Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Transgender man wins women's 100 yd and 400 yd freestyle races.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,637 ✭✭✭volchitsa

The homophobia inherent in the trans rights movement has been obvious for years. It's based on such stereotypical views of masculinity and femininity that homophobia is inevitable.

The only true men are "manly men" who like sport and diggers, and women are giggly ladies who love pink, sparkly dresses. And anyone who doesn't fit that stereotype, well, they have to be the opposite gender obviously. "Butch" lesbians in particular are regularly told that they are men "really" - could you even be more homophobic than that??

”I enjoy cigars, whisky and facing down totalitarians, so am I really Winston Churchill?” (JK Rowling)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,416 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

The picture you posted is quite clearly chalk.

The specialist equipment needed is a shower of rain.

it was a case of deliberate destruction

Steady on.

So it's chalk because it's white? Is that a bit like the way wearing a dress makes someone a woman? 😆

And the police are lying about needing specialist material to remove it because…?

TBF, even without the violence, these guys outed themselves big time with their protests, marking their territories like tomcats.

I mean, nothing screams “I’m a laydee” quite like urinating performatively in public places. 🙄

”I enjoy cigars, whisky and facing down totalitarians, so am I really Winston Churchill?” (JK Rowling)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Mr.Wemmick

It really is a dog’s dinner of a mess. How on earth did they get a handle on so much power over the last 10 years? I’ve been reading a fair bit from gays and lesbians for a while who feel dragged over hot coals by the Trans movement consistent which what you write here.

Sad then that any genuine well-intentioned trans might feel they have to stay hidden away from the madness. But however genuine and true they are, it is not the job of women to root out the truth or support the on-going difficulties. That’s why it was crucial we received clarification in the law for everyone to move forward.

This is a quote is from Bev Jackson, nailing it a million times over:

“Trans people have rights under the protected characteristic of gender reassignment.

Women have rights under the protected characteristic of sex.

Lesbians and gay men have rights under the protected characteristic of sexual orientation.

It was never the case that trans-identifying men have the rights accorded to women. Or those accorded to lesbians.

All the Supreme Court has done is to clarify the law.”

Amen to that!

“The fact that society believes a man who says he’s a woman, instead of a woman who says he’s not, is proof that society knows exactly who is the man and who is the woman.”

- Jen Izaakson

I have no idea what statue the police are talking about but the one you posted is quite clearly chalk.

At least no one is over reacting though.

Nigel Farage, the Reform UK leader, told The Telegraph: “You can’t put more protection in place around statues, but these people should be put in prison for a minimum of 10 years and serve 10 years.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,612 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

It's not "quite clearly chalk" at all, it looks like it might have been done with one of those paint pens. In fact one of the articles about this states that

"Fag rights” and a heart were painted on the banner held by a statue of the suffragette Millicent Fawcett during the protests.

"Painted on", so not chalk then. Photos of some of the other statues show they also used spray paint.

That really does put it in a nutshell - that's brilliant!

I really hope the same logic can be used in Irish law.

The statue referenced is quite clearly chalk, you can see it in the texture and size.

The absolute bonkers over reaction is hilarious. You'd swear it was decapitated and kicked into the Thames.

😂

It was never the case that trans-identifying men have the rights accorded to women. Or those accorded to lesbians.

All the Supreme Court has done is to clarify the law.”

A trans-identifying man is a person who was assigned female at birth and now identifies as male.

In reality they always had "the rights accorded to women. Or those accorded to lesbians." as the SC have ruled under equality they are female.

In terms of single sex spaces the equality commissioner will have to issue new guidance.

So if the commission rules that females at birth have to use their assigned birth in regards to gender spaces you could end up with full op trans men having to use female single sex spaces by law.

Like these guys (or girls under the law)

image.png

Untitled Image

Actually, I agree with this, in that it's very noticeable that where the police are calling for any photos the public have to help them find the people who defaced the statues, there is no comparable appeal for help in finding the people who threatened women with violence or death. Very little talk of that at all.

As so often, preventing or punishing male violence against women doesn't interest the rest of society nearly as much as damaging property does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,683 ✭✭✭AllForIt

I'm really glad you brought this up.

