Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What’s your most controversial opinion? **Read OP** **Mod Note in Post #3372**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,552 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Bertie Ahern and his cabinet will go down as the worst thing to happen this country . Fcuking right wingers . All for their own gain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,771 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

Bertie remains the greatest politician we have produced in my lifetime. Despite his flaws, he understood the people and he could relate to them.

I don't think fundamentally he is a greedy man or an egomaniac, like Haughey was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,530 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

... nevermind ...

Post edited by SuperBowserWorld on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,356 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

I think history will be relatively kind to Bertie.

I feel the narrative around the downfall of FF during the late 00s will be more so people in the country lost the run of themselves during the Celtic Tiger rather than FF drove us to despair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭randd1

I would blame the PD's more than FF for driving on the Celtic Tiger beyond breaking point.

That being said, FF were more than happy to be the dog wagged by the PD tail. Had they reigned in the PD's and listened to the experts, things might not have been so bad. That they failed, or were unwilling, to do so was an utter failing of the big party in government.

In the main though, I think history will judge Bertie as good but flawed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Iscreamkone

If we reduced our carbon footprint in Ireland to nil - basically going back to a 1700s lifestyle. No electricity, no cars etc. It would not make an ounce of difference re global warming.

Until the green option becomes cheaper (worldwide) we are fighting a losing battle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,372 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

Especially when you visit a country where they use a lot of fossil fuels and dump rubbish everywhere, you would wonder why we bother!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,979 ✭✭✭Suckler

We buy nuclear energy as it is. We should now be looking at our own nuclear solutions with green energy. Our energy options/problems could be solved in a relatively short time frame if we had the appetite. Instead we'll have people cutting turf as two fingers to the government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,962 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

…yup, berties governments definitely had little or nothing to do with the encouragement and facilitation of financialising our economy, especially in relation to property and land, which has lead us to our current sh1tshow in relation to this critical societal need, definitely nothing to see here folks, your kids, grand kids, nieces and nephews are definitely doing all good in relation to their housing needs, all is good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,776 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

The government knew the risks and they were more than happy to push it along. And bertie telling people who were warning to commit suicide will always stick in my mind. What kind of person says that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,024 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Yer man Rory Sutherland talks about how nuclear energy made a terrible mistake in the name. You could invest in Natural Gas, Clean Coal or Nuclear energy, which is the most environmentally friendly of the three but is named after a bomb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭Cordell

It had it's most dramatic adoption and expansion in the years following actual atomic weapons being used, so the name is not the issue. Green activists, useful idiots and eco terrorism is the problem, and the hostile state behind them.

….maybe serious nuclear accidents actually caused a significant amount of fears over the technology!

Nope, serious accidents like Three Mile Island and Windscale didn’t stop nuclear energy adoption. Chernobyl disaster didn't start the scale back, that only started with some weirdly energetic if you pardon the pun campaigns against a couple of energy sources that could have resulted in Europe being self sufficient energy wise. Nuclear energy is safe and clean, much safer and cleaner than fossil energy, and fracking is not more dangerous than regular extraction methods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,776 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I can't remember the precise figures but I believe it's along the lines of, in the next hour more people will die from fossil fuel emissions than have ever died from nuclear power related incidents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,552 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

That I’m delighted the uk high court made a sensible ruling about gender .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

^ pleased that a court has legally recognised gas been bloody obvious since the beginning of time.

A woman is a woman.

I accept that there are some who aren't happy in their biological body and want to appear to the world differently but trying to wipe out biological women in pursuit of their wishes is pathetic and unacceptable.

Why we should be forced to share spaces only open to women with a man dressed/saying they are a woman is completely unacceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭CardF

^ absolutely. this was never a serious question. that society can be screeched into questioning such basics is a sad indictment. a tiny minority must adapt to the norm, rather than the other way around. we all have our private issues, the rest of us deal with it.

anyway controversial opinion. the face veil is a security threat, as is any full face covering, and an abuse of womens rights, it should be banned europe wide. if not in public then at the very least at the discretion of any private business and/or state property. we should not pander to this backward barbaric practice.

this also shouldnt be controversial, but for some reason is.

Bailey had a “borderline personality” based on “narcissism, psycho-rigidity, violence, impulsiveness, egocentricity with an intolerance to frustration and a great need for recognition”.

Psychiatrist Jean Michel Masson and psychologist Katy Lorenzo-Regreny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,598 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

^yep, I agree with the above posts. It was a massive ruling with ramifications that will stretch far and wide.

Crystal clear unanimous ruling by the UK Supreme court who clarified (the UK 2010 equalities act) which had been misinterpreted & misinterpreted over the years. Just goes to show how a "controversial opinion" one day may not be a controversial opinion the next day.

The problem with democracy is that when you make a big mistake you are done, even if you're in the best position with the best skills and experience to fix it. In comes a new guy to start again and learn as he goes.

It's like if Sir Alex Ferguson was sacked for not winning the league between 04-06 and they appointed a new fellow who'd never been a manager.

But what can we do we can't change the system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭Pants in socks

Retractable alligator teeth need to be installed at pedestrian crossings that come up on the road when the green man is illuminated.

Too many dickheads mostly on pushbikes but sometimes in mpvs going through red lights.

This could be coupled with technology that allows paramedic drivers and firefighters to lower them remotely if they need to break a red.

Garda vehicle should have speed limiters fitted that can only be deactivated once the blues are turned on. And each time they’re turned on there must be a documented reason why.

Too many Gardaí abusing their power.

They’re exempted from the RTA but most of them speed outside of pursuit and emergency situations.

They should only be allowed to exercise this exemption when situations call for it, not on the way to getting their deli.

In saying that it’s a shᎥtty job with equally shᎥtty pay that I wouldn’t touch with a barge pole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,979 ✭✭✭Suckler

Why not all cars then? Limiters fitted to every car to max 120kph; I see plenty abusing the speed limits on all types of roads.

No proof of any of that. Unless you think that Gardai should take their time hanging around doing nothing while they're working…

Actually I think all emergency vehicles should use the lights all the time - if they wait in traffic they are wasting their time and fuel and vehicle wear for which we are all paying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,233 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

But how would you know if a guard car driving behind you was trying to pull you over or not then?

It is actually bizarre that cars are allowed to be sold that are capable of driving at speeds far beyond the law of the land.