Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No quitten we're whelan onto chitchat 12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,896 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

This is why the derogation is under pressure - putting out slurry ahead of heavy rainfall warnings = major risk of runoff to rivers etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,297 ✭✭✭cute geoge

How do you know if heavy rain was weather warning forecast for the location mentioned or are you a mentalist!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭148multi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,896 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Seriously?? Where you out of the country for the past week? Between Wednesday and Today the vast majority of the country was under some sort of well flagged rainfall warning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,297 ✭✭✭cute geoge

Seriously,well less then half of country has weather warning ,I presume you have no problem with farmers spreading in the other 16 counties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,641 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

A lad on the ward where oh is was attacked by a cow, broken ribs and other injuries , be careful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

HardHardly a man of 70 years of age. Local here had the same incident about 2 weeks ago. Cow fired him into a manger. Reckoned it saved him as if she got him into a corner the cow would have crushed him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,925 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I think these lads can’t face any alternative to having their cows and are probably accepting this as a real risk, but that’s less scary than changing their farming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭I says

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭148multi

Farmer around here has signed himself in after sending 2 truck loads of cattle to troy's,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭farmertipp

poor man. hopefully he will get some resolution

AAt Least he did that and didn't do something stupid. The mental health system in this country is shite. Used to think the health system was crap but once you get by casualty the care is brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,372 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Suckler cows after calving are so unpredictable. I had one calve out in the field last week. Normally a real pet. You could rub her on the head in the field.

She had just calved and I arrived down with the bottle of iodine. I could see her looking at the bottle and she lunged at me. I backed off, put down the bottle about 20 feet away and she was grand then. Even let me hold the calf to drink her. Just to confirm my theory on the bottle, I walk towards her with it, a second time. Same result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,622 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

For what it's worth I never had a case of joint ill in a calf born outside and I never do there're navels. You'd be aswell off stay away from them if everything is going ok and they are sucking. Had a few cases from the shed alright over the years and I'd do them if they were born inside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭Suckler

Suckler cows after calving are so unpredictable. I had one calve out in the field last week. Normally a real pet. You could rub her on the head in the field.

It's getting harder with a lot in the suckler game being part time. Even if you do nothing of an evening but walk through the cows it makes it so much easier for dosing/calving/testing. All our suckler cows are well used to people and some are the usual pest type pets looking for a scratch etc. but when they calve you can see they get more agitated if you're getting too close. A big issue is that most part timers will be doing herding in the evening after a days work, cows are a bit more flighty around dusk as it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,014 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

I'll never forgot the first time I got a fright from a freshly calved heifer in a small shed. She wasn't interested in her calf, rubbed some meal into it's wet coat and could see her bonding. Delighted, went to repeat and she went for me, luckily the door could open in or out, otherwise I was snookered. Never to put myself in that position ever again either indoors or outdoors, even the Malibu ones who were the quietest ever.

• Registered Users Posts: 254 ✭✭WoozieWu

a calving gate is a great investment for any suckler farmer purely for safety reasons

no hassle tagging and spraying the calves navel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,619 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Any of ye using iodine or other navel spray/dips be really careful of the cow/heifers reaction after applying it to the calf as I've seen them reacting over the years. One of my quietest pb cows calved yesterday morning and I stood in the pen to make sure that the calf had a good suck, I switched the calf onto the other front teat at it was a large greedy heifer calf and the cow had no issue. When the calf had sucked I dipped it's navel in iodine and within seconds the cow threatened me with a head shake. They can react to the introduced of a new smell - this is the first time this cow ever showed signs of aggression after calving.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,283 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Do you not need a calving gate for Bord Bia anyway?

I’m in the dairy QA but the inspector wanted to see the calving gate

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭GC4

I didn't have one till this year, inspector always asked about it but never failed me on it. Really though, every farm should have one for safety alone if nothing else. It's only when you have one that you realise how valuable they are and how much easier tasks are with one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,002 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Was walking across the cattle grid here earlier and happened to look into it to see what was in it. And here was a hedgehog marooned on a small island of sand and surrounded by water. No idea how long it was there. 3 hours it took between dismantling the grid and putting it back together. Had to try get the bars of the grid up to get a shovel in to scoop the little fella out. God only knows how long ago the bolts and things were last opened but it took some effort. Got the hedgehog out and let him off down the garden behind the house. Hopefully he appreciates the effort and is more careful on his journeys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,619 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Just to add to the above post - the cow made sure to lick off the iodine dip on the navel to the point that I reckoned she would cause a rupture/hernia. I tried to distract her with meal in a bucket but after she ate it she went back licking the calves navel. I smothered the navel area with stockholm tar and that sorted her out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,626 ✭✭✭Packrat

Well done. I found 2 last year and gave them to a local lady who has a rescue. Both returned a few weeks later in good health to where they were picked up.

Any hedgehog out by day is sick which is where i found one, The other one got a clip of a car she thought.

Nice little animal, but they do smell. They'll eat cat food no bother and it's OK for them.

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”

• Registered Users Posts: 254 ✭✭WoozieWu

you do and we have had one since i was knee high but its a homemade job and only ok

we bought a bosteel one 4 years ago and its much better, fitted in a purpose made pen

always able to keep the gate between you and the cow now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭The Rabbi

Had a bull out of Malibu here that I was nervous of,he would jump wires to get from the heifers to the cows(which actually suited me) and he let me know I wasn't stopping him.I sold him for fattening,the buyer put him indoors a few days afterwards as he turned on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,925 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

OH works in health service over 30 years. She says the worst thing you can be is a little bit sick. If your very sick your looked after to the highest standards and quickly.
    She’s looking at retiring to get away from the management BS

I looked up Malibu, born 1996, stars have collapsed & docility is very low. The fact the cows from him here were so quiet is probably more down to their ancestry from British Friesians. The cows that did get flighty here were off Sympa, though they were OK in their early years, it kicked in after about 3/4 calvings, they're mostly weeded out now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭StoutPost

Anyone getting asked for a tax number for parcels to be delivered from online stores? Ordered an item from the manufacturer as some of the sites I saw their product on didn't inspire much confidence, then I get an email asking for a tax number for delivery purposes.

Oh got home for a few hours today. Straight to the lorries. Eldest lad had to help him into it. They moved a few trailers around and then he went to bed. Stairs were difficult. He said he's failed alot since last time he was home. Has to go back by 5. Happy to be in his own bed. Fast asleep now.

That's so hard- brought tears to my eyes reading it.