Transmen in reality look like women, and trans-women in reality look like men.

Transmen have a particular look that once you see it it's easy to spot.

99.9% of them never really 'pass', despite all the augmentations.

No need to be trying to fool us with your photos, it's not photos you see toilets it's real people.

I don't think any straight lads will be chatting up any of these ladies haha

This is what 'trans' really looks like.

Nothing real about that, it's purely your opinion based on a statistic that you made up

How man trans men and women do you know personally?

Well your point is equally an opinion you made up.

And anyway, transmen are actually women, so even if one is fooled for a millisecond they've nothing to worry about really because they're allowed in women's spaces.

I don't have to know any personally, I saw one on sky news a couple of days ago making your same point, didn't look anything like a man, rather a lesbian.

Well your point is equally an opinion you made up.

What part?

I don't have to know any personally

That would be common.

didn't look anything like a man, rather a lesbian.

Oh Dear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,762 ✭✭✭plodder

I haven't read the whole judgement but one thing that always struck me as strange and it came up in the judgement, was that because GRC's in the UK are confidential documents, it is not lawful to demand to see one. That is the same in Irish law and it seems strange because what is the point of them then? It's not like say the badge that allows you to park in disabled parking spaces. You have to show the badge to prove you have the right to park there which seems obvious because the people who enforce the rules around parking need to see that proof. So, one of the grounds that the Supreme Court decided the case was due to the uncertainty that such a rule creates.

Gender reassignment and sex are separate bases for discrimination and inequality. The interpretation favoured by the EHRC and the Scottish Ministers would create two sub-groups within those who share the protected characteristic of gender reassignment, giving trans persons who possess a GRC greater rights than those who do not. Those seeking to perform their obligations under the Act would have no obvious means of distinguishing between the two sub-groups to whom different duties were owed, particularly since they could not ask persons whether they had obtained a GRC (paras 198-203).

It's interesting also that the judgement went on to say this:

That interpretation would also seriously weaken the protections given to those with the protected characteristic of sexual orientation for example by interfering with their ability to have lesbian-only spaces and associations (paras 204-209).

That would be the same in Irish law, because sexual orientation is a separate protected characteristic to gender here. There is a clear conflict then between the rights of lesbians (and gay men) to their own spaces and whatever rights trans people claim to interfere with that.

As a gay man of course I would be aware. Malcolm Clark runs an excellent gender critical account on X, exposes all sorts. This recent one on trans homophobia says it all …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,419 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Trans Identifying Men (TIMs) is a better label than Trans Women. It IS a term for "Trans Women" but without deference.

Also, those trans-men you pictured either have vaginas or badly constructed penises that don't work 🤷

This is a fascinating article in the NY Times about the whole issue. It is primarily about Blaire Fleming a trans woman volleyball player, but it goes into significant detail into the wider topic, including the disagreements within the Biden administration in relation to Title IX

https://www.nytimes.com/2025/04/20/magazine/trans-athletes-women-college-sports.html?unlocked_article_code=1.BU8.C6tQ._WopFvA0cZSA&smid=url-share

Should be free to read.

There's a critique of the article on the X thread below. It questions some of the points about Fleming being a relatively ordinary volleyball player. She plays Division 1 at NCAA and is on a scholarship etc.

Post edited by plodder on

It’s so remarkable, by that I mean hugely remarkable, all this has happened without scrutiny, even-handedness, transparency and fairness.. where did all those educated objectives brains disappear to on college campuses across America?

At least the unravelling of the issues now is bringing about a clear understanding that the laws need to be robust in their clarity so everyone knows where they stand and how their rights work. No more crying and bawling until you get your insular way, just legal channels working and moving transparently to protect everyone involved.

Ireland needs to get a move on.

“The fact that society believes a man who says he’s a woman, instead of a woman who says he’s not, is proof that society knows exactly who is the man and who is the woman.”

- Jen Izaakson

It’s so remarkable, by that I mean hugely remarkable, all this has happened without scrutiny, even-handedness, transparency and fairness.. where did all those educated objectives brains disappear to on college campuses across America?

But, the Title IX directive came down from on high. College administrators had to obey it (though doubtless many did so willingly). Who would have guessed that Joe Biden himself had misgivings about it, but never once uttered them in public?

