Sales people calling to your door

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭Charlo30

For me it's simple. Open the door. If interested I'll engage. If not, I'll tell them no thanks. All the best and close the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Random person shows up at people's door unannounced and expects them to sign up for something that involves handing over their bank details and other personal information.

And then they wonder why people aren't welcoming them in with open arms?

• Site Banned Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭Raichų

but sure if you ring or go into the shop is it any different in fairness? It’s still a random person you don’t know them.

Lots of people do business with sales reps door to door on an hourly basis let alone daily. But you won’t find that here- contrary land.

If I go into a shop then it’s generally possible to verify that the salesperson actually works there (if I so wish) before handing over personal info or banking info.

Whereas the cold-caller to my door is asking me to trust them that they actually work for the company or charity that they are claiming to represent.

Then you’re dealing with bad reps. If you want to substantiate who I work for and my ID isn’t good enough I can:

send you an email from my work email, you can speak to my manager, you can phone the company and verify my staff number.

But that puts to one side the fact no one is going to bother trying to phish your personal info by calling to your home. That’s absolutely ridiculous and doesn’t happen. I’ll happily stand corrected on this if you can provide something to correct me.

I also won’t accept the likes of travellers offering handy man jobs and robbing pensioners as proof. If you have any example of someone having their personal information stolen by a door salesperson (who would actually be a door phishing scammer) I will concede I am wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭New Scottman

The difference between employees in shops vs door-to-door salespeople is this

The latter engage in intimidation, bullying & harassment (similar to charity collectors who physically try to stop you walking down the street). The employees in the shop don't do this and are generally much more passive. Also, a customer makes a conscious decision to go into a shop. They have no choice in who calls to their door unsolicited.

have you proof of those claims or can I just add it to the “that never happened” pile?

I have an example visiting a well known telecommunications companies shop, being asked if I wanted to renew my contract early and take a shite offer and when I refused it was done anyway. Nerfaious characters exist in every channel. Some just want a handy sale for themselves.

You also seem to be conflating doorstep traders as they’re called with reps for actual companies that exist.

You’ve shown up - uninvited - at my door, trying to get me to hand over my bank details.

The onus isn’t on me to justify myself in that situation

When did people get so defensive, so scared, so nervous of their own s**t that they are hiding behind fancy video doorbells afraid to open the door to someone they don't recognize, or answer their phone when a number they don't recognize comes up ?

People can have their guard down when at home. If someone is not feeling confident, it can be challenging to deal with esp. pushy types. There are valid scenarios where someone would understandably feel uncomfortable with a stranger at the door asking questions.

On a separate note…There seems to be an inbuilt cultural niceness in Irish people that doesn’t want to say no or cause offence. “Sorry (no/thank you)” is a very Irish response that is taken for granted but speaks volumes of cultural conditioning. “Not today” …another one 😅

An American, on the other hand would more naturally saying “Im not interested, bye” with an assertive confident tone. Frank & straight to the point.

I’m not trying to get you to do anything that you don’t want to do- that’s the difference.

If you took this thread at face value you’d swear we’re turning up with fecking crowbars.

What annoys me is when cold callers knock on the door despite the very visible "no cold callers" sign on the letterbox.

And then give you a cheeky "so, you're not interested in saving money?" when I tell them I'm not interested in whatever they're flogging.

That's when I close the door in their faces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,760 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

I did stupidly buy of an Eir door salesman once. Worst thing I ever done. Was told lies and the contract I got was totally different to what I was told so I got rid as soon as I could and never buy anything from sales people at the door again. It is the most expensive and worst way to buy something.

I had a girl today trying to sell me bins. I said I would think about it. If I want to get bins I ring up the company or go online and buy that way when I can see or hear what I am getting. I never buy anything at the door now never.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭BP_RS3813

Its not a bad trait to be defensive and have your guard up. The camera doorbell allows you to see if for example, the fella looks like a door to door salesman and you can just not bother.

With regards to phone numbers I don't think its that bad. If its a foreign number I don't bother but any irish number I will answer - worst case its just a 'sorry pal you've got the wrong number'.

