Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 2025 All Ireland Senior Football Championship (Sam Maguire Cup)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,676 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

He gambled Dublin footballs immediate future to save himself by sticking with and bringing back old guys. Would have been better with a manager tasked with a rebuild.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭Gusser09

Cluxton unwilling to step away is also a major issue at this point. Not playing the league and trying to adapt to the new rules meant Farrell should have cut him loose.

Kildare, Louth and Meath all in or around the same quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭hugeorange

The one foot in, one foot out that's been going on with some of the Gavin-era players has been strange to say the least. Cluxton gone, then parachuted back in for championship when it heats up. McCaffrey was coming and going as he pleased for a while there. Small supposedly retired and then back training with them a month later. It's obvious Farrell doesn't rate some of the younger players and yes, they're not the quality of the players Gavin had, but his approach with the older guys can't be good for morale with younger squad members. Should be either you're in or you're out imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭Trey13

Anyone relatively clued into Dublin football over the last 15 years saw this coming. While people complained about money, population size, playing in Croke Park, resources etc, the reality was that Dublin were going through the greatest era in its history. The likes of Cluxton, Flynn, O'Sullivan, McCarthy, Kev Mc, O'Gara, Michael Dara, Fitzsimons etc + the 1993-95 born lads (Fenton, McCaffrey, Small, Scully, Costello, Kilkenny, Mannion etc) contributed to what was just a machine of a team. Yes of course, off field advantages would have helped but the players were the reason why Dublin dominated.

Now that the golden team is falling off piece by piece, we are seeing the issues that exist in Dublin Gaa - poorly coached underage teams and lack of talent coming through. We lost to Louth two years in a row at u20s.

Now, having said all that, with the new rules, I do still think that Dublin can be competitive this year and potentially win an All-Ireland. I would say there are 5-6 teams ahead of us, but with the new rules I think we could still potentially end up beating teams better than us.

The real issue will be over the next 3 or so years. Once the remainder of that 1993-95 group of player retires, we will seriously struggle. I think things will get very low once we see Kilkenny, Costello, Scully, Small etc go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,259 ✭✭✭C__MC

Why aren't dublin producing better players now though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 muck.savage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,670 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

The Ulster Final will be Saturday 10 May at 5:25 pm in Clones. RTE have it on their fixtures for Sunday 11th.

https://hoganstand.com/Article/Index/336116

The attendance today according to Ocean FM.

Today's Donegal v Down Ulster semi-final attendance in Clones: 9,221.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,658 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

One thing that was disappointing to see was so little fans at Meath v Dublin. To say it was at 70% capacity would be kind

If my mother tongue is shaking the foundations of your state, it probably means you built your state on my land.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,589 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Huge relief that we don’t have to split Dublin anymore anyway. That was such an illuminating point of analysis all those years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,020 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Crowd was mostly Dubs, and the rest diehard Royals.

I must admit the organisation traffic wise and parking is way better in Portlaoise than most GAA places. Great set up.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭patob

Fair play to Meath, fully deserved, good decision to play semis in a neutral venue.

Think Louth might do them in the final though, Ger Brennan is doing a brilliant job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,402 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

Hopefully those Donegal people there today will get tickets, but I wouldn't bet on it. All of the Armagh people there yesterday will not get tickets, many will have had the the GAA to take their money for only one of three Ulster games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire

Spike Milligan once wrote a book 'Adolf Hitler: My Part in His Downfall'.

As a Laois man I'd like to claim the small bit of credit due to us in Meath's win and Dublin's downfall😁

'Where have you gone Joe DiMaggio? A nation turns It's lonely eyes to you.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire

I was born in 1976 and first gaelic football memory is the 1981 All Ireland.

I never remember a Dublin team not competing to win Leinster. I seldom remember them being outside the top 4 favourites for an All Ireland.

If properly managed Dublin will be competitive in the future. They have too many players not to be.

'Where have you gone Joe DiMaggio? A nation turns It's lonely eyes to you.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭Trey13

To be honest, I'm not really sure if we ever were producing players more so than any of the other top counties. That age bracket of 93-95 born lads was just a special group.

It appears we have a serious coaching issue at underage tactically we haven't been brilliant at minor or u20s for a few years now.

Revenge for 2023.

DUBLIN 4-30 LAOIS 2-9. (this was before 2 pointers).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,647 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Everything happens in cycles. Looks like Dublin will revert to some barren years of falling short again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,209 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

I be more afraid of Tyrone as third group seeds than Dublin. A weak group is as much if not more of a disadvantage as a strong group. Winning a weak group leaves you up against battle hardened team by the QF and SF. It has cost Kerry as much as anything else the last two seasons.

Slava Ukrainii

The current cycle if it is one is a different county winning every year. Tyrone, Kerry, Dublin, Armagh. The days of the 6 in a row or ever 3 in a row appear to be gone. Still a way to go to match 1992 to 1998. Donegal, Derry, Down, Dublin, Meath, Kerry, Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,020 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Anyone selling Louth jerseys? 😉

Just realised a repeat of the 2010 Leinster Final and all.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭Rain from the West

Just after watching the Louth Kildare highlights on TSG. A bit puzzled as to how it finished. The hooter had gone with Louth 3 up and in possession. They kick it out over their own goal line thinking its over. Yet the ref awards a 45 to Kildare. How come?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

15 years of penance for meath , this is their chance to win it naturally and break the curse 😂

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,553 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

What's rare is wonderful. So delighted with that today. We've been beating Dublin in underage for years but getting that win at senior is so important for us. I was in absolute bits at the end.

Louth are loving this though. If they perform the way they can, they'll win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,402 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

We have had 4 different winners, Tyrone, Kerry , Dublin and Armagh. It is probably as likely as not that one of Galway or Donegal will win this year and perhaps the other the following year. One more would be needed, Derry might have been that other, but they have fallen away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,592 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Donegal’s defensive issues were exposed today even though they won. I thought they were way ahead of everyone but they could be taken apart by a smarter outfit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,519 ✭✭✭MacDanger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭legendary.xix

Fair comment. I definitely have been labouring the point. Just feel the tension and edge around a lot of the games has been diminished. For what it is worth, I'll be sending correspondence in the direction of GAA HQ about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,729 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

For both the 45 and the Penalty this just feels like they should be the other way around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,209 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

TThe Part about thec45 is incorrect or the ref in the Kildare Louth match was incorrect today.

Kildare we're 3 points down. Hooter went Kildare won a 45 and kicked it into the goal mouth ball went out again for a 45 and again it was kicked into the goal mouth

Ball must still be in play

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,429 ✭✭✭✭km79

How long before we reenter the cycle of Mayo winning 3 all Ireland’s in 15 years with a World War in between

I’ll enjoy most of that :D