Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Immigration and Ireland - MEGATHREAD *Read OP for mod warnings before posting*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,976 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

I had to laugh at this bit of the Sunday World report

'Independent Dublin City Councillor Malachy Steenson was among those to give speeches at the Customs House, but couldn’t be heard by most of the crowd due to the low volume of the speaker system.

He asked the crowd to listen in instead by watching online.'

A bunch of amateurs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,267 ✭✭✭✭Seathrun66

So far the electorate seem happy with the government spending. Are you stating that voters are stupid and are currently unaware of what the Coalition budget is used on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,457 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Jesus, didn't think poor Olly Murs would get hit in the crossfire. 😂

Fair play to him for selling out the arena. If you put a gun to my head, I honestly couldn't name or even partially hum one of his songs.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 7,001 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Aris

Mod warning:

2 posts deleted. Next person that takes a dig at moderation in thread will get a warning/ban.

And I will also advise everyone to calm down or there will be more warnings incoming.

2025 gigs: Selofan, Alison Moyet, Wardruna, Gavin Friday, Orla Gartland, The Courettes, Nine Inch Nails, Rhiannon Giddens, New Purple Celebration, Nova Twins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,587 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

Ignoring the weird Zionist jab and the tweet in general. This is one of the organisers for the rally yesterday at the rally being incredibly supportive of Nazi ideals... Entirely normal rally, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭robbiezero

So if you don't vote for your local far right head banger, then you aren't concerned about issues related to immigration.

Utterly remedial viewpoint.

Mod Edit: Warned for uncivil posting

Post edited by Necro on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,587 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

So re the Che guevara t-shirt crowd, you're not in favour of tarring everyone with similar opinions with the same brush?

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭dublin49

the election was not a referendum on immigration but exit polling suggested immigration is high on voters agenda.My contention is folk will change their opinions once this unsustainable and ever expanding commitment meets significant downturn in our fragile economy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Luxembourgo

Dozens at this, do we not care about housing?

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/rally-in-dublin-highlights-the-worsening-housing-crisis/a463243267.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,888 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

"Haters are gonna hate " , as another poster said , albeit in a different context .Surprising that those who espouse hate against a vulnerable group of people are so upset when it is pointed out by media and others .

And how can you demonise far right anymore than they are already in the views of most right thinking people ?

It is not normal or usual to accept speeches by people like McGregor and unelected far right hate mongers as motivational and say that they are not representative .

Can one then say that one can pick and choose what parts you agree with and what one doesn't but sure "it's all great ..we got to walk in the sun and wave our flags "?

Others looking on cannot be blamed for coming to conclusions about a protest march that includes and lauds people like McGregor, Kelly and Barrett .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭Emblematic

If you stop looking at narrow economic growth as an end in itself but rather see it as part of the picture then you may indeed choose to limit economic growth in certain areas for the good of the country.

Also, I don't think anyone is saying stop all immigration of all types. Where a skill does not exist in the country and it would take too long to train up people locally, I don't think anyone has a problem with temporarily bringing in people with those skills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Hard to know what is and isn't an anecdote on here anymore so just gonna delete this paragraph.

In other news RTE's credibility already in shatters manages to lose even more credibility over that protest.

Post edited by RoyalCelt on

No you're not you're downplaying.

I don't support those Palestine/HAMAS/Hezbollah marches but their numbers are very significant.

I could be like you though and pretend they're irrelevant because cork V tipp today has 5 or 10 time's their number. Last I'll indulge you on this personally I'm delighted with the large turnout and how well they were behaved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,670 ✭✭✭volchitsa

Bill Clinton used his power and prestige to sexually abuse young women in the White House - does that mean that anyone citing his work in Northern Ireland is defending sex abuse?

”I enjoy cigars, whisky and facing down totalitarians, so am I really Winston Churchill?” (JK Rowling)

"His work" being the operative word here @volchitsa

You can say McGregor is a great fighter but not support him or his views .

Likewise Clinton.

Surprised that anybody would be following or encouraging rapey individuals .

Edit to add quote poster which did not post first time

As a UFC fan and I properly speak for many others the sport is filled with many unlikable character's. McGregor, Jon Jones, Nate Diaz etc. plenty of role models but combat sports have plenty of unsavoury characters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,328 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Clinton never stood trial for sexual abuse or rape. He was found to have had an inappropriate sexual relationship lasting two years with a female intern aged 22, but at no point was it suggested that he coerced her or forced himself on her.

