Sales people calling to your door

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,382 ✭✭✭✭elperello

I think there is definitely a trend towards people cutting themselves off from unexpected interactions.

Possibly started with the internet online way of living and perhaps reinforced by COVID.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭BP_RS3813

Your better off being safe and not bothering with any of them. Better safe then sorry.

Its a bit of hassle to be polite and not just tell them to feck off but could save you trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭littlefeet

That's true, however, I know of too many issues with the system. One example, the person was with x, then x brought in fiber broadband, the person signed up for the fiber broadband with x, the salesperson said they would cancel the original contract if the person signed up of course they never did. They were not autherised to do so anyway. Eventually debt collected was involved it was horrendous to sort out, and too many stories from people with elderly parents who signed up for contracts they could not get out of.

On the other point, its more evidence of how atomised out society has become.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭DJB030244

We had a persistent one a few weeks ago . The first time she called we didn’t answer , She rang the bell 3 times , we looked out the window and she got in a car and drove off . Neither of us recognised her . She was dressed like someone going to a country and western concert

A couple of weeks later low and behold she rings again, I didn’t answer , she then rings the bell a further 2 times before knocking on door . At the time I was on an indoor bike training and could see her out the window . The dog started going mental so I said right that’s it, and went out .

I asked her what she wanted and she told me we had been picked to answer a questionnaire on what tv programs we watch! I couldn’t believe it , we have a sign up saying no call callers or junk mail on the letterbox . I pointed it out to her and she said - Oh am I a cold caller ? like WTF ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Crakepottle?

Garda-bogus-caller-card.jpg

Many rural dwellers have these cards on hand to deter unsolicited callers but they can be used anywhere. The idea is that honest people will understand, comply and not take offence. The predators will be forewarned by the possible involvement of the Gardaí and will not return. Available at Garda stations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Appletart Upsetter

We recently had a couple of chaps call to the door, my other half answered. She's not from Ireland.

So they said they were in the area, they were cleaning gutters and would do ours for €80.00.

She thought that was reasonable and said fire ahead. When they'd finished the gutters at the front, they rang the bell and said did she want the gutters at the back done too? That would be €160.00 total.

Lesson learned, never answer the door again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,121 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

A lad called to my door from prepay power.

When he went through the plan it actually worked out dearer than electric ireland…

I told him I didn't see the point in changing to a higher plan and then he says ah gowan you'll give us a go….

nuff said

Now I'm quite happy to swap esb providers as you usually or rather in the past they offered good sign up offers, this lad really took the biscuit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,007 ✭✭✭Feisar

A veteran I see. Feeky McGee/Pighead/Terry/etc would be proud.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,651 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Jeez!!! Never answer the door again?

Answer the door and say No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Appletart Upsetter

Nothing good has ever came from answering the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,007 ✭✭✭Feisar

I used to have one of those, nicknamed her Jehovah Fitness, jaysus you'd listen to her talk nonsense all day!

First they came for the socialists...

Anyone remember the door-to-door salespeople who used to try and sneak into offices to sell tat or a magazine that was sold at junctions, when you stopped your car, they would come up knocking on the car window.

I also have a strong dislike of upselling of any kind, very Glengarry Glen Ross but you dont see much of it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,289 ✭✭✭jackofalltrades

Calling to someones door unannounced while they're probably having their dinner is dog ignorant. People have to feed themselves, their kids and pets. Probably doing other chores as well. Let them have the tiny bit of time they might have with their family during the day uninterrupted. It's not just "Sorry, not interested" either, some of them can taken ages to get to the point, can be misleading or even rude. And some you answer the door to just to let them know the house is occupied and not to come back.

Got a video doorbell recently and it's the best thing I've ever bought. Don't have to put up with these time thieves any longer. The sales people know that a) the door probably isn't going to be answered and b) their being watched and recorded so dodgier ones don't hang around.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭Raichų

but in fairness what time is “dinner”? In my house it can range from 6pm to 9pm usually. Sometimes as early as 5pm!

Do you understand now why getting pissy you had your door tapped at “dinner” is ridiculous because how can anyone know when you’re having dinner yourself? Cmon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,840 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Have had one for a number of years now and a total godsend- you don’t want to keep a caller waiting if they’re known to you or a delivery package but given we’re working from home , any number of sales people press the bell every week - I don’t think I’ve engaged with a salesperson at the front door now for a good few years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,527 ✭✭✭gipi

Had a cold caller at the door the other week who started his preamble with

"Ah don't worry, I'm not asking you to switch or to sell you anything"....wtf are you calling to me for then! (He was giving solar panels away, perhaps?!)

