Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Connacht Team Talk Thread VI - Some like it TOH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭SqueakyKneecap

I think the plan was for Seib to replace Wilkins in 2026 anyways and this process was sped up. I have a feeling Wilkins was the one that made the call in terms of timing and if so, fair play to him. A lot more to life than rugby and money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭testtech05

I noted the last line of the Connacht statement mentioned starting the process to recruit a new head coach so I think I would be somewhat disappointed if Seib got it by default (even if that was the plan all along the optics wouldnt be hectic)

Admittedly I dont know a lot about him bar what I have read on here and if it is the case he is taking over I hope it goes well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭theVersatile

I hope Wilkins is okay. Maybe I'm reading too much into it but between his statement and the sick leave there's a touch of mental health trouble being indicated.

All the best to him, hope he looks after himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 844 ✭✭✭RonnieL

Funny you say that, because I thought that title was weird at the time too, and we all wondered what the dynamic was going to be.

So if rte are correct, and Seib will be head coach, why did the branch include this as the last line in their statement : "Cullie Tucker will remain as interim head coach for the rest of the campaign, and the club will now begin the process of recruiting a new head coach for the 2025/26 season."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,478 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

We know nothing about Seib outside of where he has worked. We have to give him a chance. It won't take long to find out what he's like.

The first thing we want to see is him sorting out the defensive coaching. If he makes moves there then I'd be very hopeful that it will work out.

We need a coach with a bit of a ruthless streak in him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

I don’t know much about Seib but it looks like he has never been head coach of a professional team before?

If we are going to give someone like that a shot I would far rather Nigel Carolan. He has been successful in every role he ever had and knows Connacht rugby inside and out. Expect he will be a head coach in the short term and it will be a real blow if he is successful, when Connacht are seemingly lurching from one appointment to another.

Ideally though, there would be an actual interview process and opportunity to interview a range of people with different perspectives. I know there is limited time but I really don’t like tunnel focus on one guy. Ruane and co have already done that. It has not worked well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭jim Dempsey

Someone had said he fell out with the players and his position became untenable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭MarinersBlues

You have trotted into this thread making three posts all with pretty **** takes, that have absolutely no basis in fact.

Give It a break.

Wilkins always came across as a decent guy, and it looks like Connacht wanted to retain him to focus on defence again. It's a pity they couldn't work something out.

The management team could look alright if they find a decent defence coach with the budget left.

The next two weeks will tell us where we stand regarding outhalves and full backs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭CowboyTed

Jaysus Jim,

You are shopping in Aldi again, then giving the look that it is all Marks and Sparks…

We supplied you a full backline almost and you looking for more… We have a few coaches we could give you, you can have them with the vouchers you got for getting the others….

Solid stats, you are right, around the field they are good.

Least amount of lineouts lost in the league, I think the problem is where we have lost those lineouts…

We seem to be unable to secure the lineout in opposition 22…

https://www.unitedrugby.com/statistics/2024-25

But I do stand corrected… I blamed the lineout in error

And to show perception over reality…

We have the second worst Scrum in URC ahead of Ulster.…

No. 1 is Benetton with Dewald Senekal as an assistant coach (forwards but not Scrum Coach)…

So lets compared where we have gone from 2 seasons ago to where we are now…

So 22/23 season first and 24/25 second

Attack 12th → 2nd (+10 places)👍️

Defence 3rd → 13th (-10 places)🛑

Kicking 11th → 16th (-5 places Last)🛑

Discipline 10th → 5th (-5 places)👍️

Lineout 2nd → 1st (-1 places)👍️

Scrum 4th → 13th (+11 places)🛑

Position in the league 7th → 13th 🛑

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,289 ✭✭✭realhorrorshow

Wilkins was defence coach in 22/23. Fardy has been a flop unfortunately, I was quite hopeful based on all the chat about how good he was around the squad while at Leinster.

Chances of Nigel Carolan are pretty slim…

With Gregor Townsend leaving the Scottish National job, Franco Smith is being tipped for the Scottish Head Coach.

Nigel is very popular in Glasgow (no surprise there), he would have some very interesting options in front of him… He is still relatively young with a young family that is very settled in Glasgow.

Just don't see it happening yet… Great Coach who was one of secret weapons for years…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,006 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Think it confirms what our eyes also tell us. The biggest problems have been our terrible defence and woeful kicking game. I love Ioane with ball in hand but he can't kick snow off a rope.

An added problem this season is our scrum has gone backwards. Used to be very solid and reliable. Now we leak pens at the scrum.

I think Wilkins was kind of caught when he got promoted… After touring with Ireland they pushed for his promotion and as kind of obligation and a previous arguement with a player on the team, his coaching team looked untested in areas. That brought in problems…

Mark Sexton took a few months to bed in and thus we felt we weere going back and forth across the pitch.. Saying that, he has the attack very well set up now and he is a fine coach and we can get a thank you card from Ulster.

