"Green" policies are destroying this country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 839 ✭✭✭poop emoji

They will claim Irish CO2 is down by 1/50th for the year and chalk up half the country reverting to pre industrial age for a week without power as a win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,312 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

We Greens live in Dublin so that rural power cut nonsense doesn't affect us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,652 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

I’m now of the opinion now that the people of Ireland can’t see past their own self worth and the damage we are inflicting on the planet is only going to increase.

You have posters like @Pa ElGrande who very intelligently, argue against every initiative put forward to try and address our energy and climate crisis but offer zero solutions to anything.

We are fucked!

https://www.cso.ie/en/releasesandpublications/ep/p-wpi/wholesalepriceindexjanuary2025/

Wholesale electricity prices rose by almost 68% in the 12 months to January 2025

Great news, that’ll learn em culchies to not have notions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

When it comes down to it people dont care about green initiatives only how much there bills are through the door which seem to be on a massise upwards trajectory and i dont blame them. But the general public connecting the dots that its the same initiatives causing their high bills in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,604 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

Typical green pie in the sky rhetoric. Come up with a 2050 plan that they cannot give a cost for that would not even come close to providing our 2050 requirements and then have a go at others who point out how ill thought out and insane it is.

The people of Ireland can see that while greens are determined to wreck our economy alone with some of the highest electricity charges in the world, (set to go even higher if their net zero plan was implemented), where our emissions are an insignificance globally, while others who do not give a fcuk about their emissions will happily fill the gap in demand due to the collapse of our economy. We have already seen that with the green culling of cattle number farce here to "save the planet"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,652 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

So your solution to the climate energy crisis is?

Why do you believe I should waste my time chasing somebody down rabbit holes who comes on here criticising others who do not favour a solution they do by pointing out not only is it economic suicide, but it would not even provide the supply it is supposed too when they cannot make an economic or supply case for their solution ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,265 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

What is a climate energy crisis?
    We apparently have a climate crisis.
    Do we have an energy crisis? Shortage is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭Jizique

Tell India to halve their population would be a good start

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,424 ✭✭✭patnor1011

Classic green god complex. Thinking that they do have an answer to everything which typically involve other people money. Using nonsense terms as "climate energy crisis" and demanding "solutions".

Here is one. Plenty of peat on this rock and with proper filters any imaginary "climate energy crisis" will be solved in no time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,521 ✭✭✭ginger22

Well I suppose the climate energy crisis is that any of the so called green energy solution do not work when we have extremes of weather like all the wind turbines had to shut down during the storm and the solar panels generated zero when covered in snow.

So none of you have anything of any merit and are just following the FFG party lines - GDP growth at all costs (our jobs depend on it) and Blame the Greens!

As I said, We are fucked!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,839 ✭✭✭Pa ElGrande

image.png

Life Expectancy: Our World in Data, Energy Consumption: Bjorn Lomborg, 2020 and CO2 (Wood for Trees, MacFarling Meure et al., 2006)

Consider the impact of the weather in Ireland back when the climate was perfect: Recalling the disastrous weather crisis of 1924-25

Arguably, the crisis of 1924/1925 helped change rural Ireland. It exposed the economic limitations of independence and contributed to the mass emigration of the 1920s and 1930s, when a large proportion of the country’s farm labouring class departed – a process finished in the 1950s. source

Ireland's climate has not changed. in the 2020s it's still the same mild temperate, damp place with occasional sunshine, a fact that had Ireland rated the worst country for PHOTOVOLTAIC POWER in the world (page 31)

image.png

There is no one size fits all explanation. There are so many different climatic regimes in the world that defy simplistic solutions.

Net Zero means we are paying for the destruction of our economy and society in pursuit of an unachievable and pointless policy.

….. and what have you got other than an ideological Green Party hopium 2050 plan that you or no other green can give a cost for that would still not provide the projected generation requirement for 2050, where we would have the same emissions as we have now, with our economy in ruins due to us having the most expensive electricity in the world ?

Following what you favour would result in us being trebly fucked.

they talking about Greenlash on newstalk there

The global backlash against green policies being shoved down everyone’s throats

We used to call it antiestablishmentarianism. The FT are using a new marketing slogan. Most political parties across Europe have adopted green policies, there is little to distinguish one from another. The crux of the matter is that anything green is seen as a costly elitist plot against working people and with establishment is fully onboard with green policies, anyone who opposes them is against the status quo. It's not just greenlash, there are several issues combining.

