Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No quitten we're whelan onto chitchat 12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,671 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

One of oh surgical team came to get a sample that the nurse was supposed to have done, but didnt do. I told her the story and she lost her **** with him, better from her than me. It's an emergency department and scrolling through Facebook when you're supposed to be looking after people who are relying on you is not on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,686 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

Good woman, that was the right thing to do. Hospitals are filled with good nurses but 1 lazy useless fecker like that destroy it on everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

Fair play to you and her, you were lucky you met someone who gave a damn.

There's a fair culture of omerta in a lot of hospital departments, a few toxic bullies get together and ruin it for all the genuine hardworking people.

Ye're being put through the wringer at the moment, I hope ye pull pull through soon, it's a tough station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭older by the day

https://www.lbc.co.uk/tech/experiments-to-dim-the-sun-set-to-be-approved-within-weeks/?fbclid=IwY2xjawJ8MrhleHRuA2FlbQIxMQABHhRRrR1lbvdI6pP7aJ_RJ2CYg21Qp6uXlckTxL5vIx5oSsC2bPEJ_r8lQI2Y_aem_IvipgzNTKUlnOyf6Q328ig&sfnsn=wa

That will be nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Packrat

I turned to herself during our most recent (of hundreds) of hospital visits with our 7 year old, and said:

"I absolutely fcuking hate having to be the bad cop, - the difficult awkward parent every single time"

But if I didn't, nothing would get done, - we're seven years into what should have been a surgery case day 1 with a child who was 12 hours from dying of sepsis last year...

You get tired from all the fighting, but it has to be done on the patients behalf or they'd just give you another 6 month appointment to be postponed/cancelled/different person there when you arrive.

Nobody knows anything, - reading the notes whilst asking you the same set of inane irrelevant questions as the last time. Consultant nowhere to be found. No private option for the particular ailment in this country.

Sorry, rant over.. I hate the lot of the useless btards so much at this stage..

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”

Are you allergic to any medication, that drives oh mad. I have a list of meds, vhi number, medical card etc on my phone. He's up in a private room now, so alls good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

Have witnessed this recently with my mother in hospital, not being smart here Irish or foreign nurse, have found the Irish nurses disinterested recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

Hear what your saying, we have spent 5 years attending Crumlin hospital with our teenage daughter and 4 surgeries later and a lot of hair lost, only starting to recover mentally from the whole ordeal and most don’t care and the one that go above and beyond do all the work.

THis guy wasnt irish, reminded me of Manuel from fawlty towers. We've a super doctor, she couldn't do enough for us and she explains everything so well. I think we were very unlucky to come across this fella last night. We also had a bad experience on Saturday were the community intervention nurse was to be contactable all day Saturday. I rang 6 times no answer. She rang me Sunday morning while we were in casualty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭50HX

Whatever about adult illness, that I can relate to in some degree & hope things turn for ye soon @whelan2

There are a few of ye here after posting re children issues & tbh I feel blessed. We had a **** few pregnancies & scares but they are grand now

Tis thrown around alot but your health really is your wealth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,383 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I was visiting a relative in the Bon Secours Hospital in Cork today. Genuinely surprised at how friendly all the staff were there. I got lost a few times. Maybe it's a Cork thing.

Look, in ways we are very lucky, our girl only has kidney and bladder issues which should have been sorted years ago. Day to day she hasn't a bother. A very bright, happy capable child. Mad for farming, - the other bastoon wouldn't look at it.

The sepsis was caused by having her on the same antibiotic for six years. But she did nearly die. You may be sure they were all paying attention that day when they found out she had it. The chief of pediatrics didn't go home for 30 hours over her. He told us later that he was fairly sure she was going to die and didn't want a case like that poor girl in Limerick RIP.

It's maddening that you've to be that way before they take any notice or do their fcking jobs.

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”

We're for Crumlin now this year because she's now too old for the crowd in CUH to do the surgeries they should have done 5 years ago. Starting from scratch again. More fighting...

I hope your girl is OK.

The whole casualty admissions process for terminally ill patients needs to be addressed. Oh just can't deal with it at all and dreads it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,284 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

It’s the level of administration, you arrive whether walk in or referred by a GP/Doc on call, you then could have to be seen up to 3 times before getting treatment

Once you get the bracelet thing on your wrist there should be no need to ask you your name or date of birth numerous times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,950 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Stems back to a time before the bracelets to differentiate patients to avoid mistreatment. But yea, now there’s no need. OH says it’s sometimes a test to see how lucid a patient is.

Why do they sell cigarettes in 25's or whatever, would the 10 box not be a better idea? Have someone doing a job for me and was told to get him 2 boxes if major as if I gave him cash he'd drink it. 25 pack just over 23 euro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭green daries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭older by the day

A neighbour came back from teneriffe last week. 20 Benson, 4.70. They are 18.10 here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Makes it more expensive and less accessible for teens I reckon. No way would I have had €23 to buy fags back when I started it was a job even to get €8 together for a pack back then but still was doable. Vapes are probably still well under a tenner these days how more blatantly obvious does it have to get there pushing them on teens and even younger children. Have a distant cousin getting radiation at the moment never smoked but had to get part of her tongue removed too due to those vapes. Said it to a cousin about that situation and he says he heard that but that's hereditary it wouldn't affect our side i neednt worry about them he said, no telling some people.

Better living everyone

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,296 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

People used to go on "fag runs" when I lived in Lanzarote.

Book a return flight, land over and buy a suitcase, fill it with cartons of fags, and sell them when you get back. It'd pay for the week's holidays apparently.

The figures above mean you'd make €13.40 per 20 box, that'd give you €130.40 for a carton of 10 boxes. Would you fit 10 cartons in a suitcase alongside your shorts and flip-flops?

I'd be half-tempted me-self if I thought I'd make €1,304 for one fag run. A week in the sun would be a bonus 😂

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

Couldn't get over the size of the major box either. It used to be a wide enough green and white box

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,006 ✭✭✭roosterman71

There was a local man to me would do that weekly. Fly over early morning, buy up and fly back that evening. Would be gone just over 12 hours all in all.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,296 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

They don't teach ya that kind of entrepreneurship in business school 🤣

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,383 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,268 ✭✭✭enricoh

I know the fags or vapes are not a good job , but that laughing gas stuff is on another level. After I done strimming along the road , there was any amount of the canisters on a small stretch.

Where are they getting the cans from anyone know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,627 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I remember buying 10 Rothmans king size for 22p sometime in the late '70's. In those days a lot of the TV programmes and ad's showed people smoking.

Some may remember the ad for Hamlet cigars -

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭148multi

Bons staff seem to be the best and friendliest, I also reckon they are the hardest working.

Had an op a decade ago, shaved my big lump of a head before being admitted, in the theatre waiting area with a big red x on the block, between doctors and nurses I was asked where I was having the op precisely about 10 times, this after each looking at the file, couldn't figure out was it because of claims or people trying to be relevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,910 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

I knew a guy many years ago who was in hospital with a broken leg. He woke up to find somebody wanting to shave him for an appendectomy! Turned out there was another patient in the ward with the same name…

Not your ornery onager