Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best way out of a PCP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭Mad_Lad

A lot of dealers have been advertising "from xxx per month" prices for years.

But it does prove what I was saying that people who shouldn't be buying new cars only care about the monthly cost, the total cost doesn't register and when it comes to balloon time they say " ah, sure, I may as well go again for another 3 years" and on and on it goes until the realisation of complete and utter wasted money finally hits home and the balloon comes back to haunt them.

I don't think renting a new car every 3 years suits them, I think they don't want to face refinancing the balloon at 8% or more and Irish people have a strange obsession of showing off their new car that they don't own.

The logic being, "why pay 25K Balloon when I can put that towards a new car for 3 more years ?" Crazy !

That was a good deal on HP alright, VW will try anything to suck people in no matter what, very clever.

"Don't think there'll be too many in agreement that if you can't buy the car outright without finance over 3 or 4 years you can't afford it. I'm paying the car finance, mortgage, bills, putting money in a pension, providing for family, keeping some savings going. I can definitely afford the car. No nasty balloon payment in the future either."

The thing is, debt isn't a symbol of wealth it's the result of consumerism. Having to borrow means one can't afford, and I did it myself so I'm not criticising, for a house it's a necessity.

Debt on a smaller loan on a more sensible car price is more acceptable in my opinion.

In Ireland debt on cars of such high cost is becoming much more common and accepted, normalised and considering how much tax the Government take I find that more and more unacceptable now, so much money they take for free……

"enough value to pay the balloon and pay the deposit" ? the only thing that pays the balloon is your bank account if you want to own the car, you won't have a deposit for another car, on 3 PCP I didn't.

Balloon is 11k simply because you're paying for the majority of the car, over the 3 years, you get nothing for nothing. 11 K is what the finance company have calculated will be the minimum the car will be worth after 3 years and the agreed mileage, it doesn't mean you get money when you trade in.

And you're doubling the quoted mileage because the dealer put down you're doing less mileage in order to keep your monthly payments lower.

You're in for a rude awakening.

The problem with PCP is that , not only is it designed to keep people on the hook , but also to get them to enter contracts on much more expensive cars than they every would with HP or bank loan due to the much lower monthly cost. This is one reason cars cost so much now is because people only care about the deposit and monthly cost.

A low balloon simply means that you've paid the majority of the loan due to higher monthly payments which defeats what PCP is supposed to be. PCP is designed so you buy a much more expensive car due to low monthly payments with a high balloon as the stick that beats you into signing a new contract.

Low balloon only means the dealer and manufacturer have determined the value of the car will be lower due to higher than expected depreciation meaning you pay for that not them.

PCP means you pay the calculated depreciation + interest if any + deposit.

You get nothing for nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,724 ✭✭✭893bet

Can you link me to these 3 year old models threes for 11k? There will be plenty of equity in my car in three yrs as like you said I am paying 2/3 over that time period already.

And the dealer didn’t put anything down to keep my monthly low.

You got screwed on yours, we get that, suspect that was **** all to do with PCP and far more to do with the massive price cuts from EVs.

You don't get it, how do you think the GFMV is 11 K ? You think the finance company are going to give you money ?

The 11 K you were quoted is because the finance company has determined your car will be worth 11k and are making you pay for that with higher monthly payments and doing double the mileage than the quoted will only end up making it less valuable.

I've been there 3 times lad , I know the score. Not once had I anything over the GFMV.

No I get it. GfMV. The M is important. Minimum. In Tesla’s case FI are err on side of caution to ensure they dont end up on the wrong side of the deal when some customers want to hand them back.

In any case it doesn’t really matter . The price is the price and it has to be paid either way, be it up front , over 3 years PCP or over HP. To be honest from your posts I think it is you who didn’t understand and are now trying to enlighten everyone else to the fact there is noting for free. No shite.

Still waiting on the link to the 222 model 3 for 11k.