Clinton was obviously a predator but sexual abuse is a criminal offence of which he has no convictions. I'm unsure whether any claims against him have merit but one thing I'm certain of is that you've clearly made a defamatory statement.

McGregor lost a cvil case in which he denied the rape of Nikita Hand. He has no criminal conviction but this civil loss legally allows any statement regarding the sexual abuse of Ms. Hand. And this man was welcomed by the 'patriots' yesterday.

Untrue. 1 in 20 people stated that immigration was the most important issue for them. 5%. That ain't much. Higher on the agenda of voters are health, housing and other issues deemed much more important. Hence a highly publicised march on a sunny day didn't gather enough people to fill Dalymount, Brandywell or Terryland. People ain't that fussed.

Depends who organises the protest. In this case PBP, a fringe party with minimal support. And yet as an outlying party they have three TDs, three more than the far-right achieved last November.

I'd love a cross-party demonstration against the housing policies of this and previous governments. When it happens I'm there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

I don't really post here much anymore, but I couldn't resist today

Regarding the oft-mentioned and much revered Geneva convention of 1951, which is as fit for purpose now in 2025, as it was for the years after the second world war because travel connectivity has always been the same (read that last bit like Fr Jessup) - Nobody would ever abuse the convention which was specifically designed to safeguard genuine refugees from the hardship caused by genuine wars…

…or would they?

Never forget our Jordanian brethren - who are obviously a fantastic bunch of lads

The Jordanian situation is the epitome of all that's wrong with this asylum racket. It is the most obvious one to point to as it's so simply explained. Make no mistake, it is exactly what a huge % of the others have been doing for years imo, which I think has been acknowledged by our supreme leader and many others recently - 80% economic migrants

I had noted the increase of Jordanian asylum seekers (from zero to many) during last summer and in fact, I wondered why the Jordanian Falcons didn't seek asylum after the Bray air show but the mad feckers actually flew back to Jordan instead, no doubt through a barrage of flack and SAMs with the flimsy display planes lacking stealth capabilities, the ability to drop chaff or flares or any offensive armaments (be it cannon or missiles). Brave lads indeed. Of course it took a UK publication to do what our MSM have failed to do time and time again

Early last year (Feb) the UK inadvertently opened a loophole by allowing visa free travel to the UK for a small fee and a short stay for a bit of the ol tourism - This loophole was immediately abused with people flying to the UK for a little holiday and then on to Ireland via the CTA to claim asylum. There are no issues in Jordan which would cause people to flee their country looking for asylum. By mid Mar 24, we had 142 here in state accommodation - Now the number is over 2218 in hotels etc and likely a few hundred on the streets - It's this abuse of the system and of the Geneva convention that has people pissed off frankly

Each person in accom - €75 per night + €5.70 per day allowance + €20 food per day - (conservative guesses) = €100.70 per person per day x 2218* = €223,352 per day x 30 days = €6.75m per month or €80.5m per year for a group of people that, as per the linked article, are abusing the immigration rules of both the UK and Ireland

(* a few more Jordanians have arrived since draft saved)

We have 33k AS in state accommodation - As Michael Martin admitted, 80% are economic migrants and therefore should not be abusing the revered 1951 Geneva convention. 80% of 33k = 26,400. Using the above cost per day formula, that's a whopping €970 million per annum. I wonder would the real asylum seekers in genuinely dangerous parts of the world like a little bit of that €970 million

No, we must blame the Govt only and not the poor asylum seekers we're told. We must ramp up building homes for them we're told. If you have a problem with this abuse you are a big racist, we're told. The whole electorate are very happy about all this, we're told.

Re the Donnybrook hotel saga. Yeah, Bacik was very quiet on that one considering how vocal she was about the Baggot St hospital building which was the obvious answer (to her anyway) except, I suspect it [the hospital] was never, ever going to happen and she knew it, therefore, she could bang on about it day in, day out knowing full well it would never happen - as the libs and socialists lapped it up

The Hampton Hotel however was a very different proposition - almost in turn-key condition and well suited to accommodating hundreds of lads fleeing wars, torture and persecution in the UK

Ms Bacik is a little bit too multi-faced for my liking sadly

Indo:

Upon hearing the news [IPAS not going into former hotel], one local resident who attended the meeting said: “To be honest with you, that’s like winning the lottery to me. My house would be of absolutely no value as a result of this centre.”

