Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rear Ended on Motorway - Private, or Insurance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,700 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

The other driver (the onethat hit you) has already shown themselves to be dishonest in stating they reported it to their insurance company and they are ok with them settling privately when they did not report it

Enough said there not to trust them going forward.

Go through their insurance company and have them answer their own insurance companies questions as to what happened, what they were doing or not doing etc. Not your concern. Hope your back or neck pains abate.

Post edited by Kaisr Sose on

You are making a big leap there. They never said they were claiming for personal injuries. It's normal to have some sort of reaction to a bump, and often can take 24-48hr to manifest and it's wise to have them checked out.

Just remember, they are not at fault here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,955 ✭✭✭User1998

Jesus Christ. Cop on will you. Your not a doctor. Its not uncommon for aches & pains to take a few days to appear after a crash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,460 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

Indeed. In fact it's quite normal for the effects of strenuous activity to manifest a day later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Fishdoodle

Objectively, it’s unreasonable to suggest any malice on the part of the offending driver. In fairness, the individual admitted liability, swapped details & may have been mulling over whether to inform insurer or not based on both parties seeming to agree (initially) on one-to-one settlement. It’s stressful for both and people don’t know what to do. That person can (and should) let their insurer know, yet can settle privately if agreeable to both indiv parties (even with insurers knowledge). Minor accidents are often settled in this way.

————

Having the Gardaí attend the scene is useful as statements can be taken, liability admitted, & it’s on record. Liability is the first thing to ascertain when it comes to settlement agreement / costs. Also by both parties informing insurers…it clears this up also.

OP asked:
    “Curious why the insurance asked me what I think happened if I didn't actually see the collision.” …if fault is shared or OP admits liability (even inadvertently) , that changes the situation.

Post edited by Fishdoodle on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 563 ✭✭✭Speedline

You do need to report it to the guards. It's a condition of your insurance. And do contact your insurer. Let them take over. That's what you pay them for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭Sono

@Fishdoodle I posted based on the information shared in OP

They said their insurer gave them the go-ahead to proceed that way.

.... so I rang their insurance company to share the details. I believed they already reported the accident, as I had done the same day it happened with my insurer. Turns out there was no record of the other driver calling,

I would not be giving any credit for them sharing their insurance details at the scene. They are legally obliged to do this.

I have no doubt it is stressful for them so hopefully there is a lot of learning to pay more attention while driving from this.

This is true, …following accidents, hormones release to deal with shock - numbs pain and gives the feeling of being ok, so a situation can be dealt with. These wear off. So when the OP says, chronic back pain was gone, that’s most likely why. Hopefully remains gone 🙂 …or back to baseline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭Vestiapx

Always always always call the Guards. You will face all the stuff you would not have by calling the guards.

Ask me how I know 😌

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,226 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Sorry to hear of this incident OP.

I've been on both sides of this type of situation and dealing with the issue privately (while informing the insurance companies involved) requires a great deal of trust but will ultimately cost the person at fault significantly less than going via the insurance company. As I said, I've been on both sides of this.

The issue in this country (and probably others) is the absolotute pisst$king of repair shops/dealers etc in relation to charging for repairs, particularily when the insurance company is paying - this effects EVERYONE who pays insurance. And as for those claiming that a repair paid for by the insurance company is a "better" repair that one not paid for by the insurance company is someone who hasn't seen examples of both.

Having said all that if you have a genuine injury also, I would 100 percent go through the insurance company route as this can be where things get tricky.

Yep, you’re right…better to call them 👍

And how do you know 😉?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,469 ✭✭✭...Ghost...

Thanks for the judgement. I wasn’t looking for sympathy though. The constant back pain you quoted is from an accident over 10 years ago where I ruptured discs and have life long chronic pain thanks to some other clown who wasn't paying attention while driving. Adrenaline is a great pain suppressor, which is the point I was making. I barely felt anything in the minutes after the accident.

Despite that previous injury, I don't want to be the one who forces the other driver into a tough spot. I don't know them or their circumstances. I do want my car put right properly and quickly and with minimal hassle. I worked very hard for it and it's my pride and joy.

