Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dee Forbes banging the RTE TV licence drum again 60m uncollected fee *poll not working - pl ignore*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Is there now a proper financial control and recording system in RTE?

Has there been any attempt to enforce accountability for the for the funding and other failings in running the organisation?

What efforts have been taken to downsize?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,331 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

I would hazard a guess that trying to scope out that would be quite difficult Mr S.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Baba Yaga

in my humble opinion the answers to that would be…

no,

no,

and none..

"They gave me an impossible task,one which they said I wouldnt return from...."

"You are him…the one they call the "Baba Yaga"…

yo! donnie vonshitzinpants..you sir are the skidmark on the jocks of humanity!!!

Looks like it. Much talk but no practical action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,628 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

Says quite a bit that both Evanne Ni Chuillinn and Mary Regan have both left RTE, rather abruptly.

Feels like the cracks in the system are ever widening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,167 ✭✭✭Expunge

And the money starts to flow……

RTÉ’s voluntary redundancy scheme approved by Government – The Irish Times

400 hundred to go. Average payout will be around 125,000 Euros

RTE will be leaner, fitter and less crappy afterwards. Apparently.

I wonder……..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,237 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

So, once they've spunked 50 MILLION euro on this, how long before they start rehiring I wonder? 🙄

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Baba Yaga

they have a system….??? only system i can see they have is for pishing away money…OUR money..

"They gave me an impossible task,one which they said I wouldnt return from...."

"You are him…the one they call the "Baba Yaga"…

yo! donnie vonshitzinpants..you sir are the skidmark on the jocks of humanity!!!

Oh I see that too. But what I mean is, we all heard of the broken editing equipment in the newsroom, the lack of remote controls for tv's, the once respected RTE newsroom and news reporters being completely hung out to dry due to funds going to the likes of Tubridy or the Toy Show Musical.

I doubt new equipment has been bought to replace the broken stuff. And seeing Mary Regan, Evanne Ni Chuillinn, and Will Goodbody leave in a very space of time and so close together tells me the chance of a resolution to RTE's mistreatment of hard working news staff (and the news journalists and reporters used to be RTE's saving grace, until Dee) tells me there are more issues that are not being reported.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,230 ✭✭✭RoTelly

RTÉ have been given their much wanted Redundance package for 2024… they were frustrated at the amount of time it took the Department to make a decision… how long does it take them to get the details of the package to staff, when do the open applications, when do those excepted on the scheme?

All in RTÉ's court now. I wonder if they have submitted their Redundance scheme for 2025 to the Departments?

Let's hope RTÉ can be quick to action this decision if not, what was all that huffing and puffing about the length of time it takes for the Department to make a decision about?

@RabbleRouser2k Not sure if you could consider their leaving a factor. Mary Regan got a better job, Eavan put into the Seanad by the Taoiseach, she was on RTÉ just before it was announced as a presenter.

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

Oh I know it's just circumstantial, but so many leaving so close together was quite intriguing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,331 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Pity they wouldn't get shut of some of the other drones they have out there.

Glad to see the end of Goodbody, destroyed Drivetime prog. in my opinion.

https://www.rsvplive.ie/news/celebs/evanne-n-chuilinn-always-knew-34958925

She acknowledged that RTE had strict rules about maintaining impartiality and so she wouldn’t have joined a political party while working there.

She was obviously told in advance that she would get the nomination, and yet she present her last news bulletin on the day of her nomination.

https://evoke.ie/2025/02/09/entertainment/rte-evanne-ni-chuilinn-politics

Sources yesterday said Ms Ní Chuilinn - who presented the sports segment on RTÉ's Six One News on Wednesday evening - had not told anyone as her imminent appointment was kept under wraps.

The article does say that the resignation was on Friday with immediate effect, though which Friday I am not sure.

______

Yesterday

CnaM looking for feedback about Irish PSM

https://ec.europa.eu/eusurvey/runner/PSMCallforInputsCnaM2025

If you can make sure to remind them of the 2023 scandal at RTÉ at every chance you get, that would be great.

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,911 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

RTE are a shambles, yet another story where they don't/won't report the full facts. And why?

Ten arrested in large-scale garda operation in Cork

Gardaí seized an imitation firearm along with €4,500 in cash, approximately €4,000 in cocaine, over €7,200 in Alzaprolam tablets, a small quantity of cannabis herb, a number of Rolex watches, a range of power tools and a new caravan over the course of the operation.

🤔

Look at the difference and detail in reporting compared to RTE.

https://www.echolive.ie/corknews/arid-41603956.html

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/munster/arid-41603866.html

RTE don't deserve a licence fee.

RTÉ advertising for a new Head of Drama, they have only had an acting head of drama since 2021 (TBH I think its longer) and a new head of Comedy less of an issue really but they haven't had one since 2018.