• High cost of living driven by the previous decades central bank monetary policies, on top of covid lockdown policies created a phenomenon of too many people chasing too few goods, i.e. governments prevented people working, this stopped production and investment across many countries and at the same time many governments took on huge debt, which few could spend. When the lockdowns ended, a wall of money was released, however, production and investment timelines where out of sync due to lockdowns and prices went skywards.
    • Included in the high cost of living is cost of energy. The price of diesel works its way into everything we do. Green policies make energy less available and more expensive. The logical outcome of net zero policies is to cut energy consumption in very short timelines while mandating energy production from expensive and unreliable energy collectors. People in countries who pursue this route have the highest electricity costs, with no prospect of price reduction in future.

Carbon taxation first hammers people at the margins of society on low incomes hardest, it spreads to the middle class as the cost of energy leads to more business closure. Carbon credits are fraudulent, these insert rent seekers in the middle who add no value and drive up the cost of transactions.

Consider this, the previous electricity demand records in Ireland have been set during Dunkelflaute, when unreliable generation failed. Green policies mandate heat pumps and electric vehicles - are we building new power plants to meet this extra load? No, we are building extension leads to out neighbours, meaning we pay the highest prices when we need electricity most. Or neighbours are pursuing the same policy, who will be carrying out the generation?
      image.png
    • Shortage of affordable accommodation. This is not just an Irish problem, this impacts multiple countries. Companies that can obtain finance (pension funds) and debt (hedge funds, investors) cheaply are out competing young people who cannot obtain cheap finance. This is combined with a massive regulatory framework that has caused specification inflation (you cannot build the house your father built, green policies have changed construction standards and obstructed the timelines for delivering new developments (bats in Killarney) + plus there are infrastructure bottlenecks (electricity, water and roads) plus the usual Nimbyism. The upshot being young couples (including native Irish) delaying family formation, reducing the number of children and migrating out of the country because they have no future prospect of achieving their life goals. This is creating huge social pressure, think about it you need to have your act together by age 28 if you want to start a family otherwise that window is closed for many people.
    • Mass immigration. Nothing to do with green policies, add it to the anti-establishment pile.
    • Freedom of speech. Again nothing to do with green policies, but everything to do with political suppression.
    • War. Nothing to do with green policies. Israel/Gaza, Ukraine/Russia, Syria, various African countries, some with elements tied to the Ukraine/Russian war (Wagner group).
    • Green policies trajectories are unaffordable and undesirable, for most people, they can sense pursuit is an economic dead end. Look to the biggest proponents here in Europe, Britain and Germany where net zero policies and mandates are driving the cost of production limiting availability of energy leading to de-industrialisation and mass unemployment.

If you want to read something that appears from a dystopian novel, see Germanys Energy Efficiency Act (2023)

For the period after 2030, the federal government is aiming to reduce Germany's final energy consumption by 45 percent compared to 2008 to 2045. The Federal Government will check the energy savings sizes according to sentence 1 in 2027 and present a report to the German Bundestag to update the energy efficiency goals for the period after 2030. (google translate)

Given it is German elections today, if your want to read more about the above see The craziest traffic light law goes unnoticed (google translate)

With lies and deception, hardcore green ideologists pushed through a law that is leading Germany into the abyss. Apparently neither the CDU/CSU nor the AfD discovered the time bomb. It is a kind of hunger law.

If you think that is bad, our neighbours the UK have put laws in to restrict how much water their residents can use in teh future, see Net 110, 2050.

Much is said about Net Zero (Carbon dioxide) 2050 but another 2050 target appears to have gone largely unnoticed; The Environment act 2021, and subsequent updates, has set limits for water consumption of 122 litres per person per day by 31 March 2038 reducing to 110 litres per person per day by 2050. source

Net Zero means we are paying for the destruction of our economy and society in pursuit of an unachievable and pointless policy.

One of many issues behind green policies are the activities of eNGOs and their sponsors in driving legislation and lawfare. Most of the focus in Irish media in recent weeks revolves around the shutdown by the Trump administration of both USAID and much less the National Endowment for Democracy (NED). There has been no coverage in Irish media of the activities uncovered in how the American environmental protection agency distributed money under the Biden administration which have been uncovered as partisan political slush funds.

We need our own DOGE to audit why taxpayer funds are being doled out by the Irish state to NGOs in this country.