You don't get it because if you did you realise that the GFMV is low because you'll have paid most of the cost of the car and any "equity" in the car above that is because you've paid that in higher monthly payments.

The finance company have calculated that the car will probably depreciate a lot and are making you pay for it and anything you might get above that is a bonus for you that you've already paid, I don't need to show you 222 models for 11k.

But I obviously realise that? Do you not think I am capable of adding my initial deposit all with 3 years of payment together? Any equity on the car is clearly as I have paid for it and can choose to take it back and then use that to finance again. If I choose. They are all separate financial decisions.

And maybe the finance company will be right and the car depreciates 66 percent in 3 years. If they are then there will be some amount of good deals around for everyone of that’s what a car is worth on the 2nd hand market.

. Ultimately a car has to be paid for and PCP is a method that may suit some; you can’t accept that and assume if someone has a PCP it’s because they can’t afford the car or they don’t understand it. That’s self projection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭pale rider

ok so we know cars are expensive and some people dislike pcp as they perceive poor value but somewhere in this the dealers and finance companies are creaming it or do owners achieve more than minimum values ?

An example.

Was at a Hyundai dealer shopping for a 22 reg i30 1.0, he would not budge off €26k cash.

Ultimately the lad bought a 22 Kia Ceed 1.0 from a Kia dealer for €21500 cash, about 34% ish Dep maybe less if negotiating a decent discount on a new one at full list.

List new is around €31500, €30000 should be the magic number new or thereabouts and if achieved that 3 year old car depreciated by 28%, there were 7 of this model for sale in the country when we were looking so they are selling.

So from any experienced pcp buyers where in your view would that leave the guy that bought that car new in 2022 on PCP, would he have achieved more than the agreed value ?

Historically 50% dep over 3 years was expected, in the real world that depends in our current market as we found on make, mileage and condition and from shopping around 3 year old cars are routinely being sold for 30% off the cash price of a ‘25 reg new model exception maybe for ev’s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,759 ✭✭✭✭8-10

I got my last 2 cars on PCP specifically because it worked out cheaper than HP

Just do the maths and see what's best for you. It's not for everyone but for me it's been a great option

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,390 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

I've also used PCP on 3 cars, I had 4k equity in a Seat Leon FR and 3.5k on a golf.

3rd car is our current car an ID3 that we fully paid off the balloon on as we were happy to keep it, also probably had no equity but I didn't even check as we still love it and it has saved us over 10k in fuel the past 4 years.

Just because you've had bad experiences with PCP doesn't mean it's some big scam, all 3 of mine were 0% apr so we were able to hold off depleting our savings and use it our house upgrades on solar and insulation instead.

You're really not giving people enough credit if you think they're not able to add 3 numbers together

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭Nigzcurran

Jesus mad lad we get it, you hate pcp cause it didn't work out for you. Works out for plenty of other people though. I got a puma on 0% 3 years pcp paying €10k deposit, gmfv was €13k and ford offered me €23k trade in after the 3 years were up so i could have easily changed to a newer version and not lost a cent

Time is contagious, everyone is getting old.

@8-10 and @SteelyDanJalapeno no lads the problem is you just don’t get it!!!!! It’s a scam and only for PCP ye would have only been able to afford a 20 yr old fiesta!!

I am sure they are some out there that don’t understand it. But the same people will struggle with all things financial. I would view PCP the same as HP over 6 years which is what it ends up being if you want to clear the payment at the end but don’t have the cash to do so.

Ultimately buying a depreciating asset on credit is terrible financial decision anyway. Even on 0 percent.

It's going to depreciate no matter how you buy it. But most people need a car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,416 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

Forget about deposits, GMFV, equity, hand back options, buy out options, trade up options

The depreciation on the car plus your financing and running costs are what a car costs you. The rest is just noise and distraction, no matter what marketing and acronyms are used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,840 ✭✭✭User1998

Yeah but theres no getting away from the fact that paying interest on a depreciating asset is usually a poor financial choice. Nobody needs a brand new car. Its a want more than a need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,543 ✭✭✭JoeA3

You know the “score” eh? Not once?

