Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kneecap - New Footage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,034 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Great potential for a new Boh's jersey to support the boys!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,987 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

these lads come across as not being the sharpest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

The issue for Kneecap is that they have now gone from being cheeky irish lads who rap in irish to the band that called out to their fans to "kill their mp".

That means if someone's booking a gig or an interview, then they might just say it's too much hassle, who's next on the list. If they do get an interview it's the first thing they will be asked. They'd want to be thinking of a good spiel to explain it, whether it was satire or whatever.

They will be constantly on the back foot. Trying to pivot to a broader discussion on genocide, while noble, rings a bit hollow because it was nothing to do with the fact they said "kill your mp" and just comes across as a deflection from their own actions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,148 ✭✭✭flanzer

To all those wanting them to be cancelled. Explain to me, how or who else are supposed to defend Palestine? Are the population to sit there like ducks, waiting to be picked off by the IDF using American weaponry, while the whole world watches and does nothing? That's not me siding with Hamas or Hezbollah by the way, they're evil pricks, as much as the Israelis are, but these groupings are the only defender of Palestine in the middle east.

If anyone in the world defends their home against invasion and robbery, are they deemed a terrorist? The same can be said that if someone arms an innocent father in Gaza, who protects his innocent wife and children from Israel, are you going to classify them as terrorists?? Because that is what Western media and governments will do, and want you to believe that!!

The world is fooked, and the sooner we get hit by an asteroid, that finishes us, the better!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

A lot of people would support their stance on Palestine. Even their support for hamas to an extent as the defending force. They really shouldn't have shouted "kill your mp" though, not sure how that is helpful to the palestinians

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,148 ✭✭✭flanzer

Ok, I get that. People say stupid things, but it's no worse than Trump saying he wants to level the place for a holiday destination, or Israel saying that everyone in Palestine are animals, and the place need to be 'mowed' … I don't see people wanting those sort of comments to be clarified or explained, not even from other world leaders

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

A few LARPing Provo Flutes running around on a stage shouting "Free Palestine" and "Up Hamas and Hezbollah" is not really defending Palestine though, is it? They are also not even really bringing any new attention to the "cause", because we see it every day on the News, and on Social Media.

Hamas are not defenders of the Palestinian people, either. They don't give a **** about them. Their leadership live in the lap of luxury in Dubai, Qatar and London, whilst they steal Western aid money to fund their lifestyles. Arafat and the PLO leaders did the exact same thing. Kleptocrats, the lot of them. They've spun a great yarn, and some people in the West have bought it hook, line and sinker

The defenders of the Palestinian people, the true defenders, are those protesting against Hamas and their charter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,407 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

So the IDF genociding the Palestinians is bad, but an asteroid genociding all of humankind is good.

okey-dokey 👍️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭Francis McM

Trump wanting a war torn part of the world to end up as a peaceful, prosperous Mediterranean Rivera is not the same as some racist Republicans encouraging their fan base to kill British politicans. Enough Republicans in balaclavas done that in the past, we do not want to go back to those days.

After the murder of some MPs in recent decades, this demands prosecution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,976 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

The reason they are getting it tight is precisely because of their stance on Palestine. Nobody would be interested in finding their 'skeletons' if it was not for their stance on Palestine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,662 ✭✭✭Macy0161

Elvis Costello release Tramp the Dirt Down in 1989. And defended reintroducing into his set when she died, but hasn't been cancelled either.

Trump has zero interest in the welfare of Palestinians, he has already expressed his desire for them to disappear off 'the Mediterranean Rivera'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 764 ✭✭✭Fuascailteoir

Are you forgetting that ethnic cleaning is illegal and totally immoral. That figures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,007 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

”They will be constantly on the back foot. Trying to pivot to a broader discussion on genocide, while noble, rings a bit hollow because it was nothing to do with the fact they said "kill your mp" and just comes across as a deflection from their own actions”

/-

Exactly posters on here are doing very same thing. They can’t address the issue at hand. If one person who is radicalised/disturbed acts on Kneecap’s calls either for/against them. Will it be so funny then?
    We recently saw how it can happen so easily when an Army Chaplin was attacked by a disturbed individual riled up by online messaging.

