Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Premier League Champions 24/25 - Talk /Gossip/Rumours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,483 ✭✭✭dogbert27

Yeah, I read that they wanted a manager who could work with the players and system that was already there.

To hire Amorim would have meant changing everything for the manager which would set the club back in development.

United keep saying they have no money to buy players which makes it even weirder that they hired Amorim who will require a large budget to get the players he needs to play his system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,542 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Im gonna get a (small - missus orders) updated and framed version of the Champions Wall for the office when we finally get over the line.

One thing that struck me was how often we win trophies recently:

2018/2019: CL

2019/2020: Prem/CWC

2020/2021: nothing

2021/2022: FA Cup and League Cup

2022/2023: Nothing

2023/2024: League Cup

2024/2025: Prem

Something in of 5 of the last 7 seasons.

To think we also have two second places, 2 CL runners up. a League Cup runners up.

It really is phenomenal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,338 ✭✭✭giveitholly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,149 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Where are you getting it from? I had a look at getting one 3d printed a couple of years ago but never followed up on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,885 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

Just seen Spurs now have 17 losses this season, as many as we've had since November 2021.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,258 ✭✭✭Damien360

that’s a stunning level of preparedness by the club if that’s true. Well done. To think that changing a manager would often require wholesale and costly squad changes to suit his style and instead the sporting director can steer the club to a manager that has similar traits.

Was just going to get a print from Etsy or the like.

3d print now, that sounds like more cash than I was considering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭riddles

not just playing the way the first team plays but right through the academy as well which was deemed to be too big of step when there was already a successful model in place.

Yeah I think that was my issue

Have no idea why the club don't sell them

Sounds like the type of thing Displate should do, might make a request.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

I remember seeing this Champions Wall display before, you can swap the numbers when we win more!

I didn't get it in the end so can't vouch for it at all, but in case you're interested...

https://kop-chants.com/products/lfc-champions-wall-desktop-replica-with-easy-swop-numbers

Untitled Image

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,033 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Liverpool captain Virgil van Dijk is expecting a big summer in the transfer market as the club look to build on their pending Premier League title triumph.

“I think Liverpool should be able to challenge for titles in the upcoming years,” said Van Dijk, who captained the team for the 100th time against West Ham.

“Whatever happens in terms of players going out, players coming in, I think it should be a big summer. I think they’re planning to make it a big summer, so we all have to trust the board to do the right job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,928 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

They say it takes a manager 1,2,3 seasons to put his mark on a team/club. … are we seeing the transition from Klopp to Slot past few week, as for first 25 games, I saw Klopp when we played, not so much now.

Is it a side of things to come ……

vUwErL.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭The Moist Buddha

100%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭FernandoTorres

And who did you see during Klopp's March to May of last year? The ghost of Roy Hodgson?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,232 ✭✭✭ebbsy

I am getting a lot of the "sure ye lot are only top of the league because everyone else is shite"

I always answer back with "agreed and long may it continue"

I want our opposition to remain weak. Makes it easier for Liverpool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,885 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

When they say the league is shíte what they really mean is United are shíte and they're feigning a general waning interest in football to make themselves feel better about Liverpool winning #20.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,760 ✭✭✭✭rob316

This 100%

When City are winning 15 games in a row steamrolling everyone, winning 4 leagues in a row apparently its not **** though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭The Moist Buddha

why is everyone so obsessed with Man Utd in this thread?

I think it's fine to discuss Amorim in the context of the discussion, he was on our list at one point

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,789 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Its hilarious how ManU fans i know are all running with this losing interest narrative.

Not once in all the years watching their success was i ever not obsessively interested, i still have all the jerseys and trips to Anfield photos to prove it.

Also i find im not dishing out the abuse i took for many many years , it must be because im older now :)

All the talk of a bad league from rival fans yet their teams are miles behind the leaders of this so called bad league.

Its actually the opposite, so many teams have upped it this season making it a vastly harder league than previous seasons.

Why do that to yourself? Pick out a few dodgey weeks out of a season where we both challenged and won a Trophy (nevermind the previous years).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭King Power Fox

There is no such thing as worst winners. You win over 38 games and there is no dispute. You win in any given year by playing what is in front of you. Liverpool have been excellent this year - of which Slot must get enormous credit as well as the professional attitude of the players. Compare any Liverpool player to the attitude displayed by most Man United players. Leicester had 3 world class players in 2016 along with 4-5 more who had the best season of their careers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭FernandoTorres

I'm more challenging this weird narrative that Slot isn't actually very good and the reason we're winning the league is because of Klopp. Klopp was obviously a genius but let's not pretend he didn't have bad patches and blind spots too.

Right..but Klopp was there for 9 years, not just those couple of weeks you reference.

He also signed everyone we have.

There is nothing weird about it imo. Klopp clearly played a huge part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭JPup

Slot has done exceptionally well this season. Better than anyone could have realistically hoped.

Getting Gravenberch playing like a £100 million signing so quickly was a masterstroke. The top three central midfield players in the league this season in my opinion have been Gravenberch, MacAllister and Rice followed by the likes of Tielemans, Bruno Guimaraes and Caicedo. You can see how much City missed Rodri.

CDM was the position we were really lacking in at the end under Klopp hence the bid of over £100 million for Caicedo. If offered a straight swap now between the two, I think most people would choose to hold on to Gravenberch which shows how far he's come.

The rumours seem to be that we are targetting two defenders and a forward this summer with the potential to go straight into the first team. Our transfer hit rate has been really good over the past few years so hopefully the data analysts come up trumps again. Within two years, as Salah, Virgil, Robertson and Becker start to bow out this will really become Slot's team. Exciting to see where we end up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,279 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

The way I see this, you can't turn a bad team into a good one in a matter of weeks but you certainly can turn a good team into a bad one in a matter of weeks if the squad doesn't believe in what you're doing.

Players generally can sniff out a spoofer pretty quickly, and Slot being able to get the squad on board quickly and then evolve the style to match his own is a testament to him firstly and to the leaders within the squad as well.

This squad is going to start to break up and change over the next year or two, between Slot and Hughes/whoever they have to get good lead characters on board.

''Real Madrid and Liverpool could star in one of the most popular moves in the next signing market. The white club has Alexis Mac Allister, an Argentine midfielder who has been key in the scheme of the Networks , who has aroused several European giants in the offices of Santiago Bernabéu. His profile likes very much, and contemplates the possibility of including players in the operation to convince the English ensemble.

One of the names that has emerged as a currency of exchange is that of Arda G.ler. The young Turkish delight, signed two summers ago with great expectation''

Mac to Madrid.

Now that would not be cool. He's the most vital cog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,233 ✭✭✭jones

What's everyone's thoughts on Gravenberch this season? It's a funny one for me, he was unstoppable for the first half of the season but I feel like he's kind of vanished since Christmas. Or more likely opposition teams have worked out to play again him Szob and Mac in midfield.

Our midfield looks imperious for the first half of the season and we genuinely looked unstoppable. I don't think it's any coincidence since January our midfield has been bypassed or overrun by a lot of teams and we've given up control in a lot of games particularly in the last month.

Is this partly tiredness or something deeper?