This week's EV bargain that I'm not buying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,686 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

@Tango One the lexus is chademo only so that would likely rule it out for most.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,566 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Why on earth would they take it back? Surely auction cars do not come with any warranty whatsoever? Or is it different in the UK?

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,367 ✭✭✭✭User1998

You have 350 miles or 48 hours to report any faults. It only applies to cars that come with mechanical reports.

Utter pain and very expensive if you had already brought it home on the ferry. You dodged a bullet there with it giving trouble within the hour! I bet you will never touch one again? 😂

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

I did bring it home on the ferry. Its sitting outside my house still waiting to be collected. Luckily I didn’t pay the VAT or customs otherwise it would have cost me dearly.

They are quite a nice drive and very powerful with 400bhp. High spec too, but they are very crashy with the big wheels. Not comfortable at all on country roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,612 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Would have thought the very widely reported issues with the IPace would be enough for anyone to steer a wide berth. They don't seem value at any money.

Extremely rushed and dodgy tech stack underpining them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,519 ✭✭✭✭Flinty997

YouTuber Martin Karel has some good videos on the ID3 experience.

For all the niggles. It's still a lot of EV bang for the buck. More space in the rear then many of the competition in it's class. If was doing a lot of miles and public charging enroute I certainly consider one. Decent drive imo. I don't do many long drives and the early touch screens would drive me mad. It's was on my shortlist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,364 ✭✭✭ionapaul

Hi all - another person asking for some advice. I'm changing my company car shortly (going from Volvo XC40 Recharge to Polestar 4 I think) and the new one is just too big for my wife to be comfortable with, she's only had her license for a few years and doesn't like driving that much, so wants a small runaround car rather than having to share a bigger car that sets her on edge. It needs to fit two car seats in the back so I think the Fiat 500 is out, but something not much bigger would be perfect. She previously told me that the ID3 would be too big. I have a charger in work so would plan to drive in once per week to charge there.

We're happy to spend up to €12K or so, though maybe the sweet spot is €8K-€10K; what would people recommend? I personally like the looks of the Honda E but available ones on Done Deal are out of budget I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭oinkely

If you don't need long range (as in 50-80km is enough for daily needs) and you don't mind the power hungry heater a Mitsubishi i-miev / Citroen C-zero / Peugeot ion might be worth a look (though quite rare). Old, cheap, reliable and feckin tiny, like really narrow so can be parked anywhere. plenty of room for two car seats in the back. You would probably want a home charger though to top it up every night cause the range is small. Our 2012 gives us about 60km in winter with some heater use to 85km in summer with some aircon.

For your budget, if an ID3 is too big a renault Zoe might suit, or an E-up but don't know if they come in a 5 door?

BMW i3? Great value in them now, they used to be expensive. Should be able to pick on up in the €8-10k range

Mind, people tend to get used to big cars very quickly, she might push herself for a day or two first to see will the big car work?

eGolf is basically a 5 seater eUp but less spartan. Only slightly smaller than a ID3. Might fit the idea she has, getting cheap now. eUPs not really that cheap. Maybe as an import. Both eUP and eGolf have two generations. First is very short range..

Mini E another small short ranger but not cheap yet. BMW i3 seem to dropping in price. The doors a faff with kids imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,476 ✭✭✭obi604

what do ye reckon this whole trump thing will do with EV's? Will people start to tighten purse strings and hold on to cars longer, will the European manufacturers have to UP prices as US market may be a mess. I know only day 3 or 4 of this upheaval, but any thoughts?

Post edited by obi604 on

Thats like trying to predict how the wind blows. You'd have to wait and see how spin the bottle goes this week in the US..

Looking at Ireland or UK the govts are pulling back on incentivising EVs. That's really what will drive the local market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭Exiled Rebel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,420 ✭✭✭✭rob316

im absolutely horrified by the depreciation on these EV's a couple of years old everytime I see these ads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,476 ✭✭✭obi604

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,612 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Is this not settling into normal depreciation numbers like ICE? They day you lose 30 to 40 percent off the lot. I think anything from 3 to 3.5k per year is normally enough for most vehicles.

What were these new 36?

It's an EV bargain thread it's great for this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭kaahooters

why? thats the depricaiation that was on all cars pre covid, people just forgot that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,420 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Its brilliant but just hammers home why I'd never buy new even if I could afford to pay cash for one.

Theres was an advantage buying new on something like PCP though as you can give it back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,868 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I contacted a VW dealer today selling a couple of ID3 i was tempted by, and they have zero movement on price.

I had to ask them twice, as I told them I would come along and have a look at them, but they told me a 2nd time that they are priced to sell, and they won't be reducing the price.

Boom must be back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,806 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

yeah they start at 37k for 65kwh battery now, there is a higher spec one for 38.5k, this is 64kwh like for like more or less 50% of new value for a private sale. Normal enough to me.

48kwh battery one is 32k

I wouldn't presume any "boom is back" because of that. It is as good a buyer's market as I have seen in a long time. But main dealers rarely play ball in that game. Buy privately to get the bargains.

VW dealers kept asking for top money right until they all dropped as much as 15k. Perhaps they and VW hadn't followed that strategy of milking it when supply was short perhaps they would have avoided creating a rollercoaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,868 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Well they have lost a potential sale, no intention of even going to look at the cars if they are saying they won't budget at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭Exiled Rebel

Dead right, I wouldn't be putting up with that **** either.

Strange attitude. Do you feel the same about other businesses charging full price? Just curious what makes you think you are entitled to a discount?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,806 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

Were the prices too high to begin with or were they at more or less market rates?

I bought a family size hatchback EV new for €25k and 3 years later I sold it for €20k privately, with a few scratches here and there and kerbed wheels. Not a chance you would have had this little depreciation on any similar size petrol or diesel car.

The trick is not to buy something that is clearly overpriced. If you do that, you are setting yourself up for massive depreciation. Like when the Model Y came out first. It was €73k and more if you wanted any other colour but white. That is insanely expensive for a budget end family size SUV and naturally the depreciation went mental on them