Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Beef price tracker 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Who2

I’m all continental cattle here but would Angus generally kill out 55%?
    it’s grand for lads to say they are throwing away money but unless you’re killing regularly it can be hard to judge kill outs especially with cows. A lot of lads will ask a few friends to throw an eye on them too and a lot of the time they don’t have a clue either and finish. The conversation with” sure if you are not happy with them you can always bring them home”.

everyone has to learn too and sometimes it’s just the harder way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,540 ✭✭✭weatherbyfoxer

A finished angus will usually kill out around 55%..lots of lads are finished cattle in the mart and claiming they are doing better than the lads killing in factories when as pointed out above numerous times they don't know the value of what they have,..if a lad wants an education putting a half load into the ring and other half into the factory will be a valuable trial.personally i will always be of the belief finished bullocks and heifers will leave the most profit on the hook not in a ring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,545 ✭✭✭DBK1

I’ve just looked down through the catalogue for Cahir and I can only see 1 Angus heifer that made €4.31. The rest were all sold for around €4 - €4.10 and there was a good few lots at €3.80-€3.90 too. Some of them farmers would have had over €300 more from the factory than they got in the mart today.

Lot 3B €4.08.
    Lot 8 €4.02.
    Lot 9 €4.14.
    9A €4.03.
    9B €4.22.
    9C €4.16.
    9E €3.92.
    9F €3.92.
    12A €4.04.
    12C €4.06.
    12E €4.14.
    14E €3.93.
    14F €4.00.
    14G €3.89.
    21 €4.10.
    21A €4.08.
    24E €3.77.
    29A €3.88.
    32 €4.13.

Thats every AAX or Hex bullock of factory going weight that was sold today in Cahir and not 1 made €4.30. On average every one of them bullocks was bought at about €180-€220 less than what the factory would have paid.

There’s the reason for factory prices stalling, if you were a factory owner would you put up your prices to the farmers selling to you when you can just buy from the clowns that will sell you cattle at €200 a head cheaper in the mart instead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭Robson99

I doubt there are that many fools around the ring leaving cattle or should I say €400 behind them.

If I was in the mart and seen something €400 under valued I'd be bidding on it even if I had no place for it....or even at €200 for that matter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭kk.man

Issue there is you and I can't get qa on them. Agents can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭nearlybreak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,540 ✭✭✭weatherbyfoxer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭50HX

Anyone hearing that supermarket contracts are up 1st May & that you are looking at a30% price hike in retail at current factory price.

Could be factory propaganda to pull price.

On the other hand it has to level at some stage

As @kk.man said the problem is the ordinary farmer can’t make back all of that €200. Mart fee’s, haulage and factory fee’s will take €50. Then you need a good relationship with the factory to get them killed as QA’d without the 70 day residency. But the factory agent doesn’t have them sort of worries. He’s saving €160 out of the €200 that the farmer selling in the mart left behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭lstmd

I killed 16 AAX bullocks in January. I asked the haulier to weight the load on the way in and weight out. The average kill out was a little over 50%. They graded O+. I had fed them 3Kgs of meal for 90 days and they were on good silage. Most AAX are out of dairy herds. Kill out will depend on grade, carcase weight and what they have been fed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭epfff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭Robson99

But on € 400 he would make € 240 … there aren't that many fools out there to leave that behind them around the ring

I put up the screenshots and prices from the marts a few posts back, it’s all there in black and white. Some of them cattle would need to be killing out at 45% of their mart weight which would be less than 43% of their fresh weight in the farmers yard for them to have made their factory price. Canner cows would have that type of a killout.

Like yourself I get it very hard to understand it but unfortunately that’s what lads are doing and it’s what’s giving the factories back the power now. And the real frustrating part of it is that these lads are coming out of the marts delighted because they never seen such money before for cattle before and don’t realise what they’ve left behind.

I’ve been talking to a few agents today all from different factories, one has been told not to quote for any more cattle until he receives further instruction tomorrow.

Another says flat prices are gone so we’re back to the grid pricing and quoting €7.70 base price.

Another may possibly get a flat price for next week and if he can it’ll be €8 max, says they’re full up with cattle for the next week or so now.

Looks like the factories have decided to play hard ball now and they’re going to stick together. Whether it’ll work for them or not remains to be seen but it’s time for farmers to stick together now and refuse the poorer prices from the factories and make sure not to under sell finished cattle in the marts for us to try get some of the power back now.

it’s a great way of buying cattle pulling the price they know they are in trouble for may and June so pull price and kill less days is what they are doing do don’t sell anything to them is the answer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Conversations 3

The below are all above 24 months, so it's surely the factory buying them and they'll be on the hook tomorrow.

