Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No quitten we're whelan onto chitchat 12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,014 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

Delighted for him - I was sure he'd blown it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,543 ✭✭✭DBK1

Delighted for Rory, he deserves that more than anyone else. I don’t know how they handle the pressure, my nerves are in bits the last 5 hours and I’m only sitting on the couch looking at it.

Some achievement, best sportsman/woman ever from this little island.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Tileman

ah incredible. Delighted for him. His talent deserved that. He will win many more now that he has the monkey off his back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,289 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

Our minds and the contexts they're in are funny things, what pressure was McIlroy under after? He's a multi multi millionaire from playing tiddly winks and it's not like he was operating on someone's brain or defusing a bomb.

He's doing the same thing week in week out for his whole life and still struggles to maintain his standards when it matters. Maybe it's the element of (relative) risk management that flips the mind?

It's amazing that there isn't simple routines and systems to manage this in the professional sports world. I suppose if they were normal balanced people they wouldn't be at it.

As for our greatest sportsman, he's certainly the best Irish golfer ever but it is still a privileged minority sport that doesn't have a large reach, unlike say soccer or athletics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,373 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Jazus, the sun and dry weather is getting to everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,301 ✭✭✭cute geoge

Mighty achievement by Rory and all you can do is pick faults .

This was the culmination of all his training ,analysis ,experience and he knew if he blew it ,he would propbaly never again get the chance to prove his talent was worldly record breaking .

He gives joy for people to watch ,he gives the inspiration to doctors (that you mention)to suceed in the life saving operations they preform .

He is a complete professional ,how many times did it look like he had blown it last night but he kept battling back ,that is the role model that children need to look up to but hey in your eyes he is only a master of tiddly winks ,everyone it seems can not be as brillant as you .

Play tell us again what you have achieved that is so earth shattering or is that you just are a know all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭green daries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

I remember as as a small kid watching Rory putting balls into a a washing machine one morning on the UTV breakfast show. I remember trying it myself when I came home from school. Couldn't hit the washing machine never mind get it in the door of it & my golf hasn't improved anything since.

I am delighted for him, he has battled hard to be the top in his profession, there has been plenty to knock him but its a fantastic achievement for him.

Not a wind up but I was wondering after how long it would take someone to to come out with the "what have you won?" line. Thanks for the compliments though, I'll take them all. 😄

Go easy with the messenger shooting, if you can't read the message, it's probably gone over your head, apologies if I triggered you, it wasn't the intention of the post.

To indulge you and try and re explain, I've missed a few shots, from pressure, the yips, the man on your shoulder. I also nailed the most that came my way under similar pressure. Looking back, in my limited amateur experience, the difference was a combination of preparation, technique, and experience.

At the top top level, Michael Jordan has a great quote about how many shots, free throws etc he missed, so it would seem to be normal thing in sport, even for the greatest, and yet in reality there's actually nothing at stake.

There are endless monetary resources and rewards available at these levels of sport, and yet quite often, there is a fail ure to overcome such issues and achieve levels of collected composure expected, and even taken for granted, in people's real working lives.

It's not a new thing for golfers, or Rory in particular, and on a golfing and personal level I'm delighted for him, that he's raised himself a level on the all times golfing greats list, that he has got the Augusta monkey off his back, that he has won a major again after all his early success, his return to form and near misses, and that he has fought with his demons and came out on top for once. Existentially though, it's not a big thing.

I see this boards discussion forum, hence my post on the curiosities of the human mind, "Under pressure" 🎶

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,488 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Brownes are causing chaos around here now, they sold Thousands of euros worth of vouchers on Mothers day and closed the doors two days later.

They still have tullamore open but refuse to redeem the vouchers bought in Tyrrellspass, A friend bought €250 worth for presents and they're worthless now, she's 90 years of age and very disappointed'

I got on to 103fm to investigate them , I'd consider their action nearly fraud, hopefully it'll make brownes change their minds about honouring them

That’s a nasty way to carry on.

I felt sorry for them closing down as I ate there regular enough and always liked the food and service but that has changed my perspective now.

I’d expect most people will stop reading when they get to “tiddly winks” so anything after that is irrelevant.