I'm in pain right now from the impact. I'm counting on it clearing up. No payout is worth any lasting injury. Take that from someone who lives with it daily and try not be so cynical. Not everyone with a sore neck has a brass neck,

Stay Free

Not everyone with a sore neck has a brass neck,

Excellent. Well said!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭Jerry Atrick

Go insurance all the way, similar happened to me and she had the balls to claim off me despite initially claiming liability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭chiefwiggum

I would be amazed if the damage is limited to 1500 euro.

Couple of years ago I was in an aldi car park when the driver behind parked, left their car out of gear and no handbrake on and it rolled about a foot into the back of ours. We have a Kia EV6 and theirs wasa VW polo. Gentle bump and they were lucky that the only damage was to a black trim on the back bumber.

Was quoted 1500 to repair (part,prep,paint,fitting,testing of sensors etc).

They wanted to go cash route. After a couple of days of being difficult about things they eventually notified their insurance and was seamless after that.

TThere will be a lot more unseen damage.

That's what worried me when asked to send photo of my insurance details. No practical reason to ask if you are 100% at fault unless you plan to chance your arm after changing your mind about who should be held liable.

I'm expecting a much higher bill too, but there is a small chance, a fleeting one that the damage is superficial. I doubt it though, because it felt more bang than bump.

Stay Free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,146 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

You're wrong. You must notify your insurer of any incident which MAY give rise to a claim, regardless of whether or not you intend to proceed with one. This includes the possibility of a counter claim being made against you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Exiled Rebel

Go through the insurance. They've already proven to be untrustworthy and if they try a fast one by claiming against you, then in response, pull out the WhatsApp receipts! Be sure to screenshot them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭delboythedub

100% and if the other driver starts moaning about the cost of repair and you did not report this to your own insurance you are goosed. I made this mistake myself as other driver would not pay the garage, ended up in court

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭delboythedub

And still to this day after many years have still not been payed a cent despite being awarded it plus costs

Could you refer them to a debt collection agency?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,146 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

AIG are indeed very clear about it. Look at their online policy document under General Conditions, Item 9. You have a contractural obligation to notify them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Orban6

No, You do not need to report it to the Gards.

Jaysus. That would really put anyone off considering a private settlement! You need to seek an enforcement order there. That’s terrible.

Stay Free

My own understanding and interpretation of the reporting requirement is that you must report any incident that may result in a claim. It would be easy to misunderstand this and think that you should only report if you “think” it may result in a claim, but whether one thinks it may, or may not, it definitely may result in a claim, so basically all accidents should be reported 😂

Stay Free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,745 ✭✭✭893bet

Going is private is for mirror clips, side scraps on a 10 + year old car worth les that 5k etc.

You would be mad trying to do the other person a favour by facilitating. The other person will bitch about the real price and want you to go to “this person he knows that will do it much cheaper”.

And don’t be afraid to make your PI claim. It’s what insurance is there for. If you are hurt.

I have had two almost accidents (one where I was in the wrong, one where I was in right). Where I was in the wrong the other person for 30k injuries….and I know **** all wrong with them due to the light side impact, along the side rather than into the side……but sher whatever. It makes no difference if you are in the wrong for 5k or 25k.

Where I was in the right I got nothing….as I didnt claim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,744 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Well OP, I hope you heed the good advice you've gotten here. If someone drives into your car, do not feel sorry for them because they will exploit that. Once there's money involved, even seemingly decent people will duck, dive, lie, cheat and scam.

If, after a collision, someone seems very keen to settle privately, that should set off alarm bells. There could be an issue with their insurance even though they have a valid cert.

There is also a selection bias here - the type of person who drives into your car because they weren't looking where they were going is more likely to be irresponsible than the person who didn't drive into your car. It won't be the first time that they've behaved irresponsibly and it won't be the last either.

Aviva is the same as AIG

"Even if you plan on paying for the damage yourself, it’s vital to inform your insurer immediately; this is because the other driver may bring a claim in the future."

…and despite what some say on here, Aviva say the Gardai should always be called.