Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Golf Society 2025 (Round 3) - Rathsallagh - 19th April 1pm

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,330 ✭✭✭boccy23

Thanks to Captain @Kiith for another superb day out. I had played Rathsallagh about 15 years ago but had forgotten what a lovely layout it is. The 11th & 12th in particular stand out as I love holes where you are all on your own on a golf course with just the rest of your group and the sounds of the birds around you.

I played with @awec, @BohToffee and with the eventual winner @Seve OB. As all have said, a very nice fourball with some very good golf, some middling and some regretted shots. But that's golf! The pace of play was excellent, we managed to keep up with the 3 ball in front of us and had very little waiting around. Ideal!

I'm not sure what it is about Boards outings these days, but more often than not, I tend to play ok but just not good enough to truly contend. Same this time as I had 37 points but nowhere near the consistency that Seve showed on the day. Didn't start great, 5 points after 3 holes, but my TEMU rangefinder said 135 yards and with the wind in a little, hit a lovely 8-i on the 4th to 15 feet. Didn't hit the birdie putt (similar theme to many) but first par. Was going ok until made a balls of the 8th. Parred 9 for 17 points which was ok.

Played more consistently on the back 9, made a few putts and scored 20 back. Highlight was probably the 10th where I slammed in a par putt from off the green.

Thanks again to all the organizers, well done to the winners and see you all next month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,703 ✭✭✭blue note

Well we were blessed to get out at all and the course was in great condition considering the rain we had. Other than the bunkers being out of play there was just nothing wrong with the conditions. And other than not being able to submit our scores I was happy with the bunkers being out of play!

Rathsallagh was a real trip down memory lane for me. I got married there the weekend Covid kicked off. So I had a sneaky drive to the wedding venue first - I can't believe it's been 5 years, the wedding feels like ages ago, but at the same time I can't believe 5 years have passed since then.

I was out with @charlieIRL , @RoadRunner and @paulos53 . Our scoring was good so we all played well. I didn't realise CharlieIRLs score was quite as good because it didn't look like an exceptional round. He didn't have lucky breaks, it just looked like the type of scoring he'd be doing week in / week out. Roadrunner played very well and was unlucky to just finish with the one birdie. There was probably about 5 holes in a row where it was on and only one dropped. And nearly driving a green when hitting a tree en route is impressive. And as for Paulos - I'd love to be able to pitch a ball like he does. It's incredible consistency with a wedge in hand. I'd say there are fellas playing off scratch that wouldn't come close to him from about 80 yards in.

And I played well overall. A funny round if you just look at the stats - 36 points, 24 putts (picking up before I got to three greens helped that stat). But just one 3 putt which was from a long way and 7 up and downs were nice. I'd a chance of an up and down for bird on the 4 par 5s which was nice. I only got one, but not messing up any of the others was great. 6 fairways out of the 14 suggests I drove it well, but that is not the case. Saturday was a good example of why I don't accept my natural fade. When it's a little fade, it's wonderful. A few yards shorter than a straight shot, but if it's predictable, it's wonderful. But if I don't try to keep it in check it grows into a big dirty slice. So after 8 holes I was going great - 22 points. It was helped by the indexes not being evenly spread, but I was still going great. I'd a bit of a slice on 5, and fades other than that. But then on the 9th tee I sliced two into the driving range. Not shocking slices, but it was a start. I went 3 wood on the next hole to take the drain out of play and went straight in. That was my 3rd ball lost. On 12 I saw roadrunner hit a hybrid from the tee. But there was plenty of room for a driver so I went with that. I maintain that there was plenty of room, but I just avoided it. Twice. My 4th lost ball of the day went into the trees on the right and my 5th into the trees on the left. I managed to top a drive on 15 - it was a fairway hit, happy days. I got very lucky with a sliced one on 16, but with as many bad as I'd hit, I was bound to get lucky on one of them. And then I lost my 6th off the tee with a slice on 18 and a my 7th while hitting my approach with my provisional. So all in all - drove badly, putted well, decent round.

Fair play to Seve on another great round - always nice to hear about hard work paying off. And thanks to the organisers again. I'm sure the added headache of weather doesn't make it all easier.

And best of luck in the next few outings lads. The wife is having a baby in June and she wants me to help out with stuff. She's very demanding. So I'll miss the next couple at least. I might chance my arm for Seapoint, it's not to inconvenient for me and he'll be almost 3 months at that stage, so should be able to mind himself. If not I'll stick my name down for Captains if there's room. With the numbers in the society so far this year, it could be a full house that weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,245 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

with the bunkers being effectively GUR as they were out of play, I would have suggested once your were virtually certain your ball was in it, you didn’t actually have to find it and would have been entitled to a free drop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,685 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

I do get what your saying Seve and is an interesting one, but by the nature of a bunker in even normal play , you are rarely certain it has gone into the bunker.

It is also fairly unlikely as I observed on the day , a ball would be lost in a bunker as sand was hard . Even flooded ones had only a 1/2 inch of water, possible but hard to claim virtually certain...

It would be a stretch to get a free drop ,,, whilst a pro would 100 % try pull this off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

It was a strange one. We saw it go in. There was a big puddle of casual water in the bunker.
    But it defo wasn't in the bunker or in the casual water when we got there.

There was a water hazard right beside the bunker, it was decided if it's not in the bunker then it could only have came out of the bunker and into the water. So I took a penalty drop from the water on a terrible lie beside the water. Actually hit a great chip but missed the putt and so just picked up. A scratch of a very easy hole.

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,685 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Fair play, makes more sense ..Whilst it is possible. The water hazard adds enough doubt that a free drop a stretch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,245 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Results

image.png