Another used to start with "don't worry, nothing serious"....? Who writes their scripts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭chrissb8

Genuinely, no. You don't have to do these jobs, there are plenty of call centre jobs, sales jobs that don't involve this so my thinking is "why are you doing this?"

I would just feel bad about annoying people in their homes. People are bombarded by advertising/sales everywhere in their life and these sales people are coming to their place where they close the door to get away from the world to disturb and invade on that.

I don't blame people for being flippant and rude. No one should be doing this to people, I just think it's scummy and invasive. Maybe a bit dramatic but the more I think about it, the more it annoys me.

Then, if you aren't rude, some take this as giving a bit of rope to pull on. F OFF. As I'm closing the door, "you sure? who are you with now?" JESUS read a room.

I don't need this interaction I am at my home, you shouldn't be here.

It's that lack of consideration when taking on such a job that gets me.

Solution is to just not answer the door. I don't even hide or any of that, I'm just going to look and not bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭Hooked

Since we moved to the country and I installed my own big f-off electric gates… not one person 'calls' that I'm not expecting. There's a post box on the wall outside. And a sign of the gates NOT to push them as they are automated.

It's bliss.

UTTER BLISS

Your reasoning can be summed up as ‘Your home is your sanctuary’ (if not there, where else?). Taking that view, Id tend to agree with you & fair enough when you consider (as you said) , more demands on our attention today then ever (tv ads, radio, social media) when you take a step back and think about it, so many triggers designed to grab attention are taken as ‘normal’.

Conscious of it or not, this collective buildup must have an effect on our health -namely stress. When demands are personified (the cold caller at the door) the trigger is more ‘real’.

Positive experiences: I got a fantastic deal last year on waste collection from guy, who didn’t hard-sell & left me the info and small pamphlet for waste company…saved €100’s as a result (and wasn't on website). A rare occourance. Two young girls from the neighbourhood came recently on a little bike and push scooter -really polite asking if I had any bottles. You could tell one of them just came up with the idea and thought it was genious 😂. I gave them two and they were absolutely delighted … brought a smile to my face, all the more so as it seemed the more ‘everyday’ kind of neighbourhood thing of the past - the ‘I wonder who this is?’ days. 😅

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭waywill1966

would you get in trouble if you answered the door just wearing jocks only?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,042 ✭✭✭Hoop66

Generally, I find a polite "no thanks" is fine. But if someone tried that with me, it'd be straight to the non-polite version.

Does anyone actually do that? 😂…enough even to scare any salesperson away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,289 ✭✭✭jackofalltrades

For most working people dinner is roughly 5-7pm.

I wouldn't call into my own neighbours at that time unless is was important.

So I've no idea why cold calling sales people think it's ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

As it's the time that most working people will be home, thought that was fairly obvious. No point calling at 11:00 when most people are at work.

If they called at 20:00 (my usual dinnertime) people would be complaining that it's too late.

To me, they're just doing a job, if I need something I listen, if I don't, a simple "no thanks" does the trick 99% of the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭Rosahane

I'm currently on a fixed price contract for gas and electric. I got a good deal online last Autumn and the fixed price is currently lower than anything else on the market.

On two occasions I answered the door too salespeople from different competing companies who tried to tell me that my supplier was about to increase prices and they could do it even though I on a contract - which is untrue!

One lot got almost aggressive about it.

I've stopped being polite to any on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,351 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

I'd love one of those jobs, most working people I know don't even finish work til after 5!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,959 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

I like to tell you I told him "no thanks" and closed the door.

I didn't, I fúcked him from a height.

Energy provider reps quote unit rates without including Vat…which can be misleading. I’d never sign up at the door.

One particular guy didn’t believe the cheap rate I was on and asked to see my bill! (He was cocky & sure I was wrong!). I actually showed him to see his response … proved him wrong…and that abruptly concluded that interaction 😅

• Site Banned Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭Raichų

you’re told to do it.
    also out of the 100’s I’ve called to in about 6 months doing this job, I’d say a handful have been in the middle of dinner. But anyway.