I also never knew that the draft guidance they published was "allowed to wither on the vine" and was then quietly withdrawn before Trump took over. A nice political stroke that removed any cover for Trump to claim he was continuing what Biden had started. The Democrats have completely corrupted themselves over this issue.

Our system may be legislation heavy compared to that, but it's a bit more transparent. You can actually look up and read the Dail "debates" on the Gender Recognition Act, such as they were ….

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 6,926 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Aris

Mod warning:

@New Scottman

I deleted your last post. And I would advise you to tread very carefully in order to avoid getting another warning.

2025 gigs: Selofan, Alison Moyet, Wardruna, Gavin Friday, Orla Gartland, The Courettes, Nine Inch Nails, Rhiannon Giddens, New Purple Celebration, Nova Twins

Wow, thanks for that (didn’t read all, will do this evening) never realised how deeply embedded it was politically - guessed, but no way was I fully aware of the depths of it.

If Biden had misgivings but said nowt, here’s hoping politicians grapple this issue better from here on.. but the written-in-stone nonsense that if one side of house supports something the other side must oppose, has resulted in this gigantic mess. One that the democrats are still paying for.. Fools! While they spent years pussy footing about, the devil ran away with the prize.

- Jen Izaakson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭Frost Spice

Nobody is "assigned" male or female at birth - that chestnut is particularly dishonest. We are born male or female, or in rare cases, intersex.

Sure, certain gender traits can be expected of us based on our sex - usually little girls are interested in dolls, princesses, sparkles and fairies. Usually little boys are interested in sports, toy cars and trucks, dinosaurs, sci-fi - and now and again there's a child who subverts these expectations, or might like a mixture of both, and may continue on a similar path into adulthood, or might change their interests into what's more typical of their sex. And all that is healthy and normal - and they're still the sex they always were. They may become a masculine woman or a feminine man - and that's gender.

Post edited by Frost Spice on

I'm mint.

🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭aero2k

I decided to wait a few days before commenting. Thanks to the other posters for their opinions in the meantime- especially @plodder for the NYT article and @Mr.Wemmick for the quote from Bev Jackson.

I had two reactions to the judgement - on the one hand I was relieved to see that common sense had prevailed, and that women can rely on the law to support them when they seek to exclude men from places that they have no right to be in. On the other hand I was thinking - what next, a Supreme Court ruling that water is wet? I look forward to a similar ruling in Ireland, but I won't be holding my breath. As Australia has a similar legal system to the UK, I'm wondering if the ruling is any help to Sal Grover.

I have also been interested in various reactions to the ruling. JK Rowling has been humorous as expected, groups like Sex Matters have been measured, and sadly the trans activist side and their allies seem to have lost their collective minds. Here's a quote from Brigerton actress Nicola Coughlan (she has raised £120,000 for trans charity Not a Phase):

“Like many people, I’m completely horrified by the Supreme Court’s ruling yesterday about trans people,” she said. “To see an already marginalized community being further attacked and attacked in law is really stomach-churning and disgusting, and to see people celebrate it is more stomach-churning and disgusting.”

I am appalled by the dishonesty presented as kindness in that remark. The trans community may be marginalised, but FWS and other groups who campaigned for and welcomed this ruling have never attacked them. Lord Hodge clearly stated that this ruling was not removing rights from anybody, merely clarifying the law as it stands, which is to everybody's benefit.

@volchitsa has contrasted the lack of effort to catch people who threatened violence against women (and in some cases committed acts of violence against them) with their statements regarding acts of vandalism. There is also the contrast between the behaviour of the TRA's and the so-called terfs. There is a litany of documented terrible behaviour from the former group, from doxxing, shouting down public speakers, online threats, hounding people out of jobs, etc. Despite looking for evidence of similar behaviour from the gender critical side, and asking for it on this thread, I have found none. This thread has been also shown contrasting behaviour between the two sides of the argument - people who believe in biological reality have presented their case with reasoned argument, others have responded with name calling and insults - JK Rowling, Jennifer Sey, Trina Budge have all been victims. What is it about intelligent, assertive, successful women that some people have a problem with?