Door to door selling is an outdated practise and why some people don't see it as a pain in the arse nowdays I have no clue. If I want something I will look for it and find it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,190 ✭✭✭Greyfox

Well technically you are, at the exact moment a person answers the door the person is not interested and doesn't want to sign up or buy anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,458 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

When cold callers started robbing places or running scams.

Think that might have something to do with people being cautious?

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,357 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

Before they even begin their pitch i just say I dont sign up for anything on my doorstep and bid them farewell. Never had any pushback.

there’s some difference between explaining the benefits of switching to our product or service vs bullying/intimidation/lying in order to achieve that end.

As I have stated several times; please if anyone can give an honest to God account of being bullied or intimidated into signing up for something at the door? All I’ve seen to prove this happens are stories of doorstep “traders” scamming aul ones out of gutter cleaning.

Has a rep from eir, Vodafone, Sky etc ever actually threatened or intimidated anyone here? I would seriously be interested in hearing what happened.

Sales is about convincing that’s half the job/ but there’s trying to sell your product and bullying someone into signing up— totally different things. There’s also stern rules around what we can and cannot do by the way. If you have been lied to by a door rep you need to take note of their full name and who they work for.

Contact the company, give the agents name and YOUR address (or someone near you) the reason is all reps are assigned areas to work. If you phone say, Bord Gais and say hey look I’d a rep of yours out here in (your general area) his name was John Appleseed.

They can then sort it out. You must understand no company will accept their reps bullying or intimidating anyone! It makes them look really bad! So definitely report it. I’ll happily give my details to anyone who asks and feels they should report me.

I can say in 6+ months on the doors I’ve never had anyone ask for my details to do so and indeed I’ve only had one guy who didn’t appreciate our interaction.

The reason being was he just got so cagey about everything and when asked what he was paying he claimed it was a private matter between himself and supplier, I couldn’t help it, I just laughed. I think he did complain about that but I’m not sure.

Anyway, look lads, just verify who you’re dealing with and keep a note of their info should you choose to deal with them. Also keep in mind for any service or product you sign up to at the door as of January 2025 (think since the 16th or so) you have a 30 day cooling off period not the standard 14 day.

if you’re again it you’re again it and that’s grand- but making up stories and fake hysteria is just really silly imo. Plenty of genuine scams to speak about- let’s not make up ones.

Honestly if you have that happen in future, take their name and contact the company they are working for.

If Sky, Bord Gais contact Uniquely (formerly CPM)

Vodafone can be King Communications or Vodafone Directly

The rest I’m fairly sure just sort it out internally or use FMI (Field Management Ireland). Either way you have full right to complain if your sign is ignored.

I used to think they were a suggestion also but I’ve learned during induction and training those signs for junk mail etc are absolutely to be adhered to- in fact for junk mail say; if an post doesn’t respect your request you can complain and same goes for no cold caller/sales people etc.

I genuinely wouldn't want to get anyone in trouble. But the young pup who got sarcastic with me that time really did piss me off. I remember thinking at the time, "that is not a great strategy for gaining customers!"

I work from home 80% of the time as well, so unnecessary interruptions annoy me. Now I use my Ring camera to screen callers to the door. Even deliveries, I usually just ask them to drop on the doorstep and I'll go out for them later. The regular delivery guys even know to just drop and go at my house! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭NickNickleby

Never had a problem with sales people at the door, bar one guy who got me to sign up with Electric Ireland, telling me they would sort out everything and there would be no penalties from Energia. Few days later I get a penalty notice from Energia. Immediately onto Electric Ireland to reverse the switch with a scathing complaint about being misled. Pointless exercise, they did the cancellation but no apology. English wasn't the guys first language, so that was probably used as the get out of jail card if it even got that far. Heigh ho, lesson learned.

Have had uncomfortable interactions at the door with the usual suspects, in one case I rang the garda, who said "did you agree to anything?" Of course I didn't agree to anything and he said he'll pressure wash a small area for free to show how good it is. I said no you won't, he's walking out the gate saying, you'll change your mind when you see it. I grab my phone and let him see me. 5 minutes later he's banging the door down threatening me for ringing the garda. Naturally, I didn't open it.