I and friends and family have availed of PCP on numerous occasions. It’s worked out absolutely fine. I’ve never not had some equity in the end. On a few occasions I’ve had very healthy equity. There’s no big conspiracy, I think most people are capable of understanding that it’s just a slightly different way of financing a car.

You got burned on an EV and you never tire of telling us. Your experience does not reflect the experience of most buyers, if it did, the product wouldn’t be availed of. It honestly reads like you don’t “know the score” at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,025 ✭✭✭daheff

No you don't.

You effectively are getting a loan for 2/3rds(can vary based on your deposit...but roughly speaking) of the value of the car.

You are paying back 1/3rd of the value of the car over 3 years (plus interest on the 2/3rds amount), and at the end of the 3 years you still have 1/3rd to pay at the end. You can either trade in and go again, borrow to pay the outstanding amount or give back the car if it's market value is worth less than the GMFV (or come to a deal with the dealer).

Really not sure why any of this is controversial. It's somewhat similar to taking out a fixed rate mortgage for less than the term of your mortgage. Same options apply at the end of the fixed rate term.

100% car dealers are using PCP to shift stock as it's more affordable than buying outright upfront or on a 5/6 year loan/hp.

I never said brand new car!

Mine was just over 3 years old when I got it on PCP, not exactly old but avoided the massive immediate depreciation that happens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,400 ✭✭✭alias no.9

It's a zero sum game at the end of the day. I would only ever consider PCP with 0% such that you're not paying interest on the balloon during the term in which case the GMFV becomes a floor on your exposure to depreciation over the period.

Take the examples of significant reductions in new prices, the GMFV will have been priced based on the old price while the real value after 3 years will be influenced by the reduced price. If you've bought the car with straight cash, that depreciation is entirely your cost.

Using stupidly round numbers for simplicity, say the GMFV was 50% after 3 years, the price reduction was 20% and the actual value after 3 years was 50% of the reduced retail price which is 40% of the original purchase price.

If you bought with cash day 1, you've lost 60% of the purchase price while with the PCP the depreciation losses are capped at 50%, sure you hand the car back but you can buy an equivalent car at a discount to the cost of keeping the original car.

It's a good option if you want to spend money, sure. 😉

Who said PCP didn't work for me ? All I'm saying is that it's working as intended with so many people, that is to extract as much money from people as they can.

Congrats, you paid for your "equity" lol.

You have to spend money on something. You got burnt and still went ahead and locked in your loss by handing back the car. Your loss isn't everyone else's problem

Sure, PCP never fails, every time to get people hooked.

Of course PCP works for people, because it allows them to get what they want within their monthly budget and get cars much more expensive than they would using traditional finance.

"More affordable than buying outright upfront or on a 5/6 year loan/hp"

Affordable "means" you don't need credit.

5 or 6 year car payments are nuts anyway but most people will have to go that route to own the car at some point on PCP or they can hand the car and buy back a much older car but then the neighbours and friends think they might be too poor and can't show people that living within their means is far better than showing off Debt so they will be in a long many year cycle of monthly payments.

I think people just have more money than you have mad lad and dont want to drive a used 1 litre 3 cylinder car.

I don't think you should be telling them how to spend their money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭Frankie19

PCP works for me as I get a car allowance through work that covers a good bit of the payment. To me makes more sense than paying BIK to the government each month on a company car I will never own.

When I choose PCP ( have done both HP and PCP) i always put money aside for the final balloon payment so I have a choice to keep the car/ trade in for a new one. Last car turned out to be a lemon....traded it in and used some of the balloon payment saved towards deposit of the new car. I also make sure I have 6 months worth of payments saved in the event I lost my job before the half way rule came into play.

If your smart about it PCP can work well. But appreciate many never intend to pay that balloon payment which will catch up with them eventually.