As for the “Rap game” itself how many rappers have been killed in gun violence because of the culture in America?

Kneecap really need to pull back. Or they are in danger at looking somber because of some deranged person viewed their statements as a call to arms.
    Or worse for the band - Kneecap. They end up as a mural on a wall. Where they are made martyrs.
    The Miami Showband were not even a controversial band during the troubles, and look what happened to them.

To paraphrase an old Provo line. Anyone targeting Kneecap will only have to be “lucky once”.

At the moment they are just playing performative gangsters looking edgy. It could easily turn nasty, one way or the other.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,195 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

I think there is a world of difference between wanting to dance on Maggie's grave when she is dead than telling people to go out and kill Tory MPs just two years after someone actually went out and killed a Tory MP.

Great feckin song though Tramp the dirt down.

Only song I can think of that would stack up to a statement like "Kill a Tory MP" is "Cop Killer" by Ice-T's band Bodycount.

That is still getting banned from platforms today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,662 ✭✭✭Macy0161

I agree - and the group apologised to the family (and Jo Coxs'). Declan is unrepentant!

It is possible to not support the statements they made that are causing the issues, and also see that the timing of them coming to prominence is also suspect.

They have no piece of music stating 'Kill a Tory MP', it was a ludicrous shout out at a gig (although I have yet to see video footage of it).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭taratee

They are getting it has nothing to do with their stance on Palestine. Supporting Palestine is cool these day. The list of groups - musical, sporting, political or otherwise - who are openly supportive of Palestine is endless.

Am Yisrael Chai - Bring them home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

I don't want them prosecuted because I'm strongly against these new hate speech laws. However it's funny seeing people who cheered such laws because "far right hate speech" defending these hateful scumbags. They don't even have the balls to own what they said, taken out of context my bollox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,348 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Well I think they’re “getting it tight”, as you put it, because their “stance” on Palestine led many to believe they supported terrorist organisations - the blame is firmly at their door, no-one else’s.
    If they can’t clearly articulate their “stance”, then really they should just STFU and play music

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

As an aside perhaps the reason they are so political and trying to generate controversy is the actual music is shite. Listened to a few of their songs, there's certainly less successful bands with way more talent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,801 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

I'm not anti-Israel but I appreciate that the anti-Israel protests seen in most places throughout the world are peaceful and think they should continue. What was chanted at Coachella was likewise not intended to harm anybody so I have no issue about that either.

Chanting "kill your Tory MP" is a chilling contrast to peaceful protest. I'm no fan of the Tories but that kinda stuff is literally what gets people killed.

One thing that bugs me though, those lines were crossed months ago, why are they only looking into it now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,061 ✭✭✭Suckler

Supporting Palestine is cool these day

It's an easy way to be blithely dismissive of the reality of the situation in the Gaza Strip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,034 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Cheering on two terrorist groups will draw attention onto yourself. You'd want to be sure there were no other skeletons lurking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,348 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

D list “celebrity” Actors do similar, especially when their careers are in the doldrums - stories of depression, abuse, or jumping on the sustainable world bandwagon or the gender or racism bandwagon - I don’t see what they’re doing as any different - they’re using the Palestinian conflict as a way of getting their name out there and selling records and concert tickets - praising a terrorist organisation gave the game away that they haven’t the first bulls notion what they’re talking about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,670 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Are the videos in question where they "support Hamas" or suggest we kill MP's out for public consumption ?

Kinda weird the band trying to deny it if they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,313 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

It is interesting you are defending them. Even the SNP have come out agains their words to "Kill your local MP"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,007 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Spot on. When I think of it Ronnie Drew of the Dubliners. He said they just thought the Rebel Songs such as “The auld alarm clock” were funny.
    But then saw the danger of people taking them literally in the 70’s. Drew hoped that they did not encourage others to violence. And even stopped playing some songs.

The impression I get from Kneecap they are all for violence, until it looks like they will get in trouble for saying so.
    They are not as brave nor as principled, as they pretend to be. They are really just a Republican cliche, repackaged. With the novelty of “Rap Ceoil” as Gaeilge.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.