Defence has been a mess… Just plain and simple… I think Wilkins tried to take over it (rumour) but he was then trying to do his main job as well as another job with no one like Andy Friend to give a quite word of wisdom…

This I think can be very isolating… It is just too much and I mainly blame IRFU who pushed too hard ( not because they are evil or anything, just pushing too hard)…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,542 ✭✭✭✭cson

I'd love for Carolan or someone like Felix Jones to get a shot.

Ruane seems to think because Pat Lam and Friendy worked out to a reasonable degree that a foreign coach is a panacea to all ills, conveniently forgetting Keane and Wilkins. Not that being foreign or domestic should matter, as you said we should interview a range of candidates and may the best one win the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭MarinersBlues

Conor McPhillips for a defence/attack job?

More of an attack/skills coach but surely he would consider a move home from Georgia.

I think Carolan is on a trajectory that would mean only the top job would make sense, and that seems to be gone already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭ElisaAtWar

Think that's a fair assessment. Pete was put into a position that he simply didn't have the experience to succeed at. We see this in all occupations. And this becomes taxing. Because the position is very much in the public eye makes it even harder. You can read just this from what Wilkins said.

'the longer I have spent in the role, the further away I have found myself from the aspects of coaching not only that I most enjoy, but also that allow me to contribute most effectively to the team.'

Now while one poster suggests there is more to life than rugby and money the reality for Pete is he has a wife and young family to support. He is looking at a situation where his capabilities are being publicly questioned and wondering what his future holds.

As such he talks about simply going back to a level he is more comfortable with managing. His worry is will potential employers be happy to overlook his most recent work experience.

I do remember a time when I went skiing for the first time. So I got the grip of the green slopes. Then took the lift to the blue slopes but they were closed so continued to the red slopes. They were terrifying. So I walked back down and went back to the green slopes. But I had at this point totally lost my initial confidence so it was like starting at square one all over again. But worse than that I now had a strong doubt in my mind.

So I understand that concept of mental capacity being damaged and employers do also. Like everyone I wish Pete well. He is a genuine person that just traveled too close to the sun. I hope he can recover and find his mojo again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭seanin4711

root and branch clearout required TBH is my feelings and start over

tucker is not good at all as interim unfortunatley

I think it is a simple case of him being a good coach but not a manager …

I have been told that Andy Friend didn't take a single coaching session in Connacht Rugby… He was the Manager not a coach… Different skill set and not necessarily a promotion.

We have the same thing in many other industries, a great plumber doesn't mean he is a good Site Foreman OR A excellent Software Engineer is a a good Project Manager…

This is why Felix Jones might not necessarily want to be a head coach(Manager).

And I think Pete found being away from players coaching and dealing with other player issues while managing coaches draining…

I really hope Pete gets back to where he loved his job as I only heard he is a nice man..

Is it strange but I am looking forward to next season now….

What ever happens we are going to have a big shake up to our coaching structure and while some parts are good our defence would be hard to be worse.

What we need is:

1. Head Coach
    2. Defence Coach
    3. Out Half (at least one as JJ is gone and Jack looks likely(No Announcement))
      1. Personally I would ask Jack to stay 6 months to see if the new coach wants him
    4. Full Back

This is the bare minimum really…

Options for Out Half could be Calum Sheedy if Cardiff need the money (wage bill reduction)…

At least we have options now… The last few months have seemed a bit hopeless watching a fine team massively under perform and no action done to correct it…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 473 ✭✭ShineyShiney

Naughton will likely step up to the senior roster as 1 of 3 no. 10's

Ioane, Naughton and Carty or perhaps we will repurpose Hawkshaw to 10. Should Carty retire or move on I would hope that we would replace but I'd prefer not to block Naughton and spend the funds saved from Cordero and Porch on a kicking 15.

That way we can look at an NIQ 15 as Ioane has the 10 NIQ spot taken.

Post edited by ShineyShiney on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,592 ✭✭✭FACECUTTR

CoUld do with a big second row and a big hooker. The second rows are not big carriers and Joyce has not been great lately. Heff is not getting any younger and DTM is decent but I feel he is a little on the small side along with De Buitlear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 473 ✭✭ShineyShiney

I totally agree but I think it's unlikely we will be able to buy more size than our competitors in the current market.

I kind of think we are on the right track in terms of fast accurate attack, quality lineout and a solid scrum. If we could add some security at the back and a kicker we would win an extra 2-4 games a season.

That's all we need for regular top 8 and the exposure in the CC we require to attract better players down the line.

A successful season next year imo is 8th or better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭ElisaAtWar

'Is it strange but I am looking forward to next season now….'

Its somewhat funny. You make one comment I agree with and then a comment like above which I completely disagree with. If what I believe is going to happen, Seib getting the main job without any search, I believe Connacht is flucked for the next few years to come. I suppose the bright side to this is that Willie Ruane will have no choice but to step aside after pure gross incompetence.