Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Speedy Gonzalez

• 08-04-2025 07:47PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,227 ✭✭✭

Got stopped lately for speeding and got the penalty notice in the post, but there's no photograph of the registration plate of the speeding vehicle on the penalty notice, is this not required? Also, can Garda speed cameras pick out a single road user on a road full of traffic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,830 ✭✭✭CMOTDibbler

Ask for the photo and a wider view photo. Say there were other cars around and you don't think it applies to you.

Although reading it again, it seems you may have been stopped by Gardai? Different rules there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,364 ✭✭✭mikeecho

Yes.. laser guns can detect individual vehicles.

No there won't be a picture.

You started you were stopped.

The Garda took your details, including the reg if the car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,227 ✭✭✭extra-ordinary_

Yes…the Garda was down the road with a speed gun. I thought those cameras took photos. What good is taking my reg after stopping me? Where's the proof I was speeding?

• Site Banned Posts: 12,922 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

The proof? The speed gun. And the Garda evidence that they stopped you for speeding.

Speed guns don't take photos. Photos don't prove speeding.

Yes, but the road was busy with traffic, maybe they took the speed reading of a different vehicle. Where's the evidence that it was my vehicle that was speeding? Because the Garda says so?

Yes. Do you think you were under the speed limit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭mk7r

The gardai don't even need a speed gun to prosecute for speeding, their word is enough to get it to court and you can argue the toss there so they definitely don't need a picture of your reg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭BlakeS94

Stop trying to weasel out of it and just take the hit, it sounds like you were genuinely speeding and got caught, the €160 hurts more than the 3 points to be honest.

Pay the fine and move on with your life. It doesn't affect much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 WanderingMan

If the Garda used a LIDAR gun, which I presume are the most common type in use today, According to my research LIDAR speed guns have a very narrow beam, approximately less than 1 meter over a distance of 300 meters.

Presuming this was the device used, and the Garda in question aimed correctly, then yes, you were the one speeding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,364 ✭✭✭mikeecho

And maybe they took your speed reading and stopped you, cos they have morning better to be doing than stopping random people and giving out tickets for random speeds.

Jeez.. give us a break.. you were stopped, just pay the fine and move on with life .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Lenar3556

Uncorroborated opinion of speed isn’t acceptable for a prosecution. There are basic proofs required from an instrument approved by the commissioner - these are all either laser or radar detectors.

But such equipment doesn’t need to produce an official record. The evidence of the Garda will be accepted unless the defence can give rise to a doubt, for example evidence that the device was faulty, or that the Garda hadn’t been specifically trained in its use.

Some of the new ones do take photos / video, and have the detected speed included on the photo.

But I agree it is not a requirement of the legislation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭mk7r

I disagree unless something has changed, it has been discussed quite thoroughly on the legal forum in the past. If the Garda forms the opinion you are speeding no device need be used. They could base this opinion on how fast they are going in their own car, the relative speed to others on the road etc but obviously a device with a reading makes for a more open and shut case.

No, actually that would never have met the evidential requirements for a speeding offence in Ireland.

RTA 2010, Section 81 sets out the current position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭StonedRaider

Uniden R3 cost less than $300usd

Comes with lifetime updates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Traffic Corps have the hand-held speed guns that take photos but not all Gardai doing speed checks are traffic corps so the others have the normal speed guns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭kirving

This is a good point, and one which could be fairly contested IMO.

2.5mrad on the spec sheet is just the beam divergence, not even the camera pointing accuracy, so at 1193m here, the beam is 3 meters wide.

In theory it could be any of three cars.

image.png

image.png

On a related point, I think motorbikes should be allowed go 10kmh above the quoted speed limit. As it is, heavy vehicles and those pulling a trailer are on reduced speed limits. This is because they are big heavy vehicles and take time to stop. Conversely, motorbikes are lighter and more responsive to accelerating and stopping than heavier cars so whatever limit is set for cars should be 10k below what is set for motorbikes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,011 ✭✭✭creedp

If you operate from that perspective then if a truck can do 80kph then a car should be allowed do 90kph min. Would love to see a side by side of a fully laden truck and car doing an emergency stop from 80kph

So, do you think you were under the speed limit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,011 ✭✭✭creedp

Is that a genuine question or are you just looking for a squabble

Just wondering, whether the OP genuinely thinks they were under the limit or if they are interested in arguing about the equipment. Who is looking for a squabble? It's a question

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,745 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

I was in court (admittedly quite a few years ago) and someone was convicted of speeding on the evidence of a Garda who was driving beside him in his own personal car and read the speed from his own speedometer.

(I think the evidence ran along the lines of "i was doing X and he was doing way more than that because he left me for dust, basically" - but the point being there was no calibrated equipment involved, it was the Garda's evidence that stood)

The individual would have had a full defence to a charge of speeding on that evidence. I’m surprised he didn’t raise it, and equally surprised that the state ran the case in the first place.

Evidence of the nature you describe is common in a dangerous or careless driving case, perhaps that was what he was convicted of?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

On a related note and as the old Top Gear guys said and demonstrated when they were in Australia, speed limits were set based on cars that took a lot longer to stop than modern cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭Yeah Right

Not bating around the place like a Tasmanian devil is free, though, doesn't need any updates apart from not being a twat. There's a fair few lads on the road who could do with a firmware upgrade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭PatM65

Have you ever tried stopping a motorcycle in an emergency?

It's inherently more unstable than a car and most of your braking is through the front wheel given the rear one could be hovering in the air.

A car meanwhile has braking to four wheels which tend to stay on the ground

Check out videos of F1 cars and MotoGP bikes braking - the difference is chalk and cheese (or life and death)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 20,415 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

In an emergency road situation resulting in collision at speed, the car driver tends to survive better than a motor cyclist would in a similar collision. The higher the speed, the more the more the car driver is likely to survive than the motorcyclist.

That would suggest that motorcyclist should have a lower speed limit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,675 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

Motorbike riders are the most vulnerable road users and also the stupidest, the crazy things I see them doing in traffic on a daily basis. Asking to put speed limits up for them just proves this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,819 ✭✭✭✭blade1

cyclists and pedestrians are the most vulnerable and every single type of road user does stupid things.

Just yesterday I had a car driver coming straight for me on the wrong side of the road.

He had his head down, I assume looking at his phone.

He then looked up, saw me and swerved back on to his own side of the white line.

He put up his hand to apologise as if that makes it ok.

Even lorry drivers that have more training than most do stupid stuff.

Had this coming at me one time

Post edited by blade1 on