Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Premier League Thread 2024-25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭King Power Fox

Point taken on Mahrez. However I would add that Pep didn't use him enough for the first 2 years, it's almost like he didn't trust him. And in the end Mahrez was sold very fast almost as soon as he was established and playing his best season for Man City. I would argue that his 1 title with Leicester under the circumstances is worth more than the multiples one he won at City.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 824 ✭✭✭IrishOwl...

What is about Liverpool, UTD and Arsenal fans getting up in arms when mentioned in here. It's the general premier league thread, and yous are the 3 biggest clubs. What do you expect??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭Appletart Upsetter

This little tit-for-tat got me thinking about the level of support for Premier League clubs in Ireland. I stumbled across this which is interesting, not sure about it's accuracy.

1000044564.png

Hardly a surprise to see most of the General Premier League Thread is taken up with discussion around Liverpool/Man Utd/Arsenal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,494 ✭✭✭Flaneur OBrien

I'd have thought Leeds would be above Newcastle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,545 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

The age profile of the city fans would tell it's own story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,225 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I expect fair comments which in general are given. There are a few snipes that I respond to in equal fashion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,463 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Data source: Facebook/Instagram targeting

Does that just mean volume of shite sent to users f those sites? I'd doubt Chelsea have more fans in Ireland than a good few of those teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,392 ✭✭✭fplfan12345

No way in the world those numbers are anywhere near accurate. Not a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Dr Robert

It's a bit mad to see so many Chelsea fans considering the anti Irish sentiment over there not too long ago. It's a good thing if that stuff isn't an issue anymore.

Btw, I wouldn't rely on that information to be too reliable. Newcastle for example? I doubt there's even 5000 Newcastle fans over the age of 18 in the country!

The data is gathered from Meta so it cannot be entirely accurate. That said, if you're aged 18 to 30, I could see why clubs like Chelsea and Man City would be more prominent than Leeds for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 824 ✭✭✭IrishOwl...

I find it very hard to believe that there's more Irish Chelsea fans than Arsenal. Having spent a lot of my early life in the England, back in the day, Arsenal was the primary club of the Irish for those in and around London. I'd actually go as far as saying that there's more Spurs fans in Ireland than Chelsea. Leeds is definitely in the top 10 too…

Without any basis for it, bar my own eyes, my top 10 would be;

1. Man U
    2. Liverpool
    3. Arsenal
    4. Spurs
    5. Everton
    6. Chelsea
    7. Leeds
    8. Villa
    9. City
    10. Sheffield Wednesday 🧐

This must from a few years ago.

So the Top 10 based on Twitter followers in Ireland looks a little like this:

1 Liverpool (25.67%)

2 Manchester United (23.20%)

3 Arsenal (11.86%)

4 Chelsea (8.27%)

5 Man City (4.84%)

6 Tottenham (4.75%)

7 Everton (3.10%)

8 Aston Villa (2.56%)

9 Newcastle (2.30%)

10 West Ham (1.95%)

https://www.offtheball.com/soccer/pic-which-premier-league-clubs-are-in-the-top-10-most-followed-in-ireland-295082

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,027 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

The dominant teams in any era tend to get the most support. I think there's a lot of younger fans who are Chelsea and Man City fans, during the Abramovich era Chelsea were one of the most successful teams in Europe, they have gone to pot since, but, would still have a lot of fans from that time, same with City since the oil money and becoming the dominant team in England they definitely have had increased support. United and Liverpool will always have the two largest fan bases in Ireland as even when one or the other aren't going well, they still hold onto their fans as it tends to be passed onto the next generation in families, which doesn't seem to happen as much with other clubs. It helps that even when not going well both clubs do still tend to pick up silverware unlike other clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭Suvarnabhumi

I genuinely don't think Manchester city have that many fans in Manchester, never mind in Ireland. They've only sold 26,000 so far, for the cup semi from an allocation of 32,000.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,231 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Tbf I haven't met a Leeds fan under 30!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,993 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Saw one as i walked into Heuston on Monday, probably about 8. From experience i almost wanted to say sorry for his troubles to him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭Mr.CoolGuy

I'd say the reason Leeds doesn't feature on that list is because they're not a Premier League team currently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,080 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

I was gunna say I knew a few lads in school then remembered I, and thus they, are in fact over 30......fùck I'm old, wheres me slippers.

Same I'm 41, had been supporting Man united because of my older brother (and Mark Hughes) and Leeds won the league, my friend starting supporting Leeds then and asked me to as well.....Damn I'm glad I was a loyal kid 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,415 ✭✭✭Ottoman_1000

Same, ill be 41 in a few months, so the latter part of my primary school days, into teenage secondary school years were spent during UTD’s early global ,and Premier League dominance. So naturally, at least 50% of the lads in my year were UTD fans. Liverpool would have been a comfortable second. But there was a good few Arsenal, then Leeds and Spurs fans. Villa has some representation, so did Forrest along with 2 lads that supported Sheffield Wednesday! Meet one of them in a meeting at work a few weeks back, hadn’t seen him since school I’d day, he absolutely hated Arsenal back in school after the Di Canio incident, and yes, we did bring that up 🙈.

Interesting I don’t remember a single Chelsea fan, or even Everton one from my school growing up. Definitely no City fans either from memory.

We had 1 Chelsea fan in school, 1 Villa, 1 Arsenal and the rest Liverpool/United.

Still friends with a lot of them and all they agree on is supporting Shamrock Rovers 😅

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,041 ✭✭✭golfball37

The fact Leicester are in there would confirm that too. Chelsea are half a generation ahead of City here also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,529 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

A lot of kids will always pick the winning team. I certainly did. I was 13 the year Blackburn came second in the league thinking they would be winning everything for years so I picked them as my team and they won the PL the next season. Now I'm stuck with a team that are fucked financially and could be heading towards going broke in the near future. Be careful what you wish for children🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,529 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

I was brought up in a LOI house. It was all about Cork city my father was anti English football. When I got old enough to start noticing English teams Blackburn were the high flyers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,503 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

Spurs Everton and Chelsea don't have bigger support than Leeds in Ireland, it's arguable if Arsenal would have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,027 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

I knew a guy who supported Leeds around the time they won the league, then a few years later when Leeds were no longer contenders, he was supporting Arsenal, haven't seen him in years, often wonder did he stick with them or moved onto another club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭New Scottman

I made my communion 40 years ago. Going into second class, most people had picked teams.

From memory, half the class were Liverpool. Four Everton. Three Arsenal. Three Man Utd. Two Man City. Two Spurs. One Forest. One Ipswich. One Villa. Don't remember any Leeds although two lads older brothers were fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,041 ✭✭✭golfball37

My split in school was 90% Liverpool United. Then Arsenal , then Spurs, Everton- 1 Villa, 1 Norwich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,295 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

In my primary class only four lads didn't support United or Liverpool. One was Arsenal, one was Newcastle, and two were Chelsea.