That's shockingly racist of the resident in the affluent D4 area - I wonder who they voted for

A spokesperson for the Dept of Integration said:

“All offers of accommodation have to be assessed, but not all are deemed appropriate or suitable. We do not provide information about why individual properties are no longer under consideration.”

How handy is that eh…

_______

Of the many, many polls that have consistently shown that the majority of the public are for much higher control of our immigration, this is my favourite from the IT - It gives a fantastic, in-depth breakdown of the areas, socio-economic, age demographic, party preference etc

IT poll 2.jpg

Note the Green party figs - I wonder why they were all but obliterated

The other thing I note is that, while all these polls consistently showed the true thoughts of the Irish people, we haven't had any polls on this subject in 6 months or more - It's like someone somewhere just hit an off switch, a bit like the last weeks of the 2018 PE when Peter Casey was doing his thing

Exactly.

As I said in a previous post yesterday ( with link ,) , it has been shown that in order to affect change , peaceful protest does work but in much larger numbers . At least 3.5 % of the whole population .

In Ireland's case that would be a march of more than 180, 000 people .

While I do credit that march for being peaceful yesterday , it is nowhere near significant numbers wise and some of the people it put to the fore as it's important speakers / leaders do nothing but detract from its cause as a popular force on this country ie would turn many middle right people off !

°°°°°

Sorry but what a load of cope.

Clinton has had more allegations of rape and sexual assault than pretty much any American president. But he didn't stand trial so it's all just a conspiracy to tarnish his good name of course so he's naturally at the opposite end of the morality scale TO Conor McGregor.

Glazers Out!

Only one poll counts. The one where the parties and supporters of anti-immigration policies got 0 out of 174 seats. Worry not, there's a full 4.5 years to convince the people they were wrong before we go again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,328 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Are you sure about the 'rape' part? He did settle a civil action for sexual harassment against one of his employees in Arkansas when he was governor, Paula Jones. He is undoubtedly a serial womaniser and sleazebag but has never faced proceedings as serious as McGregor has.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭Damien360

I know what you are saying about McGregor but he was never on trial for rape in Ireland. DPP felt it unsafe to proceed. It was a civil case. He is free to refute the claim.

A High Court jury found that Conor McGregor raped Nikita Hand and awarded her €248k in damages. That is unambiguous. The twelve people, after listening to extensive evidence, decreed that the man is a rapist.

°°°°°

He was accused of rape on multiple occasions.

The guy is a scumbag plain and simple. So is Mcgregor. It's not an either/or situation.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭briangriffin

The only reaction you will possibly get here for such a common sense approach to immigration and asylum is.

1. The far right received no seats so no one cares about immigration

2. We can afford this.

3. You are a racist and far right because a lunatic like Barrett was in attendance yesterday and by association you are a racist.

It's almost like the goalposts have been shifted

https://x.com/GodLovesUSA1/status/1074582512670629888?t=9nhHfABXCx3BzyNz7LLgTg&s=19

False. Clinton was not accused of rape on multiple times. This was by Juanita Broaddrick in a TV interview during Clinton's impeachment trial in 1999. It was pointed out that she had made previous testimony under oath and not alleged rape. She had also appeared at functions with Clinton on several occasions in the weeks after the alleged rape and declared support for him and his campaign at those times. She then changed the day of the alleged assault and later the month despite testifying that she had specific diary details of events that she had passed to her legal team. She also stated that she had disclosed details of the assault to five confidantes in 1978 but didn't provide details for any of them and nothing was forthcoming from any of those individuals. She wasn't credible and the authorities deemed the case unworthy of pursuing.

Anybody can accuse anyone of anything. You and I and all here are not immune to this. Following a claim due process takes place and Bill Clinton has never been prosecuted for anything at all. Given the investigations by the Christian right, the Republicans and their media of his financial and sexual affairs isn't it astonishing that they produced nothing that would derail not only him but his very successful partner.

McGregor was decreed by a High Court jury to be a rapist. The Florida case is also imminent.