A 2021 report stated that there were 164,922 people employed by NGOs which had a combined turnover of €13.9 billion, and accounted for €6.2 billion in state funding, which was over 8% of public spending.  source

Now it is the European Unions turn to have the light shone on back room dealing: The European Commission Faces Its Biggest Scandal in 20 Years

A few days ago, the Dutch newspaper De Telegraaf uncovered findings that are now shaking the entire European Union. The European Commission has long been financially supporting non-governmental organizations (NGOs) lobbying for the green policies of former EU Commissioner Frans Timmermans. Lobbyists, funded from the EU budget, were tasked with influencing politicians to push through the Green Deal. 
    <snip>

According to De Telegraaf, these organizations played a key role in pushing through the controversial Nature Restoration Law championed by former Commissioner Timmermans. One of the contracts cited by the newspaper reveals that a €700,000 grant was specifically intended to steer the agricultural debate toward a green agenda.

Now that’s something i can get behind. Can you imagine all the FFG quangos trying to justify what five things they did last week. 😝

I agree with you on that.

EU spending: Who is getting quiet billions from the European Commission?

The World Wildlife Fund (WWF) also got many millions from the commission, according to its transparency site.

Friends of the Earth received significant funding, much apparently connected to the now controversial LIFE programme, pushing for “climate action”.

Climate Action Network appears to have received €35 million between 2014 and 2022.

Another beneficiary of EU grants was the BBC Media Action, a charity under the auspices of the British broadcaster, according to the source.

In 2023, Research & Degrowth International, a “think-and-act-tank” dedicated to the radical transformation of economies and societies through research, advocacy, education, training and events regarding “degrowth”, also received substantial funds from the EC, it was revealed.

The Citizens, Equality, Rights and Values Programme (CERV) was apparently another major beneficiary.

In October 2024, the European Court of Auditors warned that an increasing amount of money from the €240 billion European Union budget was being spent in “irregular ways”.

Commission tells NGOs EU money is not for lobbying

A €5.4 billion fund for green projects can no longer be spent on lobbying, says Commission.
    <snip>
    The letters — sent by the Commission agency in charge of green deal project, CINEA — refer to grant money from the EU’s environmental project fund known as LIFE, which earmarks €5.4 billion of funding between 2021 and 2027. Recipients include big names like WWF, Friends of the Earth, and ClientEarth, as well as many smaller charities.

According to one of the letters, active lobbying activities that target EU officials and institutions — previously considered acceptable — would no longer be eligible for funding. These include “organising meetings or providing advocacy material” to specific EU institutions or officials, or “identifying specific members or officials of an institution to evaluate or describe their positions, or to discuss specific political content or outcome,” the letter states, adding such activities “may entail a reputational risk for the Union.” source

The EU gave €1 billion of public funds to eNGOs and lobbyists to promote the policies of the EU Commission.

Friends of the Earth sit on the climate quango in Ireland in the form of Dr. Cara Augustenborg placed there by Eamon Ryan.

Trocaire and Concern used to be members of Climate Action Europe (CAN), these days it's just Friends of the Earth. CAN is a front for Greenpeace and Friends of the Earth, most of its member organizations are just padding to make up the numbers, they take direction from the big players. CAN was formed by the United Nations in 1989, one year after the first IPCC report.

Clientearth based out of Brussels, are involved in lawfare, for local colour see FP Logue LLP, there are several Irish people that have been involved with this organisation. Friends of the Irish Environment is the front for this organisations activities in Ireland.

How about stop moving parliament from one town to another once a month. Mind-blowing waste 🤯

With greens no longer a thorn in the side the government has finally acknowledged what Eirgrid, the CER and many here have been saying for years. If we are going to have any sembelance of energy security we need LNG. The ban on it being from fracking is apparently gone as well.

Why we have to do it in the usual half assed and overly expensive way using a ship and a specially built dock I have no idea. Other than perhaps some idea that if we built a reconverting and storage facility we would be sued by the company that was going to build the same that Ryan and his greens disgracefully draged from pillar to post to prevent them doing.

That man talks absolute nonsense and has set the country back years when it comes to energy security.

Interconnecters (of which we are building the Celtic interconnecter for example) are grand once the other end of the cable has something to give.

Battery storage will not in any way store enough electricity to get us through a HP event with little to no wind in winter.

He’s talking shite.

Once a spoofer always a spoofer.

When he was the relevant Minister the CER and Eirgrid were telling him "The LNG facility is a valid and appropriate security measure to a security measure that does exist"

Not only did he ignore them, he and his cohorts were attempting to legislate that we could never use LNG, while he shamefully as a government Minister, was strong-arming An Bord Pleanala with "advice" as to why the should not grant Shannon LNG planning permission. The High Court recognised this "advice" for the bullshlt it was which leaves us wide open to be sued by Shannon LNG for hundreds millions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭ps200306

UN Secretary General Guterres telling climate porkies yet again.