But for sheer cheek , I had a young girl canvassing for the Soc Dems. I said my mind was all ready made up, and they didn't feature on my list. "So, you don't actually care about the homeless people sleeping on our streets tonight!!"

I said I did, but didn't really believe the Soc Dems would have the power to effect any changes. She snatched the flyer from my hand and said "there's no point in wasting our money giving you this".

I said " there's four other voters in this house, for whom I do not speak. Looks like the won't get to see your flyer" , but I was gently spoken, as I could see her enthusiasm had just got the better of her

She literally stomped down my path onto the street. I have family members who are registered Soc Dem supporters, I told them about a good way to disconnect from possible voters.

Back on point, I'm always nice to callers, they're probably at their 1000th door by the time they get to me. They're probably despondent enough as it is, a pleasant no thanks and a smile usually gets a smile back. Alls good in the world.

As I have stated several times; please if anyone can give an honest to God account of being bullied or intimidated into signing up for something at the door? All I’ve seen to prove this happens are stories of doorstep “traders” scamming aul ones out of gutter cleaning.

90+% of the time Ive had no problem with door callers.

There was a guy who went on a pushy sales spin without letting me get a word in, not breaking eye contact, quoting figures & rates. A pushy sales person gets you to say yes to incidental things and break you down you till you find yourself saying yes to bigger things. It’s manipulative, there’s a technique to it & it’s not nice. I could handle it but my pulse rising as a stress response. A once a year type incident.

On the whole, I find less callers to the door over the years. The vast majority of times…no probs with genuine reps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,289 ✭✭✭jackofalltrades

Video doorbells are fancy now 😂 OK Grandad. Wait till you hear about Alexa and robot lawnmowers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,713 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Simple solution works for me. I never open the door to people I don't know.

They are relatively new to the mass market, a decade plus.

But are they ubiquitous, I don't think so.

So they are still "fancy" if you ask me.

🤔Im not sure if functional looking tech can be considered fancy. Does it have to look nice and draw attention to be fancy? Some people consider new to be fancy though. It’s such a funny word!

Glitter and ribbons on a new doorbell or robot mower might enhance their fancy 😅

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭8mv

I'm usually courteous and decline politely, I know it's not an easy job, but just the other evening the young lad selling Phonewatch rang the bell AND hammered on the door AT THE SAME TIME! For some reason that turned me, normally a mild-mannered gentleman into a raging bollix.*

*If he calls again I'll apologise for that…

This is exactly what I am getting at ?

Why do you not open the door to people you don't know?

Are you afraid that you will get assaulted?

Are you afraid that you will get scammed?

Are you so arrogant to think that the person at the door and why they are there couldn't possibly be of any value to you?

Are you so arrogant as to think that you're time is too important for their attention?

What if it's someone selling something that could come in useful for you?

What if it's someone who needs help ?

What if you knocked on someone's door looking for help and that person was inside going "I don't know them, I'm not opening the door"

This withdrawal from interaction for whatever reason, and being proud of it, is a said reflection on modern society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,967 ✭✭✭BrianD3

I don't think that callers from legitimate businesses are scammers or phishers however they are still salespeople and people simply don't want to deal with unsolicited sales pitches on their doorstep. . Also, actual scammers and thieves can impersonate legitimate companies e.g. someone claiming to be from Eir wanting to be let in to inspect the phoneline. Or someone claiming to be from an alarm company enquiring about what security you have in the house.

As I said already, I'm wary about NOT answering the door because while that might be fine for ignoring Eir salespeople, i don't want travelling tradesmen thinking that the house is unoccupied.

There's also this - fake phone banking apps and "These Irish guys will clean your driveway without permission and then ask for a couple of €100 for it"

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/police-across-globe-alert-over-35002914

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭SupaCat95

My favourite way to deal with Door to door salesmen is to talk to them about Jehovahs witness. A few copies of "The Watchtower" in the porch is a red light to them. That is one way of getting rid of them.