Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No quitten we're whelan onto chitchat 12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,950 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

High rate in our area although we haven’t had a reactor since 1990.
    Neighbor was down and we were out on 4 monthly tests for 2 years until he was clear. Annoyed me because we only have forestry bounding him for last 15 years since he planted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,686 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

@148multi why do you say that?

At least now his cattle are about an extra 5 meters away from mine the way he has but up his fence so that has to be of some benefit.. but yes the wildlife in the area will still be a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭148multi

AAround here the dept are targeting farm next forestry, trapping, testing, and microchiping badgers. I'd prefer to be beside grassland than forestry, any disturbance in forestry and the badger will move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭148multi

@Anto_Meath will you have extra testing beside a controlled finishing unit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,686 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

@148multi I haven't heard anything about extra tests yet anyway as it was I was nearly testing every 4 months. There is a benefit in 4 month testing in that if you seen anything iffy you could fatten it up and kill it before the next test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,494 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Years ago a friend died at 53 after pulling a calf, a blockage too but he was voted 'Man of the match' in a hockey match ten days before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,545 ✭✭✭DBK1

Anyone on here from around the Moate/Ballymore area that wouldn’t mind if I could pm them about something? Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Got away for a night last night to Johnstown Estate in Enfield. While I was gone a cow was calving. My dad was gone off with calves to a fella. A friend of mine came down and milked the cow and fed the calf and the fella who was milking stayed on to give a hand. All good and I could relax, hard beat having good friends and family. You'd be lost without them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,671 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I know that only too well atm. Some people can't do enough to help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 Cionn80

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭GC4

Did anyone apply for that Lakeland diaries EIP water quality support scheme. Is it still open and how do ya apply if it is.

Some ignorant fecker left these bags of bones in our ditch , i rang litter warden and 2 people had already rang it in. Some stench from them

IMG-20250423-WA0013.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

You were in my neck of the woods there. I'm from just over the border on the kildare side

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,383 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Next Pope.

Next Pope.jpg

The same fella came back yesterday and got a set of twins out of a cow for me. I owe him a few pints

I went back through kildare to the national stud for a look. Interesting set up and it was fairly busy with tourists.

We were talking yesterday about a neighbour, we'd see him most days driving by outfarm. He used to stop about twice a week for a chat. Since oh was diagnosed I'd say he's stopped once. He does beep as he passes but you'd have to wonder why he doesn't stop anymore

I saw it with my own mam being sick or my OH father after he passed away, some people don't know what to say or do and the easiest thing for them is to say nothing and act like everything is fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,611 ✭✭✭straight

Don't Know what to say, afraid they might say the wrong thing. Hate the awkwardness and sadness of it coming up in conversation. Escapism I guess. Alot of people aren't half as confident as they let on.

Id say you’re right. Just not knowing what to say or should they just talk about ordinary stuff, or would that be wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,383 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I know 4 people very sick at the moment. 3 of them really critical. You'd wonder at times. I suppose it's part of getting older.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,627 ✭✭✭✭Base price

When my late Uncle was receiving palliative care at home his next door neighbour never came to see him. The neighbour would put a round bale of silage along the feed barrier either every morning or evening and kept a eye on the cattle. After my Uncle died he told me that he couldn't face seeing him so sick and thin and wanted to hold onto the memories of him when he was healthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

Agree what your saying, my mother has been in hospital since early December and nursing home and only a few visitors, got home Tuesday and has had a steady stream of visitors and a couple of people said they hate going to visit in hospitals and hate when people are sick. An Irish thing fear of sickness

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,835 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

That's it in a nutshell. Friend of mine died of cancer last month. She hated having visitors, felt like a bunch of vultures going away feeling much better about themselves after seeing her in the bed too weak to do anything.

Another reason might be that people would be afraid of passing on some other bug, like the flu or covid and the cancer patient not being able to deal with it.

Thoughts and prayers with you Whelan.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

I wouldn't expect a visit, oh doesn't want visitors, only us. Which is fair enough . It's just strange , and as ye say he's probably afraid to ask how he is. Different folks Different strokes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,022 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

Reminded me of myself years ago. We were all out for work Christmas do while one of our gang was at the hospital receiving news that he had only a month. Others visited him in hospital, I couldn't. One evening as we were finishing work, a colleague said - sit into your car, drive to the hospital, don't think about just do it. It was the best piece of advice I ever got. I stayed for hours chatting to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭dmakc

On the other side you have plenty of eejits in for gossip so they can tell everyone else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,320 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

I think as farmers we don't have the same people communication skills that the rest of the working society has. We have it in school but then as we go back to our own farms and self work, we lose it somehow through not needing it as much. A lot with the farming nowadays being one person bands just don't have time to talk past the pleasantries. Skills are lost then.

Growing up when I used to go to church there was a rota for different readers every month to stand up in front of the church and read out loud in front of everyone a page or two of a reading. I think whoever started off the practice in the first place in the church was just trying to get country people to learn public speaking and reading in the first place and have more confidence for dealing with different situations.

A different situation of that now would probably be the Toastmasters or maybe Lions club.

Gawkers my mother called them, it was covid times so very few visitors anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,022 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

I took out a copy of his eulogy and see he lived 5 weeks from diagnosis. A funny episode on the day he received his full pension pot cheque in the hospital , was to request the same colleague to help him dress and go out for a pint. As they entered the hotel bar, whom should they see but the fellow who had earlier delivered the cheque. They saw the funny side of how it could be construed.