UN71056528.jpg

UN Secretary-General António Guterres visits an house that has been abandoned due to storm damage and flooding as a result of climate change during his trip to Samoa. 

https://dam.media.un.org/CS.aspx?VP3=DamView&VBID=2AM94S63LM7IE&SMLS=1&RW=1164&RH=616&FR_=1&W=1536&H=739&utm_source=substack&utm_medium=email

Guterres further claimed:

"Those who lived in these houses had to move their homes further inland because of sea level rise and the multiplication of storms. Sea level rise is accelerating. It is now the double of what it was in the 90s. If we are not able to stop what is happening with climate change, the problem that we see in Samoa will not stay in Samoa."

An investigative journalist for a Swedish radio station followed up a number of UN claims and discovered the following:

• The house that Guterres is standing in front of was abandoned in 2009 after an earthquake and tsunami. Relative sea level rise has accelerated in Samoa. But that also has nothing to do with climate change, but rather, increased subsidence following the 2009 earthquake. There is no increase in tropical cyclone frequency or intensity.
    • A claim promoted by Swedish UNICEF and across UN organisations for many years that 1.7 million children die each year from climate change has been retracted. They admit it is due to air pollution and dirty water.
    • The UN has repeatedly claimed that women and children are up to 14 times more likely to die in a natural disaster, supposedly backed by scientific research. The Swedish journalist tracked the original source down to a 2-page opinion piece by an American Evangelical pastor from 28 years ago.
    • Guterres repeatedly claims that the number of weather disasters has increased five-fold in the past fifty years. The increase in disasters in the EM-Dat dataset from the 1970s results entirely from improved reporting of disasters from the 1970s to the 2000s. Since 2000 there has been no increase in reported disasters.

Our ruling establishment generally lacks vision and adopts a policy of go along to get along, especially with the EU. This is the "best boys in Europe" policy. That LNG terminal comes across more as an Irish solution to an Irish problem, we are completely dependent on gas and will for decades to come. The problem with their "solution", it is a very expensive way to buy energy, when you need it you have to bid against everyone else who needs it.

The complaint about nuclear being expensive to implement, well, we are paying the most expensive electricity prices, may as well bite that bullet and at least have stable baseload power in the next decade with predictable pricing to offset the extreme pricing volatility due to the current trajectory.

On a related note, the EU's Net Zero policy has failed, rather than openly admit it and move on, the EU commision are digging a deeper hole, proving former US president Reagans mantra "If it moves, tax it. If it keeps moving, regulate it. And if it stops moving, subsidize it".

Keeping the Green Deal Alive: €100 Billion Pledged for ‘Clean Industry’

In her Wednesday Antwerp speech, Commission President Ursula von der Leyen acknowledged the severity of the situation:

Production costs have increased, especially for energy-intensive industries. Demand for green products has dropped, and some investments have relocated to other regions.

However, instead of correcting a clearly failing energy policy, the EU insists on more subsidies and compensation mechanisms that fail to address the core issue.

At some point, the cumulative damage and decline will be sufficient to cause the public to vote for politicians who will drop Net Zero insanity. When that happens, it doesn’t mean the decline stops. A lot of the damage is systematic, it continues to destroy for a long time and so it takes time to impact and the decline continues. So, we will be taking the hit from Net Zero for decades.

I see Net Zero as one component among other damaging actions, the electric car (EV) fiasco, declining production from the North sea, massive sovereign debt, lack of trust in the Western financial system (seizure of Russia assets, swift system lockout and use of insurance as a weapon) , mean as soon as feasible those parties more their money elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭ultraviolence

According to Minister Darragh O'Brien, if all* actions in the climate plan are fully delivered, emissions will only be reduced by 29%, not achieving the full 51% reduction by 2030.

https://www.businesspost.ie/interview/we-have-to-accelerate-darragh-obrien-on-meeting-challenging-climate-targets/

FF MEP does not support livestock culling, darragh o'brien wants airport cap lifted when he knows emissions will rise… these next 5 years will be interesting. Not sure why they passed legally binding targets knowing we wont be able to achieve them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,397 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

While the FF/FG government were busy disembowelling the Irish economy, https://www.azerbaycan24.com/en/india-celebrates-historic-milestone-in-coal-production/

image.png

They're literally laughing at us while we gut our economy.