Andrew Doyle has a very well written article which I won't link here but it's easy to find - it's called "Trans activism has jumped the shark" (I found it via Bev Jackson). He discusses the reactions to the judgement, the behaviour of TRA's, and how mainstream journalism having sidestepped other major developments now find themselves compelled to cover this judgement.

JK Rowling, Jennifer Sey, Trina Budge have all been victims. What is it about intelligent, assertive, successful women that some people have a problem with?

I don't think anyone on here has a problem with anyone being successful.

But being successful does not mean one is immune from critical opinion based on their actions. That is ludicrous.

Take Jennifer Sey for example, a full on Trump fan. Someone who literally raped a woman in a dressing room and has rolled back women's health rights by 40 years. But but but Trans people.

That level of disconnect and hypocrisy is irrelevant to how successful a person is or how they are perceived.

Meanwhile in America. A woman (Natalie Daniels) who complained about trans women in the women's category in the Boston Marathon has been kicked out of her club, after Nikki Hiltz made a video complaining about her. Hiltz has to be the only person in the world who competes as a woman (because they are female), while doing her best to destroy women's sport. Hiltz is trans and non-binary theirself.

Hiltz's point is that it makes little difference to competitors like Daniels, whether trans women are there or not, ie what difference does it make if you are placed 900 or 901? That misses the point because every place taken by a male athlete in the women's field, which has highly competitive qualification times, is one not available to women. And incidentally the race has a third (non binary category) whose qualification time is set at the women's level (so easier for men) but the category has always been won by men. Two out of the three categories were won by men this year. It's possible (likely even) that all three could be in future.

Post edited by plodder on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭Enduro

Godalmighty, that's incredible elitist nonsense from Nikki Hiltz. It's really disappointing to see an athlete of their calibre be so disrespectful to the vast majority of athletes.

Everyone's race is equally valid, whether you are racing to get on the podium, to get in the top 100, or the top 1000, to overtake the person in front, to stay ahead of the person behind, to beat the cut-offs, whatever. It's all racing, and it's all equally important to the individuals competing.

I'm usually a defender of Nikki Hiltz for racing in the correct sex category, irrespective of their gender identity. They are a good example of how Trans/non-binary athletes should approach sport to ensure fairness (compete in your sex category, and postpone any gender related medical intervention until after your sports career). Hence my disappointment at their elitism here. I would be curious to know at what point they think that it would become an issue to have male sex athletes compete in the female category. Does it only become serious if, for example, a male were to take an Olympic team slot that Nikki would otherwise have qualified for?

This also highlights that having a 3rd category is generally a waste of time. There are enough male sex athletes who consider themselves just as much women as female sex athletes, so will enter the female sex category rather than any non-binary category (and of course non-binary is meaningless in the context of sex categories).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭Enduro

Does it only become serious if, for example, a male were to take an Olympic team slot that Nikki would otherwise have qualified for?

Of course, to answer my own question, Nikki is protected from that by the outstanding work being done by World Athletics under Seb Coe to ensure that only female sex athletes can compete in the female category. As a result Nikki does not have to worry about a male sex athlete taking what would otherwise be Nikki's slot for any competition run under world athletics rules, including the L.A. Olympics, and this year's world championships (where a simple swab test for eligibility to enter the female category is plan to be introduced). That's a nice luxury position to have when criticising other athletes who do not (yet) benefit from that level of protection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭BP_RS3813

I reckon there is an element of "its a mass participiation event therefore inclusivity and participation blah blah blah" is going on, shocking attitude coming from an athlete like her.

Its the same justification that is used to allow trand kids to compete in their non-sex category. They argue its good for their socialisation and mental health, throwing the principles of equality and fairness out the window

Meanwhile in America. A woman (Natalie Daniels) who complained about trans women in the women's category in the Boston Marathon has been kicked out of her club

Where does it state she was kicked out of the club and what grounds would the club have to kick her out?

She finished 110th which is good going for a professional runner 6 months after giving birth.

The trans runner finished nearly 9000th almost 2 hours slower.

For clarity it was Daniels who unprovoked called out Hiltz in a Zoom interview with a self styled Christian Conservative podcaster.