RTÉ have an employment freeze but mission critical roles are allowed … 4 to 6 year without a role I suppose an ordinary person like myself might have considered this roles as mission critical to a national public service broadcaster and might have questions their absence in the last 4 years of which the current DG has over seen the company for nearly 2.

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,074 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,167 ✭✭✭Expunge

Minister Patrick O'Donovan, I think it's fair to say, is not a fan of Radio Telifis Eireann…..

No need for a levy on streaming services to fund Public Service Media - they get enough between licence fee and the near 3 quarters of a billion Euro in extra funding, says he…………..

Netflix levy plan set to be blocked as viewers are already ‘paying enough’ – The Irish Times

Mr O’Donovan said: “People as I say are paying enough” and he also outlined how the taxpayer will be funding RTÉ directly to the tune of €725 million, as he put it “to keep the doors open”.

The taxpayer funding is part of measures aimed at supporting cash-strapped RTÉ in return for reforms at the national broadcaster.

Mr O’Donovan said people are being asked to pay the €160 TV licence fee and those who can afford to do so are also paying for streaming services.

“I don’t see why I would impose a levy on top of those people,” he said.

He also told RTE:

"People are paying enough" for entertainment, he said, adding that people who can afford to pay for streaming services "are doing so by choice".

"I don't see why I would impose a levy on top of those people, considering that it would, I believe, inevitably wind up being raised and raised substantially".

He's right on this. The regulator, Comisiun na Mean, is building a nice big fancy empire and won't be able to resist the temptation of a shakedown or two in a few years time. And consumers will pay.

The days of former minister, Cathy Martin, spraying money about the place seem to be at an end.

Not a huge fan of O'Donovan TBH. But then I am not a huge fan of RTÉ either. So glad that they both have one another.

He has 3 options

1. Keep the licence fee
    2. Bring in a levy on PAY TV/ON DEMAND subscriptions to replace the licence fee and exchequer funding for TG4 (or some other method).
    3. Fund it another way either way its the same just the funding method is different.

The idea of keeping the licence fee and also bring in a levy is daft.

Service providers should have to have some Irish content rules put on them for their services, rather then an "arts" levy.

You also have to put the levy on Irish services such as GAA+

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,801 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

There is a levy on Netflix. It's called VAT. We pay it on our sky/virgin subscriptions as well, but not on our TV licence. So in a large way RTE already gets subsidised by the taxpayers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

https://www.rte.ie/news/courts/2025/0308/1500977-garda-injured-dublin/

It is the same with this story of a guard and ban guard who were attacked on Abbey st. He was stabbed with a broken bottle multiple times. The suspect has been charged, but charged with what exactly. He is never named and neither are the guards involved. There has been no update on the case since.

In another different stabbing of a guard, he was all over the media and got a medal from MDH, but it seems like this case is being brushed under the carpet for some reason.

VAT doesn't directly go to public service broadcasting. The levy would be used for content. But huge question over what type of content that it would be used to fund.

Should it be used to fund The Arts Council, The National Concert Hall, Screen Ireland and so on?

______

Yesterday

In theory the levy would be used for content. In practice it would go to the wages of the next Ryan Tubridy.

I think if there is a levy imposed on streamers that it should be open to all producers to use the funds to create content. The flip side is that if there was a market for the content they wouldn't need a subsidy for it

The flip side to that is that you wouldn't have any local content, that's not to say that the industry isn't guilt of greed and not knowing its market.

______

Yesterday

If it was good enough it wouldn't matter whether it was local or not

Easier for most to buy in content, resulting in nothing to do well. Look at Virgin Media TV it never progress beyond being a local ITV station in Ireland.

______

Yesterday

This is true, much more effort and risk involved in creating your own content but also much more ability to sell it overseas

So the retirements begin,

https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2025/0410/1506874-cathy-halloran/

I don't want to be mean to Cathy or anyone personally in RTÉ but …

Her late father Danno Halloran was also News Editor in RTÉ from the mid-1960s to the 1980s.

Nepotism within RTÉ and that is not to say that Cathy was not good at her job in her own right but this is an issue that boards has brought up with about RTÉ time and time again.

Any other Hallorans at RTÉ?

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,237 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

It happens a fair bit in the civil service and public sector (and politics itself).

There are the factors of:

• knowing what the job entails and perhaps parental encouragement to apply for that job
    • knowing when vacancies exist - I only knew to apply for one job I got back in the 1990s because my mother happened to be reading the Irish Independent on the right day. It's much easier these days for public sector jobs at publicjobs.ie (but about RTE - I can't say)
    • knowing how the exam / interview process works
    • having relatives / friends who have been there and done that and can coach you
    • not having antipathy towards the civil service or RTE or whatever because you don't know anyone who works there.

None of the above is actually unfair but it does tend to work in favour of those whose families hit the above bullet points.

That's not to say there are not abuses in RTE. Shure wasn't he who can't be named groomed for success since he was 8! 😮

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.