crowds altogether. I'd done the full marathon 12 years ago and was not expecting the numbers I saw on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭Kerry Gooner

Managed to finish just inside five hours on Sunday, not a fan of the blue Lucozade but plenty of that and water available throughout the race although never came across the protein bars.

One difference I noticed from last attempt was that the half seemed to go off earlier so I missed out on most of that congestion but then was almost knocked over with all the six mile participants setting off as I was beginning to suffer.

Great buzz around with both large numbers of runners and spectators and almost ideal weather.

I had a similar experience after the Galway Full a few years ago.

I was advised to take a few deep breaths by the paramedics and even that normalised my blood oxygen levels. (Like you I had been told I looked pale so sought attention.)

-The body will be in a bit of oxygen deficit immediately after a long intense run. So it's a good idea to continue to take some deep breaths for a few minutes after, walk a little bit if you can.

Obviously fuel up ASAP as well and you should be fine.

Had never tried the blue lucozade before but 2 bottles over a few minutes plus a banana or two certainly helped my body recover from it's energy depletion within 10 minutes or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Aquals

I took part in the Half Marathon and really enjoyed the day overall. There were a few issues though that could really improve the event next time however:

• Congestion on the out and back section to Raheen was very bad, and was a potential safety risk, as runners were running outside the cones at almost all points along that part of the route.
    • The section from O’Connell Street, along Lower Glentworth Street, and onto Henry Street was bizarrely devoid of any barriers or stewards. This is one of the busiest areas for spectators and passers by too. I could see how you mightn’t know where you were going if you were one of the slower runners at the back!
    • The worst bit of all was the chaos after the finish line! There were no stewards asking runners to keep moving after they crossed the finish line. After I finished, I was faced with lots of runners with medals around their necks, walking back towards the finish line, presumably to watch their friends finish. Then, very soon after the bananas and water etc, spectators were able to join with finishers to create complete chaos. The area that excluded spectators after the finish line should have continued to at least Glentworth Street, if not beyond on O’Connell Street.
      To add to the mayhem, the 6 mile was starting just after I finished, which meant that those of us that had crossed the finish line could not get across the route on Glentworth Street, and we were all penned in once we reached a certain point after the finish line. This area got more and more crowded until it felt like a bit of a scary crush. Thankfully, once that wave of the 6 mile had passed, stewards allowed us to cross the road, but it was a little bit scary until then!
      Did anyone else have this experience?

Overall, would I do it again? Yes I would, but I’d like if it wasn’t so crowded!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,138 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

I do limerick every year and it was so much more crowded this year, it was chaos at the finish line but people had no where to go.

Yep…the end of the half was fine but I went away and got changed, then came back to meet someone finishing the 6 Mile and it was bedlam.

Not sure if they increased the entries massively this year or what 🤔 but it seemed like the crowds have outgrown the infrastructure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,749 ✭✭✭CR 7

https://corkrunning.blogspot.com/2025/05/big-jump-in-numbers-for-2025-limerick.html?m=1

Yeah it appears to be a massive increase in numbers, don't know whether it was a deliberate plan to increase numbers or demand just naturally increased? There's a bigger interest in marathons generally over the last few years anyway(super shoes make it more appealing I think), and Limerick has the benefit of maybe the best bank holiday weekend of the year in terms of weather, and for most people the training really gets going as the evenings get brighter.