Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains Part II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭dog_pig

Did anyone figure out the Walter Scheidel joke from Thursday's episode?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Tucker.Tim

Ken on politics is so good it should be a weekly thing.

Branno when he isn’t stanning for the LOI Taliban is a beautiful, beautiful boy as well. Great duo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,200 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

It won the Vietnam War but it's hardly optimal sports nutrition

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭cheese sandwich

Ken still thinks Amorim is a better coach than Slot, doesn’t he

Do it for the tricolour comrade Rory

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,470 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

You'd think Lawrence backing him would be the kiss of death and he nearly Mayo'd it at one point, but fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Hopefully they cover the golf today and dont leave it to later in the week…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,131 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Might relisten to Fridays podcast about how Rory cracked under pressure and lost the masters in the first round

You mean the one with two people who don’t watch the golf at all and were just covering it in passing?

As much as I very much enjoyed turning on the golf half way through the final round last night, the Second Captains lads are in a serious bubble as to how little anyone in Ireland cares about golf, it's a total non-entity almost everywhere outside golf clubs. Gavin calling Rory winning a grand slam the greatest Irish sporting achievement of all time without any qualifier would make you bowl over with laughter if you didn't know he was fully serious.

Malachy saying his mother is 70 made me do a double take, he's a great contributor but I would have said he sounded like he was near 60 if you had asked me what age he was before today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,046 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Research from the Golf Ireland / R&A Golf Barometer quarterly survey highlights that approximately 800,000 people across the island of Ireland have engaged with golf in some capacity over the last 12 months. This includes traditional on-course play and alternative formats such as driving ranges, simulators, and adventure golf facilities.

The survey confirms that over 500,000 adults have played on an 18-hole course at least once this year, reaffirming the sport’s consistent participation levels. It also found that 20% of the non-golfing population are interested in participation.

Further research conducted by Golf Ireland shows that 43% of the population are interested in golf in some capacity, as a player, spectator or fan. While only cycling and soccer finished ahead of golf in terms of sports participation in Ireland.

Its a bit unfair to call it a non entity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,145 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Maybe it was a bit OTT to call it the greatest Irish sporting achievement etc… But Rory winning the masters was a huge story, everyone I knew today was talking about it all day and most - including myself - have never swung a club in their life. The pure sporting drama of it was real - I'd no problem with them going to town with their coverage today.

And I don't usually praise him, but I thought Murph was excellent on the golf today as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 sbtr2023

Ken is so reactionary.. he sees Kvaratskhelia play twice and then decides all the best forwards play outside the Premier League.. he uses Mbappé to reinforce his point after spending the last few weeks talking about him having a disappointing season.. he's funny at times, but he really talks a lot of **** too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

He's only the 6th person ever to win the grand slam of majors, it's certainly up there as a contender as one of the greatest Irish sporting achievements of all time.

Multiple WhatsApp groups full with non golf fans were gripped by the whole round on Sunday, non stop talking about it and for a lot of yesterday too, many will now start watching more golf, to call it "a total non-entity" is ridiculous.

*edit - Just realised you're the same poster who questioned Tim Vickery's knowledge of South American football. At least you're consistent with nonsense takes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,495 ✭✭✭bren2001

If anyone is living in a bubble, it's yourself.

Another ridiculous take.

Post edited by bren2001 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭cmac2009

Tucker Tim is clearly a troll. Can folks stop responding to his nonsense and just block him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,850 ✭✭✭Raoul

Without a doubt it is one of the greatest Irish sporting achievements ever and he is possibly the greatest Irish sportsperson ever.

Easy appearance fee for the lads greatest. Murph hardly let them speak and interrupted them any time they did speak. Does he realise he is the presenter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭weadick

I remember on the Second Captains TV show from years ago they had the Top 10 Irish sports persons of all time and each week a guest was allowed to put a nominated person into the Top 10 and remove one if they wanted. Sonia O'Sullivan was the guest one week and she removed Padraig Harrington and put in Marcus O'Sullivan. When asked to explain she said 'golf isn't a sport'!

Another week Peter Canavan was on and he removed Rory McIlroy from the top 10 because 'he couldn't give a damn if he was Irish or not'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭atilladehun

All the non sports people in my family were talking about it, never mind the sports fans that are non golfers. It's a huge story and a massive sport. Clubs are jammed on competition days and even busier on nice weekends. I would guess that per capita Ireland has one of the highest participation rates in the world and something similar for the amount of courses.

It's a viscously competitive global game that he's been the overall best player in the world for more than a decade, while also having a brilliant narrative of not winning his dream/destiny but trying again and again despite the heartbreak.

The story is going to go on for a while and if anyone can't enjoy it they may need to take a break for a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭Appletart Upsetter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭JKerova1

I'm not sure you should be listening to a sports podcast if you seriously have to ask that question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭Appletart Upsetter

If I keep listening, maybe one day, I'll find out all about him.

What planet is Wilson on thinking KDB is going to go to a mid-table club, lad’s head has gone since Newscastle won the cup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,575 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

well, he’s not going to Liverpool, he’s not going to Arsenal, and he’s leaving Man City… so if he wants to stay in the PL, that’s kind of the likely area. I’d say upper mid table tier, but below League challengers. Newcastle themselves are a decent possibility I’d say, a bit of class to help them on their return to Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,980 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

As someone who cares not one jot about golf and would close the curtains if it was on in the back garden, the coverage was very good and listenable. And there's no doubt it's one of the greatest Irish sporting achievements, although Paul O'Donovan needs more recognition in those conversations.

Ken is spot on about Bob Dylan btw, a handful of good songs is a poor return from his output. Very much overrated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭choosetheend

Music is just down to personal preference so no point in getting into a big debate about it…but, Bob Dylan has tons of great songs. If you don't like them fair enough

Mr Tambourine Man

Like Rolling Stone

Tangled Up in Blue

Blowing in the Wind

Stuck Inside of Mobile with the Memphis Blues Again

Don't Think Twice It's Alright

Knocking on Heaven's Door

The Hurricane

Lay Lady Lay

Desolation Row

Girl from the North Country

It's Alright Ma

Subterranean Homesick Blues

And that's barely even half of his career.

If you don't like a song, you don't like it.

He's not overrated just because you don't like his music. "Overrated" doesn't really mean anything anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,145 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Bob's got a ton of good songs - it was a hot-take from Ken and then he just enjoyed himself leaning into it. Bit of craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭The Davestator

Whatever about Dylan being overrated, he remains the worst gig I was ever at and that was 20 years ago so can only imagine the shambles it would be now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,760 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

lol that gig in Salthill, I remember it well. my worst gig also. the crowds with us streaming out halfway through were something else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭cheese sandwich

I saw him a few years ago in the 3 arena and he was great