Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kneecap - New Footage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,348 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Well when faced with continual but but but, what can ya do- what I just said is as farcical and as irrelevant to the heart of the matter as what you’re saying - kneecap did wrong, it’s that simple. They have themselves to blame and in my opinion, in the pursuit of profit through record sales via notoriety -which is sick.

We obviously wont agree so no point in continuing this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,006 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

I'm saying (and have repeated myself) people need to be responsible for their own actions. If you're incited to go out and commit a crime or kill someone because a band you listen to said so, that's a you problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭itsacoolday

The fellow talking to his computer in his bedroom in Rathfarnham got 3 and a half years in jail for talking about killing people. Are Mary Lou McDs life and Drew Harris's life worth more than English MPs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Iscreamkone

I think my comment was spot on in light of the Kneecap’s friends performance at a music festival nearly two years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,670 ✭✭✭volchitsa

Defining "innocent person" is the problem. By your logic, there's no need for a court case because - well, what? What are the procedures in place before someone is kneecapped to ensure that the right person is punished and that personal enmity or even just mistaken identities never happen?

Here are three different cases where the victim dared to speak out. Mostly they don't - even when they are innocent. I already mentioned one I know personally - he's not among the examples below because this was back during the troubles and he didn't dare complain.

Someone else in a different town:

A more general study of the question concluded thus:

Punishment attacks on innocent victims, either through mistaken identity or misinformation, are neither acknowledged nor compensated. In some areas, therefore, a feudal type of system evolves where the law is in the hands of a few individuals who exert and abuse power. Once they obtain control of an area, they use punishment beatings and killings to stifle dissent.

https://www.thelancet.com/journals/lancet/article/PIIS0140-6736(02)11822-8/fulltext

The idea that this is fairer than a proper justice system should be laughable. It's a measure of something terrible in Irish society that some people will defend it - especially in the south where it's never going to happen to you or your family!

”I enjoy cigars, whisky and facing down totalitarians, so am I really Winston Churchill?” (JK Rowling)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Frost Spice

The opening post to this thread contains the info!

I know words aren't as bad as what the IDF or Hamas are doing, but still... shouting support for an extremely violent organisation, and nonsense about killing MPs, is just the behaviour of idiots. And as said, plays into certain types' hands. Loyalist scum must love it.

Post edited by Frost Spice on

I'm mint.

🇺🇦

If the fellow in Rathfarnham got three and a half years in an Irish jail for talking to his computer alone in his bedroom at night about killing Drew Harris and Mary Lou McD., should Kneecap get the same sentence for talking about killing MPs? Or are British politician's lives not as valuable, because some have already been killed by Republicans in Balaclavas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭BP_RS3813

To be fair, with the way they carry themselves and the type of music they make I can't see them doing a detailed presentation on the history of the conflict whilst explicitly stating that they are pro Palestine & Anti Israel and not Pro Hezbollah.

That sort of thing doesn't get people riled up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 764 ✭✭✭Fuascailteoir

The reactions are bordering on hysterical in the house of commons. I imagine there are a lot of guilty consciences in there and a bit of projection. Are a band and prone to being edgy, not much different to saying eat the rich and people freaking out that someone might hear it and indulge in a bit of cannibalism of their nearest wealthy person

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,830 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Kneecap have a far larger and far stupider following than a lone weirdo in Rathfarnham so arguably their words carry more weight.

Perhaps a longer sentence is justified.

Why did they do and say what they did, do you think? For me it’s simple pounds shillings and pence- they did it because it creates notoriety , it gets their social media going and ultimately it generates sales of their music and their concerts.
    I don’t see any other explanation in this thread or elsewhere that fits. They’ve now denied they support Hezbollah. They’ve apologised to victims of MP murders so I assume they don’t really wish MPs to actually be murdered- all that’s left as far as I can see is pounds shillings and pence- make a big controversial statement, get publicity and sell more tickets

Thats all well and good until a few ejet followers who are more devoted then your regular fan decides to act on what they say.

Your explanation is probably correct, however with a fan base who are loyal you must be careful what you say and how you say it. Not to drag thread of topic here but all Trump had to do was tweet and people stormed the capital.

Willing to put money on one fan willing to actually kill his local MP acting on their little speech.

I would say many in the house of commons know personally fellow politicians who have been attacked and sometimes even murdered.

A lot of people would think a long prison sentence would be justified, if the person in Rathfarnham in his bedroom got three and a half years in jail.

Primetime RTÉ 1 now- manager of Kneecap will be in the studio - probably closer to 10pm id say as they have a few stories to get through before that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 797 ✭✭✭reclose

They were wrong to say kill MP’s. They were wrong to show support for Hamas.

Why are some people finding that so difficult to say without finger pointing and saying but but but.

I am completely against Israel’s war crimes and murdering of innocent Palestinians. I’m completely against the US supporting that campaign.

Something I forgot also - spouting sh*te to generate contraversy/notoriety and hence increased engagement/sales can work. People do that all the time however the israel/palenstine conflict and killing MP's is a dangerous topic to do so with. Look at how certain key political figures tiptoe around what they say about the conflict.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭el Fenomeno

Watching the Arsenal match now so I've had my fill of pathetic defending for the night, but thanks anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,503 ✭✭✭✭walshb

what stance? Do people really believe these flutes give a fiddlers about Palestinians because they shouted up Hamas?

They were inciting people to murder, and people think these lads care about the humanity in Palestine..

A shower of attention seeking immature and ignorant tools.

Some posters might call your post extreme exaggeration - I wouldn’t, for clearly, the reasons you’ve highlighted.

Donald Trump knew exactly the nutters he was preaching to on that day in Jan when they stormed the building and knew exactly what they’d do.

Kneecap are too thick to think through the implications of what they say - while I’m sure there’s some very normal and rational kneecap fans out there, there’s most certainly a disproportionate number of nutters too.

It was irresponsible- neither statement either supported democracy or peace or promoted the end of war or violence - both promoted the opposite .

MANAGER ON PRIMETIME RTÉ NOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

This manager is as big a clown as the 3 stooges he is representing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,670 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

This manager is an absolute disgrace, an absolute disgrace.

I hope this band is absolutely destroyed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,830 ✭✭✭facehugger99

I never watch RTE.

I doubt I'm missing much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,513 ✭✭✭Jeff2

The lad is all over the place and deflecting. No answers.

All of them are clowns in my opinion anyways - I despise Rap music and the type of sh*ite KneeCap make. I'd rather a bit of 1940s Al Bowly or some 50-70s classics.

They can't be too bright if their stage outfit is a feckin PIRA outfit from the troubles era.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 797 ✭✭✭reclose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,670 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

deflecting and deflecting and deflecting

This manager is an absolute disgrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

Sarah McInerney would have taken him apart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Green Peter

That manager was excellent, he put Miriam in her box in a nice way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,528 ✭✭✭standardg60

Jeez no amount of Republican bots unleashed on this thread today including having to throw in a few sleepers.

Absolute car crash interview being conducted here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭Hungry Burger

Never liked this act and felt all the gushing around them forced and cringeworthy to be honest.

Glad to see the chickens have come home to roost. I don’t want them embarrassing us any longer pretending they represent the views of Irish people. They certainly do not.