What would you need in the factory to match those prices?

All finished cattle.

Screenshot_20250410-154539.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,686 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

@Conversations 3 having not seen the cattle its hard to know. The first bullock is an excellent price. But if he was a good "U" bullock capable of killing near 60% then a price of €8.25 per Kg would breakeven. But if you average the 9 of them at 56% then €8.05 would more or less breakeven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Conversations 3

Yea, depends on the grading machine, he was a U anyway, I didn't see the rest.

It'd wreck your head now, factory or mart.

I'll call the agent tomorrow and see what's ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭limo_100

So was this farmer better off in the mart or the factory? if not how much did he leave behind? Have a friend is an agent for a factory and he said he has being told he can't go above what he's told but they are paying more in the mart for cattle than than they are factory because they no some farmers won't go to the mart no matter what. I have cows to sell that's why I was asking he said go to the mart

@limo_100, I honestly don't know. But I would guess he could have gotten a few more € if he hung them up himself. I feel on a load of cattle you will generally do better in the Factory.. the other big factor is mart commission. Some marts are charging 2% of sale price that's €77 off the first bullock.

I haven’t come across that met. It’s 15euros around here to sell usually and 25 in Roscommon but you tend to come out a head there if selling stylish continental cattle

Totally agree with @Anto_meath on this point. However I was in kilkenny today and the factory agents from my calculations were paying 8.30 flat for good heavy cattle. Every factory was represented. I doubt you'd get it yourself in the factories this week. Between their agents and their feedlots they seem confident to get a hold of the trade. How long it will last I don't know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭Aly Daly

You do know & so does everyone else,it is up until the point that Larry Badman &Co. can fill his contracts more comfortably,when that happens everything from the calf to the forward store will look incredibly expensive & the factory net profit will go from almost incredible back to incredible,the dry stock industry in Ireland has long been a loss making labour of love & that is without including the farmers own labour costs which should always be part of the calculation,I hope that this is all about to change as the farmer that can truly present prime stock for market is highly skilled.

@limo_100 Yes it used to be the same around here too & anything over €1,500 was charged at an extra commission, used to get away at between €20 -€24 but that was when it took an exceptional animal to cross €2K, but now that anything half decent is making that I am told the fees have shot up as well.

I watch Roscommon mart a few times on line, supper cattle pass through it. You could nearly close you eyes & buy. I did notice that anything with a touch of black for a limo or mousey brown for a Ch was hard to sell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭Aly Daly

Told fees have shot up!what does that mean?In my opinion the best way forward for this forum is to include mart dockets & kill sheets & remove the pub talk as without the documentation that is all it is,here is a sellers docket from earlier this week south east,mystery over.

Roscommon is a great mart with very underrated land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,207 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Very few AA woukd kill 55% even out of a mart. They would want to be suckler bred and R+ grade. K/O is dependent on the quality of the animal and level of finish.

It's very variable in the marts at present in some cases cattle make factory money or better in some cases not. However mart fees for sellers is 10-20 euuro higher than slaughter fees. Any lad not QA finishing cattle is nuts at this stage. QA even matters in forward stores as larger finishers have tge option of slaughtering them before the 70 day QA withholding limit.

Any lad sending cattle to the mart needs there own scales. Send a bunch early in the year. Two CH heifers dropped 35kgs ( 695 down to 660kgs). The problem actually was they went straight from the truck into the ring. There was water in the holding pens for finished cattle and the bullocks which were heavier lost 20-25kgs. Heifers only just about made factory money. The bullocks beat it by 60-80 after allowing for transport and mart fees.

However I see a ot of cattle make 1-300 and more less. It depends on the mart. In a lot of smaller marts cattle are shared out between certain buyers whether tangler or finishers. It a case of its your turn then mine. And if I am lucky enough the odd one will fall 300+ below factory price. In general I would prefer to deal with the factory but locally they need to step up there game. If you are up in the midlands with 4-5 factories around you. Then marts are not as much of a necessity

Post edited by Bass Reeves on

Slava Ukrainii

They like the golden charolais there in fairness. if you have a golden char that's u grade no mart in the midlands will beat Roscommon.

Its because of that that they breed there cattle so well - they do have the finest weanlings in the country

@Aly Daly, I haven't sold cattle in the mart since early covid and at the time it worked out at €24 a head it was 1.5% of the sale price or €15 a head if under €1,000.