I know nothing about certain sports, like cricket, hockey, mma and plenty more. I’d still never dismiss the achievements of anyone that excels in them sports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,488 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,002 ✭✭✭roosterman71

They won't be welcomed back if they try to reopen. I know one lad bought vouchers on mothers day and they closed. So himself and the Mrs went to Tullamore and ate all they could and gave the vouchers which were rejected. They just left told them to contact the boss man! What is the story around making one of the employees there a director a few days before closing up?

I wouldn't either. For tiddly winks, if it helps, read "sport of your choice".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

There won't be another Irish person to achieve what Rory has done now in golf (in a very lucrative sport that the world and it's mother wish they could play as well as this) in our lifetimes.

But for this one man and his talent and his family's time and money given to him to pursue this life, we wouldn't be here today posting of him.

I know it's special and rare. Most people do too. Lesson for all. Chill out and take it for what it is, unprecedented and special for this country.

In case more umbrage is taken of his place of birth. He's been in the Irish championships all his life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭lmk123

happened me years ago with a hardware shop. He closed unexpectedly and opened a new one in a different town. I went in and got a drill and gave him the voucher for the old shop, he didn’t want to take it but I told him he knew he was closing the shop when he sold the voucher and he could go and F off after that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,373 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,318 ✭✭✭older by the day

Unless you're from West Cork. When you consider Paul O Donovan trained to be a medical doctor while winning gold Olympic MEDALS sss for Ireland, how many Olympic and European medals is that now.

No confusion about which flag to stand under When it comes to skibbereen boys.

Every time I read comments on boards, I have to remind myself, not everyone is lucky enough to be from West Cork 🙃

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Packrat

Don't forget what Tobin said about ye...

"West Cork? A shur they're not Corkmen at all, - They're only Kerrymen with shoes"

He really was brilliant. Before his time.

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭148multi

Possibly two different companies, and if it's the case the media is the way to go.

Probably didn't want to be a director of a company that was wound up, would be barred from being a director of any company for a number of years, maybe 7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,318 ✭✭✭older by the day

He was very funny, really witty. John b Keane and bredan grace, dermot Morgan ect.

Am I getting old, but it's hard to find comedians nowadays that don't depend on sarcasm or being vulgar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Packrat

In a more jaded society where we've heard everything, it's getting more difficult. I've no issue with vulgarity - I think Jimmy Carr is brilliant as was Tommy Tiernan in his heyday, but Michael McIntyre would be the closest. I saw him recently and he was very good.

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭endainoz

Apparently bayer is considering halting roundup production due the huge mounting legal costs, wouldn't have thought it was possible with huge business it's worth but it might happen. Three weeks ago they were ordered to pay 2 billion dollars in a case, and plenty more on the horizon.

What would conventional lads do without roundup, would it just be a case of moving on to some other glysohpate product instead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭Tonynewholland

After winning the gold he arrived back into Dublin airport and not even a lift home organised for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,927 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

The danger is the production of glysohpate might cease and then there is a problem.

Some of these cases are ridiculous. One poor chap developed cancer but it was openly declared in court he never followed basic recommended safety precautions. He had an accident where a burst hose drenched him in chemical and he continued to work for the day. But still the court awarded him multi million compensation package if not billions when he developed cancer.
    I can’t see how you can completely misuse a product and then claim damages when it goes badly, that’s not proper justice, that’s emotion and propaganda over facts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,927 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Have been to Michael McIntyre a few times and he’s just marvellous. Was at Dara O’Brein recently and he’s wonderful too.

• Registered Users Posts: 255 ✭✭WoozieWu

grass farmers would work away with a bit of difficulty reseeding, we would need to burn a lot more diesel

tillage lads will be put out of business without glyphosate i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭V6400

Is he considering himself Irish now still or is he still confused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭straight

Ya, you're getting old. Mario Rosenstock is very good. I saw him in Killarney recently. Going to see conor moore later in the year.

Strictly speaking it might not be comedy but I'd prefer it myself. Those "comedians" do too much shouting. Jimmy carr can be alright, he's very sharp.